max 6 guests      3 bedrooms      3.5 bathrooms
  • Kitchen Attributes
    • Full Kitchen
    • Refrigerator
    • Coffee Maker
    • Ice Maker
    • Microwave
    • Cookware
    • Cooking Utensils
    • Pots / Pans
    • Dishwasher
    • Glassware
    • Stove / Oven
    • Silverware
  • Living Attributes
    • Central Air
    • Air Conditioning
    • Ceiling Fans
    • Linens
    • Washer & Dryer
    • High Speed Internet
    • Hair Dryer
    • Cable
  • Business Attributes
    • Nearby ATM
    • Nearby Post Office
    • Nearby Bank
  • Convenience Attributes
    • Nearby Medical Services
    • Nearby Grocery
    • Golf Course
  • Outdoor Attributes
    • Balcony
    • BBQ Grill
  • Geographic Attributes
    • Near Lake
  • Entertainment Attributes
    • Cable TV
    • Wireless Internet

Loading...

Terms

The Property Manager (hereafter referred to as "we", "us", or "our") provides rental management services on behalf of homeowners ("Owners") who rent their properties (including the associated fixtures and furnishings)(the “Home”) to guests (the "Guest" or "you") seeking accommodations on a short term or long term basis (collectively, the “Services”). We are the Owner's property manager and authorized agent, who will perform the Services related to your reservation. By using the Home and Services, you agree to comply with and be legally bound by the terms and conditions of this guest agreement (the "Agreement"). This Agreement only applies to short term rentals and not long term rentals, which will be governed by the specific terms of your lease agreement with us.

1. Policies: Please treat our Owner's Home with the care you would at your own home and abide by following policies:

*Behave as you would in any home in which you live, with respect for property and neighbors.
*Unless otherwise stated in the Home listing, you must be over the age of 25.
*You will be an occupant of the unit during the entire reserved period and other occupants of the Home during your stay will be family members, friends, responsible adults or children under direct adult supervision.
*Do not exceed the maximum occupancy of the Home.
*No parties, noise that can be heard beyond the home lot line or in adjacent units, or any illegal activity may occur at the Home.
*No pets are allowed unless otherwise noted for specific properties and where you have paid a pet fee in connection with your booking in advance of your reservation.
*No smoking is allowed in or around any Home.
*Check-in time is 3pm and check-out time is 10am - we will notify you via email in advance if early check-in or late check-out will be available.
*Please use common courtesy at the home by keeping it clean, reporting any problems or damages, washing dishes as used, taking garbage to the outside bins, leaving towels in the bathrooms and sheets in the bedrooms, and not re-arranging furniture.

2. Cleaning: Each home will be cleaned and inspected by third-party cleaning contractors after your departure. We ask you to help us enable the cleaning crews as much as possible. They will appreciate simple things like leaving the home tidy, running the dishwasher, starting to wash the towels, and taking out the trash.

3. Swimming Pools, Hot Tubs, or Beach: If the home that you have reserved includes a pool or hot tub, or is on a beach, these can all be obviously dangerous. Guests should observe and adhere to all rules and policies as posted at the home and supervise all children at all times. Lifeguards are not provided. Decks and patios can be slippery when wet and can result in injury to anyone who is not careful. Guest accept and assumes all risks involved in or related to the use of a pool, hot tub, beach and deck/patio areas.

4. Home Damage Waiver: Each guest will be offered an optional Damage Waiver that protects you against unintended damage done to the Property. This is not insurance, and the Damage Waiver does not apply to intentional damage done by the Guest or your guests, or excessive wear and tear due to parties, smoking, pets or otherwise, or additional cleaning charges due to stains or spills, or fines incurred by the police or HOA due to noise, excessive trash or parking, or damage over the purchased amounts of either $3,000 or $5,000. If Tenant does not wish to purchase this Damage Waiver, a security deposit of $3,000, $5,000, or greater depending on Property will be required at the time of booking. If a Home requires an additional security deposit, we will explain this to you before confirming a reservation. Guest acknowledges that any damage or fines not covered by the Damage Waiver or above the amount of any security deposit can be charged to Guest (and Guest’s card on file). The Damage Waiver can be purchased up to the day prior to your reservation but not after it has started. You do not have to purchase this Damage Waiver. Please contact the Property Manager directly at if you do not wish to purchase the Damage Waiver.

5. Excessive Wear and Tear, Noise and Occupancy: If excessive wear and tear is found for the Home, or additional cleaning is necessary due to spills, trash left on site, stains to furniture, carpeting, linens, paint, wallpaper, or flooring, Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest for additional fees. Tenant will be provided with a receipt for any additional fees incurred upon request or as required by local laws or regulations. If at any time the maximum number of the Home’s occupants is exceeded or if we receive information about excessive noise, the Property Manager has the right to evict Guest and all occupants immediately and to charge Guest a minimum service fee of $250 with no refund for the balance of the remaining reservation. If any sign of smoking is discovered Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. Unless the reservation for the Home specifically allows a pet, if any sign of a pet is discovered, then Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. The Property Manager will return any balance of a security deposit to Guest, less any charges or amounts owed by Guest, within fourteen (14) days after the end of the reservation or as otherwise required by local laws or regulations. Any charges owed by Guest may be charged by the Property Manager to Guest’s card on file in addition to seeking any relief provided by law.

6. Maintenance and Access: We have the right to enter the home at any time during guest stay and we will diligently attempt to address maintenance issues as they occur. This is an associated risk of renting a single family residence or condo. If a maintenance issue occurs that cannot be fixed in a reasonable amount of time, and significantly affects your stay; we reserve the right to refund at our discretion or offer to relocate you to another home.

7. Phone and Internet: Unless otherwise specified, all homes are equipped with a high-speed Wi-Fi connection where service is available and we will provide you with any required Wi-Fi passwords. We do not provide a land line phones for all homes and suggest that you please use your mobile phone or Wi-Fi enabled phone for calls.

8. Furnished Rental and Supplies: The Property Manager's properties are fully furnished properties that will include bedspreads, linens, blankets, pillows, towels, a fully equipped kitchen, TV, furnishings unless otherwise specified. A limited starter supply of paper products, bath and dish soap are provided, but will not be replaced if consumed during your stay so we recommend bringing additional personal items with you. Staples (salt, pepper, foils, wraps, etc) are generally stocked by the owner of the home, however the Property Manager cannot commit these supplies being present. Guest is responsible for replacing stocked items as they are consumed. If there is a special type of item you are accustomed to using please provide for those items by bringing them with you. Extra towels are always recommended for homes on the beach, or with a pool or hot tub.

9. Weather and Other Unforeseen Events: The Property Manager does not accept liability for any inconveniences arising from any temporary defects or stoppage in supply of water, gas, electricity or plumbing, damage caused by weather/road conditions, natural disasters, acts of God or other reasons beyond its control. No refunds will be given for any delays or cancellations due to such conditions. Travel Insurance is highly recommended for any stay.

10. Homeowners Association: The Property Manager cannot warrant the usability or condition of amenities provided through homeowner associations, including, but not limited to pools, hot tubs, club houses, tennis courts, golf facilities, and picnic & beach facilities.

11. Indemnity: Neither Owner nor the Property Manager assumes any liability for loss, theft, damage or injury to Guest, his/her guests or other occupants in the Home. The Guest, for himself/herself, his/her heirs, assignors, executors and administrators, fully releases and discharges Owner and the Property Manager from any and all claims, demands and causes of action by reason of any injury or whatever nature which has or have occurred, or may occur to the Guest, his/her guests or other occupants of the Home as a result of, or in connection with the occupancy of the Home and agrees to hold Owner and the Property Manager free and harmless of any claim or suit arising therefrom. In any action concerning the rights, duties or liabilities of the parties to this Agreement, or their principals, agents, successors or assignees the prevailing party shall be entitled to recover reasonable attorney fees and costs.

12. Sale Contingency: In the rare event the Home that that you have reserved is for sale, and/or is under a contract to sell, the Property Manager reserves the right to provide Guest with a comparable home at no additional cost to the Guest. Showings during occupancy are by appointment only at your prior approval.

13. Payment and Cancellations: We accept all major credit cards. For reservations made more than 30 days in advance, we only charge a deposit of 10% of the total reservation upon booking, with full payment due 30 days prior to check-in. For all reservations made within 30 days of check-in, we collect payment in full at the time of booking. All reservations which are made more than 10 days in advance are fully refundable if the guest cancels the reservation within 72 hours after the time of booking. After this cancellation period expires, all guest payments are non-refundable.

14. Other Terms and Conditions: Your booking is subject to the the Property Manager 's Terms, Privacy Policy and this Guest Agreement which can be found at /terms. Additionally, where specifically required by the terms of any applicable laws, regulations or Homeowner's Association rules (as determined by the Property Manager), then this Rental Agreement shall constitute a lease of the premises. If you would like to extend your reservation for additional dates, please call us for availability and pricing.

Payment Methods
Most major credit cards - Cash

Payment Balance
Balance and schedule of payments can be discussed the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Booking Cancellation Conditions
Cancellation policies can be discussed with the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Security or Damage Deposit
A refundable security/damage deposit will be required by the property manager.

Availability

Nightly rates shown do not include taxes, conditional rate adjustments or any applicable fees - request property or use rate calculator to obtain an accurate quote.

Nightly

2020

Rate Period Nightly
Jan 1 to Mar 5 Min Stay 2 nights 104 - 136 USD
Mar 6 to Mar 28 Min Stay 3 nights 224 - 284 USD
Mar 29 to May 21 Min Stay 2 nights 148 - 275 USD
May 22 to May 25 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 424 - 442 USD
May 26 to Jun 25 Min Stay 2 nights 252 - 349 USD
Jun 26 to Jul 5 Min Stay 3 nights 372 USD
Jul 6 to Sep 3 Min Stay 2 nights 252 - 349 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 7 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 347 - 364 USD
Sep 8 to Oct 31 Min Stay 2 nights 170 - 275 USD
Nov 1 to Nov 24 Min Stay 2 nights 148 - 193 USD
Nov 25 to Nov 28 Min Stay 2 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 326 - 338 USD
Nov 29 to Dec 20 Min Stay 2 nights 148 - 199 USD
Dec 21 to Dec 31 Min Stay 2 nights 346 USD

2021

Rate Period Nightly
Jan 1 to Mar 5 Min Stay 2 nights 148 - 199 USD

Weekly

2020

Rate Period Weekly
Jan 1 to Mar 5 Min Stay 7 nights 743 - 896 USD
Mar 6 to Mar 28 Min Stay 7 nights 1,710 - 1,894 USD
Mar 29 to May 21 Min Stay 7 nights 1,278 - 1,345 USD
May 22 to May 25 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 2,951 - 3,005 USD
May 26 to Jun 25 Min Stay 7 nights 1,900 USD
Jun 26 to Jul 5 Min Stay 7 nights 2,545 - 2,597 USD
Jul 6 to Sep 3 Min Stay 7 nights 1,900 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 7 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 2,420 - 2,471 USD
Sep 8 to Oct 31 Min Stay 7 nights 1,345 USD
Nov 1 to Nov 24 Min Stay 7 nights 1,068 USD
Nov 25 to Nov 28 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 2,168 - 2,234 USD
Nov 29 to Dec 20 Min Stay 7 nights 1,068 - 1,092 USD
Dec 21 to Dec 31 Min Stay 7 nights 2,311 - 2,352 USD

2021

Rate Period Weekly
Jan 1 to Mar 5 Min Stay 7 nights 1,068 - 1,092 USD

Long Term Stays

2020

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Jan 1 to Mar 5 Min Stay 30 nights 30 3,392 USD
Mar 6 to Mar 28 Min Stay 30 nights 30 4,860 - 4,991 USD
Mar 29 to May 21 Min Stay 30 nights 30 3,878 - 3,999 USD
May 22 to May 25 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 8,383 - 8,427 USD
May 26 to Jun 25 Min Stay 30 nights 30 5,231 - 5,326 USD
Jun 26 to Jul 5 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,030 - 7,071 USD
Jul 6 to Sep 3 Min Stay 30 nights 30 5,277 - 5,408 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 7 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 6,885 - 6,921 USD
Sep 8 to Oct 31 Min Stay 30 nights 30 3,878 - 3,999 USD
Nov 1 to Nov 24 Min Stay 30 nights 30 3,474 - 3,486 USD
Nov 25 to Nov 28 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 30 6,279 USD
Nov 29 to Dec 20 Min Stay 30 nights 30 3,517 - 3,560 USD
Dec 21 to Dec 31 Min Stay 30 nights 30 6,250 - 6,308 USD

2021

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Jan 1 to Mar 5 Min Stay 30 nights 30 3,439 - 3,450 USD

Verified vacation home reviews by real guests

All Owner Direct guest reviews posted are verified and confirmed individually by Owner Direct Vacation Rentals staff.

This property has no Owner Direct reviews yet.

Overall satisfaction (12 raters)
Property condition (12 raters)
Location (12 raters)
Cleanliness (12 raters)
Services from rental manager (12 raters)

The following review(s) were provided by the property manager.

Lago Vista stay Very pretty, comfy, nice View. Cleaning fee is the most I’ve ever paid it’s extremely high and they ask you to start the wash after paying I believe $250 for cleaning. But, was still cheaper than most places and really nice. Bed in master bedroom is very noisy and can’t use the fan in master bedroom very noisy. Other wish great stay and would book again! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, November 13, 2019 Hi Isador, Thank you so much for your review and we are happy to hear that you had a great stay at our home and enjoyed your trip. We wish we would have known you needed assistance with the bed and fan so we could have helped. Always remember our 24/7 guests support line is always available before, during or after your trip for any needs or concerns you may have. Please know our team is addressing these items so they will no longer be an issue. Regarding the cleaning fee and laundry, we would like to note that many of these fees and taxes are industry standard, and in some cases not even coming from TurnKey. If you would like a breakdown of these charges, please reach out any time on our 24/7 guest hotline, and we’d be more than happy to assist you further. With regards to your cleaning fee, we pay our Housekeepers a competitive rate for each area. While we do ask guests to begin a load of laundry in order to assist our Housekeeping Teams, this is by no means required. You were amazing guests and we would love to have you back at any time. – The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 11/12/2019
Nice location Overall nice location and property. Could use a few simple, inexpensive upgrades to make the property more enjoyable, such as cable and functioning internet. Also, a number of the outlets did not work. Although the inside appears to have been cleaned well prior to our arriving, the outside glass doors to front patio were very dirty. There's also a broken door handle in the 2nd bedroom. Overall nice home though, in relaxing location. A little bit of an issue (unprofessionalism) from one of the Turnkey representative equals the three star rating with this experience. Issue was resolved through. Appreciated. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Friday, October 25, 2019 Hi Yolanda, Thank you so much for the feedback. We're glad to hear your overall experience was good, but are sorry to hear that you felt our service was not as great as it should have been. Here at TurnKey, we strive to offer impeccable customer service, and it is our hope that all guests have hassle-free, enjoyable stays at our properties. We have confirmed that the internet and cable are functioning properly for future guests. If there is anything else we can do for you, just reach out and let us know! We hope to have you back again! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Yolanda P.
Reviewed On: 10/14/2019
Great view! We had a great vacation,very peacefull with beautiful sunrises and sunsets!<br/>Christopher and the people from turnkey are very responsive!The only complain was the beds make too much noise but are comfortable! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, March 20, 2019 Hi Gladysel, Thank you for the compliments, and we love hearing how much you enjoyed your stay! You were the perfect guests, and we appreciate you taking care of our place as if it were your own. We appreciate your feedback regarding the beds and would like to assure you that we will work to address the squeaking. Please come and stay again any time! - The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 3/19/2019
Review Really good. The automatic door lock code system is really convenient. One of the showers wasn't working even though it was listed on airbnb. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Thursday, May 30, 2019 Hi Akshit, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so thrilled to hear that your experience with us was really good, and that you recommend our property to others! We have confirmed our listings are 100% accurate with regards to the listed bathrooms. We would love to have you back again anytime! If there is anything else we can still do to further assist you, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our 24/7 guest hotline and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 5/14/2019
Very specious/comfortable home Home was great. Very specious. The home had everything we needed. Home is located in a beautiful neighborhood, we only wish it was closer to main grocery stores but overall We really enjoyed our stay.
Reviewed On: 7/17/2019
Lake Travis vacation The grill on the property caught fire when we attempting to use it. You immediately began the process to replace it, but we weren't able to use it. The internet was not available as described on the description. In addition the availability of the park areas as per the description of the property is inaccurate. The description should address that to have access to the lake you do need to purchase a parking pass so that you will have a gate pass. As is, the description, is vague. I didn't purchase a parking pass for the "Activity Center" because I was led to believe that if I wasn't going to an activity center I wouldn't need the parking pass. However, without a parking pass, I did not have lakefront access to the lake. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, October 1, 2019 Hi Todd, Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and can also understand your frustration with the issues you encountered during your stay. Please know that a brand new grill has since been purchased for the property and the WiFi is confirmed to be working properly at this time. With regards to parking, we've reviewed our listing details and Home Instructions, which all guests receive prior to arrival, and verified that all information is accurate and complete. If there is anything we can still do for you, reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
- Todd A.
Reviewed On: 7/24/2019
Lago Visata Great family vacation place.
- David B.
Reviewed On: 7/31/2017
Great stay! The house was as great as advertised. Plenty of space and great, quiet neighborhood. Only negatives were the bathrooms were a little dirty, but nothing serious. And the property was a bit further from Austin than expected, but that was probably a lack of research on my part. Looking forward to staying again! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Thursday, October 26, 2017 Hello Jesse, Thank you so much for the review and helpful feedback! We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will follow-up with housekeeping regarding the bathrooms. Also, our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up, so please let us know next time if you need anything. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we look forward to having you stay again! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Jesse U.
Reviewed On: 10/25/2017
My weekend getaway Me and my family really enjoyed our stasy.
- Frenchell J.
Reviewed On: 12/5/2017
FAMILY VACATION WE LOVED THAT HOUSE..LOTS OF SPACE.. CLOSE TO EVERYTHING..VERY CLEAN..CLOSE TO THE LAKE..THANKS FOR ALL THE INFORMATION TURN KEY
- CARLOS M.
Reviewed On: 4/8/2018
a week vacation it was an unforgettable experience
Reviewed On: 5/14/2018
Flooded toilet The house was very nice and I wish we could have stayed longer, but unfortunately the septic system overflowed into the downstairs bedroom toilet at 2:00 am. About an inch of standing sewer water flooded the room. I immediately called TurnKey, the property management company, and they said they wouldn&#x2019;t be able to do anything until 7 am. After multiple phone calls the next morning (while waiting in a house that smelled like sewage) at 11 am we were moved to a much smaller 2-bedroom condo in downtown Austin. We were comped $100 which didn&#x2019;t even cover the overnight parking fees downtown for our group. Great property, but not satisfied at all with the management. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Sunday, November 11, 2018 Hi Joshua, thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and can also understand your frustration that we were unable to address it fast enough during your stay. Please be assured that since then we have fixed the septic system and toilet and is properly working. Here at TurnKey, your feedback is highly valued, and we try our best to make things right in any way we can so that our guests know that our priority is their ultimate satisfaction. Although not a great excuse, our maintenance team wanted to see if the issue was fixable first before moving you to another home as at the moment there wan't much options. We know it doesn’t change things, but thank you for accepting the compensation we were able to offer you. Thanks again for bringing these important issues to light, as it’s feedback like this that really makes a difference in how we move forward in offering the best service we possibly can to our guests and in keeping our properties in perfect shape. If there is anything else we can do for you, please reach out any time on our 24/7 guest hotline and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 11/5/2018
Great family vacation place.
Reviewed On: 7/31/2017

Listing History

  • This property owner/manager has been registered with Owner Direct since Jun 29, 2016.
  • This owner / manager has completed 277 successful bookings in total for all their properties through Owner Direct.com
  • The availability for this property was last updated on Jan 06, 2020
  • The rates for this property were last updated on Jun 29, 2016
  • This owner's contact information has been verified by Owner Direct and past guests.

OwnerDirect.com - Superior Full Service

  • You're never alone with Owner Direct. Friendly service coast to coast available every day of the year.
  • You immediately know the price for your requested dates/occupants.
  • More photos (with descriptive captions) per property.
  • Extensive information is provided for every property, always in the same format, to save you time
  • We answer all of your questions quickly with our very comprehensive site and responsive customer service.
  • We offer a 24 hr grace period for both parties to communicate and confirm all details of a booking.

Web Directories - Our Competitors

  • A lot of your time is wasted filling out forms and waiting for replies from multiple vacation rental owners. Many busy owners never reply.
  • The price shown always changes, you have to calculate it yourself and often changes once you communicate with the owner.
  • Most owners do not take the time to provide complete information on listings, so you waste time having to ask questions and wait for responses.
  • In a nutshell, "Web Directories" are cumbersome and time consuming, and if you have a problem, you are on your own.

This 3br/3 5ba Lake

ID 229511 - 4 beds (2 queen and 2 single). Base rent is for 6 occupants.
Lago Vista Vacation Rentals
This 3BR/3.5BA Lake Travis home offers an open design with two living areas. Enjoy the sun with plenty of outdoor living space, including a lakeview deck, and a community park and activity center. Unwind in an indulgent master suite.. With views of Lake Travis from the second story deck, this 3BR/3.5BA vacation rental in Austin offers two living areas and plenty of outdoor space, including a second-story deck with views of the lake.

Unwind in an indulgent master suite with deck access and gather in one of two living spaces: the first is open concept with extra seating at the kitchen island, and the second offers some peace and quiet in which to watch TV.

There’s no shortage of things to do, either, with a nearby boat ramp and activities at the community center both available for guests, and Pace Bend Park with mountain climbing, cliff trails and sports fields just waiting for you.


INSIDE THE HOUSE

The main living area is set upstairs in this split-level home, affording great views over Lake Travis from the attached balcony. Downstairs, a second family room has a 42” flat screen TV and couch seating for 3 so you can enjoy your shows in peace. There’s a dining table that seats 6 and casual bar seating for 3 at the kitchen island. The kitchen itself is well equipped with granite countertops, all stainless steel appliances and plenty of room to channel your inner chef.

In the master suite, a queen bed is flanked by nightstands, with double doors out to the lakeview deck. An en-suite bathroom offers private indulgence, with a huge jetted tub, double walk-in shower and double sink vanity. Both the second and third bedrooms have their own full bathroom as well, with an additional half bath off the living area. With a queen bed in the second and two twins in the third bedroom, there’s a sleeping configuration to suit everyone.

Outside there’s a wide second story deck with outdoor dining and BBQ grill, and a covered patio on the ground floor overlooking the backyard.


OUR LOCATION

Guests only have access to Park and Boat Ramp with a $10 pass for each vehicle to enter the park and need to be collected before your arrival. Please contact our team to request the access pass.

Highland Lakes Golf Course, a 15-minute walk away, is a public golf course where you can perfect your swing, or find the perfect fishing spot along Lake Travis. If you’re enjoying an adults-only vacation, there’s always Hippie Hollow Park, a “clothing-optional” park with swimming and sunbathing opportunities for the over-18s.

A quick 30-minute drive finds you in Round Rock, where there are shopping malls and a range of restaurants to refuel you before another day on the water. And if you want to head right into the heart of downtown Austin, you can get there by car in less than an hour.

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

We save your time and spare you the headaches!

We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Nearby and Recently Viewed Vacation Rentals

Pricing & Availability

to
Adults
Children (0-17)
Please select dates and occupants to view
Availability and Pricing
Mandatory
Taxes
Included
Excluded
First Payment, Charged Now
Second Payment, due by
Total Rent
(Damage/Security deposits not included)
Cancellation Policy
Total Rent
You wont be charged yet
🕔 24-Hour Confirmation

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day
We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!
Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden
Timeout From:
Timeout To:

Experience the difference, no waiting
 
Toll Free USA, Canada
1.888.869.6377
Toll Free UK
0.800.249.4265
Toll Free Australia
1.800.150.197
International Rentals
1.250.469.9543