max 8 guests      3 bedrooms      2.5 bathrooms
  • Kitchen Attributes
    • Full Kitchen
    • Refrigerator
    • Coffee Maker
    • Ice Maker
    • Microwave
    • Toaster
    • Cookware
    • Blender
    • Cooking Utensils
    • Pots / Pans
    • Dishwasher
    • Glassware
    • Stove / Oven
    • Silverware
    • Tea Kettle
    • gas burner
  • Living Attributes
    • Air Conditioning
    • Linens
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Ironing Board
    • High Speed Internet
    • Fireplace
    • Iron
    • Hair Dryer
    • Cable
  • Business Attributes
    • Nearby ATM
    • Nearby Post Office
    • Nearby FedEx
    • Nearby Bank
  • Convenience Attributes
    • Area FitnessCenter
    • Nearby Medical Services
    • Nearby Grocery
    • Movie Theatres
    • Golf Course
  • Culture Attributes
    • Recreation Center
    • Library
  • Outdoor Attributes
    • Patio
    • Gas Grill
  • Geographic Attributes
    • Near Beach
    • Close to Town
    • Near Public Transportation
    • Near Lake
    • Near Ski Resort
  • Entertainment Attributes
    • Cable TV
    • Games
    • Wireless Internet

Loading...

Terms

The Property Manager (hereafter referred to as "we", "us", or "our") provides rental management services on behalf of homeowners ("Owners") who rent their properties (including the associated fixtures and furnishings)(the “Home”) to guests (the "Guest" or "you") seeking accommodations on a short term or long term basis (collectively, the “Services”). We are the Owner's property manager and authorized agent, who will perform the Services related to your reservation. By using the Home and Services, you agree to comply with and be legally bound by the terms and conditions of this guest agreement (the "Agreement"). This Agreement only applies to short term rentals and not long term rentals, which will be governed by the specific terms of your lease agreement with us.

1. Policies: Please treat our Owner's Home with the care you would at your own home and abide by following policies:

*Behave as you would in any home in which you live, with respect for property and neighbors.
*Unless otherwise stated in the Home listing, you must be over the age of 25.
*You will be an occupant of the unit during the entire reserved period and other occupants of the Home during your stay will be family members, friends, responsible adults or children under direct adult supervision.
*Do not exceed the maximum occupancy of the Home.
*No parties, noise that can be heard beyond the home lot line or in adjacent units, or any illegal activity may occur at the Home.
*No pets are allowed unless otherwise noted for specific properties and where you have paid a pet fee in connection with your booking in advance of your reservation.
*No smoking is allowed in or around any Home.
*Check-in time is 3pm and check-out time is 10am - we will notify you via email in advance if early check-in or late check-out will be available.
*Please use common courtesy at the home by keeping it clean, reporting any problems or damages, washing dishes as used, taking garbage to the outside bins, leaving towels in the bathrooms and sheets in the bedrooms, and not re-arranging furniture.

2. Cleaning: Each home will be cleaned and inspected by third-party cleaning contractors after your departure. We ask you to help us enable the cleaning crews as much as possible. They will appreciate simple things like leaving the home tidy, running the dishwasher, starting to wash the towels, and taking out the trash.

3. Swimming Pools, Hot Tubs, or Beach: If the home that you have reserved includes a pool or hot tub, or is on a beach, these can all be obviously dangerous. Guests should observe and adhere to all rules and policies as posted at the home and supervise all children at all times. Lifeguards are not provided. Decks and patios can be slippery when wet and can result in injury to anyone who is not careful. Guest accept and assumes all risks involved in or related to the use of a pool, hot tub, beach and deck/patio areas.

4. Home Damage Waiver: Each guest will be offered an optional Damage Waiver that protects you against unintended damage done to the Property. This is not insurance, and the Damage Waiver does not apply to intentional damage done by the Guest or your guests, or excessive wear and tear due to parties, smoking, pets or otherwise, or additional cleaning charges due to stains or spills, or fines incurred by the police or HOA due to noise, excessive trash or parking, or damage over the purchased amounts of either $3,000 or $5,000. If Tenant does not wish to purchase this Damage Waiver, a security deposit of $3,000, $5,000, or greater depending on Property will be required at the time of booking. If a Home requires an additional security deposit, we will explain this to you before confirming a reservation. Guest acknowledges that any damage or fines not covered by the Damage Waiver or above the amount of any security deposit can be charged to Guest (and Guest’s card on file). The Damage Waiver can be purchased up to the day prior to your reservation but not after it has started. You do not have to purchase this Damage Waiver. Please contact the Property Manager directly at if you do not wish to purchase the Damage Waiver.

5. Excessive Wear and Tear, Noise and Occupancy: If excessive wear and tear is found for the Home, or additional cleaning is necessary due to spills, trash left on site, stains to furniture, carpeting, linens, paint, wallpaper, or flooring, Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest for additional fees. Tenant will be provided with a receipt for any additional fees incurred upon request or as required by local laws or regulations. If at any time the maximum number of the Home’s occupants is exceeded or if we receive information about excessive noise, the Property Manager has the right to evict Guest and all occupants immediately and to charge Guest a minimum service fee of $250 with no refund for the balance of the remaining reservation. If any sign of smoking is discovered Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. Unless the reservation for the Home specifically allows a pet, if any sign of a pet is discovered, then Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. The Property Manager will return any balance of a security deposit to Guest, less any charges or amounts owed by Guest, within fourteen (14) days after the end of the reservation or as otherwise required by local laws or regulations. Any charges owed by Guest may be charged by the Property Manager to Guest’s card on file in addition to seeking any relief provided by law.

6. Maintenance and Access: We have the right to enter the home at any time during guest stay and we will diligently attempt to address maintenance issues as they occur. This is an associated risk of renting a single family residence or condo. If a maintenance issue occurs that cannot be fixed in a reasonable amount of time, and significantly affects your stay; we reserve the right to refund at our discretion or offer to relocate you to another home.

7. Phone and Internet: Unless otherwise specified, all homes are equipped with a high-speed Wi-Fi connection where service is available and we will provide you with any required Wi-Fi passwords. We do not provide a land line phones for all homes and suggest that you please use your mobile phone or Wi-Fi enabled phone for calls.

8. Furnished Rental and Supplies: The Property Manager's properties are fully furnished properties that will include bedspreads, linens, blankets, pillows, towels, a fully equipped kitchen, TV, furnishings unless otherwise specified. A limited starter supply of paper products, bath and dish soap are provided, but will not be replaced if consumed during your stay so we recommend bringing additional personal items with you. Staples (salt, pepper, foils, wraps, etc) are generally stocked by the owner of the home, however the Property Manager cannot commit these supplies being present. Guest is responsible for replacing stocked items as they are consumed. If there is a special type of item you are accustomed to using please provide for those items by bringing them with you. Extra towels are always recommended for homes on the beach, or with a pool or hot tub.

9. Weather and Other Unforeseen Events: The Property Manager does not accept liability for any inconveniences arising from any temporary defects or stoppage in supply of water, gas, electricity or plumbing, damage caused by weather/road conditions, natural disasters, acts of God or other reasons beyond its control. No refunds will be given for any delays or cancellations due to such conditions. Travel Insurance is highly recommended for any stay.

10. Homeowners Association: The Property Manager cannot warrant the usability or condition of amenities provided through homeowner associations, including, but not limited to pools, hot tubs, club houses, tennis courts, golf facilities, and picnic & beach facilities.

11. Indemnity: Neither Owner nor the Property Manager assumes any liability for loss, theft, damage or injury to Guest, his/her guests or other occupants in the Home. The Guest, for himself/herself, his/her heirs, assignors, executors and administrators, fully releases and discharges Owner and the Property Manager from any and all claims, demands and causes of action by reason of any injury or whatever nature which has or have occurred, or may occur to the Guest, his/her guests or other occupants of the Home as a result of, or in connection with the occupancy of the Home and agrees to hold Owner and the Property Manager free and harmless of any claim or suit arising therefrom. In any action concerning the rights, duties or liabilities of the parties to this Agreement, or their principals, agents, successors or assignees the prevailing party shall be entitled to recover reasonable attorney fees and costs.

12. Sale Contingency: In the rare event the Home that that you have reserved is for sale, and/or is under a contract to sell, the Property Manager reserves the right to provide Guest with a comparable home at no additional cost to the Guest. Showings during occupancy are by appointment only at your prior approval.

13. Payment and Cancellations: We accept all major credit cards. For reservations made more than 30 days in advance, we only charge a deposit of 10% of the total reservation upon booking, with full payment due 30 days prior to check-in. For all reservations made within 30 days of check-in, we collect payment in full at the time of booking. All reservations which are made more than 10 days in advance are fully refundable if the guest cancels the reservation within 72 hours after the time of booking. After this cancellation period expires, all guest payments are non-refundable.

14. Other Terms and Conditions: Your booking is subject to the the Property Manager 's Terms, Privacy Policy and this Guest Agreement which can be found at /terms. Additionally, where specifically required by the terms of any applicable laws, regulations or Homeowner's Association rules (as determined by the Property Manager), then this Rental Agreement shall constitute a lease of the premises. If you would like to extend your reservation for additional dates, please call us for availability and pricing.

Payment Methods
Most major credit cards - Cash

Payment Balance
Balance and schedule of payments can be discussed the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Booking Cancellation Conditions
Cancellation policies can be discussed with the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Security or Damage Deposit
A refundable security/damage deposit will be required by the property manager.

Availability

Nightly rates shown do not include taxes, conditional rate adjustments or any applicable fees - request property or use rate calculator to obtain an accurate quote.

Nightly

2019

Rate Period Nightly
Dec 1 to Dec 19 Min Stay 2 nights 121 - 145 USD
Dec 20 to Dec 25 Min Stay 2 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Fri, Sat, Sun) 158 - 299 USD
Dec 26, 2019 to Jan 2, 2020 Min Stay 2 nights 306 - 421 USD

2020

Rate Period Nightly
Jan 3 to Jan 16 Min Stay 2 nights 144 - 350 USD
Jan 17 to Jan 19 Min Stay 4 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 261 - 326 USD
Jan 20 to Feb 13 Min Stay 2 nights 144 - 342 USD
Feb 14 to Feb 16 Min Stay 4 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 285 - 346 USD
Feb 17 to Feb 22 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 263 - 379 USD
Feb 23 to Mar 31 Min Stay 2 nights 144 - 342 USD
Apr 1 to May 21 Min Stay 2 nights 212 - 326 USD
May 22 to May 24 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 329 - 332 USD
May 25 to Jun 4 Min Stay 2 nights 281 - 304 USD
Jun 5 to Jun 18 Min Stay 2 nights 258 - 304 USD
Jun 19 to Jun 27 Min Stay 2 nights 304 - 320 USD
Jun 28 to Jul 9 Min Stay 4 nights 412 USD
Jul 10 to Aug 27 Min Stay 2 nights 304 - 320 USD
Aug 28 to Sep 3 Min Stay 2 nights 258 - 304 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 7 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 392 - 400 USD
Sep 8 to Oct 1 Min Stay 2 nights 281 - 304 USD
Oct 2 to Nov 24 Min Stay 2 nights 223 - 326 USD
Nov 25 to Nov 28 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 322 - 332 USD
Nov 29 to Nov 30 Min Stay 2 nights (Arrival only on: Sun) 223 USD

Weekly

2019

Rate Period Weekly
Dec 1 to Dec 19 Min Stay 7 nights 976 - 1,057 USD
Dec 20 to Dec 25 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Fri, Sat, Sun) 1,769 - 2,163 USD
Dec 26, 2019 to Jan 2, 2020 Min Stay 7 nights 2,322 - 2,761 USD

2020

Rate Period Weekly
Jan 3 to Jan 16 Min Stay 7 nights 1,371 - 1,400 USD
Jan 17 to Jan 19 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 1,871 - 2,232 USD
Jan 20 to Feb 13 Min Stay 7 nights 1,371 - 1,371 USD
Feb 14 to Feb 16 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 2,033 - 2,404 USD
Feb 17 to Feb 22 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 2,124 - 2,578 USD
Feb 23 to Mar 31 Min Stay 7 nights 1,371 - 1,419 USD
Apr 1 to May 21 Min Stay 7 nights 1,644 - 1,735 USD
May 22 to May 24 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 2,298 - 2,313 USD
May 25 to Jun 4 Min Stay 7 nights 2,044 - 2,090 USD
Jun 5 to Jun 18 Min Stay 7 nights 1,861 USD
Jun 19 to Jun 27 Min Stay 7 nights 2,158 - 2,296 USD
Jun 28 to Jul 9 Min Stay 7 nights 2,881 - 2,891 USD
Jul 10 to Aug 27 Min Stay 7 nights 2,158 USD
Aug 28 to Sep 3 Min Stay 7 nights 1,807 - 1,861 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 7 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 2,727 - 2,772 USD
Sep 8 to Oct 1 Min Stay 7 nights 2,044 USD
Oct 2 to Nov 24 Min Stay 7 nights 1,735 USD

Long Term Stays

2019

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Dec 1 to Dec 19 Min Stay 30 nights 30 4,044 - 4,064 USD
Dec 20 to Dec 25 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 7,069 - 8,126 USD
Dec 26, 2019 to Jan 2, 2020 Min Stay 30 nights 30 9,129 - 10,556 USD

2020

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Jan 3 to Jan 16 Min Stay 30 nights 30 4,772 - 5,425 USD
Jan 17 to Jan 19 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 7,486 - 9,023 USD
Jan 20 to Feb 13 Min Stay 30 nights 30 5,060 - 5,485 USD
Feb 14 to Feb 16 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 7,881 - 9,525 USD
Feb 17 to Feb 22 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 30 8,338 - 10,546 USD
Feb 23 to Mar 31 Min Stay 30 nights 30 5,433 - 5,842 USD
Apr 1 to May 21 Min Stay 30 nights 30 6,460 - 6,855 USD
May 22 to May 24 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 9,219 - 9,225 USD
May 25 to Jun 4 Min Stay 30 nights 30 8,188 - 8,223 USD
Jul 10 to Aug 27 Min Stay 30 nights 30 8,620 - 8,687 USD
Aug 28 to Sep 3 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,159 - 7,502 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 7 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 11,034 - 11,085 USD
Sep 8 to Oct 1 Min Stay 30 nights 30 8,143 - 8,178 USD
Oct 2 to Nov 24 Min Stay 30 nights 30 6,830 - 7,029 USD

Verified vacation home reviews by real guests

All Owner Direct guest reviews posted are verified and confirmed individually by Owner Direct Vacation Rentals staff.

This property has no Owner Direct reviews yet.

Overall satisfaction (21 raters)
Property condition (21 raters)
Location (21 raters)
Cleanliness (21 raters)
Services from rental manager (21 raters)

The following review(s) were provided by the property manager.

Great house but some disappointments. This is our 3rd year staying in this house during the same time period so we like the house but some issues this year. The house alarm code had been changed but Turnkey, and therefore we, had not been notified. We finally found the new code on a paper on the kitchen counter. After finally getting the alarm off, the smoke detector is chirping and no extra batteries to be found. In the prior years, we have watched the World Series in the evenings and Sunday football. No luck this year. No more cable, only Apple TV which is super difficult to maneuver. We found the MLB channel but they didn't get it. The house guide says for Live TV, go to Hulu. We did but their Hulu expired August 14. We ended up subscribing to Hulu on our tablet at $45 so we could watch our sports. No TV at all ever came on in the bedroom, not Netflix, nothing. Who doesn't want live TV anymore? When we first turned on the TV it was stuck on the most horrific and vile videos of Slipknot and it took much too long of viewing that disturbing content before we could get it changed. Then, we were excited to go to bed in the soft cozy king bed in the master bedroom but find out the mattress had been replaced with a rock hard temperpedic type mattress. Very uncomfortable, so we had to play musical beds to get comfortable. So, nice house really, very clean, but we won't be back unfortunately. I would recommend this house if TV isn't important at all, which to some people it is not. We wouldn't have minded except for wanting to watch our sports as we did previous years. Also, the amenities for the house still shows cable tv which is not accurate. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Monday, November 4, 2019 Hi Karl, Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Here at TurnKey, your feedback is highly valued, and although we do try our best to offer the most impeccable service possible, there are times we fall short of that. Please be assured we’re looking into everything you reported. Thanks again for bringing these important issues to light, as it is feedback like this that really makes a difference in how we move forward in offering the best service we possibly can to our guests and in keeping our properties in perfect shape. If there is anything else we can do for you, reach out anytime on our 24/7 guest hotline to let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 10/30/2019
Great House House was perfect.
Reviewed On: 10/20/2019
Perfect in Just About Every Way Fifteen wonderful days in a winter wonderland in a home which was very nice in several ways. The master bed was extremely comfortable as was the nice family room. The kitchen was fully equipped with all need supplies. There are several restaurants in close proximity to the property.
- Karen W.
Reviewed On: 2/2/2019
Wonderful Oasis Loved our stay here. It is so nice to have such a big open kitchen to cook and be in the same space as everyone. The beds were super comfy as well. Also loved that this was super close to Northstar.
- Megan S.
Reviewed On: 4/23/2019
Would NOT book again Unfortunately, this was a terrible experience from start to finish! To start, this is not a vacation rental by owner, in fact I was never able to speak or connect with an actual owner. Instead, was forced to communicate with Turnkey representatives (property management) who obviously could care less about our stay. After multiple conversations with multiple representatives I am left very upset with the overall experience, lack of helpfulness and cold corporate responses. There are so many amazing properties to chose from in North lake Tahoe/ kings beach.... look elsewhere!! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Friday, June 14, 2019 ​Thank you so much for the feedback. We're sorry to hear you felt our service was not as great as it should have been. Here at TurnKey, we strive to offer impeccable customer service, and it is our hope that all guests have hassle-free, enjoyable stays at our properties. Our guest hotline is available 24/7, and our TurnKey agents are ready to help with anything from questions about our homes, to booking a reservation, to issues that may come up during or after a stay with us. If there is anything else we can do for you -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 6/12/2019
Lovely getaway 3 days of hiking eating sleeping Netflix and comfy naps
- Suzanne S.
Reviewed On: 8/5/2019
Home away from home Was a pleasure everything was provided comfortable and convenient <br/>My family didn't want to leave<br/>Memories were made
- ABDOLREZA G.
Reviewed On: 8/15/2017
Awesome space in a great location —Dog Friendly Beach Chalet was a great space with plenty of room and great amenities. The beds were very comfortable and the upstairs area is great for a dog (minimal carpet). I would definitely stay here again.
- Chris G.
Reviewed On: 9/20/2017
Next to Old Brockway golf course Beautiful home near golf, beach and shops. Kids brought bikes—jet skiing, parasailing, paddle boarding and kayaking just blocks away. Relaxing and fun for small family, or group. Master bed was horrible—you could feel the springs on the left side-we almost left early. Kids loved the downstairs rooms, but wished there was a TV downstairs for video games. Dog was really happy there too, especially since we had her crate so it felt familiar to her. Overall, comfortable and clean. I loved the wood floors and decor. We saw a bear in the backyard and enjoyed the pines. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Monday, July 2, 2018 Hello Katie, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. While mattress preferences often vary greatly by person, we do apologize for any inconvenience this caused during your stay. Please let us assure you that we value your feedback, and your comment has been passed along to the homeowner. You were perfect guests, and we appreciate you taking care of our place as if it were your own. Please come stay again any time! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Katie N.
Reviewed On: 6/27/2018
Great Location! We had a great time staying in Kings Beach. This property is close to everything and walking distance to town. There is plenty of room in the Chalet and it has great WiFi. WiFi is one of the most important things in life when you travel with kids. My kids even told me after how well the WiFi worked there. I would recommend eating at White Caps Pizza down the street. They have the best pizza and gluten free options.
- John T.
Reviewed On: 1/25/2018
Lake Tahoe Vacation This is a comfortable home for 6 people ( more would feel crowded), in a village environment, a walking distance to the beach, to main street (for those who like to walk), comfortable for those who ride a bike but avoid big hills; a home that is essentially clean (except for the grill), and has all basic essentials, including fast wi fi, TV, games, good washer, drier (a bit short on paper towels, soap for the bathroom even for the first day). We would come here again. We appreciated earlier check in Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, September 4, 2018 Thank you so much for your review and kind words about our property! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 9/3/2018
Good location Nice clean home in a good location. 6 blocks from the beach and a great pizza restaurant. Kitchen is well stocked. The only issue was there was no dishwasher soap or garage bags and when we checked out there was only one roll of toilet paper left. I had my own supplies so I didn&#x2019;t contact anyone. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, September 5, 2018 Thank you so much for your review, and we’re happy to hear you had a great stay at our place! That being said, we’re so sorry that there was no dishwasher soap or trash bags during your stay with us. We wish we had known during your stay so that we could have helped out -- our 24/7 guest hotline is always available if anything ever comes up while staying at one of our properties. Please know that we’ve since addressed and resolved each issue you mentioned. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again!! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 8/14/2018
Tahoe Vacation We loved staying here the vibe was immediately like we were home. Loved the decor and all the ammendities. Wasn't crazy about the bed in master bedroom. Pillow top was not very comfortable. But all and all we and the pups had a wonderful time. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, September 12, 2018 Hi Janet, Thank you so much for the review and kind words about our property! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. While mattress preferences often vary greatly by person, we do apologize for any inconvenience this caused during your stay. Please know that the homeowners have since purchased a brand new King-size Tempur-Pedic gel/foam mattress for the master bedroom. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we appreciate you taking care of our place as if it were your own. Please come stay again any time! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Janet J.
Reviewed On: 8/31/2018
Great Tahoe Getaway Loved the home! Nice location in the woods, beautifully decorated and maintained, and lots of nice amenities (like candles on the tables, and a fully stocked kitchen). Great TV, WiFi and the beds were all very comfortable too! I give it "top rating"!
- Susan O.
Reviewed On: 10/21/2018
Great stay. The house was great and the kitchen was supplied with all the tools we needed. Every time I thought, "I wish I had an XXX", I'd open a drawer and there it was! The location was perfect and the neighborhood was quiet. <br/><br/>My only suggestion is to supply tissues and paper towels. It would have been very convenient to have them stocked (there was only 1 partial box/roll of each in the unit) rather than having to make a return trip to the grocery. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, September 30, 2015 Hi Kathy, thanks for the kind words! We wish we would have know about the paper would have brought them immediately! Guests can call us 24 hours day. We're sorry it wasn't well stocked in the first place. You were great guests and we look forward to hearing from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Kathy R.
Reviewed On: 9/24/2015
Wonderful Winter Getaway! Clean and Modern! We had a great three night stay over MLK weekend! We were four families traveling with four little kids (ranging from several months to several years) and four little dogs in tow. The kitchen/living room/dining room was an open floor plan that was spacious enough for everyone and had lots of gorgeous lighting and scenery of the trees outside. The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean, modern, and up to date. The appliances are so new that there was hardly a chisel or a dent or a scratch to be found. All the equipment in the kitchen is brand new and we loved that everything worked beautifully from the toast oven to the coffee maker to the dish washer and more. All the pots and pans were in great condition and you did not feel wary about cooking with them. The plates were large and sturdy and plentiful. The laundry machines were brand new. There was plenty of clean towels for everyone! The TurnKey staff were helpful with frequent emails and texts to keep us posted of early check in and late check out which was a nice bonus. They were also very patient and understanding with us when one of our families accidentally brought the garage door remote home to the Bay Area. We are in the process of mailing it back to them! We're so grateful that the staff have been nothing but kind and that we were able to find this dog-friendly home that was super clean, new, tidy, modern, and comfortable! I personally loved how the heating system was very consistent and did not make the air in the house feel like the Sahara unlike more old-fashioned heating system that can really dry the air in older Lake Tahoe cabins. We would definitely stay here again and I highly recommend this to families traveling with kids! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Monday, January 25, 2016 Thanks Pamela! You were perfect guests and we look forward to hearing from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Pamela L.
Reviewed On: 1/20/2016
Absolutly perfect The location was perfect, the kitchen so big, the beds confortables everything clean and with everything you need!<br/>We have a lovely weekend super recomended Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Sunday, February 21, 2016 Thanks Elizabeth! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hearing from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Elizabeth O.
Reviewed On: 2/17/2016
Nice Chalet Cabin was great and has everything you'd need for some time away. I wasnt given the alarm code, which went off upon entering and I had to shovel out the back deck to use the barbeque. fireplace doesn't light. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Saturday, February 13, 2016 Hi Zachary, thanks for kind words and feedback. We apologize that you didn't get the alarm code in time. Guests can call us 24/7 with any problems they may have. We can shovel snow, fix fireplaces, etc. You were a great guest and we look forward to hearing from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Zachary R.
Reviewed On: 2/9/2016
Great Tahoe Cabin House was perfect with great amenities and extremely well kept home. Location was perfect and we would definitely stay here again. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Saturday, March 12, 2016 Thanks Anthony! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hearing from you again next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Anthony F.
Reviewed On: 3/8/2016
The perfect rental property The house was truly perfect. Close to beach and shopping, beautifully furnished, and super clean. Master bed was very comfy. Will definitely stay here again. Thanks for a fantastic getaway.
- Jill W.
Reviewed On: 7/4/2017
Great Family Getaway! We booked this home because of its proximity to the lake. We were able to walk less than 10 mins to get to the lake front which was great. The home itself was impeccable. We arrived to an extremely clean home with a well equipped kitchen and a gas-hooked-up-grill on the back patio. We were able to share a wonderful home cooked meal. The house came with (2) thermostats to help regulate the temperature upstairs and downstairs, which was great as the summer days were pretty hot. The bathrooms were equipped with hotel grade toiletries and towels. They even had extra beddings and air mattresses and the master bedroom couch served as a pull-out mattress. The location was a 5-min drive from Safeway and about a 20-min drive from the Truckee River Rafting Company (which was pretty great and relaxing). I highly recommend this home for rental.
- Jen M.
Reviewed On: 7/25/2017
Was a pleasure everything was provided comfortable and convenient <br/>My family didn't want to leave<br/>Memories were made
Reviewed On: 8/15/2017
We booked this home because of its proximity to the lake. We were able to walk less than 10 mins to get to the lake front which was great. The home itself was impeccable. We arrived to an extremely clean home with a well equipped kitchen and a gas-hooked-up-grill on the back patio. We were able to share a wonderful home cooked meal. The house came with (2) thermostats to help regulate the temperature upstairs and downstairs, which was great as the summer days were pretty hot. The bathrooms were equipped with hotel grade toiletries and towels. They even had extra beddings and air mattresses and the master bedroom couch served as a pull-out mattress. The location was a 5-min drive from Safeway and about a 20-min drive from the Truckee River Rafting Company (which was pretty great and relaxing). I highly recommend this home for rental.
Reviewed On: 7/25/2017
The house was truly perfect. Close to beach and shopping, beautifully furnished, and super clean. Master bed was very comfy. Will definitely stay here again. Thanks for a fantastic getaway.
Reviewed On: 7/4/2017
House was perfect with great amenities and extremely well kept home. Location was perfect and we would definitely stay here again.
Reviewed On: 3/8/2016
The location was perfect, the kitchen so big, the beds confortables everything clean and with everything you need!<br/>We have a lovely weekend super recomended
Reviewed On: 2/17/2016
Cabin was great and has everything you'd need for some time away. I wasnt given the alarm code, which went off upon entering and I had to shovel out the back deck to use the barbeque. fireplace doesn't light.
Reviewed On: 2/9/2016
We had a great three night stay over MLK weekend! We were four families traveling with four little kids (ranging from several months to several years) and four little dogs in tow. The kitchen/living room/dining room was an open floor plan that was spacious enough for everyone and had lots of gorgeous lighting and scenery of the trees outside. The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean, modern, and up to date. The appliances are so new that there was hardly a chisel or a dent or a scratch to be found. All the equipment in the kitchen is brand new and we loved that everything worked beautifully from the toast oven to the coffee maker to the dish washer and more. All the pots and pans were in great condition and you did not feel wary about cooking with them. The plates were large and sturdy and plentiful. The laundry machines were brand new. There was plenty of clean towels for everyone! The TurnKey staff were helpful with frequent emails and texts to keep us posted of early check in and late check out which was a ni
Reviewed On: 1/20/2016
The house was great and the kitchen was supplied with all the tools we needed. Every time I thought, "I wish I had an XXX", I'd open a drawer and there it was! The location was perfect and the neighborhood was quiet. <br/><br/>My only suggestion is to supply tissues and paper towels. It would have been very convenient to have them stocked (there was only 1 partial box/roll of each in the unit) rather than having to make a return trip to the grocery.
Reviewed On: 9/24/2015

Listing History

  • This property owner/manager has been registered with Owner Direct since Jun 29, 2016.
  • This owner / manager has completed 263 successful bookings in total for all their properties through Owner Direct.com
  • The availability for this property was last updated on Nov 24, 2019
  • The rates for this property were last updated on Jun 29, 2016
  • This owner's contact information has been verified by Owner Direct and past guests.

OwnerDirect.com - Superior Full Service

  • You're never alone with Owner Direct. Friendly service coast to coast available every day of the year.
  • You immediately know the price for your requested dates/occupants.
  • More photos (with descriptive captions) per property.
  • Extensive information is provided for every property, always in the same format, to save you time
  • We answer all of your questions quickly with our very comprehensive site and responsive customer service.
  • We offer a 24 hr grace period for both parties to communicate and confirm all details of a booking.

Web Directories - Our Competitors

  • A lot of your time is wasted filling out forms and waiting for replies from multiple vacation rental owners. Many busy owners never reply.
  • The price shown always changes, you have to calculate it yourself and often changes once you communicate with the owner.
  • Most owners do not take the time to provide complete information on listings, so you waste time having to ask questions and wait for responses.
  • In a nutshell, "Web Directories" are cumbersome and time consuming, and if you have a problem, you are on your own.

Ski Beach Shopping and

ID 228404 - 4 beds (1 king, 2 queen and 1 other). Base rent is for 8 occupants.
Kings Beach Vacation Rentals
Ski, beach, shopping and dining are ultra-convenient at our dog-friendly 3BR/2.5BA North Lake Tahoe chalet just 6 blocks from lake shore at Kings Beach. Sleeps 10!. Ski, beach, shopping and dining are ultra-convenient at our 3BR/2.5BA North Lake Tahoe chalet. We’re just a 10-minute walk (6 blocks) to dog-friendly Kings Beach State Park—voted Tahoe’s Best beach—and an easy hop to the ski slopes. Try your slopes skills at nearby Northstar, Alpine Meadow, Squaw Valley, Diamond Peak and Mount Rose.

Kids will love the Tahoe Vista Regional Park (within walking/biking distance of the chalet) for its Frisbee Golf, tennis courts, ball fields and winter snowmobile rentals. And adults will love the easy access to casinos, spa services and music venues.

After exploring Tahoe, return to your wooded haven in Kings Beach for a BBQ on the second-level deck overlooking the pine forest. Your four-legged friend will love it here--we're dog-friendly.

INSIDE THE CHALET

Two downstairs guest bedrooms have one queen bed each, big closets, lovely pine forest views, and a shared bath with a tub/shower combo. Upstairs, you’ll find the open-concept living/dining/kitchen area, deck access, and the master suite. Claim the master for yourself. It indulges with a king bed, a futon, a 40” flat-screen and an en-suite bath. There’s also a half-bath on this level.

Have more people in your group In addition to the beds that sleep 7, we can provide air mattresses to allow this spacious home to sleep up to 10 guests.

The living area will be your go-to winter hangout spot, with its nap-worthy couches, 55” flatscreen TV and gas fireplace for apres-ski lounging. In summertime, the second-level deck is the place to be. Plush outdoor furniture and a gas grill face your wooded and serene Tahoe setting.

Back inside, the kitchen features modern stainless appliances, including a gas range and a dishwasher. Take a seat at the center island and sip wine while the cook gets to work. A rustic 6-person table adjacent to the kitchen is the perfect place to enjoy dinner together.

THE LOCATION

Kings Beach is a Tahoe gem with a standout public beach, hip dining and shops, and easy access to the Big 12 resorts. At the lifeguarded beach, work up an appetite with jet skiing, paddle boating kayaking and more, then hit Jason’s Lakeside Grill for casual fare and lake views on the outdoor deck. All of this—plus a lot more—is within a 10-minute walk of the chalet.

And for the outdoor adventurer, miles of hiking and biking trails are waiting right outside your back door.

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

We save your time and spare you the headaches!

We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Nearby and Recently Viewed Vacation Rentals

Pricing & Availability

to
Adults
Children (0-17)
Please select dates and occupants to view
Availability and Pricing
Mandatory
Taxes
Included
Excluded
First Payment, Charged Now
Second Payment, due by
Total Rent
(Damage/Security deposits not included)
Cancellation Policy
Total Rent
You wont be charged yet
🕔 24-Hour Confirmation

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day
We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!
Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden
Timeout From:
Timeout To:

Experience the difference, no waiting
 
Toll Free USA, Canada
1.888.869.6377
Toll Free UK
0.800.249.4265
Toll Free Australia
1.800.150.197
International Rentals
1.250.469.9543