×
max 6 guests      2 bedrooms      2 bathrooms
  • Kitchen Attributes
    • Full Kitchen
    • Refrigerator
    • Coffee Maker
    • Ice Maker
    • Microwave
    • Toaster
    • Cookware
    • Stove
    • Pots and Pans
  • Living Attributes
    • Central Air
    • Air Conditioning
    • Linens
    • High Speed Internet
    • Washer/Dryer On Site
    • 3 TV's
    • DVD Players
    • No Smoking
    • Wireless Internet
  • Business Attributes
    • Nearby ATM
    • Nearby Post Office
    • Nearby Internet Cafe
    • Nearby FedEx
    • Nearby Bank
  • Convenience Attributes
    • Area FitnessCenter
    • Nearby Medical Services
    • Nearby Grocery
    • Outlet Shopping
    • Movie Theatres
    • Golf Course
    • On Site Fitness Center
    • Nearby Golf Courses
    • Nearby Movie Theatres
    • Nearby Outlet Shopping
  • Culture Attributes
    • Symphony Orchestra
    • Ballet
    • Museums
    • Theater
  • Outdoor Attributes
    • Balcony
    • Shared Pool
    • Tennis
    • Beach
    • BBQ Grills On Site
    • Fishing
    • Boating
    • Parasailing
    • Jet-Ski-ing
    • Kite-Boarding
    • Snorkelling
    • Disc Golf
    • Diving
    • Sailing
    • Golfing
  • Geographic Attributes
    • On Beach
    • Close to Town
  • Entertainment Attributes
    • Cable TV
    • DVD Player

Loading...

Loading...

Payment Methods
Most major credit cards - Cash

Payment Balance
Balance and schedule of payments can be discussed the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Booking Cancellation Conditions
Cancellation policies can be discussed with the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Security or Damage Deposit
A refundable security/damage deposit will be required by the property manager.

Availability

Nightly rates shown do not include taxes, conditional rate adjustments or any applicable fees - request property or use rate calculator to obtain an accurate quote.

Nightly

2021

Rate Period Nightly
Nov 1, 2021 to Feb 28, 2022 Min Stay 3 nights 350 USD

2022

Rate Period Nightly
Mar 1 to Mar 31 Min Stay 3 nights 350 USD
Apr 1 to May 20 Min Stay 3 nights 350 USD
Aug 13 to Oct 31 Min Stay 3 nights 250 USD
Nov 1, 2022 to Feb 28, 2023 Min Stay 3 nights 350 USD

Weekly

2021

Rate Period Weekly
Nov 1, 2021 to Feb 28, 2022 Min Stay 7 nights 1,700 USD

2022

Rate Period Weekly
Mar 1 to Mar 31 Min Stay 7 nights 1,700 USD
Apr 1 to May 20 Min Stay 7 nights 1,700 USD
May 21 to Aug 13 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Sat) 2,400 USD
May 21 to Jun 10 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Sat) 2,400 USD
Aug 13 to Oct 31 Min Stay 7 nights 1,350 USD
Nov 1, 2022 to Feb 28, 2023 Min Stay 7 nights 1,700 USD

Long Term Stays

2022

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Mar 1 to Mar 31 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,500 USD

Verified vacation home reviews by real guests

All Owner Direct guest reviews posted are verified and confirmed individually by Owner Direct Vacation Rentals staff.

This property has no Owner Direct reviews yet.

Overall satisfaction (53 raters)
Property condition (53 raters)
Location (53 raters)
Cleanliness (53 raters)
Services from rental manager (53 raters)

The following review(s) were provided by the property manager.

Another great summer family vacation Over 35 years of coming to El Matador Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Tuesday, September 7, 2021 We are so happy that after 35 years you are still coming back with El Matador unit 459. Such a great condo with wonderful views of that balcony and their awesome sunsets. This condo is large and very accommodating and I will be happy to book you again for the next time you are coming in our area,
- Gary & Jane H.
Reviewed On: 8/9/2021
Ft Walton Beach condo We have stayed at the El Matador for years. It is in the best location at the end of the beach. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Monday, September 20, 2021 We are so happy to have you back again each time to this unit 459 and the wonderful views from the 5th floor, and i am sure you enjoyed the sunset and sunrises and the beauty of the property and Okaloosa Island with our wonderful restaurants We would love to have you again in the near future for your next vacation..
- Michael B.
Reviewed On: 8/2/2021
Great Location Love the location of the unit. TV's are modern and allow you to use your own passwords for special apps, i.e. Netflix. Dust is a problem. Both my wife and I developed hacking coughs during our stay. Friends staying in other units stated they had no dust issues. I checked the furnace filter and it seemed clean. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Thursday, February 6, 2020 The Pollen has been really bad this early, and i can relate to your hacking as we are all going thru it. But, we are glad that you enjoyed the tvs. and the views of the balcony, and happy to see you once again next year.
- William G or Elaine H J.
Reviewed On: 2/3/2020
Spring Brfeak Disappointed in 2 days of concrete repair while we were in the condo Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Tuesday, April 20, 2021 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your unit and we hope that we have the pleasure of providing your accommodations the next time you visit our beautiful area. Sorry for the inconvenience of the progress at the El Matador, maybe the next time they will have all that fixed.
- Kyle T.
Reviewed On: 4/19/2021
This view is everything We loved the location of this property. All the way at the end of the beach. It was private, but still had every amenity we needed. The buildings themselves are a little dated, but it was great since it wasn't crowded because of the size of the property. The gate access is nice too, so it was easy to find parking. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Monday, April 12, 2021 Heather thanks a lot about this great review and we sure hope to see you again at the El Matador unit 459 and what an awesome view from the balcony, and our great beaches and pool and of course the relaxing condo. Please call us to book again.
Reviewed On: 4/8/2021
June 2021 Loved the view! Security gate folks were extremely nice and helpful. Kitchen was well supplied. Unit could use a much needed update. Guest bed mattress sunk in the middle when you slept and the toilets were very low to the floor and towel racks were loose. Had to go buy batteries as the remotes didn't have any batteries in them. We will come back to stay at El Matador but will look for a more updated unit. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Wednesday, June 23, 2021 Thank you for comment on this condo. Informed owner about mattress in guest bedroom. Next visit, if you find remotes without batteries(that someone has borrowed) please call us. We constantly replenish batteries or anything else that goes missing.
- Jimmy T.
Reviewed On: 6/21/2021
Coastal Paradise! I love spending halcyon days playing with my friends in surf, dining out or cooking out by the gulf, lap swims in the pool, and always the soothing sound of the surf. At the end of each day I retreat to my beautifully appointed condo for a great night's sleep in secure and lovely surroundings. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Thursday, October 18, 2018 Sue this unit being gulf front corner unit makes it truly views that memories are made of. We certainly do appreciate your 5 stars across the board - thank you!
- Sue G.
Reviewed On: 10/3/2018
Building 4 Simply wonderful! The only problem was on two occasions over our two week stay the garbage chute got backed up and being right next to it the area smelled as garbage was coming out of the chute or left sitting next to the chute. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Friday, April 13, 2018 Sorry to hear that, and the smell that you went thru, but, i did call the security and told them to clear that chute, and as always we will be happy to see you again during Spring Break and our Wonderful beaches.
Reviewed On: 4/9/2018
Another Great January We always enjoy our time at El Matador and especially unit 459. Well maintained condo with all the amenities required to make the stay like home. If there is ever a problem (we discovered a small leak under the kitchen sink) Alicia is quick to respond and correct the situation. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Wednesday, February 6, 2019 William and Elaine - never happy to hear that you have any issues, happy to know that we are able to correct any issues that may come from time to time. Look forward to your returning!
- William G or Elaine H J.
Reviewed On: 2/3/2019
Fourth time at El Matador......I will be back! Excellent! Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Thursday, June 28, 2018 we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and please come back to see us and this great unit at the El Matador unit 459 with a wonderful view of the water from all sides.
- Bryan H.
Reviewed On: 6/26/2018
Condo 459 View was fantastic. Condo needs updating ( new carpet, paint etc) overall good place to stay just needs updating. Property is safe and well kept outside. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Tuesday, June 19, 2018 thanks so much for your review of the condo, but, we just painted the living room and we have more work that is going to be done in the fall. The condo is a corner unit with great views of the water from all sides, and a very large balcony to sit out and enjoy the beautiful beach and sunrise and sunsets and all the dolphins. We hope to see you again, in this unit, when it is all completed.
- Melissa C.
Reviewed On: 5/29/2018
Nicep We get multiple condos at El matador every year, the second week in July for about 40 years . The upkeep on this one is very good except there is no stove hood. We typically cook for the group (10)once or twice and this was fine. The lack of stove hood is long term going to stain the ceiling. Otherwise, place is great Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Wednesday, August 14, 2019 Gary and Jane - we always are happy to see you, we will do it again next year.
- Gary & Jane H.
Reviewed On: 8/8/2019
Peaceful reprieve. Enjoyable quiet peaceful location with lovely views! Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Monday, March 18, 2019 Those El Matador corner units do have great views for miles. Hope to see you again next year.
- Diane D.
Reviewed On: 3/17/2019
El Matador 459 Enjoy the location of El Matador. Room was disappointing. Beds were super uncomfortable. Upon arrival the unit stank of fish and the floors were sticky. We requested a maintenance visit for a broken towel bar and maintenance never arrived. Disappointing and will not stay in this unit again. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Wednesday, August 14, 2019 Hard to please everyone's taste with the beds - do not see where you called about the broken towel bar, or the odor. Remember we are here to make your trip enjoyable, never hesitate to call us for help. Thank you for taking your time to leave a review.
- Anita B.
Reviewed On: 8/8/2019
Spectacular Vacation Experience!!! We spend the month of September in the same unit at El Matador. Spectacular views of the Gulf from Destin to Pensacola. Dolphins swimming by, Pelicans overhead, white sugar sand beach, and balmy breezes in a pristine setting. Too many great restaurants, so little time!
- Sue G.
Reviewed On: 10/3/2016
El Matador is the perfect "day at the beach". This was our 4th year at El Matador for the month of October and condo 459 is our favorite. Hoping we can continue to rent it for the coming years.
- Don & Judy W.
Reviewed On: 11/15/2015
OUR WINTER ESCAPE This is our third year renting 459. The view from the balcony is magnificent as well as from the living room windows. <br/>Most of the unit could use some fresh paint. <br/>The living room furniture is not very comfortable and especially the red chair which is thinly padded and difficult to get in and out of...especially for us seniors.<br/>We will rent again next year and hope that our suggestions will be considered. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Wednesday, February 24, 2016 THANKS so much for letting us know about the red chair, we will notify the owner, and we apologize for your inconvenience.
- Albert R.
Reviewed On: 2/22/2016
Anniversary stay-great unit Wonderful corner unit, great views! Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Friday, June 24, 2016 We are so glad to have you visit with us again. See you next year.
- Barbara E.
Reviewed On: 6/22/2016
PARADISE ON THE WATER We have been going to Okaloosa Island for 10 years now and love the El Matador's location. Everyone and everything was great. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Tuesday, May 17, 2016 Thank you for this review Lisa. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in the condo. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
- Lisa H.
Reviewed On: 5/17/2016
June 18,2016 - June 25, 2016 Excellent! Our favorite place on the beach! Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Tuesday, July 12, 2016 Thank you for staying with us at the El Matador. We hope you will come and visit with us again soon.
- Kristy M.
Reviewed On: 7/12/2016
El Matador Perfect Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Tuesday, August 30, 2016 Steve, we are so happy that you enjoyed our beaches and our condo el matador unit 459, and we are hoping that we see you again, to this wonderful area.
- Steve A.
Reviewed On: 8/29/2016
Disappointing We have been renting condos at El Matador for 20 years. I was very disappointed in the condition of our condo this year. We pay a premium price to be in building four with a corner view #459. My family also had unit #469. Their condo was very nice and clean. When we arrived our unit was dirty. I called Chris and she sent the cleaning guys over. The only thing I had them do was clean the mustard off the panty door and wipe the spills off the kitchen floor. Even though there were other issues My family was ready to settle in for our vacation and they convinced me to let it go. Not only is the furniture old but the carpet is also old and was stained and dirty. You could see dirt and crumbs under the sofa. the kitchen cookware was old. the flatware was old and mismatched. The bathrooms were not clean and the toilet paper and shower caddies were very rusted. I feel like my vacation experience was not as good because of the condition of our condo. I would not rent this unit again. I have been told that going through El Matador is better than through a realtor. We will try something different next time.
- Anita B.
Reviewed On: 7/25/2017
Sunrise and sunset Wonderful end unit. Watch the sunrise and sunset right from your balcony. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Monday, March 20, 2017 The biggest joy is waking up in the morning and going to that balcony and watching the sunrise, and that awesome view, and then of course, at nite to watch that gorgeous sunset. The condo has the perfect view from all directions and the most incredible view that you have ever seen, and we are glad that you are going to join us again next year.
- Diane D.
Reviewed On: 3/17/2017
Recent stay This unit is in a perfect location on the 5th floor. The views are super,nothing but beach and water in 3 directions. The unit was fresh and the furnishings are in good shape however the tv in the master bedroom had some issues. I would(will) stay there again. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Saturday, July 15, 2017 Thanks so much for your review about this condo, and the issue with the TV was taken cared off, and it is working fine. It was very minor due to the connection in the back of it. I am so glad that you enjoyed the wonderful views of the balcony, and we would love to see you again next year.
- Sam S.
Reviewed On: 7/10/2017
Dissatisfied Beautiful view.<br/>Bed spreads, carpet, paint,front door........ dust upon dust......<br/>Alicia is the best this Condo does not represent her qualities.<br/>Steve Allen
- Steve A.
Reviewed On: 1/31/2017
May 2017 Very nice time! This has been our 10th year to El Matador and 3rd or 4th to unit 459. I would like to suggest the following regarding this unit. Sofa sleeper not comfortable, perhaps a new mattress. Sliding door very heavy to open/close. Outside furniture is old, could use an update. Ceiling fans would be a welcome addition to the bedrooms. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Saturday, June 10, 2017 Thanks a lot for your comments, and we have forwarded your information to our owner for their attention, and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay from that condo, and will be glad to see you again!
- Rebecca M.
Reviewed On: 5/22/2017
Great! As always! We had a wonderful time! We really enjoyed the end unit on the beach! The owner has provided all of the essentials. In particular, the TV's were quite nice. Even had Netflix!!! Since the weather didn't cooperate, this was really appreciated. Looking forward to next year.
- William G or Elaine H J.
Reviewed On: 2/3/2018
Met all expectations and more! Our family found this unit to be very comfortable and the location for beach view could not have been better! The kitchen has been updated but there was a trick to getting the dishwasher to start. Also the light switch in the hall needs checking. We were able to watch the Wednesday night fireworks from our balcony which was lovely. This was our second trip to El Matador and we will definitely come again. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Tuesday, June 27, 2017 We appreciate your reviews for this wonderful condo at the El Matador unit 459. This unit does have an awesome view from all sides, and especially with that lovely large balcony. The kitchen has been updated for everyone's comfort and we hope that you enjoyed cooking there, and still looking at the gulf from the kitchen window. We hope to see you again next year to this unit again.
Reviewed On: 6/22/2017
My happy place Love it here!!
- Kristy M.
Reviewed On: 7/17/2017
Awesome corner unit One of the prime locations in El Matador and nicely secluded at end of Santa Rosa Blvd.
Reviewed On: 6/28/2017
We WILL be back :) Our stay at El Matdor is alway GREAT! We love the location and the Ft. Walton area. We will be back in Setember!!
Reviewed On: 5/29/2012
VACA 2012 Everything was great with the exception of the internet. There was suppose to be internet access & the modem was not even plugged up nor was there a power supply with it...<br/>
- Randy & Susan H.
Reviewed On: 7/17/2012
Recommendations 1. guest bedroom window needs a blackout drape to block the outdoor light<br/>2. need 3 flat screen televisions (living room and both bedrooms)<br/>3. need code to use the wireless router<br/>4. sofa was extremely uncomfortable
- Jack & Linda S.
Reviewed On: 7/25/2012
The perfect place to relax and enjoy the sun. This is our time for family and friends. We come for a reunion and to see our kids, who live in the area, every year. The rental is on the end of the island, where it has a beautiful view of the white sand and emerald green water. So relaxing. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Tuesday, March 19, 2013 We are always so happy to see you guys, and i hope to see you again, and relax again. Christine Ault
- Al C.
Reviewed On: 12/3/2012
Nice location, poor condition We are quite disappointed in our recent stay. We stay in this unit every year, and are getting tired of waiting for improvements. Kitchen is beautiful, the rest needs a lot of cleaning and updating. Improvements are schedled before our next visit, if they are not done, we will have to decide if we really want to continue renting this unit.<br/>All blinds in need of replacing, carpets need replaced, old grasscloth needs to go,the whole unit needs painted, and some furniture needs replaced. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Tuesday, October 29, 2013 We apologize that you were not happy with the unit this time. We did pass all of your comments to the owner and she is currently working on fixing all of the issues. The blinds have been measured for replacement. Hopefully your next trip you will be very happy with the upgrades.
- David C or Janice S.
Reviewed On: 10/10/2013
Winter Retreat Looking forward to our winter vacation in unit 459 in 2015.
- Albert R.
Reviewed On: 4/21/2014
EL MATADOR UNIT 459 Overall a nice condo unit. We are booking it for next year for the months of Jan., Feb., Mar., of 2014. <br/>We expect the unit to be in at least the same condition as we experienced this year. We expect that the pull out sofa will be replaced with a new one and that the other living room furniture will be upgraded. We want at least four decent chairs on the balcony. We noticed that an electric outlet on the west wall near the slider is loose and could become a hazard for anyone plugging anything into the outlet. <br/>All of the woodwork, baseboards, door frames and doors need to be cleaned and/or repainted. <br/>Correcting the above items will certainly enhance the attractiveness and comfort of unit 459. Thank you.
- Albert R.
Reviewed On: 3/6/2014
El Matador Unit 459 Unit 459 is well maintained and adequately furnished. The kitchen is well equipped and the appliances are in very good condition. Hollis Realty were very accommodating to us and quickly responded to our needs. Overall, we are very pleased with our stay. <br/>The baseboards, front door and pantry door need some touching up or repainting. There should be at least four serviceable chairs on the balcony and the pull out sofa is not in very good condition...there is cardboard under the cushions and it appears there is a broken spring underneath. We trust that these issues will be addressed. <br/>We plan on renting this unit for Jan, Feb, Mar of 2015.<br/><br/>Sincerely, Al & Geri Rice
- Albert R.
Reviewed On: 2/7/2014
Unit 459 Wi-Fi needs to be connected in this unit, this was very inconvenient. Otherwise, the newly remodeled unit was beautiful.
- Angela D.
Reviewed On: 6/10/2013
El Madator / Hollis Realtor Awful stay stay at the El Madator in Fort Walton Beach. Hollis Realtors mis represented the property - Bed configuration we not correct, the room was very dirty, furniture as well dirty and out dated, door lock broke, mold in bathrooms and around windows. Unfortunately Hollis Realtors did nothing to clean or correct the problems.
Reviewed On: 4/28/2014
Great Location But - However, The furniture in the living area isn't very comfortable. If you plan to spend all of your time on the beach, then it's fine. Otherwise, choose another condo. The rest of the condo and experience was excellent.
Reviewed On: 9/8/2013
Wonderful Month in Paradise! This unit is so perfectly located that even on the rare rainy day the view is spectacular. It is outfitted with everything you would ever need. Truly a home away from home. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Friday, October 9, 2015 Sue, we are all so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the El Matador in unit 459, and glad that you enjoyed that panoramic view from the kitchen and balcony and also in the living room. We are always happy to see you every year for you vacation with us.
- Sue G.
Reviewed On: 10/6/2015
Florida Getaway The location of the property was perfect. The inside of the condo was clean some area are a little outdated. The Kitchen was beautiful. The front door lock was weak and falling apart needs to be fixed.
- Jody P.
Reviewed On: 11/17/2014
EXCELLENT VACATION I LOVE EL MATADOR AND HAVE STAYED THERE FOR THE LAST 8 YEARS AND PLAN ON GOING BACK EVERY YEAR. ALICIA J. HOLLIS PERSONNEL WAS EXCELLENT IN EVERY WAY
- Lisa H.
Reviewed On: 5/19/2014
Fort Walton Beach Vacation Overall our vacation experience was great. Wonderful views from the units balcony and the furnishings were ok. On the down side, the window in the guest bedroom needs a curtain to block out the light from the stairway outside.Also, the shower head in the guest bath leaked pretty bad and the handle on the sliding door to the balcony was broken. Finally, the overall cleanliness was not good (heavy dust on top of fridge,stuff around baseboards and dirty glassware in cabinet). I realize that most of these things are minor but you asked. P S It Won't stop us from coming back.
- Sam S.
Reviewed On: 7/28/2014
EL MATADOR - UNIT 459 The unit is very clean and comfortable. We truly enjoy the panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. <br/>We are very pleased with the four balcony chairs and the fact that the pull out sofa has beeen repaired. The kitchen is very nice and well equipped.<br/>As mentioned last year, the beauty of this unit could be enhanced by a fresh coat of paint on the base boards, door frames and most of the doors. The shag carpeting may need to be steam cleaned ...especially the entrance runner. For us seniors, we would appreciate a few comfortable recliners in the living room. The one that is here is difficult for us to get in and out of and it may either need to be repaired or replaced for tenant's comfort and safety. Otherwise, we are very satisfied with our stay and look forward to coming back next year.
- Albert R.
Reviewed On: 2/18/2015
Vacation 2014 El Matador 459/Gulf Front/Corner unit I think one word TO describe the condo, the easy check in/out, the friendliness of the staff at the Realty, the cleanliness of the Condo, the beautiful view, the quiet area...one word..AMAZING! One of our best vacations yet, and we stayed from a recommendation of a very close friend. I would have never found this gem. I would like to thank Alicia Hollis Reality for making this the best vacation ever. We plan on staying here two weeks next year, and in hopes of actually purchasing one of these units in the next couple of years. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Monday, July 7, 2014 Thanks so much for your comments we all at Alicia Hollis Realtor appreciate that, and we are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and will be happy to see you again. Call us directly on Thanks Chris. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Monday, July 7, 2014 Thanks so much for your comments we all at Alicia Hollis Realtor appreciate that, and we are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and will be happy to see you again Thanks Chris.
Reviewed On: 7/7/2014
Stupendous! We had the best time at El Matador as usual. Our unit was wonderful. Dolphins playing and putting on a show was a thrill for a couple of midwesterners. The view from our unit was outstanding and we spent a lot of time on our deck watching George the resident Blue Heron cadging snacks from the fishermen. Glad we're booked in the same unit for the next two years. Eat your hearts out everyone who isn't. The BEST beach in the entire world, bar none!
- Sue G.
Reviewed On: 10/6/2014
GREAT VACATION EVERYTHING WAS WONDERFUL.
- Lisa H.
Reviewed On: 6/2/2015
This unit could use some updating... We love El Matador, and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The new kitchen is great, but the rest of the unit needs updating, especially considering the recent price increase. The furniture is not comfortable, and the decor is tired. Regarding the staff, Chris was extremely helpful when we desperately needed to extend our stay a day. Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Wednesday, September 9, 2015 Thank you so much for staying with us and unit 459 at the el matador condo on the gulf. Thank you so much for the compliment, we are all here to do the best we can to accommodate all of our tenants in the best way we can, and I am so happy to have made you all very accommodating. I will pass to the owners the stuff that you have mentioned to us, so that they can take care of them. Hope to see you again next year, to this same condo, a very large corner unit.
- Hank K.
Reviewed On: 9/8/2015
review of El Matador 459 Main door lock was very difficult to open/close, and you could tell where it had previously been pried open and not fixed- safety issue. Mold on main window curtains. Electrical outlets falling out of the wall- huge safety issue!!!! Furniture was old but serviceable. Was disappointed in room, but view was good. Would not recommend this unit to anyone. We paid premium dollars,and, for the most part, and received an unclean unit with safety issues.
- Leslie M.
Reviewed On: 9/9/2015
Vacation 2015 We've stayed in this room many a time on our stays in Ft. Walton. For the past 30 years our family has stayed here at the El Matador & room 459 is among our favorites. I must say though this condo could use some updating. The electrical sockets would barely keep our devices plugged in. I know they updated the kitchen a few years ago & we loved it, but the rest of the rooms could use some updating. The only other complaint has to do with beach chairs & umbrella that used to be included & now we've found that we have to pay extra. We ended up buying a canopy & chairs because of the expense. The room price increased significantly as well. We still love the El Matador but will take these things in considering our next vacation... Response from Alicia J. Hollis, Realtor; Tuesday, July 28, 2015 we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the El Matador, and thanks for taking the time to review your unit. I am so sorry that you were disappointed about the beach service, but, unfortunately, a lot of tenants never used it, so it was money wasted. We hope that we will have the pleasure of providing your accommodations the next time you visit beautiful Okaloosa Island with Alicia Hollis Realtor.
- Randy & Susan H.
Reviewed On: 7/24/2015
July 18th-25th The living room and kitchen was clean but the furniture was outdated and in bad condition and the furniture in the second bedroom was falling apart. The second bedroom was also very dirty. There was dirt in the corners of the room and the legs of the dresser were so loose that we were afraid to use the dresser. I wanted to sit and cry when I walked in. Not how we wanted to start our first vacation in over 18 months. There was also mold in the corners of the shower in the second bathroom. The outlets in the living room (close to the patio door)does not work also. The view was the only thing that this condo had going for it. So we just took it in stride and used the balcony a lot. Please work on this condo....the view is extraordinary and it could bring a lot of joy to others!! The Master also had its problems but was cleaner than the second bedroom.
- Lisa B.
Reviewed On: 7/28/2015
We have been renting condos at El Matador for 20 years. I was very disappointed in the condition of our condo this year. We pay a premium price to be in building four with a corner view #459. My family also had unit #469. Their condo was very nice and clean. When we arrived our unit was dirty. I called Chris and she sent the cleaning guys over. The only thing I had them do was clean the mustard off the panty door and wipe the spills off the kitchen floor. Even though there were other issues My family was ready to settle in for our vacation and they convinced me to let it go. Not only is the furniture old but the carpet is also old and was stained and dirty. You could see dirt and crumbs under the sofa. the kitchen cookware was old. the flatware was old and mismatched. The bathrooms were not clean and the toilet paper and shower caddies were very rusted. I feel like my vacation experience was not as good because of the condition of our condo. I would not rent this unit again. I have been told that going throug
Reviewed On: 7/25/2017
Love it here!!
Reviewed On: 7/17/2017
This unit is in a perfect location on the 5th floor. The views are super,nothing but beach and water in 3 directions. The unit was fresh and the furnishings are in good shape however the tv in the master bedroom had some issues. I would(will) stay there again.
Reviewed On: 7/10/2017
Very nice time! This has been our 10th year to El Matador and 3rd or 4th to unit 459. I would like to suggest the following regarding this unit. Sofa sleeper not comfortable, perhaps a new mattress. Sliding door very heavy to open/close. Outside furniture is old, could use an update. Ceiling fans would be a welcome addition to the bedrooms.
Reviewed On: 5/22/2017
Our family found this unit to be very comfortable and the location for beach view could not have been better! The kitchen has been updated but there was a trick to getting the dishwasher to start. Also the light switch in the hall needs checking. We were able to watch the Wednesday night fireworks from our balcony which was lovely. This was our second trip to El Matador and we will definitely come again.
Reviewed On: 6/22/2017
One of the prime locations in El Matador and nicely secluded at end of Santa Rosa Blvd.
Reviewed On: 6/28/2017
We spend the month of September in the same unit at El Matador. Spectacular views of the Gulf from Destin to Pensacola. Dolphins swimming by, Pelicans overhead, white sugar sand beach, and balmy breezes in a pristine setting. Too many great restaurants, so little time!
Reviewed On: 10/3/2016
This is our third year renting 459. The view from the balcony is magnificent as well as from the living room windows. <br/>Most of the unit could use some fresh paint. <br/>The living room furniture is not very comfortable and especially the red chair which is thinly padded and difficult to get in and out of...especially for us seniors.<br/>We will rent again next year and hope that our suggestions will be considered.
Reviewed On: 2/22/2016
Wonderful corner unit, great views!
Reviewed On: 6/22/2016
We have been going to Okaloosa Island for 10 years now and love the El Matador's location. Everyone and everything was great.
Reviewed On: 5/17/2016
Excellent! Our favorite place on the beach!
Reviewed On: 7/12/2016
Perfect
Reviewed On: 8/29/2016
Wonderful end unit. Watch the sunrise and sunset right from your balcony.
Reviewed On: 3/17/2017
Beautiful view.<br/>Bed spreads, carpet, paint,front door........ dust upon dust......<br/>Alicia is the best this Condo does not represent her qualities.<br/>Steve Allen
Reviewed On: 1/31/2017
Looking forward to our winter vacation in unit 459 in 2015.
Reviewed On: 4/21/2014
Overall a nice condo unit. We are booking it for next year for the months of Jan., Feb., Mar., of 2014. <br/>We expect the unit to be in at least the same condition as we experienced this year. We expect that the pull out sofa will be replaced with a new one and that the other living room furniture will be upgraded. We want at least four decent chairs on the balcony. We noticed that an electric outlet on the west wall near the slider is loose and could become a hazard for anyone plugging anything into the outlet. <br/>All of the woodwork, baseboards, door frames and doors need to be cleaned and/or repainted. <br/>Correcting the above items will certainly enhance the attractiveness and comfort of unit 459. Thank you.
Reviewed On: 3/6/2014
Awful stay stay at the El Madator in Fort Walton Beach. Hollis Realtors mis represented the property - Bed configuration we not correct, the room was very dirty, furniture as well dirty and out dated, door lock broke, mold in bathrooms and around windows. Unfortunately Hollis Realtors did nothing to clean or correct the problems.
Reviewed On: 4/28/2014
This unit is so perfectly located that even on the rare rainy day the view is spectacular. It is outfitted with everything you would ever need. Truly a home away from home.
Reviewed On: 10/6/2015
The location of the property was perfect. The inside of the condo was clean some area are a little outdated. The Kitchen was beautiful. The front door lock was weak and falling apart needs to be fixed.
Reviewed On: 11/17/2014
I LOVE EL MATADOR AND HAVE STAYED THERE FOR THE LAST 8 YEARS AND PLAN ON GOING BACK EVERY YEAR. ALICIA J. HOLLIS PERSONNEL WAS EXCELLENT IN EVERY WAY
Reviewed On: 5/19/2014
Overall our vacation experience was great. Wonderful views from the units balcony and the furnishings were ok. On the down side, the window in the guest bedroom needs a curtain to block out the light from the stairway outside.Also, the shower head in the guest bath leaked pretty bad and the handle on the sliding door to the balcony was broken. Finally, the overall cleanliness was not good (heavy dust on top of fridge,stuff around baseboards and dirty glassware in cabinet). I realize that most of these things are minor but you asked. P S It Won't stop us from coming back.
Reviewed On: 7/28/2014
The unit is very clean and comfortable. We truly enjoy the panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. <br/>We are very pleased with the four balcony chairs and the fact that the pull out sofa has beeen repaired. The kitchen is very nice and well equipped.<br/>As mentioned last year, the beauty of this unit could be enhanced by a fresh coat of paint on the base boards, door frames and most of the doors. The shag carpeting may need to be steam cleaned ...especially the entrance runner. For us seniors, we would appreciate a few comfortable recliners in the living room. The one that is here is difficult for us to get in and out of and it may either need to be repaired or replaced for tenant's comfort and safety. Otherwise, we are very satisfied with our stay and look forward to coming back next year.
Reviewed On: 2/18/2015
I think one word TO describe the condo, the easy check in/out, the friendliness of the staff at the Realty, the cleanliness of the Condo, the beautiful view, the quiet area...one word..AMAZING! One of our best vacations yet, and we stayed from a recommendation of a very close friend. I would have never found this gem. I would like to thank Alicia Hollis Reality for making this the best vacation ever. We plan on staying here two weeks next year, and in hopes of actually purchasing one of these units in the next couple of years.
Reviewed On: 7/7/2014
We had the best time at El Matador as usual. Our unit was wonderful. Dolphins playing and putting on a show was a thrill for a couple of midwesterners. The view from our unit was outstanding and we spent a lot of time on our deck watching George the resident Blue Heron cadging snacks from the fishermen. Glad we're booked in the same unit for the next two years. Eat your hearts out everyone who isn't. The BEST beach in the entire world, bar none!
Reviewed On: 10/6/2014
This was our 4th year at El Matador for the month of October and condo 459 is our favorite. Hoping we can continue to rent it for the coming years.
Reviewed On: 11/15/2015
EVERYTHING WAS WONDERFUL.
Reviewed On: 6/2/2015
We love El Matador, and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The new kitchen is great, but the rest of the unit needs updating, especially considering the recent price increase. The furniture is not comfortable, and the decor is tired. Regarding the staff, Chris was extremely helpful when we desperately needed to extend our stay a day.
Reviewed On: 9/8/2015
Main door lock was very difficult to open/close, and you could tell where it had previously been pried open and not fixed- safety issue. Mold on main window curtains. Electrical outlets falling out of the wall- huge safety issue!!!! Furniture was old but serviceable. Was disappointed in room, but view was good. Would not recommend this unit to anyone. We paid premium dollars,and, for the most part, and received an unclean unit with safety issues.
Reviewed On: 9/9/2015
We've stayed in this room many a time on our stays in Ft. Walton. For the past 30 years our family has stayed here at the El Matador & room 459 is among our favorites. I must say though this condo could use some updating. The electrical sockets would barely keep our devices plugged in. I know they updated the kitchen a few years ago & we loved it, but the rest of the rooms could use some updating. The only other complaint has to do with beach chairs & umbrella that used to be included & now we've found that we have to pay extra. We ended up buying a canopy & chairs because of the expense. The room price increased significantly as well. We still love the El Matador but will take these things in considering our next vacation...
Reviewed On: 7/24/2015
The living room and kitchen was clean but the furniture was outdated and in bad condition and the furniture in the second bedroom was falling apart. The second bedroom was also very dirty. There was dirt in the corners of the room and the legs of the dresser were so loose that we were afraid to use the dresser. I wanted to sit and cry when I walked in. Not how we wanted to start our first vacation in over 18 months. There was also mold in the corners of the shower in the second bathroom. The outlets in the living room (close to the patio door)does not work also. The view was the only thing that this condo had going for it. So we just took it in stride and used the balcony a lot. Please work on this condo....the view is extraordinary and it could bring a lot of joy to others!! The Master also had its problems but was cleaner than the second bedroom.
Reviewed On: 7/28/2015
Our stay at El Matdor is alway GREAT! We love the location and the Ft. Walton area. We will be back in Setember!!
Reviewed On: 5/29/2012
Everything was great with the exception of the internet. There was suppose to be internet access & the modem was not even plugged up nor was there a power supply with it...<br/>
Reviewed On: 7/17/2012
This is our time for family and friends. We come for a reunion and to see our kids, who live in the area, every year. The rental is on the end of the island, where it has a beautiful view of the white sand and emerald green water. So relaxing.
Reviewed On: 12/3/2012
We are quite disappointed in our recent stay. We stay in this unit every year, and are getting tired of waiting for improvements. Kitchen is beautiful, the rest needs a lot of cleaning and updating. Improvements are schedled before our next visit, if they are not done, we will have to decide if we really want to continue renting this unit.<br/>All blinds in need of replacing, carpets need replaced, old grasscloth needs to go,the whole unit needs painted, and some furniture needs replaced.
Reviewed On: 10/10/2013
Unit 459 is well maintained and adequately furnished. The kitchen is well equipped and the appliances are in very good condition. Hollis Realty were very accommodating to us and quickly responded to our needs. Overall, we are very pleased with our stay. <br/>The baseboards, front door and pantry door need some touching up or repainting. There should be at least four serviceable chairs on the balcony and the pull out sofa is not in very good condition...there is cardboard under the cushions and it appears there is a broken spring underneath. We trust that these issues will be addressed. <br/>We plan on renting this unit for Jan, Feb, Mar of 2015.<br/><br/>Sincerely, Al & Geri Rice
Reviewed On: 2/7/2014
Wi-Fi needs to be connected in this unit, this was very inconvenient. Otherwise, the newly remodeled unit was beautiful.
Reviewed On: 6/10/2013
However, The furniture in the living area isn't very comfortable. If you plan to spend all of your time on the beach, then it's fine. Otherwise, choose another condo. The rest of the condo and experience was excellent.
Reviewed On: 9/8/2013

Listing History

  • This property owner/manager has been registered with Owner Direct since Aug 17, 2015.
  • This owner / manager has completed 4 successful bookings in total for all their properties through Owner Direct.com
  • The availability for this property was last updated on Nov 30, 2021
  • This owner's contact information has been verified by Owner Direct and past guests.

OwnerDirect.com - Superior Full Service

  • You're never alone with Owner Direct. Friendly service coast to coast available every day of the year.
  • You immediately know the price for your requested dates/occupants.
  • More photos (with descriptive captions) per property.
  • Extensive information is provided for every property, always in the same format, to save you time
  • We answer all of your questions quickly with our very comprehensive site and responsive customer service.
  • We offer a 24 hr grace period for both parties to communicate and confirm all details of a booking.

Web Directories - Our Competitors

  • A lot of your time is wasted filling out forms and waiting for replies from multiple vacation rental owners. Many busy owners never reply.
  • The price shown always changes, you have to calculate it yourself and often changes once you communicate with the owner.
  • Most owners do not take the time to provide complete information on listings, so you waste time having to ask questions and wait for responses.
  • In a nutshell, "Web Directories" are cumbersome and time consuming, and if you have a problem, you are on your own.

Gulf Front!!Corner Unit.!!Fantastic Panoramic Views!!

ID 221940 - 3 beds (1 king, 1 queen and 1 other). Base rent is for 6 occupants.
Fort Walton Beach Accommodations
Views to Navarre Beach to the West looking over 13 miles of deserted beaches, or to the East to Destin. At the end of the Island so it will be quieter here that else ware on the Island. We are ready for you!. Looking for Paradise Here it is at the El Matador. Has to be the most sought of family vacation resort on the Emerald Coast. A secluded condominium nestled between the beautiful white sand dunes and the sparkling Emerald Waters of the Gulf of Mexico.

El Matador is truly a beach resort. Just two miles down Santa Rosa Blvd at the end of the Island you will find us – secluded but still just a few minutes to all the amenities that Destin and Fort Walton Beach have to offer. Just six miles down Hwy. 98 you can enjoy Destin – “ The Worlds Luckiest Fishing Village” – charter a private trip or take the kids out on a group boat and catch dinner. While in Destin enjoy fine restaurants, shopping, and golfing on some of the best golf courses in the Panhandle of Florida. Hard to believe that you might need a day off from the beach but if you do take the family to Big Kahunas Water Park in the center of old Destin. Much more than just a water park… it’s a day of fun.

Back at the El Matador enjoy the large grass areas between our buildings just right for family fun and games. With two pools, his and her whirlpool, and saunas just right for your tired muscles after a game of tennis on one of our courts, or in our fitness center. We are located at the end of Okaloosa Island a small barrier Island between Fort Walton Beach and Destin. This gated community with thirteen miles of undeveloped beaches to the west is sure to have you longing to return.

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

We save your time and spare you the headaches!

We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Nearby and Recently Viewed Vacation Rentals

Pricing & Availability

to
Adults
Children (0-17)
Please select dates and occupants to view
Availability and Pricing
Mandatory
Taxes
Included
Excluded
First Payment, Charged Now
Second Payment, due by
Total Rent
(Damage/Security deposits not included)
Cancellation Policy
Total Rent

Rental Request & Questions

Subscribe to our newsletter
By requesting to book you agree to Owner Direct's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.
create an account?
  Help

Credit Card Details

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day
We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!
Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden
Timeout From:
Timeout To:

Experience the difference, no waiting
 
Toll Free USA, Canada
1.888.869.6377
Toll Free UK
0.800.249.4265
Toll Free Australia
1.800.150.197
International Rentals
1.250.469.9543