max 10 guests      4 bedrooms      3.5 bathrooms
  • Kitchen Attributes
    • Full Kitchen
    • Refrigerator
    • Coffee Maker
    • Microwave
    • Toaster
    • Cookware
    • Blender
    • Cooking Utensils
    • Pots / Pans
    • Dishwasher
    • Glassware
    • Stove / Oven
    • Silverware
    • Tea Kettle
  • Living Attributes
    • Linens
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Ironing Board
    • High Speed Internet
    • Fireplace
    • Wood Stove
    • Iron
    • Cable
    • Games
  • Business Attributes
    • Nearby ATM
    • Nearby Post Office
    • Nearby Internet Cafe
    • Nearby FedEx
    • Nearby Bank
  • Convenience Attributes
    • Area FitnessCenter
    • Nearby Medical Services
    • Nearby Grocery
  • Culture Attributes
    • Museums
    • Recreation Center
    • Library
  • Outdoor Attributes
    • Deck
    • Gas Grill
  • Geographic Attributes
    • On Beach
    • Near Beach
    • On Bay or Sound
    • Close to Town
    • Near Public Transportation
  • Entertainment Attributes
    • Cable TV
    • Games
    • Wireless Internet
    • Books
  • Children's amenities Attributes
    • Pack N Play
    • Children's Toys

Loading...

Terms

The Property Manager (hereafter referred to as "we", "us", or "our") provides rental management services on behalf of homeowners ("Owners") who rent their properties (including the associated fixtures and furnishings)(the “Home”) to guests (the "Guest" or "you") seeking accommodations on a short term or long term basis (collectively, the “Services”). We are the Owner's property manager and authorized agent, who will perform the Services related to your reservation. By using the Home and Services, you agree to comply with and be legally bound by the terms and conditions of this guest agreement (the "Agreement"). This Agreement only applies to short term rentals and not long term rentals, which will be governed by the specific terms of your lease agreement with us.

1. Policies: Please treat our Owner's Home with the care you would at your own home and abide by following policies:

*Behave as you would in any home in which you live, with respect for property and neighbors.
*Unless otherwise stated in the Home listing, you must be over the age of 25.
*You will be an occupant of the unit during the entire reserved period and other occupants of the Home during your stay will be family members, friends, responsible adults or children under direct adult supervision.
*Do not exceed the maximum occupancy of the Home.
*No parties, noise that can be heard beyond the home lot line or in adjacent units, or any illegal activity may occur at the Home.
*No pets are allowed unless otherwise noted for specific properties and where you have paid a pet fee in connection with your booking in advance of your reservation.
*No smoking is allowed in or around any Home.
*Check-in time is 3pm and check-out time is 10am - we will notify you via email in advance if early check-in or late check-out will be available.
*Please use common courtesy at the home by keeping it clean, reporting any problems or damages, washing dishes as used, taking garbage to the outside bins, leaving towels in the bathrooms and sheets in the bedrooms, and not re-arranging furniture.

2. Cleaning: Each home will be cleaned and inspected by third-party cleaning contractors after your departure. We ask you to help us enable the cleaning crews as much as possible. They will appreciate simple things like leaving the home tidy, running the dishwasher, starting to wash the towels, and taking out the trash.

3. Swimming Pools, Hot Tubs, or Beach: If the home that you have reserved includes a pool or hot tub, or is on a beach, these can all be obviously dangerous. Guests should observe and adhere to all rules and policies as posted at the home and supervise all children at all times. Lifeguards are not provided. Decks and patios can be slippery when wet and can result in injury to anyone who is not careful. Guest accept and assumes all risks involved in or related to the use of a pool, hot tub, beach and deck/patio areas.

4. Home Damage Waiver: Each guest will be offered an optional Damage Waiver that protects you against unintended damage done to the Property. This is not insurance, and the Damage Waiver does not apply to intentional damage done by the Guest or your guests, or excessive wear and tear due to parties, smoking, pets or otherwise, or additional cleaning charges due to stains or spills, or fines incurred by the police or HOA due to noise, excessive trash or parking, or damage over the purchased amounts of either $3,000 or $5,000. If Tenant does not wish to purchase this Damage Waiver, a security deposit of $3,000, $5,000, or greater depending on Property will be required at the time of booking. If a Home requires an additional security deposit, we will explain this to you before confirming a reservation. Guest acknowledges that any damage or fines not covered by the Damage Waiver or above the amount of any security deposit can be charged to Guest (and Guest’s card on file). The Damage Waiver can be purchased up to the day prior to your reservation but not after it has started. You do not have to purchase this Damage Waiver. Please contact the Property Manager directly at if you do not wish to purchase the Damage Waiver.

5. Excessive Wear and Tear, Noise and Occupancy: If excessive wear and tear is found for the Home, or additional cleaning is necessary due to spills, trash left on site, stains to furniture, carpeting, linens, paint, wallpaper, or flooring, Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest for additional fees. Tenant will be provided with a receipt for any additional fees incurred upon request or as required by local laws or regulations. If at any time the maximum number of the Home’s occupants is exceeded or if we receive information about excessive noise, the Property Manager has the right to evict Guest and all occupants immediately and to charge Guest a minimum service fee of $250 with no refund for the balance of the remaining reservation. If any sign of smoking is discovered Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. Unless the reservation for the Home specifically allows a pet, if any sign of a pet is discovered, then Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. The Property Manager will return any balance of a security deposit to Guest, less any charges or amounts owed by Guest, within fourteen (14) days after the end of the reservation or as otherwise required by local laws or regulations. Any charges owed by Guest may be charged by the Property Manager to Guest’s card on file in addition to seeking any relief provided by law.

6. Maintenance and Access: We have the right to enter the home at any time during guest stay and we will diligently attempt to address maintenance issues as they occur. This is an associated risk of renting a single family residence or condo. If a maintenance issue occurs that cannot be fixed in a reasonable amount of time, and significantly affects your stay; we reserve the right to refund at our discretion or offer to relocate you to another home.

7. Phone and Internet: Unless otherwise specified, all homes are equipped with a high-speed Wi-Fi connection where service is available and we will provide you with any required Wi-Fi passwords. We do not provide a land line phones for all homes and suggest that you please use your mobile phone or Wi-Fi enabled phone for calls.

8. Furnished Rental and Supplies: The Property Manager's properties are fully furnished properties that will include bedspreads, linens, blankets, pillows, towels, a fully equipped kitchen, TV, furnishings unless otherwise specified. A limited starter supply of paper products, bath and dish soap are provided, but will not be replaced if consumed during your stay so we recommend bringing additional personal items with you. Staples (salt, pepper, foils, wraps, etc) are generally stocked by the owner of the home, however the Property Manager cannot commit these supplies being present. Guest is responsible for replacing stocked items as they are consumed. If there is a special type of item you are accustomed to using please provide for those items by bringing them with you. Extra towels are always recommended for homes on the beach, or with a pool or hot tub.

9. Weather and Other Unforeseen Events: The Property Manager does not accept liability for any inconveniences arising from any temporary defects or stoppage in supply of water, gas, electricity or plumbing, damage caused by weather/road conditions, natural disasters, acts of God or other reasons beyond its control. No refunds will be given for any delays or cancellations due to such conditions. Travel Insurance is highly recommended for any stay.

10. Homeowners Association: The Property Manager cannot warrant the usability or condition of amenities provided through homeowner associations, including, but not limited to pools, hot tubs, club houses, tennis courts, golf facilities, and picnic & beach facilities.

11. Indemnity: Neither Owner nor the Property Manager assumes any liability for loss, theft, damage or injury to Guest, his/her guests or other occupants in the Home. The Guest, for himself/herself, his/her heirs, assignors, executors and administrators, fully releases and discharges Owner and the Property Manager from any and all claims, demands and causes of action by reason of any injury or whatever nature which has or have occurred, or may occur to the Guest, his/her guests or other occupants of the Home as a result of, or in connection with the occupancy of the Home and agrees to hold Owner and the Property Manager free and harmless of any claim or suit arising therefrom. In any action concerning the rights, duties or liabilities of the parties to this Agreement, or their principals, agents, successors or assignees the prevailing party shall be entitled to recover reasonable attorney fees and costs.

12. Sale Contingency: In the rare event the Home that that you have reserved is for sale, and/or is under a contract to sell, the Property Manager reserves the right to provide Guest with a comparable home at no additional cost to the Guest. Showings during occupancy are by appointment only at your prior approval.

13. Payment and Cancellations: We accept all major credit cards. For reservations made more than 30 days in advance, we only charge a deposit of 10% of the total reservation upon booking, with full payment due 30 days prior to check-in. For all reservations made within 30 days of check-in, we collect payment in full at the time of booking. All reservations which are made more than 10 days in advance are fully refundable if the guest cancels the reservation within 72 hours after the time of booking. After this cancellation period expires, all guest payments are non-refundable.

14. Other Terms and Conditions: Your booking is subject to the the Property Manager 's Terms, Privacy Policy and this Guest Agreement which can be found at /terms. Additionally, where specifically required by the terms of any applicable laws, regulations or Homeowner's Association rules (as determined by the Property Manager), then this Rental Agreement shall constitute a lease of the premises. If you would like to extend your reservation for additional dates, please call us for availability and pricing.

Payment Methods
Most major credit cards - Cash

Payment Balance
Balance and schedule of payments can be discussed the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Booking Cancellation Conditions
Cancellation policies can be discussed with the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Security or Damage Deposit
A refundable security/damage deposit will be required by the property manager.

Availability

Nightly rates shown do not include taxes, conditional rate adjustments or any applicable fees - request property or use rate calculator to obtain an accurate quote.

Nightly

2019

Rate Period Nightly
Dec 1 to Dec 22 Min Stay 3 nights 141 - 232 USD
Dec 23 to Dec 26 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu) 252 - 319 USD
Dec 27, 2019 to Jan 2, 2020 Min Stay 3 nights 330 - 350 USD

2020

Rate Period Nightly
Jan 3 to May 7 Min Stay 3 nights 324 - 481 USD
May 8 to May 21 Min Stay 5 nights 553 USD
May 22 to May 24 Min Stay 5 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 594 - 596 USD
May 25 to Jun 19 Min Stay 5 nights 553 USD
Jun 20 to Jun 26 Min Stay 5 nights 645 - 662 USD
Jun 27 to Jul 5 Min Stay 5 nights 808 - 816 USD
Jul 6 to Aug 28 Min Stay 5 nights 645 USD
Aug 29 to Sep 3 Min Stay 5 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Sat, Sun) 553 - 560 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 6 Min Stay 5 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 635 - 640 USD
Sep 7 to Oct 17 Min Stay 5 nights 553 USD
Oct 18 to Nov 24 Min Stay 3 nights 451 - 481 USD
Nov 25 to Nov 28 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 511 - 516 USD

Weekly

2019

Rate Period Weekly
Dec 1 to Dec 22 Min Stay 7 nights 1,013 - 1,153 USD
Dec 23 to Dec 26 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu) 1,976 - 2,444 USD
Dec 27, 2019 to Jan 2, 2020 Min Stay 7 nights 2,421 - 2,505 USD

2020

Rate Period Weekly
Jan 3 to May 7 Min Stay 7 nights 2,328 - 3,239 USD
May 8 to May 21 Min Stay 7 nights 3,869 USD
May 22 to May 24 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 4,155 - 4,166 USD
May 25 to Jun 19 Min Stay 7 nights 3,869 USD
Jun 20 to Jun 26 Min Stay 7 nights 4,510 - 4,641 USD
Jun 27 to Jul 5 Min Stay 7 nights 5,625 - 5,712 USD
Jul 6 to Aug 28 Min Stay 7 nights 4,510 USD
Aug 29 to Sep 3 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Sat, Sun) 3,881 - 3,904 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 6 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 4,441 - 4,464 USD
Sep 7 to Oct 17 Min Stay 7 nights 3,869 USD
Oct 18 to Nov 24 Min Stay 7 nights 3,239 USD

Long Term Stays

2019

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Dec 1 to Dec 22 Min Stay 30 nights 30 6,596 - 7,571 USD
Dec 23 to Dec 26 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu) 30 11,147 - 11,158 USD
Dec 27, 2019 to Jan 2, 2020 Min Stay 30 nights 30 9,601 - 10,924 USD

2020

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Jan 3 to May 7 Min Stay 30 nights 30 9,977 - 12,482 USD
May 8 to May 21 Min Stay 30 nights 30 15,669 USD
May 22 to May 24 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 16,877 - 16,886 USD
May 25 to Jun 19 Min Stay 30 nights 30 15,690 - 15,787 USD
Jun 20 to Jun 26 Min Stay 30 nights 30 18,450 USD
Jun 27 to Jul 5 Min Stay 30 nights 30 22,855 - 22,950 USD
Jul 6 to Aug 28 Min Stay 30 nights 30 18,308 USD
Aug 29 to Sep 3 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Sat, Sun) 30 15,681 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 6 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 18,065 - 18,081 USD
Sep 7 to Oct 17 Min Stay 30 nights 30 15,656 USD
Oct 18 to Nov 24 Min Stay 30 nights 30 13,026 - 13,115 USD

Verified vacation home reviews by real guests

All Owner Direct guest reviews posted are verified and confirmed individually by Owner Direct Vacation Rentals staff.

This property has no Owner Direct reviews yet.

Overall satisfaction (14 raters)
Property condition (14 raters)
Location (14 raters)
Cleanliness (14 raters)
Services from rental manager (14 raters)

The following review(s) were provided by the property manager.

Green Landing Review While the house looked beautiful on the outside, there were several serious problems inside. The fireplace wouldn't draw correctly and smoked up the house. Unfortunately, the only smoke detector in the house didn't go off. There should have been many more smoke detectors in a home that size, especially detectors upstairs, but there was only one for the entire house. There was only one main heater which was located in the dining room and it smelled like gas some of the time. The heaters in the bedrooms were small electrical ones and seemed quite unsafe. There were so many light bulbs that were out and too many extension cords that seemed unsafe. When we arrived, we couldn't get the wifi to work. I called Turnkey and reported, they said they would have someone call me back, but they never did return my call. There is a shipbuilder located next door and the sound from there was not always pleasant. The house seemed clean and the setting was beautiful, but all in all, it was overly expensive for the condition of the home. For that price, it seems like chipped paint throughout the home and all of the above conditions should be corrected. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Monday, October 14, 2019 Hi Patricia, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are a bit confused as our records do not indicate that you contacted us regarding these maintenance issues. Always remember that our guest hotline is available 24/7 if you ever need anything during your stay. Our local Field Operations team is following up with ensuring our home receives the proper maintenance and care moving forward for future guests. Thanks again for taking care of our place, and please come back anytime! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 9/21/2019
Nice place! Plenty of room for multiple guests without being on top of each other. Great outdoor porch areas to sit. Lovely views.
Reviewed On: 9/20/2019
Untitled We replaced 6-8 blown-out light bulbs while we were there. Would be a good idea to have he cleaning crew test these sorts of things, and also to vacuum or sweep under and behind the furniture. Maybe it would help to have the same cleaning crew every week. We've stayed here many times, and Turnkey's efforts have deteriorated. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Monday, October 14, 2019 Hi Lael, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for returning to our home once again! We wish we would have known about the cleanliness and maintenance issues you experienced so that we could have offered to send someone back out -- Always remember that our guest hotline is available 24/7 if you ever need anything! Here at TurnKey, we truly appreciate your feedback and strive to offer all of our guests an exceptional experience. We will be following up to ensure future guests arrived to an immaculate home that meets our standards. You were wonderful guests and please come back again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 9/3/2019
Family Vacation We had a wonderful time spending a week at the Green Landing Lodge with our family of 10 people. The space was wonderful for big family meals and relaxing on the deck looking over the ocean.
Reviewed On: 7/23/2019
Oceanfront home Beautiful location, great view, perfect for large families. Lots of outdoor space for eating, entertaining, grilling. Very clean home. We were there in May and was very cold, this is definately a summer home. Owner had to come show us how to regulate heat (she was very pleasant) Beds were uncomfortable (very firm). Internet is spotty and doesn't reach the upstairs. Water had to run a long time to get it hot. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Thursday, May 30, 2019 Hi Michelle, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed the outdoor space, beautiful location, and excellent view! We were glad that we could assist you during your stay with the heating. We appreciate you taking care of our home, and for your feedback. We would love to host you again. Please come back anytime! - The TurnKey VR Team
- michelle W.
Reviewed On: 5/14/2019
Perfect place for a getaway or vacations Lovely old house localized near the ocean with a waterfront. The view is gorgeous. Calm and quiet neibourghood despite a shipyard which was not too disturbing. The house is decorated tastefully and is very functional. You will find everything you need. The rooms are spacious and 3 bathroom is perfect for 2 couples with 5 kids. It's a safe zone. It was a very good experience
Reviewed On: 5/22/2019
Two weeks in East Boothbay Overall, the place was very good to stay in with 6 adults. The house and furniture are definitely dated . The inside was clean, save for mice, and the outside needs work. The barge factory next door crated a little unwanted noise in the daytime.<br/>The location was great for day trips into town and surrounding villages,Phone service for ATT was sparse. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Thursday, August 17, 2017 Hi Jonathan, Thank you so much for the review and helpful feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will follow up on any maintenance issues and make sure pest control is scheduled, if needed. Also, our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up, so please let us know next time if you need anything. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we look forward to having you stay again! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Jonathan M.
Reviewed On: 8/13/2017
Wonderful, as always! Every minute we can spend in East Boothbay is a delight.
Reviewed On: 7/31/2017
Family Vacation We booked this house for a family getaway for five adults ands three children ages 8-11. The location is remote aside from the owner' house being 30 feet away. The views from the wraparound porch were spectacular. To the left is a boat building company that is quite noisy Mon-Fri. Otherwise, the only noises are the lobster boats and birds. <br/><br/>The yard is expansive and slopes steeply to the water. Unfortunately, there was an infestation of fire ants that bit the dogs, children and adults many times. The owner has lovely chickens and large cats that free range in the afternoon, so if you have a dog with a high prey drive, this may not be the best house. The owner also has a dog. We used the dock for kayaking, paddle boarding and fishing. Our children swim well so they could jump off the dock and kayak by themselves. The currents and tides can be strong, so young children and less confident swimmers would have to be watched carefully. <br/><br/>The house is antique and has the charm of an old Maine inn or bed and breakfast. It is loaded with books, seating and a lovely fireplace. There were plenty of sleeping spaces and bathrooms, but everything was quite dated. The old kitchen stove is huge and we loved the griddle. We were told that the guests prior to us saw mice, and they put down mouse poison. It was not in traps and fortunately we retrieved them just as our dog was sniffing them. We did not see mice, but saw mouse droppings. <br/><br/>Overall I would recommend this house for a large group or family looking for a rustic stay in a large house. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Thursday, August 24, 2017 Dawn, Thank you so much for the review, and we are happy to hear that you had a great stay at our place. That being said, we do apologize if some inconveniences occurred and wish we had known during your stay so that we could have helped out. Here at TurnKey, it is our highest priority to make sure each guest has the best experience possible, and our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to help if anything comes up. Please know that we are following up to have the home treated for ants and will be sharing your feedback with the owner. By the way, you were absolutely perfect guests, and we are hopeful to hear from you again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 8/21/2017
Family trip Great location and plenty of space. The house is "Maine rustic", which was just as expected. Great relaxed views and nice yard for dogs. Inside furniture comfortable Beds comfy. Fit 8 easily. But, because of the age, there are some issues. Stove slow to work and can't read controls etc. Front porch boards and chairs need repair. Pans, grill and some kitchen tools rusted. Next door workers noisy. Overall, would go back knowing house failings. E. Booth beautiful. Have kayak delivered from Tidal Transit. Short drive to Ocean point area and BBay Harbor. Turnkey ops worked well; just show up and leave. Owner doesn't allow early arrival. Owner on property with nice dog and cats. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Saturday, September 9, 2017 Hello Philip, Thank you so much for the review and helpful feedback! We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will be looking into replacing those pans along with the kitchen tools and that the deck board repair is underway. Also, our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up, so please let us know next time if you need anything. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we look forward to having you stay again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 9/8/2017
We love Green Landing We know the owner of this property and have reported to her that we had issues this year with maintenance and service details that we think Turnkey should be providing. Most troublesome, the Turnkey internet connection & "pad" was down for three weeks! We phoned several times and were told we could "just use the owner's system". Inconvenient but workable: we had planned our schedules around a pre-arranged cleaning time that was mis-communicated. Minor irritations that nevertheless show that T'key is just not paying attention: light bulbs were blown in the kitchens and bathrooms (we replaced); a broken toilet paper holder in the upstairs shared bath was never repaired or replaced. We brought these little things to the attention of our cleaners (who were very nice, and thorough). Evidently their reports to management were overlooked. Finally, PLEASE tell the people who are answering your phones, first, that "no problem" is an infuriating response to a client who is reporting a problem; and second, if they cannot answer the question or solve the issue to contact a supervisor who can. It looked to us this year that Turnkey has taken more business than you can satisfactorily service. Very different from last year!!! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, September 18, 2018 Hi Lael, Thank you so much for leaving this review. We are sorry to hear about the issues you had communicating with our team and for any inconvenience this caused. At TurnKey, it’s our highest priority to make sure our guests have the best experience possible, but if problems do arise, we try our very best to make things right in any way we can. We were happy to assist you during your stay and thanks again for your patience and for being absolutely perfect guests. We look forward to you staying with us again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 8/15/2018
Memories made at Green Landing My family really enjoyed staying at Green Landing it was located right where like to stay with gorgeous water views. It had wonderful rustic Maine charm and was very comfortable. We enjoy the Boothbay area with a lot to do but the home was a welcome retreat when we were done with our activities, We would love to stay there again.
- Susan C.
Reviewed On: 7/19/2018
Memorial Day Weekend Really enjoyed a long Memorial Day weekend at this property. Right on the river with direct water access, which made it easy to go kayaking. Plenty of space inside for all 8 of us. Would definitely stay here again!
- Brian K.
Reviewed On: 6/13/2018
Riverfront beauty My family and I were smitten with this lovely home and beautiful views. So much room to spread out and relax. Comfortable and cozy as well. Enjoyed spending time on the covered porch and down by the dock. We got to see a seal playing right in front of us, chipmunks gathering food, and we spotted a Bald Eagle. Thankful that the owner has opened up her history rich home for others to enjoy! So much nicer than a hotel room!!!
- Barbara M.
Reviewed On: 10/31/2018
Great location and plenty of space. The house is "Maine rustic", which was just as expected. Great relaxed views and nice yard for dogs. Inside furniture comfortable Beds comfy. Fit 8 easily. But, because of the age, there are some issues. Stove slow to work and can't read controls etc. Front porch boards and chairs need repair. Pans, grill and some kitchen tools rusted. Next door workers noisy. Overall, would go back knowing house failings. E. Booth beautiful. Have kayak delivered from Tidal Transit. Short drive to Ocean point area and BBay Harbor. Turnkey ops worked well; just show up and leave. Owner doesn't allow early arrival. Owner on property with nice dog and cats.
Reviewed On: 9/8/2017
We booked this house for a family getaway for five adults ands three children ages 8-11. The location is remote aside from the owner' house being 30 feet away. The views from the wraparound porch were spectacular. To the left is a boat building company that is quite noisy Mon-Fri. Otherwise, the only noises are the lobster boats and birds. <br/><br/>The yard is expansive and slopes steeply to the water. Unfortunately, there was an infestation of fire ants that bit the dogs, children and adults many times. The owner has lovely chickens and large cats that free range in the afternoon, so if you have a dog with a high prey drive, this may not be the best house. The owner also has a dog. We used the dock for kayaking, paddle boarding and fishing. Our children swim well so they could jump off the dock and kayak by themselves. The currents and tides can be strong, so young children and less confident swimmers would have to be watched carefully. <br/><br/>The house is antique and has the charm of an old Maine in
Reviewed On: 8/21/2017
Overall, the place was very good to stay in with 6 adults. The house and furniture are definitely dated . The inside was clean, save for mice, and the outside needs work. The barge factory next door crated a little unwanted noise in the daytime.<br/>The location was great for day trips into town and surrounding villages,Phone service for ATT was sparse.
Reviewed On: 8/13/2017
Every minute we can spend in East Boothbay is a delight.
Reviewed On: 7/31/2017

Listing History

  • This property owner/manager has been registered with Owner Direct since Jun 29, 2016.
  • This owner / manager has completed 263 successful bookings in total for all their properties through Owner Direct.com
  • The availability for this property was last updated on Nov 02, 2019
  • The rates for this property were last updated on Sep 27, 2016
  • This owner's contact information has been verified by Owner Direct and past guests.

OwnerDirect.com - Superior Full Service

  • You're never alone with Owner Direct. Friendly service coast to coast available every day of the year.
  • You immediately know the price for your requested dates/occupants.
  • More photos (with descriptive captions) per property.
  • Extensive information is provided for every property, always in the same format, to save you time
  • We answer all of your questions quickly with our very comprehensive site and responsive customer service.
  • We offer a 24 hr grace period for both parties to communicate and confirm all details of a booking.

Web Directories - Our Competitors

  • A lot of your time is wasted filling out forms and waiting for replies from multiple vacation rental owners. Many busy owners never reply.
  • The price shown always changes, you have to calculate it yourself and often changes once you communicate with the owner.
  • Most owners do not take the time to provide complete information on listings, so you waste time having to ask questions and wait for responses.
  • In a nutshell, "Web Directories" are cumbersome and time consuming, and if you have a problem, you are on your own.

Close to Town and

ID 230386 - 6 beds (2 king, 2 single and 2 double). Base rent is for 10 occupants.
Kazakhstan Holiday Rentals
Close to town and 10 minutes to Boothbay Harbor, this historic 4BR, 3.5BA Maine home sleeps 10 and boasts an oceanfront location with deepwater dock. Close by East Boothbay General Store and Lobsterman's Wharf. This home is ideal for family gatherings.. Close to town and 10 minutes to Boothbay Harbor, this historic 4BR, 3.5BA Maine home sleeps 10 and boasts an oceanfront location with deepwater dock. Close by East Boothbay General Store and Lobsterman's Wharf. This home is ideal for family gatherings.

INSIDE THE HOUSE

Fields and trees surround plenty of parking spaces off a gravel driveway. Park and walk past the carriage house and on to the quintessentially “Maine” main house.

Enter through the side door and into the kitchen, furnished with a stainless steel fridge and double sink, a huge gas industrial stove, and lobster pots galore. A ½-bath is located off the kitchen.

The dining room is located off the kitchen. A big table seats 9, a red-topped booth seats several more, and rustic touches give the place a homey feel.

Step into the great room, where a striped sofa faces a wood-burning fireplace and a big slate blue sectional faces the 40” cable TV. 2 wicker chairs provide even more seating, and stained glass windows are a beautiful touch. The coffee table doubles as a cribbage board.

Access the wraparound porch from here, furnished with another big table with 9 seats, a grill, benches, and a few more seating areas. Gorgeous views of the water surround you.

Back in the great room, a staircase leads to the bedrooms upstairs. The 1st on the left is the master and has a king-size bed, wicker seating area, and sweeping ocean views. An en suite master bath has a shower/tub combo and a cheerful marine theme.

Further down the bookshelf-lined hall is the 2nd bedroom, also furnished with a king-size bed. Enjoy woodland views here, plus an en suite bath with shower/tub combo. The 3rd bedroom next door has 2 twin-size beds.

A spacious bathroom awaits at the end of the hallway, featuring a pedestal sink, walk-in shower, and separate tub. The adjoining 4th bedroom overlooks the ocean and has 2 full-size beds and a desk.
A big yard lined with lush gardens leads down to the water. Take the staircase to the boathouse—it will be locked, but the shared waterside dock and deck is yours to use. Explore the rocky beach area to the right, or set off in your kayak. This is not an ideal spot for swimmers due to strong currents.

THE LOCATION

This truly is a historic location—East Boothbay is home to one of the oldest shipbuilders in the country, and you can watch tugboat builder Washburn & Doughty at work right from the dock.

East Boothbay General Store and Lobsterman's Wharf are nearby, as is the mouthwatering Carriage House Restaurant. Take a 10-minute drive to Boothbay Harbor's many restaurants and shops—try Ports of Italy for authentic Italian and Wannawaf for delicious ice cream on just baked waffle cones.

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

We save your time and spare you the headaches!

We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Nearby and Recently Viewed Vacation Rentals

Pricing & Availability

to
Adults
Children (0-17)
Please select dates and occupants to view
Availability and Pricing
Mandatory
Taxes
Included
Excluded
First Payment, Charged Now
Second Payment, due by
Total Rent
(Damage/Security deposits not included)
Cancellation Policy
Total Rent
You wont be charged yet
🕔 24-Hour Confirmation

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day
We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!
Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden
Timeout From:
Timeout To:

Experience the difference, no waiting
 
Experience the difference, no waiting
Toll Free USA, Canada
1.888.869.6377
Toll Free UK
0.800.249.4265
Toll Free Australia
1.800.150.197
International Rentals
1.250.469.9543