×
max 2 guests      1 bedroom      1 bathroom
  • Amenity Attributes
    • outdoor shower
    • toilet
  • Attractions Attributes
    • caves
    • reefs
    • restaurants
    • waterfalls
  • Entertainment Attributes
    • DVD Player
    • Satellite / Cable
    • Television
    • Cable TV
    • DVD Player
    • IPod Docking Station
    • Beach Chairs
    • Beach Towels
    • Picnic Cooler
  • General Attributes
    • Air Conditioning
    • Clothes Dryer
    • Hair Dryer
    • Internet
    • Iron & Board
    • Linens Provided
    • Living Room
    • Telephone
    • Washing Machine
    • Wifi
  • Kitchen Attributes
    • Coffee Maker
    • Dishes & Utensils
    • Dishwasher
    • Microwave
    • Oven
    • Refrigerator
    • Stove
    • Toaster
    • Full Kitchen
    • Refrigerator
    • Coffee Maker
    • Ice Maker
    • Microwave
    • Toaster
    • Outdoor Dining area
  • Leisure_activities Attributes
    • beachcombing
    • bird watching
    • horseback riding
    • luaus
    • paddle boating
    • photography
    • scenic drives
    • sight seeing
    • walking
    • whale watching
  • Local_services_and_businesses Attributes
    • ATM/bank
    • Babysitter
    • groceries
    • hospital
    • massage therapist
    • medical services
  • Location_type Attributes
    • Ocean View
    • Oceanfront
    • Resort
  • Outside Attributes
    • Deck / Patio
    • Golf
    • Kayak / Canoe
    • Lawn / Garden
    • Outdoor Grill
  • Pool_spa Attributes
    • Hot Tub
  • Sports_and_adventure_activities Attributes
    • cycling
    • fishing
    • golf
    • hiking
    • mountain biking
    • sailing
    • snorkeling
    • surfing
    • tennis
    • wind-surfing
  • Suitability Attributes
    • non smoking only
  • Health and safety Attributes
    • Enhanced cleaning practices
    • Clean with disinfectant
    • No-contact check-in and check-out
    • High touch surfaces cleaned with disinfectant
    • Towels and bedding washed in water that's at least 60sC/140sF
    • 2 days (48 hours)
    • SafeStay (AHLA - USA)
  • Living Attributes
    • Air Conditioning
    • Ceiling Fans
    • Linens
    • Washer & Dryer
    • WiFi
    • Free WiFi
    • Private gated entry
    • Granite Counter tops
    • Fine table linens and dinnerware
    • Floor-to-ceiling glass doors
    • European bed linens
    • 1 Cal King bed
  • Business Attributes
    • Nearby ATM
    • Nearby Post Office
    • Nearby FedEx
    • Nearby Bank
    • TVNC #4184
    • SP-2011-09
    • Emergency # Kahea 808-651-4440
    • TA-133-898-6496-01
  • Convenience Attributes
    • Walking distant to town
    • 15 minute drive to Hanalei Bay
    • 10 minute walk to beach
  • Outdoor Attributes
    • Patio
    • BBQ Grill
    • Outdoor Shower
    • Hot Tub
    • Beach
    • Gated property
  • Geographic Attributes
    • 35 minutes from airport
    • 1 mile to Bakery
    • 1 mile to shopping and dining
    • 20 minutes to Na Pali trail head

Loading...

Loading...

Payment Methods
Most major credit cards - Cash

Payment Balance
Balance and schedule of payments can be discussed the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Booking Cancellation Conditions
Cancellation policies can be discussed with the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Security or Damage Deposit
A refundable security/damage deposit will be required by the property manager.

Availability

Nightly rates shown do not include taxes, conditional rate adjustments or any applicable fees - request property or use rate calculator to obtain an accurate quote.

Nightly

2021

Rate Period Nightly
Sep 7 to Nov 21 Min Stay 2 nights 700 - 750 USD
Sep 7 to Nov 19 Min Stay 2 nights 700 USD
Nov 20 to Nov 30 Min Stay 2 nights 750 USD
Dec 1 to Dec 19 Min Stay 2 nights 700 USD
Dec 1 to Dec 16 Min Stay 2 nights 700 USD
Dec 17, 2021 to Jan 6, 2022 Min Stay 2 nights 700 USD

2022

Rate Period Nightly
Jan 7 to Apr 5 Min Stay 2 nights 700 USD
Mar 19 to Apr 5 Min Stay 2 nights 700 USD
Apr 6 to May 27 Min Stay 2 nights 700 USD
May 28 to Sep 6 Min Stay 2 nights 750 USD
Sep 7 to Nov 19 Min Stay 2 nights 700 USD

Weekly

2021

Rate Period Weekly
Sep 7 to Nov 21 Min Stay 7 nights 4,900 - 5,000 USD
Sep 7 to Nov 19 Min Stay 7 nights 4,900 USD
Nov 20 to Nov 30 Min Stay 7 nights 5,250 USD
Dec 1 to Dec 19 Min Stay 7 nights 4,900 USD
Dec 1 to Dec 16 Min Stay 7 nights 4,900 USD
Dec 17, 2021 to Jan 6, 2022 Min Stay 7 nights 5,500 - 5,950 USD

2022

Rate Period Weekly
Jan 7 to Apr 5 Min Stay 7 nights 4,900 USD
Mar 19 to Apr 5 Min Stay 7 nights 4,900 USD
Apr 6 to May 27 Min Stay 7 nights 4,900 USD
May 28 to Sep 6 Min Stay 7 nights 5,250 USD
Sep 7 to Nov 19 Min Stay 7 nights 4,900 USD

Long Term Stays

2022

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Apr 6 to May 27 Min Stay 30 nights 30 21,000 USD
May 28 to Sep 6 Min Stay 30 nights 30 22,500 USD
Sep 7 to Nov 19 Min Stay 30 nights 30 21,000 USD

Verified vacation home reviews by real guests

All Owner Direct guest reviews posted are verified and confirmed individually by Owner Direct Vacation Rentals staff.

This property has no Owner Direct reviews yet.

Overall satisfaction (34 raters)
Property condition (34 raters)
Location (34 raters)
Cleanliness (34 raters)
Services from rental manager (34 raters)

The following review(s) were provided by the property manager.

Hale Lani 20 years later... We had our honeymoon at Hale Lani in 2001. Loved it. We returned 20 years later to find that it has become run down, lacking repairs, and is in depressing shape compared to our prior visit. Just can't "go back" to old times. A big disappointment.<br/>It needs major renovation and general maintenance to get it back to its previous state. The addition of WIFI and A/C was great, but not enough to erase the disaapointment of the condition of the interior/exterior and landscaping.
- Glenn C.
Reviewed On: 5/3/2021
Quiet haven in Kauai The cottage is the perfect size for a couple with great outdoor space, excellent privacy and great views. The hot tub was great, the kitchen worked very well with all amenities you could need. The bbq worked however I could only get the right side running. The cottage is definitely sufficiently air conditioned despite earlier reviews. The walk to secret beach is only 5-10 mins and is a private path with an an amazing sunset, we enjoyed it a lot. The views over the ocean are great from the hills next to the property and the stars at night are soooo clear! 5 mins drive for groceries however this is a remote stay from most tours etc and traffic can be difficult when heading west. We loved the remoteness however. Overall I think it&#x2019;s worth the price and I had a great stay. Eric the manager was great also. Only negative is the bedroom gets too bright in the morning even when using the blinds and so we couldn&#x2019;t sleep in at all. Chickens also wake up early but that can&#x2019;t be helped.
- Richard R.
Reviewed On: 4/13/2021
Tropical Paradise This sweet little bungalow is a perfect get away from Old Man Winter in Iowa. Though, it's paint is peeling, private entry gate broken, entry key, near impossible to work with arthuritic hands, hose dripping, bedding "tired" generally needing TLC. The views are spectacular. With the new build across the way, patio privacy is compromised. Nothing beats the ocean views and being lulled to sleep by crashing waves.
- MARY ANN M.
Reviewed On: 2/14/2020
Beautiful stay Excellent location, quiet picturesque setting, extremely romantic. Beautiful accommodations, with gate, private Gardens, hike down to fabulous beach. Everything in good working order, great bed, linens, and kitchen set up nicely. A little warm in Sept, we hit hot weather, but used the A/C inside to keep the bedroom cool for sleeping. There are some interesting creatures around, but this is jungle. A few bugs were successfully kept at bay with citronella candles when we were out on the deck. Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Wednesday, October 2, 2019 We are so happy you had a wonderful stay, and that you enjoyed the location! The semi private beach is amazing happy you got to enjoy your stay. We greatly appreciate your review as well.  
Reviewed On: 10/1/2019
Beautiful, secluded cottage, high above the beach A perfect, simple retreat for two. The privacy, the views, the flora and fauna, the hike down to the beach. All of it made this cottage a perfect honeymoon retreat for us. We let the breezes blow through the screen doors most every night &#x2014; leading to blissful, perfect nights of sleep (but the birds do get up early!) Loved our trips to the beach. Big surf in early March kept us from swimming but it was beautiful and not many other people. The 10-minute hike to the water is beautiful but steep in places. The Kilauea village center with shops and restaurants provided great food and a few other people, when we needed any social interaction. Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Monday, March 30, 2020 We are so happy you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed its serine location. We do hope to see you again in the near future., and We greatly appreciate your 5 star review as well!
Reviewed On: 3/28/2020
A small piece of heaven The unit itself was exactly what we wanted. An isolated1 bedroom unit that was somewhat luxurious. The grounds, private trail to Secret Beach were fabulous.<br/>Although the property manager tried to resolve some issues (stove-top not functional, etc..) At this price point I would have expected them to have been checked pre-arrival. This together with the unit and it's lanai being cleaned days before, not day before or day of arrival, left somewhat of a bad impression.
- Nicholas G.
Reviewed On: 10/1/2020
Very nice, and best of all quiet. Could use some upgrades though The home is bigger than the picture make it seem, which was nice. The walk to the beach is steeper than expected though. It was nice to have a broom available to sweep the floors in the morning as there isn&#x2019;t floor mats at all of the doors and also to clean up the tropical insects that didn&#x2019;t make it through the night. One thing to note, when you get the gate code from the app, add a # to the end, took us a few guesses to get it right. I will say though that for the price of this unit it should be cleaner, have a better oven, a better grill and perhaps some sort of welcome basket (there was a card at least). All in all I believe it should be renting for 200 less. Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Thursday, August 2, 2018 Aloha, thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us. It's great to know you had a comfortable and quiet stay in this home. We will definitely update the arrival information with more specific gate access. We appreciate your suggestions and can look into some upgrades for future guests. Mahalo for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
- Ezra S.
Reviewed On: 4/29/2018
Review The rental was fantastic! Only complaint would be that the bathroom sink drained really slowly. It didn&#x2019;t deter from the overall wonderful experience. Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Tuesday, August 14, 2018 Aloha, thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you sharing the minor issue with the sink as we can look into this for our future guests. However, we are very glad to know this didn't deter from your overall wonderful experience! Mahalo for being such pleasant guests and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
- Joseph M.
Reviewed On: 5/27/2018
Simply Paradise Better experience than staying at a typical resort. The only way I want to vacation when visiting Hawaii Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Thursday, November 1, 2018 I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay! We greatly appreciate your review as well.
- Gregory F.
Reviewed On: 10/29/2018
A Private Paradise What a fantastic location. Located high above Secret Beach, Hale Lani offers unsurpassed views, lush landscape and a delightful short hike down to the beach. We appreciated the solitude and quiet. The cottage offers magnificent views, good floor plan and excellent amenities. This property definitely qualifies for a return visit. Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Monday, August 6, 2018 Aloha, thank you so much for your wonderful review and recommendation. From all of us at Hawaii Life, we are so thrilled to hear you had a everything you needed for a fantastic stay with us! We agree, the solitude of this location is definitely something special and the views are one of a kind; hopefully you were able to catch some sunsets! It sounds like you were able to enjoy some home amenities and we hope you were able to make some lasting memories together! Mahalo for being such pleasant guests and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
- Blackmore J.
Reviewed On: 5/9/2018
Great Weekend! We booked a place in Poipu but needed a place for a few extra days and decided to try staying up north. Next trip we will stay here the whole time. Loved the amazing views, the short hike to a beautiful beach and the privacy of our own little place. Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Tuesday, August 14, 2018 Aloha, thank you for your review and recommendation! We are so thrilled to hear you had a great experience and enjoyed some amazing views! Mahalo for being such pleasant guests and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Reviewed On: 5/29/2018
Beautiful lush Kauai location Hale Lani is located among beautiful lush grounds that are well maintained, quiet and private. As previous reviewers noted, however, the bbq and oven need to be replaced (oven is almost 30 yrs old- a Thermador convection oven). There also seemed to be a lack of any kind of special touch. A previous reviewer noted there was no gift basket. There was a card left for us, but it was only made out to one of us-even though we made it clear several times that we are a couple celebrating our anniversary. Communication was poor--we were given the wrong code for the key lock and not told to put # to open the gate. We were given several pages of terms and conditions, but no information was given regarding how to operate the oven, TV, BBQ, etc. Finally, for this price (plus over $400 fees and taxes) we expected better maintenance of this luxury cottage (badly in need of paint on exterior, kitchen counter, etc.). Our own home is near the beach and we know that periodic upkeep is required. We would have given more stars but saw that our same concerns were also noted by other reviewers in the past. We also stayed in Kapaa during our trip, and the special touches there were outstanding! We did enjoy visiting the lighthouse nearby when we were at Hale Lani. The hike to the beach was longer than we expected (good for people who love to hike). Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Wednesday, October 3, 2018 Hi David, Thank you for your comments. We are sorry we did not meet your needs. The new arrival information must have gone unnoticed, it's okay as our manager lives nearby and very easily able to connect with. The amenities in the unit are user friendly, however we will be sure to make it very clear how to operate the gas BBQ and TV. Secret Beach is a beautiful area and these cottages are diamonds in the rough. We hope you enjoyed the island and we welcome you back to any of our properties. Mahalo!
- David S.
Reviewed On: 9/29/2018
Missing Hospitality, lower your expectations for success Hospitality is an industry I'm well versed in. There were multiple missed opportunities that would have easily made our stay worth the investment. When spending $600 - $700 per night I expect seamless access to the property, all working appliances without excuses and a household with provisions. Here are a couple of missed opportunities that an organized professional hospitality service would not have missed.<br/>- I have a gate code, now treasure hunt to find where to punch that code in. Good thing we arrived with some daylight left.<br/>- Got a lock box code, no key in the box and the home is locked. Property management office is closed, leave a message, no call back for 3 days after calling for the second time on a different issue. When you get a property managers name and number that is not who arranged the stay, keep it close. That's how we gained access to the home an hour after we arrived.<br/>- House cleaner brought us a key, we notified her to notify management the Spa was dirty (we discovered while waiting to enter). No one was notified when we called back to inquire when that would be addressed.<br/>- Home book provided was tattered, stained and lacked complete explanations on operating appliances.<br/>- Trouble shooting: Oven display not readable, Microwave not plugged in at its location (told we could lift this heavy appliance down from inside a cabinet that requires a step stool to reach) and plug it in ourselves when we want to use it. Refrigerator ruined the majority of our purchased produce do to freezing. (when management was notified it was excuses about how sensitive it is and we just needed to have somehow known it would have temperature inconsistencies because of the climate)<br/>- No baking sheets, had to purchase and bring to the house when requested.<br/>We seek out vacation rental for independence and privacy. This property is in a lovely location, we had some privacy concerns when the house keeper said the key was missing due to
Reviewed On: 4/15/2019
Hale Lani Mixed Feelings I have mixed feelings about our stay at Hale Lani. It is a beautiful location. We were told that it is an old property whose owners are not keen on long term maintenance. We had a few issues during our stay. One of the closet doors fell apart, the 25 year old oven suffered a broken control knob, and the patio umbrella broke off in a storm. The property manager responded quickly and at my husband's prompting we did receive a credit on our stay. The missing closet door was not a big deal but no umbrella on the patio table we elected not to use it (no shade), we used a table top oven in place of the wall oven. There are other items that need attention(trim needs paint on exterior, soap scum or other white substance on wooden door in shower, sticking patio door). I may sound picky but the rental price was on the high end. I understand the closet door and oven were repaired after we left. We had no problem with the hot water, the washer & dryer, the refrigerator, and the bed. We did not use the hot tub or BBQ. This was a very special visit for us so maybe I had too high of expectations. We enjoyed the location for the beauty and quiet and the time we spent there taking photos and relaxing. I would recommend this property with reservations. I tried to arrange a massage for my husband via the concierge service but could not make contact.<br/>
Reviewed On: 5/27/2019
Paradise We found everything we needed during our honeymoon here at the cottage. It was a perfect, quiet location with a beautiful view. The pictures do not even describe how pretty the location is. The management group was very helpful and professional throughout the stay. We will definitely be returning to the Garden Island of Kauai!
- Preston F.
Reviewed On: 7/10/2014
Private Paradise The pictures and description don't do the location enough justice - the house is very tucked away and on it's own - there's no neighbor looking into your living room type of thing. And the walk down to the beach is very doable and the beach itself is epic. Highly recommended!
- Reagan F.
Reviewed On: 4/17/2014
Extraordinary Beauty and Privacy Pros: The grounds and the views are extraordinarily beautiful and private. We had lots of fun walking the grounds, cutting flowers and making arrangements. We enjoyed walking to Secrets beach --although we were not able to swim because of the strong currents, it's gorgeous and we felt like we had the beach to ourselves. The outdoor shower and hot tub are very private and so relaxing after a day at the beach. The bed was very comfortable and the room stayed cool with help from nice breezes and the fan. We loved the sound of the rain each night while being nestled in beauty and comfort.<br/><br/>Cons: The patio is situated on the hot, sunny side of the cottage --it was mostly too hot to enjoy until the sun went down. The inside of the cottage has an awkward layout and the kitchen is very small. Made it difficult to make nice meals if you're a cook. The cottage could also use warming up. There were no pictures on the walls (still had nails in the walls where pictures used to be), the table was a bit damaged and rough looking, and the blinds were beat up from opening and closing. I expected better for the price. The cottage was also missing small touches like coffee, tea, and basic staples. Other places we've stayed at this price point have included a welcome basket with the basics. <br/><br/>About three days into our stay the refrigerator went out and we lost some nice fish, but the management group was quick to respond to the problem. Another misfortune was that an adjacent property was under construction --a major demolition of the house, which Hawaii Life says they were not aware. For 5 days straight we heard the crashing of a crane into a house and cement. <br/><br/>We were longing for a peaceful, private setting and were willing to pay the extra so if we had known about the construction we would have made other arrangements. In the end we still had a nice stay. It's not likely we would return primarily because the price is too high for the accommodations.
Reviewed On: 7/7/2014
Relax at Hale Lani Great cottage above a wonderful beach with a vista to match! You will relax and enjoy the north shore of Kauai. Highly recommended! Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Wednesday, September 24, 2014 Aloha Jerry, We agree that Hale Lani is a little gem. The beach out front is one of our favorites. We welcome you back anytime! Kindly, The Hawaii Life Team
- Jerry O.
Reviewed On: 9/11/2014
Hale Lani This is our 3rd visit to the Kilauea area, and first visit to this cottage although we have stayed twice at it's sister cottage nearby, the Nanea. This was our favorite of the 2, in terms of proximity to the ocean (slightly closer) and possibly a little more private. However layout at the Nanea is better, with kitchen a little smaller giving you more living area. The Lani has an odd layout and could be better with an addition of a few comfortable chairs, and removing the sofa, which is in an odd place and too large. The cottage is also showing signs of wear and tear in the bedding. It would also be nice to have draperies so you could sleep in. Two other notes, we could not get the hot tub to turn on, and the outdoor stove needs some attention as flame burned too low to cook anything quickly. They did get a couple of new outdoor chaise lounge chairs while we were there that we thoroughly enjoyed. <br/>We love the quiet beauty of the property however, which does not disappoint.<br/> Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Wednesday, March 2, 2016 Aloha Alan! Thanks so much for returning to the cottages, how lucky that you have stayed in both! We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share with the owners. We hope to host you again on your next visit to the islands!
- Alan C.
Reviewed On: 2/22/2016
Beyond expectation! The place is wonderful but the most important thing, (impossible to describe with words or pictures) is the feeling that you have staying in this property that has the private path to best beach of the island. We've spent only 3 days, we loved to stay here and had dinner under the best sky ever seen with the milky way over us. Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Monday, January 23, 2017 Aloha Chiara! We are thrilled that your stay at Hale Lani was a success. It is one of our favorite beaches too!
- CHIARA N.
Reviewed On: 1/5/2017
Beautiful, magical spot, romantic is a poor description The property is fantastic! The sound of the waves, watching whales from the patio and the breezes on the crest of the ridge make this a wonderful place to stay and enjoy the beauty of Kauai. I have been to Kauai and the other islands many times, this stay was the best. The access to Secret Beach was also wonderful, this is a fantastic beach and is not easily accessible by the public. <br/><br/>The only drawback was the hot tub requires replacement. Worse, we were not informed of this issue, only a note was left on the kitchen counter telling us it was out of order. At the end of our stay we met the on site manager, Eric, (very helpful and professional). He told us the tub required replacement. This was a fact well known before our rental, the lack of communication regarding a significant issue with a key property feature is the reason for the management grade. It is key as the opening feature photograph is of the hot tub! Also when we arrived the automatic driveway gate was closed. I had to scale the gate and enter the house to access the opener. We were not provided with instructions or the key code to open the gate. All in all it was a very poor reception.
- R. Bruce D.
Reviewed On: 4/4/2017
North Shore Excellent
- Dave L.
Reviewed On: 6/16/2017
back for second time, but somewhat disappointed we returned to hale lani because we loved it so much a few years ago. however, we were sad to see that the house and grounds have not been kept up. i contacted eric, the property manager to tell him that the outside shower was not draining, several lights were out, the grounds needed cleaning up. plus when we arrived the house was broiling because everything was closed up and the window shades were not down. he was mildly interested and disagreed that the house was hot on arrival. NOT great service. i paid a lot to stay at hale lani....not sure i will come back during my next kauai trip. i am a bit surprised that hawaii life would let this happen.
- katy l.
Reviewed On: 9/4/2017
Vacation to the Garden of Eden From the moment we entered the gate and drove up the lane to our home away from home for our stay in Kauai we were all smiles. The view and the privacy were even better than we expected. It felt like we were the only people for miles. We just couldn't believe how perfect it was for us. Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Tuesday, September 19, 2017 Aloha! It is great to hear everything was perfect for you during your trip and you were able to make yourself at home! The privacy at Hale Lani is definitely special and we hope you were able to relax and enjoy the surrounding beauty. Mahalo for the review and recommendation and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Kauai.
- Kirt P.
Reviewed On: 8/26/2017
North Shore Perfection In 14 years, we've stayed at Hale Lani at least six times, usually for ten days or more on each trip. The cottage is perfect for two people; we visit in October to celebrate our anniversary, and have come to think of it as our home on the North Shore. Ideally situated, and located just outside of Kilauea, you can easily spend every day at the property or make the short drives to Princeville or Hanalei. The South Shore is an easy drive as well, where there are spectacular hikes in Waimea Canyon or the Mahaulepu Trail, not to mention day sails along the NaPali coast from Kekaha.<br/><br/> But why leave? Take the easy trail down to Secret Beach for the morning, where you'll see few people and one of the most beautiful beaches on the island, then run into Hanalei for lunch and a stop at the Dolphin Fish market for an impeccably fresh piece of local ahi, hapu, opakapaka---or whatever the day's catch is. Pick up some beautiful salad greens at the farmer's market and don't fail to browse the shelves at the Princeville Wine Market on the way back, then have a storybook dinner on the lanai at Hale Lani starting with sunset over Bali Hai and ending with a universe of stars overhead.<br/> We have a number of favorite places in the world, but this is the hardest one to leave at the end of the trip. Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Tuesday, February 6, 2018 Aloha, Thank you so much for the amazing review and for choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us. It sounds like you are really able to take in a lot of what beautiful Kauai has to offer and enjoyed a wonderful balance of adventure and leisure. Mahalo for sharing some of your trip with us, a story book dinner on the lanai at sunset sounds amazing! We greatly appreciate you being such pleasant guests and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
- Jane L.
Reviewed On: 11/13/2017
Amazing Vacation Stayed here for five days alone with my wife. Grounds and area are amazing. Property is off of the beaten path in a quiet neighborhood. Good for running, privacy and peaceful relaxation. Some of the furniture is getting a little long in the tooth, but that is a very minor, almost petty gripe. The Local is a must, only 3 minutes away by car or 20 if you walk it. Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Wednesday, April 11, 2018 Aloha! Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear you and your wife had an amazing vacation! We agree, this area is very beautiful and can be very peaceful. We appreciate your comments about the furniture and we will look into this for future guests, but we are happy to know this minor detail did not take away from your overall experience! Mahalo for being such pleasant guests and we look forward to seeing you and your wife again soon!
Reviewed On: 2/28/2018
Romantic Escape This is THEE MOST spectacular private/secluded little cottage. Surrounded by incredible Hawaiian flora and fauna. We enjoyed every moment, sunning on the patio, grilling amazing fresh seafood for a sunset dinner, and moonlight hot tubs. We can't wait to come back!! Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Thursday, February 15, 2018 Aloha! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed every moment of your stay with us and you had everything you needed for a wonderful visit! Sunsets, grilling fish, and enjoying the hot tub all sound so relaxing and we hope you were able to make some lasting memories. Mahalo for the excellent review and recommendation! We appreciate you being such pleasant guests and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
- Mary Ann M.
Reviewed On: 1/22/2018
Perfect Get-away Location, location, location! This is a very private cottage get-away for a couple who wants privacy and relaxation. <br/><br/>It's a one-bedroom, with a well-appointed kitchen. The living space is a bit small and the furniture could use updating and/or new slipcovers, but with a beautiful patio and hot tub, it didn't matter. The outdoor shower is phenomenal--very private--we didn't use the indoor shower at all! <br/><br/>Secret Beach is about a 10 minute walk, and if it's wet, the trail to the beach can be slippery. Take the supplied chairs, beach towels, and cooler bag with you and you're in for a very relaxing afternoon at the beach. The huge waves prevented us from venturing in to the water (we were there in early February). <br/><br/>You'll find plenty of restaurants nearby (The Bistro is excellent), and we cooked in a few nights after visiting the local grocery store. I highly recommend Hale Lani.<br/> Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Wednesday, April 11, 2018 Aloha! Thank you so much for your thorough review and recommendation! The team here at Hawaii Life Vacations is so happy to hear you had a wonderful experience at Honu Lani! We agree, the location is very special and does offer a lot of privacy. Secret Beach is also one of our favorite beaches for a relaxing afternoon, even though the water is not conducive for swimming in winter months. It sounds like you were able to utilize many of the amenities associated with this home including the beach gear, outdoor shower, hot tub, etc. We are so thrilled you were able to experience a lot of what Kauai has to offer! We appreciate your suggestions and comments and we will look into these things for future guests. Mahalo for being such pleasant guests and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Reviewed On: 2/20/2018
Perfect private getaway in paradise We loved staying at this home in Kauai! The location could not be more beautiful! The accommodations were well kept, secluded, and walking distance to Secret Beach. We have already recommended this property to friends and hope to return again ourselves. Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Thursday, June 21, 2018 Aloha! Thank you so much for the excellent review and recommendation! We are so glad to hear you loved staying at this home away from home on Kauai! We agree, the location of this home is very beautiful and so nice to be within walking distance to the beach. It sounds like you had everything you needed for a wonderful experience and we greatly appreciate your recommendation! Mahalo for being such pleasant guests and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Reviewed On: 4/8/2018
Like heaven This property was in the most beautiful location. Quiet, views, and so quaint. Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Thursday, May 31, 2018 Aloha! Thank you for sharing your review and recommendation! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed this home and we hope you had everything you needed for a pleasant experience. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
- Liz F.
Reviewed On: 4/1/2018
spectacular! we loved the house and the location. the beach is magical. i wish the management company would update the house manual because there are some discrpencies that made things a bit complicated.
Reviewed On: 10/31/2013
Hani Lani House Great place for a quiet stay. Beautiful property
Reviewed On: 7/3/2013
Wonderful stay at Hale Lani - September 2013 Great home for privacy, relaxation, views accoss secret beach toward the Napli Coast, access to secret beach (10 minute walk down stairs along the cliffs above the beach) and a great beach.<br/>Kitchen was adequate to great, for a small cottage. We had several dinners at this home.<br/>Staff at Hawaii Life were very helpful, in setting reservation and in managing our stay, responding to questions, etc. Especially helpful were Melodie and Cheri. Thank you!
- Jerry O.
Reviewed On: 9/13/2013
House on Kauai The floor in the kitchen area really needs to be repaired. I tripped over the raised section several times. I am fine but as a fellow business owner I will tell you that there are folks out there that will look for any excuse to sue someone. <br/>Loved, loved, loved the privacy!I'll be returning to (Maui) with my family in Dec. so I'll be looking to see what HL has to offer on ther island.
- Sandy B.
Reviewed On: 2/10/2014
we returned to hale lani because we loved it so much a few years ago. however, we were sad to see that the house and grounds have not been kept up. i contacted eric, the property manager to tell him that the outside shower was not draining, several lights were out, the grounds needed cleaning up. plus when we arrived the house was broiling because everything was closed up and the window shades were not down. he was mildly interested and disagreed that the house was hot on arrival. NOT great service. i paid a lot to stay at hale lani....not sure i will come back during my next kauai trip. i am a bit surprised that hawaii life would let this happen.
Reviewed On: 9/4/2017
From the moment we entered the gate and drove up the lane to our home away from home for our stay in Kauai we were all smiles. The view and the privacy were even better than we expected. It felt like we were the only people for miles. We just couldn't believe how perfect it was for us.
Reviewed On: 8/26/2017
This is our 3rd visit to the Kilauea area, and first visit to this cottage although we have stayed twice at it's sister cottage nearby, the Nanea. This was our favorite of the 2, in terms of proximity to the ocean (slightly closer) and possibly a little more private. However layout at the Nanea is better, with kitchen a little smaller giving you more living area. The Lani has an odd layout and could be better with an addition of a few comfortable chairs, and removing the sofa, which is in an odd place and too large. The cottage is also showing signs of wear and tear in the bedding. It would also be nice to have draperies so you could sleep in. Two other notes, we could not get the hot tub to turn on, and the outdoor stove needs some attention as flame burned too low to cook anything quickly. They did get a couple of new outdoor chaise lounge chairs while we were there that we thoroughly enjoyed. <br/>We love the quiet beauty of the property however, which does not disappoint.<br/>
Reviewed On: 2/22/2016
The place is wonderful but the most important thing, (impossible to describe with words or pictures) is the feeling that you have staying in this property that has the private path to best beach of the island. We've spent only 3 days, we loved to stay here and had dinner under the best sky ever seen with the milky way over us.
Reviewed On: 1/5/2017
The property is fantastic! The sound of the waves, watching whales from the patio and the breezes on the crest of the ridge make this a wonderful place to stay and enjoy the beauty of Kauai. I have been to Kauai and the other islands many times, this stay was the best. The access to Secret Beach was also wonderful, this is a fantastic beach and is not easily accessible by the public. <br/><br/>The only drawback was the hot tub requires replacement. Worse, we were not informed of this issue, only a note was left on the kitchen counter telling us it was out of order. At the end of our stay we met the on site manager, Eric, (very helpful and professional). He told us the tub required replacement. This was a fact well known before our rental, the lack of communication regarding a significant issue with a key property feature is the reason for the management grade. It is key as the opening feature photograph is of the hot tub! Also when we arrived the automatic driveway gate was closed. I had to scale the
Reviewed On: 4/4/2017
Excellent
Reviewed On: 6/16/2017
we loved the house and the location. the beach is magical. i wish the management company would update the house manual because there are some discrpencies that made things a bit complicated.
Reviewed On: 10/31/2013
Great place for a quiet stay. Beautiful property
Reviewed On: 7/3/2013
Great home for privacy, relaxation, views accoss secret beach toward the Napli Coast, access to secret beach (10 minute walk down stairs along the cliffs above the beach) and a great beach.<br/>Kitchen was adequate to great, for a small cottage. We had several dinners at this home.<br/>Staff at Hawaii Life were very helpful, in setting reservation and in managing our stay, responding to questions, etc. Especially helpful were Melodie and Cheri. Thank you!
Reviewed On: 9/13/2013
We found everything we needed during our honeymoon here at the cottage. It was a perfect, quiet location with a beautiful view. The pictures do not even describe how pretty the location is. The management group was very helpful and professional throughout the stay. We will definitely be returning to the Garden Island of Kauai!
Reviewed On: 7/10/2014
The floor in the kitchen area really needs to be repaired. I tripped over the raised section several times. I am fine but as a fellow business owner I will tell you that there are folks out there that will look for any excuse to sue someone. <br/>Loved, loved, loved the privacy!I'll be returning to (Maui) with my family in Dec. so I'll be looking to see what HL has to offer on ther island.
Reviewed On: 2/10/2014
The pictures and description don't do the location enough justice - the house is very tucked away and on it's own - there's no neighbor looking into your living room type of thing. And the walk down to the beach is very doable and the beach itself is epic. Highly recommended!
Reviewed On: 4/17/2014
Pros: The grounds and the views are extraordinarily beautiful and private. We had lots of fun walking the grounds, cutting flowers and making arrangements. We enjoyed walking to Secrets beach --although we were not able to swim because of the strong currents, it's gorgeous and we felt like we had the beach to ourselves. The outdoor shower and hot tub are very private and so relaxing after a day at the beach. The bed was very comfortable and the room stayed cool with help from nice breezes and the fan. We loved the sound of the rain each night while being nestled in beauty and comfort.<br/><br/>Cons: The patio is situated on the hot, sunny side of the cottage --it was mostly too hot to enjoy until the sun went down. The inside of the cottage has an awkward layout and the kitchen is very small. Made it difficult to make nice meals if you're a cook. The cottage could also use warming up. There were no pictures on the walls (still had nails in the walls where pictures used to be), the table was a bit damaged and
Reviewed On: 7/7/2014
Great cottage above a wonderful beach with a vista to match! You will relax and enjoy the north shore of Kauai. Highly recommended!
Reviewed On: 9/11/2014

Listing History

  • This property owner/manager has been registered with Owner Direct since Jul 21, 2015.
  • This owner / manager has completed 5 successful bookings in total for all their properties through Owner Direct.com
  • The availability for this property was last updated on Oct 25, 2021
  • This owner's contact information has been verified by Owner Direct and past guests.

OwnerDirect.com - Superior Full Service

  • You're never alone with Owner Direct. Friendly service coast to coast available every day of the year.
  • You immediately know the price for your requested dates/occupants.
  • More photos (with descriptive captions) per property.
  • Extensive information is provided for every property, always in the same format, to save you time
  • We answer all of your questions quickly with our very comprehensive site and responsive customer service.
  • We offer a 24 hr grace period for both parties to communicate and confirm all details of a booking.

Web Directories - Our Competitors

  • A lot of your time is wasted filling out forms and waiting for replies from multiple vacation rental owners. Many busy owners never reply.
  • The price shown always changes, you have to calculate it yourself and often changes once you communicate with the owner.
  • Most owners do not take the time to provide complete information on listings, so you waste time having to ask questions and wait for responses.
  • In a nutshell, "Web Directories" are cumbersome and time consuming, and if you have a problem, you are on your own.

Luxury Ocean Front Cottage

ID 221400 - 1 bed (1 king). Base rent is for 2 occupants.
Kilauea Vacation Rentals
Perched upon a private knoll boasting awe-inspiring panoramic views of lush mountains and sparkling blue waters, Hale Lani, 'Heavenly Home", is the ultimate secluded hideaway.. Perched behind private gates you will find 34 private oceanfront acres. Oceanfront above Secrets Beach in Kilauea. Hale Lani Cottage is an elegant and charming villa only 300 yards from a mile-long beach offering guests a private and privileged experience on Kauai's North Shore. Located on the most exclusive road in Kauai where the A-list celebrities vacation and own homes.
Combining a northwest-facing lanai with panoramic views of the azure Pacific Ocean, the result is the ideal recipe for romantic sunset delights. Surrounded by tropical gardens and lush manicured lawns, the cottage's exterior is distinguished by its striking coral stone which is indigenous to Kauai. The interior is fitted with dark wood furnishings, custom cabinetry, granite countertops, honed limestone floors and elegant designer furniture. Floor-to-ceiling sliding glass doors in the sitting and dining areas afford spellbinding views of the sea and private gardens scattered throughout the lush and tropical 5-acre property. The gourmet kitchen with granite countertops comes equipped with state-of-the-art appliances and cookware, including a Bosch refrigerator and a Thermador oven The bedroom is luxuriated with a Cal-King bed, adorned with fine European linens, allowing you to take pleasure in the moon glistening over the ocean and stars twinkling brightly through the floor-to-ceiling sliding glass doors. The marble bathroom has a large shower with dual heads and glass doors leading to a private, outdoor sitting area complete with dining furniture and outdoor shower.

Nearby attractions include the Kilauea Point National Wildlife Refuge as well as Kilauea town, just a mile down the road, offering several dining options along with boutique shopping and yoga. Princeville, just ten minutes by car, hosts two world-class golf courses and the luxurious St. Regis Princeville Resort and Spa. Hanalei, 15 minutes by car, is home to not only the number one beach in America, Hanalei Bay, but a charming bohemian thoroughfare with numerous restaurants, eateries, surf shops, gift stores and coffee shops. Just minutes past Hanalei is where the apex of aesthetic beauty can be witnessed, with the road winding along between a deep ocean, exquisite beaches and towering peaks, ending at Ke'e Beach and the start of the world-famed Na Pali Coast, some of the best hiking on the planet. Complimentary Wifi available.

SP-2011-09 TVNC 4184 TA-133-898-6496-01

Secrets Beach
Anini Beach: 6.3 miles
Kalihiwai Beach: 3.7 miles
Hanalei Bay: 10.3 miles
Tunnels Beach: 15.2 miles

Airport
Lihue Airport: 25.7 miles

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

We save your time and spare you the headaches!

We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Nearby and Recently Viewed Vacation Rentals

Pricing & Availability

to
Adults
Children (0-17)
Please select dates and occupants to view
Availability and Pricing
Mandatory
Taxes
Included
Excluded
First Payment, Charged Now
Second Payment, due by
Total Rent
(Damage/Security deposits not included)
Cancellation Policy
Total Rent

Rental Request & Questions

Subscribe to our newsletter
By requesting to book you agree to Owner Direct's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.
create an account?
  Help

Credit Card Details

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day
We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!
Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden
Timeout From:
Timeout To:

Experience the difference, no waiting
 
Toll Free USA, Canada
1.888.869.6377
Toll Free UK
0.800.249.4265
Toll Free Australia
1.800.150.197
International Rentals
1.250.469.9543