Located in Sunny Poipu

10

max renters

5

bedrooms

5

bathroom
credit card
Property ID 218017
The base rate is for 10 occupants.
  • Living Attributes
    • Air Conditioning
    • Ceiling Fans
    • Central Air
    • Hairdryer
    • High Speed Internet
    • Ironing Board
    • Linens
    • Pack & Play (Play Pen)
    • Phone
    • Safe
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Wireless Internet
    • Iron
  • Business Attributes
    • Nearby ATM
    • Nearby Bank
    • Nearby Post Office
  • Entertainment Attributes
    • Books
    • Cable TV
    • Flat Screen TV
    • Stereo System
  • Kitchen Attributes
    • Blender
    • Can Opener
    • Coffee Maker
    • Cookware
    • Dishwasher
    • Full Kitchen
    • Microwave
    • Mixing bowls/measuring cups
    • Refrigerator
    • Rice Cooker
    • Toaster
  • Outdoor Attributes
    • Beach Chairs
    • Beach Towels
    • Boogie Boards
    • Cooler
    • Gas Grill
    • Lanai
    • Lanai Furniture
    • Outdoor Shower
  • Geographic Attributes
    • Near Beach
    • Nearby Golf Course
    • Nearby Tennis Courts
  • Convenience Attributes
    • Garage Use
    • Nearby Grocery
    • Nearby Medical Services
    • Outlet Shopping
  • Culture Attributes
    • Nearby Hawaiian Luau

Loading...

Terms

GUEST AGREEMENT
Updated: March, 2014
Relates to All Properties

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY
This contract constitutes an agreement between the Guest and the property Owner, represented by the Property Manager.
For Guests staying in the following properties, there is a mandatory resort fee in addition to the rental rate:

WAIPOULI BEACH RESORT (Beginning January 1, 2014) - $12/day (included with rental fees)
HANALEI BAY RESORT - $15/day (to be paid at check in at front desk)

DEPOSIT, PAYMENT AND CANCELLATION POLICY: Upon confirming your reservation, 25% of the total amount is required upfront upon booking the reservation. The final payment, including taxes, is due no later than 60 days prior to Guest’s arrival date. Expenses (including, but not limited to: extra clean fees, room charges, telephone charge, cable television charges, utility etc. ) incurred during your stay will be charged against Guest’s credit card.

Reservations not paid in full sixty (60) days prior or by the listed due date shall be subject to cancellation and forfeiture of all monies. Each property is individually owned. Rental fees are not transferable from property to property. If Guest’s check is returned by the bank, Agent reserves the right to require payment to be made by certified check or money order including a service charge of $50.00.

If cancellation is made at least 90 days prior to scheduled arrival, all monies will be refunded less the processing fee of $90.00 and up to $165.00 for larger homes. If cancelled less than 90 days prior to arrival, the 25% booking payment upon confirming will be forfeited. Cancellations made less than 60 days prior to arrival will result in forfeiture of the rent and taxes, with the exception of the cleaning fee and Security Deposit (if applicable). Guests are responsible for the entire time booked. No rental refunds are given for early departure or late cancellation. All cancellations must be made in writing (email and Fax acceptable). We do not make exceptions. In order to protect your vacation payments we strongly suggest travel insurance.

TRAVEL INSURANCE: You are a valued guest and we want to do everything possible to make your trip enjoyable and worry free. Because the unforeseen and unexpected can occur before you leave or when you’re away from home we recommend CSA’s Vacation Rental Insurance Plan. The premium for Vacation Rental Insurance can be included in the cost of your rental. Vacation Rental Insurance reimburses for pre-paid non-refundable expenses due to certain unforeseeable circumstances that may cause you to cancel, interrupt or delay your trip. Please review our cancellation policy in this Agreement.

CSA Travel Protection:

Please Initial Only One:

______ Initial here to Accept the Travel Insurance. *If left blank, you are electing to decline the travel insurance.

TRUST ACCOUNT: The Deposit, the Final Payment, Security Deposit (if applicable), and any other fees will be deposited into Agent’s trust account at First Hawaiian Bank, Princeville, HI 96722.
CONDITION OF PREMISES: The property and its contents are privately owned, withthe Property Manager acting solely as the Owner’s Agent. It is rented with Owner’s furnishings and neither Owner nor Agent will be responsible for providing any additional furnishings or equipment. No items belonging to Owner shall be removed from the property. Any household appliance and equipment malfunctions reported will be handled as quickly and professionally as possible during normal business hours. In the event of an after- hours emergency, please call Cyrila Pycha at. Guest agrees to keep it in good, clean condition.

Additionally, the Property Manager shall not be responsible for any loss, expense, damages, claims or injury direct, indirect, consequential or otherwise caused by reason of military actions, acts of God, or by any agents, employees, subcontractors, servants or services as provided.. Should the contracted property become unavailable, the Property Manager will act in good faith and use its best efforts to substitute with accommodations or services of a type comparable to those contracted. The Property Manager in their sole discretion reserves the right to refuse or discontinue service to any person(s) and/or to rescind any contract for accommodations or guest services. The Property Manager will not be liable under any circumstances, including substitutions, to refund any unused portion of booked accommodations or services. The Property Manager is not responsible for valuables left in rental properties.

Guest authorizes Agent to repair damages or losses caused by Guest or invitees of Guest, at the expense of Guest. Guest accepts responsibility for the acts of their children, visitors or guests and service animals. Guest will not remove or rearrange inside or outside furniture. Guest renting homes/condos with air conditioning for thirty (30) days or more will be responsible for excessive utility billing.

PESTS: Hawaii is a tropical climate in which insects, rodents and lizards unfortunately thrive. All properties are on a quarterly maintenance program, but Guest may encounter these pests during stay. Contact with a “pest” inside or outside of Guest's rental is not reason for termination of this agreement. If this does occur, please contact the Property Manager to make a report as a trouble call will be scheduled.

GAS GRILLS: Gas grills are not allowed at Condominium projects. Charcoal BBQ's and Hibachis are prohibited in all properties unless already provided. Any reported illegal use of a gas or fire barbecue from the association will result in a fine, which will be charged against your credit card account.

MANDATORY OCCUPANCY DISCLOSURES: It is mandatory to disclose the exact number and names of guests who will be occupying the premises during the rental term. Guest must immediately notify Agent, by phone and/or in writing, if the number of occupants changes. Additional charges may apply. The premises shall be used for residential vacation rental purposes only. Special events such as parties, receptions, etc., shall not be allowed without the express written consent of Agent. Shall guest refuse to adhere by this policy, additional charges may apply. In no event shall the premises be sublet or this agreement reassigned without the written consent of Agent.

CHECK IN / CHECK OUT: We want you to enjoy your stay and when possible will accommodate early check in or late check out. However, we are not always able to do so. Guest agrees to abide by stated check in / check out times unless express permission is given by rental agent.

SUBJECT TO CHANGE: Advertised amenities are subject to change without notice or compensation. Changes can occur after a reservation is made as a result of sale of unit, remodeling, mechanical failure or servicing. Should a property be made unavailable for any reason beyond the control of Agent, Agent may substitute another like or better property. If no other property is available the limit of liability by property Owner, the Property Manager or its Owners, is to refund any pre-paid rents that have been paid by the registered Guest.
SECURITY FEE: A non-refundable security fee is included in Guest's rent in lieu of requiring a Security Deposit. This is intended to limit out of pocket expenses from accidental damages to the leased premises or contents during the guest stay. A description of the Security Fee can be found at for review and is incorporated herein by reference. PLEASE READ IT CAREFULLY. In order to honor a claim under the security fee guidelines, Agent must be made aware of any damage prior to check-out.
SECURITY DEPOSIT: In the case of Special Events (e.g. Weddings, Graduations, etc.) a Security Deposit is required. Guest agrees to be responsible for any damage to the Premises or its contents. The Security Deposit shall be applied to actual damages caused by Guest. After Guest's occupancy, the Premises will be inspected to determine if such damage or theft including additional cleaning, has occurred. In such event, Agent shall deduct the cost of such damage or theft including additional cleaning from the Security Deposit and Guest will be notified in writing. In addition, Agent may deduct from the Security Deposit the amount of any long distance or per call telephone charges and cable television charges such as but not limited to pay per view movies that may have occurred during the dates of Guest's rental period. Agent shall apply, account for, or refund Guest's security deposit within forty-five (45) days following the end of the tenancy.
HOUSEKEEPING:

The property has been cleaned and prepared prior to Guest’s arrival. Fresh linens and towels are placed in the property along with a starter supply of soaps and paper products. Additional supplies that may be needed are the responsibility of the Guest. Each property is equipped with a washer and dryer. Excessive use of the linens and towels resulting in extra loads of laundry upon check-out is subject to additional charges. The Cleaning Fee stated on the Agreement is subject to change.

Daily Maid Service is not included.

In addition to your one-time out clean fee, mid-stay cleaning(s) and/or deep cleaning(s) may be required for extended rental periods of thirty (30) days or more at guest’s expense. Please notify our office at least one week in advance of your arrival if you wish to make these arrangements.

Please note that animals are not allowed, however, in the event a guest requires a service animal and has proper documentation for said animal; there will be an additional cleaning charge applied to the final balance.

PHONES: The private phones in each unit are for Guest's convenience. Local calls (Kauai) are free. Please charge all long distance calls to a credit card or third party.

OWNER’S CLOSET: Locked closets reserved for Owner are not to be accessed by Guest.

RULES, REGULATIONS AND LAWS: All properties are SMOKE FREE. Any smoking is to be done 20 feet from any entrance of the property per Hawaii State Law. Detection of any smoking within the property is subject to a $450 fine to guest. Our rental properties are located in residential areas and guests are asked to be considerate of neighbors' privacy and right to quiet enjoyment of their homes by keeping any noise at acceptable levels. Guest will take all reasonable steps to assure that property occupants adhere to the Rules, Regulations and Laws that affect the property, Homeowner’s Association, the Property Manager and the State of Hawaii.

Customer understands that the owner of this rental retains the right to sell their rental or change management companies at any time. In the event the vacation accommodation is sold by the owner or transferred into a new management regime, the Property Manager, acting as an intermediary between you and the Owner, will use its best efforts to provide a substitute vacation accommodation of equal or greater value. If the Property Manager is unable to find such accommodations, then at the Property Manager or customer's option this Agreement shall be cancelled and terminated and the Property Manager, acting as an intermediary between you and the Owner shall refund to customer all payments made by customer under this Agreement, and the Property Manager and customer shall thereafter not have any liabilities or obligations to the other arising out of the unavailability of the rental property and/or customer's travel arrangements.

Customer acknowledges that the rental owner and/or their agent retain the right to enter the rental for any legitimate reason, including showing a prospective buyer the rental, by giving customer at least Twenty-Four (24) hours notice of such showing.

NON-LIABILITY AND INDEMNIFICATION OF OWNER AND AGENT: Guest agrees to hold harmless and indemnify the Owner and Agent from any and all costs, expenses, legal proceedings, legal fees, suits, claims, or demands, whether from loss of life or injury to Guest and/or invitees of Guest, unless same was due solely to the willful act or gross negligence of the Owner or Agent.

The above rental information, while deemed reliable, is not guaranteed. Changes in inventory and or decor occur from time to time and such changes will not void or alter the terms of the rental and is not a valid reason for cancellation.
AGREEMENTS: Signing this Agreement and the Rental Agreement constitutes a contract, namely:
1) Acceptance of all terms, conditions, policies and procedures detailed therein.
2) Acceptance of full financial responsibility for late departures, any loss of inventory, excessive housekeeping and damage or repairs due to abuse or neglect for the property occurring within the duration of your stay.
3) All disputes arising out of this Agreement shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction and venue of the Hawaii State courts of Kauai County, Hawaii, (or, if there is exclusive federal jurisdiction, the United States District Court for Hawaii) and the parties consent to the personal and exclusive jurisdiction and venue of these courts.
4) Customer agrees and acknowledges that this rental arrangement is not subject to the residential landlord/tenant code of the state in which this rental is occurring (such as the Hawaii Revised Statutes chapter 521) since this is not a long term residential rental.
5) Acceptance of rental charges as stated on page one of this rental agreement.

Any alterations made to this Agreement by Guest without the approval of Agent, renders this Agreement null and void.

Payment Methods
Most major credit cards - Cash

Payment Balance
Balance and schedule of payments can be discussed the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Booking Cancellation Conditions
Cancellation policies can be discussed with the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Security or Damage Deposit
A refundable security/damage deposit will be required by the property manager.

Availability

Nightly rates shown do not include taxes, conditional rate adjustments or any applicable fees - request property or use rate calculator to obtain an accurate quote.

Nightly

2018

Rate Period Nightly
Jan 7 to May 31 Min Stay 3 nights 820 USD
Jun 1 to Aug 31 Min Stay 3 nights 1,062 USD
Sep 1 to Dec 14 Min Stay 3 nights 1,145 USD
Dec 15, 2018 to Jan 6, 2019 Min Stay 5 nights 1,145 USD

2019

Rate Period Nightly
Jan 7 to May 31 Min Stay 3 nights 1,145 USD

Weekly

2018

Rate Period Weekly
Jan 7 to May 31 Min Stay 7 nights 5,740 USD
Jun 1 to Aug 31 Min Stay 7 nights 7,434 USD
Sep 1 to Dec 14 Min Stay 7 nights 8,015 USD
Dec 15, 2018 to Jan 6, 2019 Min Stay 7 nights 8,015 USD

2019

Rate Period Weekly
Jan 7 to May 31 Min Stay 7 nights 8,015 USD

Long Term Stays

2018

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Jan 7 to May 31 Min Stay 30 nights 30 24,600 USD
Jun 1 to Aug 31 Min Stay 30 nights 30 31,860 USD
Sep 1 to Dec 14 Min Stay 30 nights 30 29,800 USD

2019

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Jan 7 to May 31 Min Stay 30 nights 30 34,350 USD

All Owner Direct guest reviews posted are verified and confirmed individually by Owner Direct Vacation Rentals staff.

This property has no reviews yet.

Overall satisfaction (1 raters)
Property condition (1 raters)
Location (1 raters)
Cleanliness (1 raters)
Services from rental manager (1 raters)
Recommend to Others (1 raters)

The following review(s) were provided by the property manager.

Amazing Stay at Makalae This is an outstanding home and we had an amazing time here! Perfect location to everything, beautiful views from all three upstairs bedrooms, and plenty of space for everyone. I stayed with my entire family, six adults and two young children, we were all very comfortable in the cozy soft beds and had enough space for privacy. Overall, a perfect place to stay, would definitely recommend and will probably try and stay here again. Only complaint isn't much of one, you can tell the home has been rented frequently and it needs some very minor tweaking (just a simple visit from a handyman) as many door handles, bathroom hardware, kitchen faucet, etc. are loose. Overall, very comfortable home with even better location!
Reviewed On: 2017-11-10
Beautiful house! There were 10 adults and we thoroughly enjoyed the house. It was everything in the description. And right across the street from the best snorkeling...lots of turtles and a monk seal. It is close to grocery stores and fun shops. A little walk, anout 1/2 mile, to a sandy beach. The house had everything we wanted!
Reviewed On: 2017-10-07
Great home in Kauai Wonderful experience
Reviewed On: 2017-08-25
Hawaii 5-0 birthday celebration. We had a great time at the Makale. We were 10 adults and the house having 5 bedrooms worked out very well. The house is in a great location and is very well equipped. Luxurious with many nice amenities although there are a few things that now require some attention. Overall highly recommend the Makale. Response from RE/MAX Kauai; Wednesday, August 16, 2017 Aloha Michael, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay at the Makalae home. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the property, and the location. It is unfortunate that the upstairs tub was out of order for your stay due to a leak and the refrigerator water line disconnected also due to leak. I assure you both items are on work order and will be repaired once all materials arrive on island. I'd like to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to come in and repair the blinds during your stay. It is truly a blessing to have such cooperation and understanding from our guests. We hope to see you again in the near future. -Tamee D. RE/MAX Kauai
Reviewed On: 2017-08-05
Fabulous Home Our family of 7 adults spent an amazing Christmas staying in Makalae. I needn't have worried about cooking Christmas dinner - the kitchen is a chef's dream and the 2 dishwashers make cleaning up a breeze. We gathered each morning on the lanai for breakfast to plan our day. There is excellent snorkeling at Koala Landing, a 3 min walk. We saw sea turtles in the rocky cove across the street and enjoyed the sandy beach which was a 10 min walk. Each of the 5 bedrooms was spacious with its own bathroom. The garage is stocked with beach equipment, and another big plus for a large family were the 2 washers and dryers ! We hope to return again to the beautiful home in the future.
Reviewed On: 2017-01-02
Family vacation Great location and a wonderful house. Two complaints. One is that they photo shopped out the telephone pole and wires in the web site pictures but no big deal. The other was that one of the showers was not operable. I had to go to the hardware store to buy an Allen wrench to fix it. I was told I would be reimbursed but haven't been yet. Response from RE/MAX Kauai; Thursday, May 5, 2016 Aloha and Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Makalae. I would like to personally apologize on behalf of RE/MAX Kauai for the inoperable shower during your stay and that it caused you an inconvenience. I do show that you were reimbursed on April 6, 2016. If you have not seen this credit, I suggest you contact your credit card company immediately. As for the photo shopped telephone pole, I'm surprised to hear this as we don't photo shop our photos other than to add more light. I will look into the photo and have it corrected. We prefer our guest see exactly what they are getting. I am happy that you otherwise enjoyed your stay on the beautiful island of Kauai. -Tamee D.
Reviewed On: 2016-04-27
A Perfect Place for a Family Reunion You can not find a better place to enjoy Hawaii as a family. With 5 bedrooms, each with their own bath, our family had enough space to spread out and enjoy some privacy amidst the family reunion. The upper floors have a dynamic view of the ocean. The house includes two high-end washer and dryers and two dishwashers which for a family of 10 adults was a must! The large stovetop even includes a griddle for a morning of pancakes. There are two large living areas, one up and one down, with large screen televisions in both. The garage is full of boogie boards, snorkel gear, children's reef-runners, beach chairs, umbrellas, and even a nice rolling cooler. There is a gas grill on the deck. The only drawback to the house is the condos being built right along the driveway; however, they do not obscure the view, and we found the noise indistinguishable when in the house with the air conditioner running. The workers are not there on the weekend and leave at the end of the day. We were out having fun most of the time they were working, so no one complained in our party about it at all. This house is built for a family. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.
Reviewed On: 2015-09-13
Wonderful family retreat! Excellent place to stay for vacation. Family had plenty of room to have their own space (with bedrooms and separate bathrooms). It would have been better if refrig worked better (needed to be colder and ice maker did not work). Training on how to work AC might have been helpful...we had no idea that master bedroom controlled all AC in other bedrooms until we called property management. You made it easy to get key with lockbox. Thank you for a nice place to stay!
Reviewed On: 2015-05-18
Great location and a wonderful house. Two complaints. One is that they photo shopped out the telephone pole and wires in the web site pictures but no big deal. The other was that one of the showers was not operable. I had to go to the hardware store to buy an Allen wrench to fix it. I was told I would be reimbursed but haven't been yet.
Reviewed On: 2016-04-27
You can not find a better place to enjoy Hawaii as a family. With 5 bedrooms, each with their own bath, our family had enough space to spread out and enjoy some privacy amidst the family reunion. The upper floors have a dynamic view of the ocean. The house includes two high-end washer and dryers and two dishwashers which for a family of 10 adults was a must! The large stovetop even includes a griddle for a morning of pancakes. There are two large living areas, one up and one down, with large screen televisions in both. The garage is full of boogie boards, snorkel gear, children's reef-runners, beach chairs, umbrellas, and even a nice rolling cooler. There is a gas grill on the deck. The only drawback to the house is the condos being built right along the driveway; however, they do not obscure the view, and we found the noise indistinguishable when in the house with the air conditioner running. The workers are not there on the weekend and leave at the end of the day. We were out having fun most of the time
Reviewed On: 2015-09-13
Excellent place to stay for vacation. Family had plenty of room to have their own space (with bedrooms and separate bathrooms). It would have been better if refrig worked better (needed to be colder and ice maker did not work). Training on how to work AC might have been helpful...we had no idea that master bedroom controlled all AC in other bedrooms until we called property management. You made it easy to get key with lockbox. Thank you for a nice place to stay!
Reviewed On: 2015-05-18

Listing History

  • This property owner/manager has been registered with Owner Direct since Jul 28, 2015.
  • This owner / manager has completed 7 successful bookings in total for all their properties through Owner Direct.com
  • The availability for this property was last updated on Apr 20, 2018
  • This owner's contact information has been verified by Owner Direct and past guests.

OwnerDirect.com - Superior Full Service

  • You're never alone with Owner Direct. Friendly service coast to coast available every day of the year.
  • You immediately know the price for your requested dates/occupants.
  • More photos (with descriptive captions) per property.
  • Extensive information is provided for every property, always in the same format, to save you time
  • We answer all of your questions quickly with our very comprehensive site and responsive customer service.
  • We offer a 24 hr grace period for both parties to communicate and confirm all details of a booking.

Web Directories - Our Competitors

  • A lot of your time is wasted filling out forms and waiting for replies from multiple vacation rental owners. Many busy owners never reply.
  • The price shown always changes, you have to calculate it yourself and often changes once you communicate with the owner.
  • Most owners do not take the time to provide complete information on listings, so you waste time having to ask questions and wait for responses.
  • In a nutshell, "Web Directories" are cumbersome and time consuming, and if you have a problem, you are on your own.
Koloa Accommodations -
Located in sunny Poipu along the coastline with ocean views. Makalae. Ma-KAH-lie (coast; beach, shore, coast near a point I.E. Lae)


Located on the South side of Kaua'i in Poipu. This is architecturally delightful slate roofed 3,332 sq. Ft. Home has spectacular views of the blue Pacific waters. Makalae is a truly intricate and beautifully designed house that has many special features. A 5-bedroom, 5-bathroom home with dual master suites, it is exquisitely designed with 5" Brazilian Cherry floors throughout. The doors and screen doors are handmade out of mahogany, a fully equipped gourmet kitchen with top of the line appliances, slab marble and granite countertops throughout, fully air conditioned with a state-of-the-art sound and security system will make your vacation truly luxurious.


Makalae is a warm welcoming luxurious home with fine furnishings and accessories. The craftsmanship of this house was expertly built to take full advantage of memorable sunsets in the western Hawaiian sky and the southern trade winds known as Ku'amanini of Weliweli or Ko'omakani of Maha'ulepu, as named by the Hawaiians.


Close by are surf, swimming, fishing, snorkeling, boating, hiking, great eateries and fine restaurants.

Hawaii Tax ID# W77508450-01

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day
We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!
Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Pricing & Availability

to
Adults
Children (0-17)
Please select dates and occupants to view
Availability and Pricing
Mandatory
Taxes
Included
Excluded
First Payment, Charged Now
Second Payment, due by
Total Rent
(Damage/Security deposits not included)
Cancellation Policy
Total Rent

Rental Request & Questions

create an account?
  Help

Credit Card Details


Timeout From:
Timeout To:

Experience the difference, no waiting
 
Experience the difference, no waiting
Toll Free USA, Canada
1.888.869.6377
Toll Free UK
0.800.249.4265
Toll Free Australia
1.800.150.197
International Rentals
1.250.469.9543