The following review(s) were provided by the property manager.
The Hollis Bennett Woods Christmas
The house was perfect for our family. Plenty of room and fabulous amenities. Beds were comfortable. The only problem was that the upstairs fireplace did not draw the smoke put well, but we managed. All in all we were very pleased and would stay at Lonestar Lodge again.
- Dianne W.
Reviewed On: 12/25/2021
LoneStar Lodge Review
READ THIS REVIEW BEFORE RENTING: One should ask for a definition of “recently” remodeled. It is true there has been “SOME” remodeling.<br/>The upstairs master bedroom had the worst king size bed I have ever tried to sleep on. I would have been more comfortable on the floor, however the carpet was so dirty that I didn’t even want to take off my shoes! <br/>The pillows in the house should all be thrown away. They really could not even be called pillows as they were flatter than pancakes. The shades were all badly stained. Two shades were missing in the downstairs living area making the ability to use this as another private sleeping area impossible. <br/> The bunk bed was questionable for safety. We wondered every night if the mattresses were going to fall through if you moved too much. <br/>While we didn’t cook on this trip I doubt it would have been successful as the griddles on the commercial stove did not work and the oven door didn’t close properly. Definitely not a new stove. <br/>We rented this home primary for the amenities such as a pool table, fire pit, and hot tub. The pool table was in fact a pool table with MANY years and lots of abuse. There were stains covering the felt and the bumpers were so badly dented that actually being able to play was challenging. The fire pit was in fact a fire pit... We gathered around and started the fire, it was sunny day with the temperature in the 50’s. We never felt any warmth. There was snow on the edge of the fire pit which after more than a half hour never melted. This is strictly an atmosphere fire pit.<br/>I will say the only good thing about this property was the location. We had beautiful views through the dirty windows. We were able to enjoy several fox playing in the yard, as well as a moose sighting early one morning. If quality is NOT important to you than this is your place. Otherwise I suggest finding a more cared for property. <br/>I gi
Reviewed On: 11/5/2021
Relaxing and Fun Stay at Lonestar Lodge
Very spacious for the six of us with everyone having their own bed and 5 full bathrooms. Great kitchen which is well setup to cook for a large group. Excellent location close to downtown Breckenridge with INCREDIBLE views of the mountain! Property is well maintained and was very clean when we arrived. Everyone enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub after a full day of skiing. We recommend renting Lonestar Lodge and will stay here again in the future!
- Craig S.
Reviewed On: 2/2/2021
Needs a renovation
I hate being so negative, but this house was not a great experience for any of us.. House was dirty upon arrival and windows needed cleaned. The beds were so old and hard that some of us slept on the couches. The washer and dryer made the entire downstairs smell like wet dog. Some of the electrical outlets only worked when they wanted to. Window coverings in master looked like some on threw up on the bottom portion. The view was amazing though!!
Reviewed On: 7/12/2021
Idyllic location - every amenity
A short weekend getaway, relaxing and enjoying the scenery. Spectacular sunset from the hot tub. The family really enjoyed our stay. Recommended.
- Terrence P.
Reviewed On: 7/27/2021
Great vacation house
We had a great vacation with family. Property had great location and features and lots of space for the 8 of us. Fabulous deck with fire pit and hot tub, plus table, grill and lots of chairs. Hiking trailhead across the street.
Reviewed On: 10/8/2021
Trip with friends
I WOULD RECOMMEND BUT FIRST READ:<br/>Our trip overall went great. The house had all the things necessary to make a comfortable stay. I would say it is not as pristine as the pictures appear. What I mean by that is everything is a little dated. Compared to houses in the same price range this home could use updating (friends stayed 3-4 houses down). Love that is a Texas owner! <br/><br/>Here is the details:<br/><br/>GOOD: <br/>1. space<br/>2. kitchen<br/>3. views of mountain/ slopes<br/>4. small-wares and supplies<br/>5. fireplaces (indoor and outside)<br/>6. plenty of firewood (supplies to start fire)<br/>7. Right next to free shuttle ride<br/><br/>NOT SO GOOD:<br/>1. mattresses are uncomfortable (minus downstairs king)<br/>2. older home (needs a facelift)<br/>3. bathroom size for downstairs king very small (not equal to upstairs)<br/>4. part of cook-top doesn't work<br/>5. TVs and sound system are older<br/>6. Hot tub padding falling apart<br/>7. No ceiling fans (portable wall plug in fans were provided)<br/>8. Not a Ski IN/OUT (only intermediate+ could ski out and its NOT a ski in) Summit did not advertise it as such ... just want those thinking about it to know its not.<br/><br/>Overall: Great location, space and views. House could use updating to match updated houses in the same price range.
Response from Summit Mountain Rentals; Friday, January 27, 2017
Hi Brandon. Thank you for your feedback. I will make a recommendations to the owner about the outdated style of the home. In the future please call us during your stay so we can address any issues with the home. Thank you again.
- Brandon L.
Reviewed On: 1/22/2017
A Great Time
The cabin was wonderful, the environment was great, and the town of Breckenridge was full of fun activities. I would definitely recommend this location for a quick getaway or even a full blown winter vacation. If I had to nitpick, I would say the property was a little hard to locate initially, due to the large amounts of snow. However, that same snow made for a great snowball fight later during our stay.
- corondius s.
Reviewed On: 1/30/2017
Enjoyed our stay at Lonestar Lodge
We spent Xmas 2017 at this lodge. The shuttle is inly half a block away and takes yuo to the mountain/downtown area so very convenient!
- Renee T.
Reviewed On: 12/30/2017
The house was a perfect location to be out of Breck, but be able to get down with a quick 5 min Uber. The pool table, hot tub, and fireplace were great places to keep the group busy. <br/><br/>There were only a few things that I would say disappointed us. We had to shovel the steps and deck off from snow and clear the hot tub lid of snow upon arrival. The firepit key was broken and thrown in a random draw and a few light switches and outlets didn’t work. <br/><br/>Overall it was a great experience and the view was amazing. The living room and deck face the ski mountain it was awesome.
Response from Summit Mountain Rentals; Tuesday, January 23, 2018
Thank you for your feedback Steve! I'm glad we were able to get those issues resolved for you.
Reviewed On: 1/16/2018
We had a great stay at the lodge. We has a big group for a long weekend and the house was perfect for our needs. Comfortable with plenty of tvs and things to do for the non skiers and close to the mountain and the shuttle for those who wanted to ski.
Reviewed On: 4/10/2018
Wonderful property-- the views and hottub were amazing!
Reviewed On: 8/21/2018
Great family vacation!
We stayed at this property for Christmas 2018 and were very pleased. There was plenty of room for everyone to have privacy. The views are awesome, we would definitely stay here again.
- Janet C.
Reviewed On: 12/30/2018
Excellent Home But Needs a Few Improvements
The home is beautiful and was clean and ready for our arrival. Great location and views, quiet and comfortable. The only minor issues we discovered were maintenance related. There were humidifiers available in bedroom closets however they didn't work. Same with some of the fans. The professional stove oven combo had potential to be very nice but not all functions worked. Not having the griddle work was disappointing. The pool table was a nice feature but it desperately needs an overhaul. Overall a very nice house and we'd go again. Just needs a little more attention to details.
- Greg P.
Reviewed On: 10/4/2020
The bunk bed was very uncomfortable to sleep on. You could feel the planks through the mattress. The kitchen had everything you needed to cook, and then some. The wifi has some issues. We would get knocked off from iPads and iPhones.
Response from Summit Mountain Rentals; Saturday, April 26, 2014
Beds are one thing that we are always trying to update with each unit and I appreciate you telling us so that we can look into getting them replaced. I hope you come back to see us again.
Reviewed On: 12/24/2013
It was a wonderful place to stay!!
Having 5 bathrooms was great! The deck with the fire pit and hot tub overlooking the mountains was awesome! We also loved how stocked the kitchen was and the great stove! We will definitely plan on going again.
Reviewed On: 9/11/2013
Great location great place
The home was great and roomy. It had plenty of room for the 10 of us. And the view is awesome. The location was less than 5 min from the Peak 9 Village and was perfect for the kids going to ski school. Will stay here again!
- Dean U.
Reviewed On: 2/20/2014
relaxing MLK weekend in Breckenridge
very helpful staff; clean house making it a very comfortable stay; very roomy; great kitchen; hot tub and pool table - a big plus for the teenagers/ young adults. will definitely be back and rent again from Summit. Thank you.
- Carolyn L.
Reviewed On: 2/5/2014
Last minute book, great venue
We were a group of colleagues who had a few days spare at the end of a conference - we booked this property 2 days prior to arriving, so hats off to Summit Rentals (second year used) for their great service. Also the property is great, two good sitting areas (although the cable didn't work in one of them) and a great hot tub/fire pit outside.
- Barnaby D.
Reviewed On: 1/15/2014
The place was wonderful, 8 guys for an annual guys trip and the 4 bedrooms was perfect. Loved that there were so many bathrooms. Liked the pool table downstairs and the kitchen upstairs. Great Layout
- Eddie G.
Reviewed On: 4/10/2014
Awesome Gal Retreat/Mtn Hike weekend
We fell in love with the Lonestar Lodge a year ago when we came out for a hiking trip. It accomodated 8 women beautifully with it's 5 bathrooms, wonderful kitchen, large gathering room, hot tub, firepit, and glorious views!
- Shelley H.
Reviewed On: 9/11/2014
Lights in one bedroom did not work at all. Garbage hadn't been taken out when we arrived. Overall though nice place to stay
Reviewed On: 1/6/2015
Second week of Jan 2015
The property is beautiful and in a great location. The hot tub was large and excellent after a day of riding. The layout of the house easily accommodated 5 couples. There are several things worth mentioning. Even though I read in a review that the knives in the kitchen were very poor I assumed they would have updated them from the posted review date but they weren't. So again if you cook bring a sharpener or your own. Next are the beds. I slept in the master bedroom upstairs so I didn't have an uncomfortable bed but 3 of the 5 couples were dissatisfied with the quality of the beds. Lastly I would mention that when I first booked my stay they mentioned that the property was ski-in/ski-out by means of a trail that was expert rated. A month prior to our stay they updated their website and removed the ski-in/ski-out description. So upon arriving at the rental office we asked about the trail. The lady who helped us said that the trail was not really an option because of the hike that was required and fallen trees. We then asked how far it was to the free shuttle stop which she said was a mile away down a steep hill. So we ended up having to drive to the parking lot every day which was fine. Overall the stay was great and we had a good time.
Response from Summit Mountain Rentals; Sunday, February 15, 2015
Thank you for this feedback Sara! I apologize about the knives and the beds. I will make a request for these now that we are aware of them. If there is anything we can do for you in the future please do not hesitate to ask.
Reviewed On: 2/4/2015
one of the best locations and the property was awesome, everything was excellent.
Response from Summit Mountain Rentals; Sunday, February 15, 2015
Thank you for this feedback Adolfo! We, at Summit Mountain Rentals, are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the beautiful Lonestar Lodge.
- Adolfo T.
Reviewed On: 2/5/2015
Lonestar Lodge Review
Everything was great, from check-in to stay, to check out. The pictures make the home look a lot bigger than it actually is but still a fine home with plenty of place. Great kitchen for cooking and really liked the downstairs bar and pool table.
Response from Summit Mountain Rentals; Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Thank you very much for this feedback Jerod! We are very happy that your party enjoyed their stay at our Lonestar Lodge.
- Jerod W.
Reviewed On: 6/9/2015
The Mountains are Calling and We Must Go...Lonestar Lodge
We had a fabulous time in the Lonestar Lodge. This is our third year staying here and it never disappoints! We come out for our annual 14er hike and we love coming home to the Lonestar lodge after a hard day on the mountain! The hot tub and firepit are a must every evening!!! And we love cooking our meals in that fabulous kitchen!! Definitely a great place for a large group. We host 8-9 women and with plenty of space for all. The 5 bathrooms are a must for that many women!!! We will definitely be back!!
Response from Summit Mountain Rentals; Monday, September 21, 2015
Thank you very much for your review Shelley! We are always happy that you have such an amazing time in Breckenridge and at the Lonestar Lodge. We look forward to seeing you again next summer.
- Shelley H.
Reviewed On: 9/16/2015
We had a great stay with zero issues. The house is well appointed and clean.
Response from Summit Mountain Rentals; Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Thank you very much for your feedback Vincent.
- Vince V.
Reviewed On: 9/9/2015
Beautiful views, awesome kitchen, and very spacious. This home was everything we could have asked for. It was perfect for our needs. The drive to Breckenridge and Frisco was quick and easy.
Response from Summit Mountain Rentals; Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Thank you for your feedback David!
- David W.
Reviewed On: 1/27/2016
The "Go-To" for Breck
We were here for my friends bachelor party. 9 guys. We had a great stay. We made such good use of the house that we never left. We had planned to go out in town our second night but just orders in and played cards around the dining table and shot pool downstairs. Everyone had a bed to sleep in and the fireplace roared. We did note some needed upgrades to the management company, as the cabinet knobs were falling off and the dishwasher was broken, just to list a few. That's said, the hot tub was a perfect 104, the pool table was level, and we even got a visit froth the neighborhood wild fox. Can't wait to come back.
Response from Summit Mountain Rentals; Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Thank you very much for your feedback Jake! We are very happy that your bachelor party thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our maintenance team has fixed the dishwasher and cabinet knobs. Thank you for letting us know that it was not working properly! We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
- Jacob L.
Reviewed On: 2/2/2016
- Michael H.
Reviewed On: 1/8/2017
The stairs were not up to code. There are huge gaps between posts and children can easily fall through. If you have small children this property is not for you. The appliances also needed a bit of work the gas stove turned on very easily and the dryer would not shut off. The location and views were amazing. We also enjoyed the hot tub.
Response from Summit Mountain Rentals; Tuesday, April 3, 2012
Thank you for your comment. They help us strengthen our argument to the owner to upgrade areas to improve his rentability and visitor satisfaction.
Reviewed On: 4/22/2010
Awesome view and fun home
What a great place for our family of 8 - five adults and three grandkids - to gather for a long summer weekend vacation. We all loved relaxing in the hot tub and enjoying the awesome mountain views. The pool table provided hours of entertainment for the grand kids. The kitchen and dining area were perfect for leisurely meals for our group of eight. We will definitely make it a priority to return to Lonestar Lodge!
- Sharon R.
Reviewed On: 8/4/2010
Lonestar Lodge great for a group
The house is wonderful; however the beds need updating for better sleep. The views are awesome.
Reviewed On: 12/28/2010
Great family gathering place
We had a fabulous time. When my extended family gets together we like to cook for each other. The kitchen and dining area were perfect for this!<br/>
- Heather R.
Reviewed On: 6/2/2011
Cleaner would be better
The property was not very clean. Sinks, tubs, and especially carpeting was dirty. Living room floor was sticky. Found two pairs of dirty sox under two different beds and half empty coke bottles under living room sofas. Both coffee makers spill coffee as the neither carafe fits either coffee maker. Heat won't shut off on it's own. Dryer does not shut off. Plates are all chipped.
Response from Summit Mountain Rentals; Monday, April 4, 2011
We are very surprised to have received your comments. The person who checked out of the house mentioned that the house was great and beautiful and that they would book through us again. We take great pride in housekeeping. It is our policy to ensure a clean house upon arrival. If you had reported these items during your stay, we would have addressed them immediately. We have checked all items mentioned in your comment and everything is in working order. We hope that you will return and stay with us again.
- William K.
Reviewed On: 3/29/2011
quiet, clean and comfortable! just far enough away, but still close to all the action. trails and streams nearby, beautiful hike to town. our family of eight enjoyed just hanging out in the hot tub, or jumping in the car for a short drive to town. would<br/> recommend to a friend.
- david w.
Reviewed On: 8/17/2011
Great house...missing a few common things
Great house. Enjoyed the stay. Could have used a few things that are commonplace in lesser priced accommodations. No blender, no pizza cutter, pizza pans, spatula, pot holders. Trash cans were scarce for a lodging suited for over 10 people. The stove/oven and bathrooms were great. Probably time to update the televisions.
Response from Summit Mountain Rentals; Tuesday, April 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments. They validate our recommendations to the property owner to take actionbs that improve the rentability of their unit.
Reviewed On: 1/4/2012
Love Love Love
This was a perfect place for friends to get together for a vacation. It was a great place to come off the mountain and hang out at.
- Nicole C.
Reviewed On: 1/18/2012
Great place to stay.
Reviewed On: 2/19/2012
Lone Star Lodge
I turned in a written critique, with the keys, which detailed the problems we had with the house. However, overall we enjoyed it very much and had a great time.
Reviewed On: 8/8/2012
Great for Groups
Summit Rentals was very easy to communicate and coordinate with, and the home was very clean. Fantastic kitchen (the chefs loved it!) and dining area to accommodate a large group were musts for our trip, and this home's was excellent. The beds should be upgraded for the best experience.
- Chelsy H.
Reviewed On: 1/28/2012
Good Experience with a few inconveniences.
Nice house. We had a very enjoyable time. Lot's of little things wrong at the house. Too much deferred maintenance.
Response from Summit Mountain Rentals; Saturday, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Lonestar Lodge is a beautiful home that tends to be a favorite to most renters. As with any house that are always going to be maintenance issues. We do encourage our guest to call us as we are available 24 hours and are happy to help resolve any issues that occur.
- Todd S.
Reviewed On: 4/3/2013
Beautiful mouintain getaway
This house is situated with fabulous views of the mountains. Nice open plan, hot tub and plenty of room for everyone. My only complaint is that if you enjoy cooking, they really need to update (or sharpen) the knives they have. Otherwise, I give this place 5 starts!!
- Loralee M.
Reviewed On: 6/24/2013