max 13 guests      5 bedrooms      4 bathrooms
  • Amenity Attributes
    • double
    • queen
    • toilet
    • twin/ single
  • Attractions Attributes
    • bay/sound
    • churches
    • cinemas
    • library
    • live theater
    • marina
    • museums
    • playground
    • reefs
    • restaurants
    • water parks
  • Dining_checkbox Attributes
    • Dining
  • Entertainment Attributes
    • Television
    • Cable TV
    • DVD Player
    • VCR
    • Games
  • General Attributes
    • Air Conditioning
    • Clothes Dryer
    • Heating
    • Internet
    • Iron & Board
    • Living Room
    • Parking
    • Washing Machine
  • Kitchen Attributes
    • Coffee Maker
    • Dishes & Utensils
    • Dishwasher
    • Kitchen
    • Microwave
    • Oven
    • Refrigerator
    • Stove
    • Toaster
    • Full Kitchen
    • Refrigerator
    • Coffee Maker
    • Microwave
    • Toaster
    • Cookware
    • Dishwasher
  • Leisure_activities Attributes
    • antiquing
    • beachcombing
    • bird watching
    • eco tourism
    • horseback riding
    • outlet shopping
    • photography
    • scenic drives
    • sight seeing
    • walking
  • Local_services_and_businesses Attributes
    • ATM/bank
    • Babysitter
    • fitness center
    • groceries
    • hospital
    • laundromat
    • massage therapist
    • medical services
  • Location_type Attributes
    • Oceanfront
  • Outside Attributes
    • Deck / Patio
  • Sports_and_adventure_activities Attributes
    • basketball court
    • cycling
    • deepsea fishing
    • fishing
    • golf
    • hiking
    • hunting
    • jet skiing
    • pier fishing
    • roller blading
    • sailing
    • scuba diving or snorkeling
    • snorkeling
    • sound/bay fishing
    • surf fishing
    • surfing
    • swimming
    • tennis
    • water skiing
    • wind-surfing
  • Suitability Attributes
    • children welcome
    • pets considered
    • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Suitability_chkbox Attributes
    • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Health and safety Attributes
    • Enhanced cleaning practices
  • Living Attributes
    • Central Air
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Ironing Board
    • Flat Screen TV
    • Wireless Internet
  • Business Attributes
    • Nearby ATM
    • Nearby Post Office
    • Nearby Internet Cafe
    • Nearby FedEx
    • Nearby Bank
  • Convenience Attributes
    • Nearby Medical Services
    • Nearby Grocery
    • Movie Theatres
    • Golf Course
  • Outdoor Attributes
    • Deck
    • Beach
    • Private Beach Access
  • Geographic Attributes
    • On Beach



Payment Methods
Most major credit cards - Cash

Payment Balance
Balance and schedule of payments can be discussed the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Booking Cancellation Conditions
Cancellation policies can be discussed with the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Security or Damage Deposit
A refundable security/damage deposit will be required by the property manager.


Nightly rates shown do not include taxes, conditional rate adjustments or any applicable fees - request property or use rate calculator to obtain an accurate quote.



Rate Period Weekly
Jun 4 to Aug 12 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Sat) 3,845 USD
Aug 13 to Nov 18 Min Stay 7 nights 2,947 - 3,105 USD
Nov 19 to Dec 31 Min Stay 7 nights 2,365 USD


Rate Period Weekly
Jan 1 to Apr 8 Min Stay 7 nights 2,365 USD
Apr 9 to Jun 9 Min Stay 7 nights 3,105 USD



Rate Period Nightly
Aug 13 to Nov 18 Min Stay 2 nights 508 - 568 USD
Nov 19 to Dec 31 Min Stay 2 nights 443 USD


Rate Period Nightly
Jan 1 to Apr 8 Min Stay 2 nights 443 USD
Apr 9 to Jun 9 Min Stay 2 nights 568 USD

Verified vacation home reviews by real guests

All Owner Direct guest reviews posted are verified and confirmed individually by Owner Direct Vacation Rentals staff.

This property has no Owner Direct reviews yet.

Overall satisfaction (38 raters)
Property condition (38 raters)
Location (38 raters)
Cleanliness (38 raters)
Services from rental manager (38 raters)

The following review(s) were provided by the property manager.

Very roomy comfortable older home Overall we enjoyed staying at Islandbirds. The location is great and the house has lots of room and a big kitchen. However there needs to be some updates done to the bathrooms. The apartment bath\shower fixtures and the upstairs bath\shower fixtures did not work well at all. In fact we could not use the apartment shower at all. However, the shower rooms on the main floor were really great. Many of the doors in the house and the gates on the deck need to be fixed\updated.
- Renee Y.
Reviewed On: 6/13/2022
Good beach location The house was very clean, but it is really old. Doors don’t close, there us only 1 shower for all the bedrooms. There are 2 showers by the front door for rinsing sand, etc & is usable for older kids/adults. Dining room/family room is super nice with great views of the ocean. Very spacious for multiple families, as there are 3 floors of bedrooms. Overall, a nice house, just prepare for it to be very old & unkept. Also, bring your own coffee/filters/detergent, as this was not stocked. Not a big deal, but i wish i knew.
Reviewed On: 4/3/2022
Old School Vibe Old school cottage. We had 4 generations staying and plenty of room. Loved the Butlers pantry for storing our food, drinks, etc. large kitchen table for group dinners. We loved the showers on the downstairs back porch.
Reviewed On: 9/6/2021
Great House First, the house has plenty of character. From the cypress wood to the many rooms, to the great open spaces, Island Birds will sleep a large family.<br/><br/>Ideally situated by the public access to the beach, it gave our Pug the opportunity to welcome beach goers from the wide and spacious porch where we could sit back and enjoy the ocean breeze and watch the sunset.
- John N.
Reviewed On: 10/18/2021
Christmas get a way IslandBirds was spacious and basically clean. Not enough towels provided. For our stay. House has some neat older home features. The lighting in house needs improving, too dark<br/>It meet our needs for weekend
Reviewed On: 12/22/2021
Lots of potential A good location for beach lovers. Not much parking space for so many guests. The large rooms on the ocean side are great for gatherings, playing cards, eating, etc. Plenty of bedrooms, but not enough showere (the bedroom we slept in didn't have a shower). Lots and lots of stairs. I wouldn't recommend for eldery people or those with walking difficulties. Just too many stairs for those to navigate easily. Very few electrical outlets in the bedrooms, usually just one per bedroom so pluging in your cell phone charger, computer or games my not be possible in the bedroom. Overall I would rate this property as just adequate. Not fancy or well lighted, but a good place to sleep, cook (lots of dishes, pots and pans) and easy access to the beach. <br/>The knotty pine paneling is dated, but pretty. It's also very dark and requires more lighting than is in the building.
Reviewed On: 12/30/2021
Old charm! Loved staying at island bird. Roomy, clean and delightful.
- Jeanette L.
Reviewed On: 7/26/2021
Islandbirds There was plenty of space for all of us. Would be great to have more TV&#x2019;s for those storm/rain days
Reviewed On: 8/2/2021
Some bumps in the road , but a good stay Older home with lots a character, the wood and history was wonderful. We had a really bad storm and had some leaks, which we made the rental company aware of. Plenty of roo., had all we needed in the kitchen. We really enjoyed the house Islandbirds and we will probably rent this home again.
- Melissa C.
Reviewed On: 6/16/2021
UPSETTING BEACH HOUSE Unfortunately pictures can be so deceiving. The beach house was nothing like we expected. Outdated, dirty furniture, urine smell in one of the bedrooms, broken porch furniture that was not usable, showers that were evidently later added and located on the front enclosed porch, etc. The property was advertised as beach front, however no view of beach unless you were on the top level of house looking out the bedroom window. It's unfortunate that many people vacation once a year and walk into situations like my family did. We asked for some sort of a refund, but owner refused to do so, which it what we expected. Being said, we still enjoyed being with family.
Reviewed On: 7/28/2021
Great Stay Wonderful ...easy check in and no surprises
- David A.
Reviewed On: 6/3/2021
Awesome Location and view! Even though the weather was cold, the house was warmed by the laughter and love of our kids and grandkids. The house was charming. The bathrooms AND kitchen could use a little TLC.
- Anita D.
Reviewed On: 4/6/2021
Great experience, fun house, helpful management Our group really enjoyed our stay at Islandbirds, and appreciated the prompt and professional management staff when addressing a couple of typical issues during the week. This older house is large and full of rustic charm; a few rough edges and quirks make it feel like it's full of stories. Some details that we think might be useful to share: There was a small vacuum but no broom; a decently stocked kitchen *upstairs* but a severe lack of cereal/soup bowls (two, maybe?); and a Keurig coffee maker *not* a regular one. The house keys/locks were also difficult to use, but eventually did the job. Overall, location and beach access were phenomenal, and we had a wonderful time.
- Ben J.
Reviewed On: 4/13/2021
Our rambling warm beach house We had a wonderful time in Islandbirds. The house is huge and comfortable and while it may be old we enjoyed the trip immensely. 4 generations of our family stayed together there and found the arrangement to work well for us.
- Karen M.
Reviewed On: 5/31/2021
Not overly impressed Location is ideal for our family. We have other family renting close by. Also the size fits our family. But their were several maintenance issues: main floor shower leaking in to the basement bathroom, broken chair, broken bench on porch, loose board on porch causing tripping issue. There were other leaking issues in the basement causing paddling and slipping issues. I complained on Sunday. Shower issue was partially addressed on Monday. Other issues not addressed until Thursday. Cannon & Gruber representative said the maintenance folks said they came on Monday but were told to come back later. 100% bull. I've checked and no one in our unit told them that. When they did show up on Thursday I asked what took so long and they said their boss just told them about the issues that day. Both the maintenance guys and the plumbers said the owner knows about the issues and won't do anything about it Response from Cannon & Gruber, REALTORS; Thursday, July 21, 2016 Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your vacation. We do thank you for booking the same property for the 2017 season and we look forward to seeing you again!
- Tom R.
Reviewed On: 7/18/2016
Great vacation place We had a great vacation rental experience. We were provided with everything we needed to know ahead of time, payment was easy, and the place was perfect for our family (11 of us).
Reviewed On: 8/29/2016
Wondeful Experience Wonderful, clean house - easy access to the beach - close to everything we needed. We brought families from all over the country to this house and EVERYONE loved it!
Reviewed On: 9/7/2016
Wonderful family vacation at the beach We spent a week in this beautiful house. There were 13 of us and yet because of the way this house is laid out we never felt crowded. Wonderful vacation!
- Denise A.
Reviewed On: 9/20/2016
Islandbirds Weather and water were delightful. House was clean, but there were problems with the second floor air conditioning which had to be fixed, a leak around the tub in the upstairs bathroom that leaked to the first floor bathroom if you let water stand any length of time in front of the upstairs tub, and at night very large black waterbugs would appear on the walls. The flyswatter was definitely useful. Actually, this is a terrific old style beach house, and is generally well maintained. The rental agents were prompt and helpful.
Reviewed On: 9/30/2016
Islandbirds Loved this beach house! Lots of room for our extended family of 10 and one miniature schnauzer! Loved all the wood paneling, shuttered doors, and moldings. Great ocean porch! This was the perfect house for us. Was disappointed the beach was inaccessible due to dredging, but as we spent time at Shackleford Banks and Cape Lookout, it worked out fine. Would definitely enjoy staying here in the future!!
- Barry R.
Reviewed On: 4/24/2017
Family vacation <br/>Overall very good. Couple request that were dealt with very quickly. You should replace the toaster oven. Door does not work very well and the top of the unit gets very, very hot. note on top warns that it gets hot which only serves to admit that it is a hazard and you know about it. Seems like an admission of liability. Someone is going to get burnt
- Tom R.
Reviewed On: 7/16/2018
Island Birds May 2018 Kid-friendly, with plenty of space for our family. We love the traditional architecture. Great view and easy access to the ocean. Could use some TLC in maintenance. But we had a great time.
Reviewed On: 5/23/2018
Fabulous Family Get away We really enjoyed our stay. All 10 of us and 2 dogs. We rambled around the house had good food and visited with old friends. Our only complaint was uncomfortable beds.
- Jane w.
Reviewed On: 4/5/2018
Would stay again! Had a great time! There only two negatives about our stay. There was no mention of the share the bath rooms in the add.The first night we were there a roach crawled out from under the chair in the living room.
- Chuck B.
Reviewed On: 6/18/2018
Island Bird House Rental Was Great! We had a big party of guests who were in town for a wedding. The house is very big and fit us all comfortably. We had one small issue, and contacted the rental agency, and they took care of it immediately.
Reviewed On: 10/1/2019
Ruble Family <br/>Above average with limited exceptions. Less towels than in the past. Electric coffee post did not work. broken chairs on deck.<br/>
- Tom R.
Reviewed On: 7/14/2020
Island birds house This is an excellent large house that is ideal for 2 families. The views of the beach and sunsets are amazing. We had a great experience.
Reviewed On: 1/4/2020
Great house for several families, very convenient We had a great last minute trip with another family and stayed in this wonderful house. The location was perfect and the size of the house was just right for two families. We could have slept another small family too! So nice to be able to bring our pups to the beach too! Thank you to Cannon & Gruber for making this so easy!
Reviewed On: 5/20/2020
Beautiful old school beach house Bbeautiful, spacious old-school beach house with lovely wood throughout!Hope they maintain the flavor of the house as they update. Spacious house, big covered porch on the beach side. The house seems to be in the midst of updating, Unfortunately, there were a number of issues that need resolution including kitchen not properly equipped & downstairs kitchen not equipped at all. Screen doors not working, dryer knob is a pair of vice grips, construction stuff about, blinds that don't work. Minor, but need addressing. Fantastic location and downstairs apartment is HUGE!
Reviewed On: 7/6/2020
Great Great place
Reviewed On: 10/20/2020
rat Have rented IB for lot of years. Cannon & Gruber are great to work with but, The air in basement should have been ckd, did not work. CG got it fixed by Mon noon, but very uncomfortable 3 days!!!! Reported that outside shower not working had been turned off due to pvc leak near shower. NO response all week. We repaired but still leaked. That shower is necessity to keep sand etc out of house!!!. Other than that it has been a fun house for a lot of years.
Reviewed On: 7/2/2014
Stayed for Hurricane Arthur, house is wonderful, mgmt didn't care The house is a beautiful home, gorgeous wood paneling and wood floors throughout, huge rooms, amazing views. We loved this house! Location was perfect. It was clean and wonderful. BUT...We were shocked that the rental agency never contacted us before, during or after Hurricane Arthur. We saved the house from tremendous damage from 2 windows bursting out. We held them together and wedged them closed with found lumber. We closed all hurricane shutters and moved all outdoor furniture and moved our cars to higher ground, although no one called ahead to provide instructions on any of it. Not a single call was received from the management office during this Category 2 Hurricane involving one of their ocean front properties (!) When I reported the damage to the rental office giving her a written list of items, the receptionist didn't even bat an eye or ask a single question. She just moved the paper to the side and said thanks. Had we not been there to close the shutters and secure the windows, this house would've had interior damage to the woodwork and walls. Furthermore, I was surprised that the company never even made a phone call to check on our welfare. I asked other neighbors on the street who rented and their companies had checked in and provided instructions and reassurance. I guess this company just doesn't care a lot for the actual homes or the families, just getting the money.
- Hilary F.
Reviewed On: 7/9/2014
Average Average....could use a really thorough cleaning.
- William G.
Reviewed On: 8/20/2014
Islandbirds Aside from the air conditioning breaking down several times over 2 days, our stay was very pleasant. The Cannon & Gruber staff was always extremely helpful, especially in seeing that the air conditioner was properly fixed. Response from Cannon & Gruber, REALTORS; Thursday, February 18, 2016 Thank you for your review and feedback! We apologize for the issues you had with the AC system, unfortunately those things can break at any time. Thankfully we were able to get everything taken care of and the system replaced!
Reviewed On: 9/10/2015
Our 30 something year. Last 15 with Cannon & Gruber With 3 RAC units it is tough to get them all working at once. This year was living (2nd) level.
Reviewed On: 7/17/2015
Spacious, clean and great location! We take a family vacation every year on Memorial Day weekend. This house had all the space we needed and was in a great location. Enjoyed it very much! Only negatives were air conditioning issues and problems with doors, particularly bathroom doors, closing a locking. Great rental for large families!
- Rhonda S.
Reviewed On: 6/11/2015
Vacation Review Pleasant after the AC was fixed on Monday afternoon for top floor. We did have a problem with water bugs. In one night we killed probably 15 bugs. Upstairs did not appear to have been cleaned such as floors swept, carpet vacuumed and furniture dusted.
- Todd H.
Reviewed On: 7/16/2015
Family of 12. House has character and the old beach house feel. It does require some updates that could be made inexpensively. The downstairs AC is nonexistent and could really use a window unit or standalone AC. Couches and chairs are musty and stained to the point they make you feel dirty. The rugs need replacing or removed. The family was disappointed the beach was not visible from porch, but it encouraged everyone to go down to the beach.
Reviewed On: 7/29/2015

Listing History

  • This property owner/manager has been registered with Owner Direct since Jun 04, 2020.
  • The availability for this property was last updated on Jun 25, 2022

OwnerDirect.com - Superior Full Service

  • You're never alone with Owner Direct. Friendly service coast to coast available every day of the year.
  • You immediately know the price for your requested dates/occupants.
  • More photos (with descriptive captions) per property.
  • Extensive information is provided for every property, always in the same format, to save you time
  • We answer all of your questions quickly with our very comprehensive site and responsive customer service.
  • We offer a 24 hr grace period for both parties to communicate and confirm all details of a booking.

Web Directories - Our Competitors

  • A lot of your time is wasted filling out forms and waiting for replies from multiple vacation rental owners. Many busy owners never reply.
  • The price shown always changes, you have to calculate it yourself and often changes once you communicate with the owner.
  • Most owners do not take the time to provide complete information on listings, so you waste time having to ask questions and wait for responses.
  • In a nutshell, "Web Directories" are cumbersome and time consuming, and if you have a problem, you are on your own.


ID 254814 - 10 beds (1 king, 2 queen and 7 single). Base rent is for 13 occupants.
Atlantic Beach Accommodations
5 Bedrooms, 3 Full Baths, 2 Half Baths, 2 Shower Rooms, Sleeps 13
Atlantic Beach, NC 28512. This traditional oceanfront cottage is located in Atlantic Beach and offers lots of space. Ground level apartment offers 1 bedroom, 1 full bath, separate living area and kitchen. The main living area, kitchen, half bath, 1 bedroom and 2 shower rooms are lovated on the 2nd level. Principal bedroom, 1 full bath, 1 half bath and 2 bedrooms are located on the top floor.

Principal Bedroom - King
2nd Bedroom - 2 Single Beds
3rd Bedroom - 2 Single Beds
4th Bedroom - Queen Bed
5th Bedroom/Apartment - Queen and 2 Single Beds

Saturday to Saturday Rental.

All rates are subject to a departure cleaning, linen and reservation fee, 12.75% sales tax and a $50.00 Vacation Rental Damage Protection Plan. All fees and taxes are subject to change without notice.

We rent to family groups, married couples, or mature adults over the age of 25. We do not, under any circumstances, rent to groups for proms, graduations, college house parties, etc. Misrepresentation will result in immediate eviction without refund.

All prices and/or descriptions are subject to change. Although every precaution is taken, errors in prices and/or descriptions do occur on our web site and in printing. We reserve the right to correct any such error.

1. Damage Protection Insurance – For an additional $50.00, this plan covers up to $3,000 in unintentional damages to the rental unit that may occur during your stay. Report the damage to us, we’ll take care of the rest!
2. Security Deposit - $500 is immediately charged at time of booking. If the property is left undamaged, keys & parking passes returned, your security deposit will be refunded within 45 days after check out.

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

We save your time and spare you the headaches!

We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Nearby and Recently Viewed Vacation Rentals

Pricing & Availability

Children (0-17)
Please select dates and occupants to view
Availability and Pricing
First Payment, Charged Now
Second Payment, due by
Total Rent
(Damage/Security deposits not included)
Cancellation Policy
Total Rent

Rental Request & Questions

Subscribe to our newsletter
By requesting to book you agree to Owner Direct's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.
create an account?

Credit Card Details

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day
We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!
Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden
Timeout From:
Timeout To:

Experience the difference, no waiting
Toll Free USA, Canada
Toll Free UK
Toll Free Australia
International Rentals

To install this Web App in your iPhone/iPad press and then "Add to Home Screen".