The following review(s) were provided by the property manager.
This condo is one of the best location in the resort. Steps to the beach and pool. Sunset views right out you’re slider door every night. Unit was clean, well supplied and comfortable.
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Tuesday, July 12, 2022
t was truly a pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again! Mahalo from the Hawaii Life Vacations Team!
- Yvonne L.
Reviewed On: 6/30/2022
This location could not have been more ideal for our family of four. Having the lawn for our young kids to run around on, while we could sit on the lanai and watch them AND the view, was perfect. The unit itself had the great space and enough kitchen tools for us to easily cook and eat at home often. The kids absolutely loved the kid-friendly pool as well with it's multi-level entry points (including a nice 9 inch section for our toddler) and water features. We often hit a beach in the morning and then popped over to the pool in the afternoon. The lawn games were a fun bonus too! We felt incredible lucky to have snagged this spot and would highly recommend it (although we don't want too many people to discover it, we need it to be available for a future visit, haha!)
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Friday, July 8, 2022
Mahalo nui loa you for the review. It was truly a pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again! Mahalo from the Hawaii Life Vacations Team!
- Lauren B.
Reviewed On: 6/12/2022
Not the best unit, needs updating.
Floors were dirty. The kitchen had no cereal bowls, dish clothes or towels di I had to go but them. No toaster, no 9x13 pans, and what was in the cupboards were disorganized snd such a mess! Found marijuana snd a pipe in the condo. The couch is so old and the sofa bed is so bad and worn out. The whole unit needs updating really bad! The light in the living room didn’t work at all and the curtain shade is so dark. The bedroom light only worked when it wanted to.
- Jami B.
Reviewed On: 12/9/2021
Location and View
This property is the perfect location with the perfect view. However this property needs some love. Simple things like working light switches or missing light bulb or loose cabinet doors. <br/><br/>
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Thursday, March 31, 2022
Mahalo for the great review! We are glad you had a wonderful vacation! We hope to host you again. Mahalo from the Hawaii Life Vacations Team!
Reviewed On: 3/24/2022
This rental was exactly as described and is a great value!
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Wednesday, November 24, 2021
Mahalo for staying with us!
Reviewed On: 11/17/2021
Unbelievable location for a visit to paradise.
I read a review on this property before we visited. It said that they did not want to tell everyone just how wonderful this unit is. Now I understand what they meant. If everyone knew about it, everyone would rent it out from under us. We arrived at night so we had no idea what we were in for on our first morning. How about a double rainbow over a perfect ocean with an island at either end. Right outside your lanai door. As people walk by on the pathway, they wave and say how nice our lanai is. Once a young girl, maybe 7, said "Mom, they have a nice apartment." Yeah, even kids can tell. To say we loved this unit is a given. I would love to own and live in this unit. We will be back to visit in the future. I wish it was tomorrow! Until we meet again! Aloha from Alaska! (Unit 161, ocean facing, left wing of resort)
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Friday, May 20, 2022
This is such a great review and we truly appreciate it, Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back soon! Mahalo from the Hawaii Life Vacations Team!
- Patricia O.
Reviewed On: 4/30/2022
A Great Condo for Families
What a wonderful condo in a wonderful resort! Our family of four loved this place and it’s location. Kaanapali Shores has all the amenities of a larger resort, but is relaxed and unpretentious; perfect for families! For those wondering, the condo comes supplied with hotel size shampoo, conditioner and soap, but you will need to buy coffee at Costco or Safeway before arriving. Bath towels are nice and fluffy. Parking is very convenient to the condo. While we were here in August, there was enough beach to swim, sunbathe and snorkel, but as others have said, there are many larger beaches nearby as well. There is plenty of beach toys and gear provided in the unit and they also rent other gear on-site. You will not regret renting this property!
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Tuesday, August 20, 2019
We are happy that you had a wonderful vacation and enjoyed our condo it is a Jem and the location is amazing!
Reviewed On: 8/13/2019
Amazing view and great condo, but....
We gave 5 stars, but please read the caution below so that you are aware and fully informed.<br/> Oceanfront with beautiful panoramic view of the sunset! The furnishings were tasteful and comfortable. The kitchen was clean and well stocked with dishes, pots & pans. My husband loved the new coffee maker so much, that Santa gave him the same model for Christmas. All of the beds were very comfortable. There was an abundance of towels. One closet even had a high chair, which was very helpful for our granddaughter, two buckets of beach toys, and several boogie boards. We gratefully used them all.<br/> Now the caution: As you can see from the photo there is a good sized lanai with newer patio furniture, then some grassy space, then the ocean backed by a beautiful sunset. Between "our" grass and the beach is a 5-6 foot wide walkway that is a public walking path across the entire beachfront of this very large resort, Aston Kaanapali Shores, a NON_SMOKING RESORT.<br/> But 25-50 people each day lit up their cigs right in front of our unit, which is the southernmost unit in the resort. Why? Because they were 20 feet away from the property line of the resort. Smoking is against the law on beaches in Hawaii so they were not smoking on the beach. Smokers congregated all day and night within 20 feet of our unit. The smokers even used a Memorial Bench & planter for smoking & leaving their butts. It was very distracting and stinky.<br/> When we informed the resort, they offered to send security to the area. They even had maintenance men pick up the butts. They said they inform every guest about the location of 2 designated smoking areas. Next to our condo was NOT one of them. <br/> They suggested I let the condominium owners know how unpleasant and constant the smoking was, so the owners could complain to their Homeowners Association. The least that can be done is to put up more NO SMOKING signs. <br/> The question is-Would smoking bother you while you are enjoyi
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Monday, December 30, 2019
We are so happy you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the accomadations !
We appoligise for the smokers that can be hard to control .
We greatly appreciate your review as well.
Reviewed On: 12/26/2019
Perfect View / Location But...
The location of this condo on the property is perfect with whales breaching right in front of you. However that is all I can say about this condo. Upon walking into the condo our first night we found a B52 Cockroach right in the center of the floor. After dealing with it we had to try to figure out the light switches which have a battery controlled wall mounted switch. Once we started inspecting everything in the room we quickly found things were not cleaned. The bed sheets had hair & dirt on them in both rooms. We called the property manager to complain about the cleanliness and lights but Harry just quickly dismissed things as normal. He had to explain that the master bedroom main light switch is plugged into the closet wall and is on a rocker switch (really?). Harry said the roach is normal for Tropical areas but I've stayed at dozens of resorts and condo's in the tropics in my time and never ran into a roach. I suspect poor property cleaning is the cause of this (we found 2 more roaches during our stay)! We had requested the two twin beds be swapped out for a queen but the resort only moved the two twin beds together! The twin beds were also very poor quality and I heard one spring break when my husband sat down on the bed (he's only 200#). When taking a shower in either bathroom your feet get a bath as the drains are plugged. If you look up in the master bathroom you will notice all of the bugs and dirt from the years. There are many dated items in the room but the out of place 70" TV that is in there for some reason. Once we checked out it took several emails and phone calls to finally get our damage deposit back (2 weeks!). <br/>During our stay in unit 161, unit 160 had a water leak from above. The property wouldn't let the elderly couple move out and into another room without charging them for that room. The next day we saw workers trying to fix the damage and you could still see some of the water damaged sheet rock. <br/>Needless to say - Stay
- Jessica D.
Reviewed On: 2/16/2020
Our experience was amazing. We brought our 3 children and the location was perfect for us. We sat on our lanai and watched the whales while the kids played on the beach. Would recommend this unit to others.
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Sunday, March 8, 2020
We are so happy you had a wonderful stay, and we hope to see you again in the near future. We greatly appreciate your 5 star review as well!
- Jayson T.
Reviewed On: 3/7/2020
Amazing view! But with several disappointing surprises...
My family and I came to Maui 5 years ago (pre-babies) and decided to splurge on this oceanfront room for our most-recent trip in February 2020. The amazing view as well as the ground level access to both the beach and pool were huge positives during our stay.<br/><br/>Unfortunately, our stay also included several experiences that left us feeling disappointed and grossed out. I have listed them below in order of severity:<br/><br/>1) Cockroaches! HUGE cockroaches! Not 1, not 2, not 3, but 4! Yes, 4 LIVE cockroaches were found during our 8 day stay. 3 critters were found on the floor and 1 was on the kitchen counter. SO DISGUSTING!! We could not find the source (nor is it our job) but the fact that we saw them so early in our trip left us feeling uneasy and disgusted during our stay.<br/><br/>2) Old/worn furniture - the furniture was quite dated. It was an eyesore and frankly hard to sit on. The fabric felt like it had been used as a towel by the hundreds of people that stayed there prior...let that feeling soak in (pun intended).<br/><br/>3) Light Switches/Remotes- Every room came with a remote to operate the light/fan fixtures and all remotes operated using batteries. Unfortunately, in our case, all of the batteries were dead. Thankfully we had natural light from outside during the day, but at sunset and sunrise it was quite dim.<br/><br/>4) Clogged tubs- the master tub was clogged and took forever to drain. <br/><br/>5) The flooring obviously has never been updated and it shows in the grout. The brown/black color left us wondering how long it has been neglected.
Reviewed On: 2/29/2020
We recently stayed in unit 161 for 13 days and we had the best time! This was our first time staying at Kaanapali Shores and we were pleasantly surprised! We loved that they had a bar with drinks and food - it took the stress out of cooking dinner a couple of nights. We also liked the live music the restaurant had a few of the nights - it made hanging out by the pool and watching the sunset extra special! The pool areas were fun with a good amount of kids for my kids to play with. The beach that is right outside of the unit is a decent beach too! Our first day my husband and kids went snorkeling and saw a turtle and rode some waves. We also collected shells and took a few good walks on the beach and beach path. The unit itself was very nice and well furnished. The best part about the unit is the view - it’s gorgeous and there is nothing better than starting your day with that view! You do get some foot traffic from being a ground floor unit and there’s a beach walking bath right there, but that is to be expected from a ground floor unit. The one easy fix that would be nice to do is connect the sectional pieces together so you can sit on the couch without it sliding all apart-it was impossible to keep the couch together - <br/><br/>We will for sure be back! Thank you for an awesome vacation!<br/><br/>
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Friday, July 30, 2021
We appreciate this feedback! Thanks for being such a great guest. We are glad all was accommodating and the place was exactly what you needed for a beautiful Hawaii vacation! We are also glad that your Home Host was helpful to you! We look forward to hosting you again! Mahalo from the Hawaii Life Vacations Team!
- elizabeth h.
Reviewed On: 7/30/2021
Perfect Family Vacation Spot
This Condo has all you will need for your time at the resort. Perfect for watching sunsets from the back patio. We love every minute of our 7 day stay.
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Tuesday, July 20, 2021
We are glad all was enjoyable and relaxing for you. We appreciate this feedback. We look forward to hosting you again! Mahalo from the Hawaii Life Vacations Team!
- Gabriel R.
Reviewed On: 7/18/2021
We had a bit of a tough time getting in but the property manager was very accommodating and went the extra mile to get us into the unit. Once in the unit it was AMAZING! Gorgeous views, easy access in and out to the beach, pool, you name it! Parking was very simple as well, as you can park right next to the unit. We will look to stay in this very unit each time we head back to Maui.
Reviewed On: 2/18/2021
New Years family vacation
Very much enjoyed our 8 nights in Unit 161. This was our first time staying in a condo, usually stay at large hotel resorts and have to book two rooms. It was a nice change with plenty of space for our family of six. We were concerned about the pullout sofa bed but it was a foam mattress and had no complaints from our kids who usually fight over the beds. The condo could use some updating but still nice. The view definitely made up for it! We loved morning coffee on the lanai, whale watching, and the sunsets were amazing. There was something special about being on the ground level. Also, being so close to water meant hearing the waves crashing at night -better than a sound machine. The kids enjoyed the pools and lawn games. We stayed in late Dec and tide was high so very little beach in front. Not a big deal though as we drove to different local beaches for snorkeling, surfing, boogie boarding and cliff jumping. Someone complained about the parking lot being close but we thought that was a big plus as we ventured out a lot. There were some extras in the closet including games, sand toys and chairs which came in handy. Had a wonderful week and hope to be back!
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Thursday, February 15, 2018
Aloha! Thank you so much for the excellent review and recommendation! We are so happy to hear you and your family had a wonderful stay! It sounds like you were able to make use of a lot of the amenities associated with this home, including the games, beach gear, and the pool etc. Being able to see the whales, viewing lovely sunsets, and hearing the waves crash at night are all such special experiences we are so glad you were able to enjoy. It sounds like you were able to explore a lot while also enjoying the nearby attractions and we hope you were able to make some lasting family memories together! Mahalo for being such wonderful guests and we look forward to seeing you and your family again on your next trip!
Reviewed On: 1/21/2018
This unit was not what we expected based on the reviews, photos and price. Upon walking in there was a significant rotten and musty smell throughout the whole condo. Window ac in master drips onto the floor. Overall condo is out of date and most furnishing need updating.
Reviewed On: 9/7/2017
Maui ground fl condo view of bushes old beds baths - nice kitchen
The condo was roomy, but the balcony was 5 ft away from the sandy sidewalk between hotels, with very little privacy it was difficult not to feel obligated to say hello to everyone walking by. the balcony is so close to bushes, birds, bugs; more like camping. The pictures don't convey this confined space between the patio and the bushes very well. The electrical appliances were modern, the kitchen was nice, but it ends there. The bathrooms need updating, the hair dryer didn't work and the beds similar to 2-star hotels. the location was too close to parking lot, which was not disclosed. We could hear people arriving at night. General location was not great for sight-seeing the major sites, it was too far north. The newer hotels and resorts on the South beaches would be better and worth the extra money. Cleanliness was below average based on my experience at average resorts especially the hot tubs/pool areas, due to overcrowding. I wouldn't stay here again even though the price was reasonable compared to other newer somewhat over-priced resorts. Maui is over-populated by tourists, and needs better garbage and sewage infrastructure; it smells like sewage on the highways on the western coast. <br/>We walked across two parking lots to get to the boardwalk on the beach, several nice restaurants are there. The owner responded quickly with a new coffee pot, first coffee maker quit working on the first full day; however he did not responded when the blow dryer would not work, and he did not respond to repeated requests for my refundable damage deposit. 10 days and still waiting.
Reviewed On: 1/1/2018
10 day getaway
If you like the ground floor this property is perfect. View is just like the picture of the lenai. Great for whale watching and sunsets. Room #161
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Monday, March 5, 2018
Aloha! Thank you for your excellent review and recommendation! We are so glad to hear you were able to experience some whale watching and sunsets from your lanai view, even from the ground floor! We hope you had everything you needed for a wonderful 10 day getaway. Mahalo for being such pleasant guests and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
- Lori C.
Reviewed On: 2/7/2018
Great Family Getaway
Unit had everything we needed for a relaxing week in Maui.
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Aloha! Thank you so much for your review and recommendation. We are very glad to hear you and your family had everything you needed for a great getaway in Maui. We appreciate you being such pleasant guests and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Reviewed On: 4/16/2018
Fantastic - Beautiful
When we first saw this rental online, we were very excited. Upon our arrival, it was spectacular with refreshing scenery and friendly neighbors. The unit was very close to the ocean and in this case, you get exactly what you see in the pictures! A+++
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Thursday, February 8, 2018
Aloha! We are so glad to hear everything lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed the surrounding scenic views. We hope you were able to have some relaxing beach days while also exploring some of what the area has to offer! Mahalo for the great review and recommendation! We appreciate you being such pleasant guests and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
- Mark B.
Reviewed On: 12/15/2017
This was a great place to stay. The condo was right on the beach and very convenient for everything.
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Tuesday, August 14, 2018
I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay! We greatly appreciate your review as well.
- Brian J.
Reviewed On: 7/27/2018
Perfect condo for our large family. Being on the ground floor with access from our patio to the pool or ocean was a HUGE plus ++++ Easy check in check out process, condo was clean and had plenty of supplies. A few maintenance issues that could use some cleaning up but otherwise a very enjoyable stay. Would definitely return :)
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Saturday, August 18, 2018
I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay! We look forward to your return stay.
We greatly appreciate your review as well.
- Jenny K.
Reviewed On: 8/17/2018
Great vacation stay!
We felt this location was wonderful. The home was clean upon arrival. One thing helpful would be a book to reference, such as remotes for lights and fans, where to dump garbage and a reference of numbers to call Incase of problems. <br/>Management staff could follow up better. We had a few things that came up, my husband had to re contact a second time in each incident. It was taken care of on second call. <br/>
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Wednesday, April 24, 2019
I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay and found the condo to be clean and in a good location! I will mention your suggestion to our Island Host of this property for convenience to our future guests.
We greatly appreciate your review as well.
Reviewed On: 4/24/2019
We enjoyed our 8-day stay at Kaanapali Shores - the location was amazing, and we could step right out onto the beach from our Lanai, and watch the whales frolic off in the distance. The unit was clean and in good condition with the expected amenities. We enjoyed our time there very much - thank you!
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Thursday, March 7, 2019
I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful and amazing stay!
We greatly appreciate your review as well.
- DANNI T.
Reviewed On: 3/1/2019
Family trip to Ka’anapali Shores Maui 2.2019
This unit has it all. Right on the waterfront with beautiful ocean views. You can sit and watch the whales breaching and the sunsets are gorgeous. The unit was clean, had all the emenities for cooking, cleaning, and had beach accessories for use like chairs, boogie boards, beach towels and a beach umbrella. We left a cooler, some beach toys, and some spices, cups, paper towels etc. the unit itself is clean and very spacious. You cannot beat the ground floor as you walk around the corner to the pools for very easy access. Two big pools and chairs everywhere. The dood is good and you can rent anything you need for the beach. <br/><br/>By the way, there is no beach in front of the room, it washes away in the winter and comes back in the summer so we were told. Also, they do yoga right next to the room at 7:00am so be aware of people talking at that time in the morning.<br/><br/>Awesome place to stay and hang out. Grocery store close, Lahiana is 10 minutes away. I recommend staying here. We had 2 adults and 2 adult kids.
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Thursday, February 21, 2019
I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay! I don't believe the Yoga is a year round event sorry if they bothered you.
We greatly appreciate your review as well.
- Thomas L.
Reviewed On: 2/21/2019
saw whales breaching every day, some pretty close and a mom slapping her tail and then the baby jumping, so awesome!
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Thursday, March 21, 2019
I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay! It is awesome to watch the whales glad you got that opportunity.
We greatly appreciate your review as well.
- connie f.
Reviewed On: 3/18/2019
Close to it All!
We loved our stay at Kaanapali Shores! This unit is right on the beach, but close to the pool. We loved being able to wake up and have our coffee on the patio and see the ocean and also have the best sunset view on the patio!
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Monday, June 10, 2019
We are so happy you had a wonderful stay ! We greatly appreciate your review as well.
- Susan T.
Reviewed On: 6/9/2019
We loved the location of the condo, however, it is in great need of an overhaul. The beds, linens, the carpet, and the couch all are in poor condition. Also, there is no beach. We had to drive to a beach if we wanted to go in the ocean. The complex was great- friendly staff, good food, and close to a lot of activities.
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Monday, July 8, 2019
We thank you for your comments and will bring them to the house manager.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay on Maui and found the location to be convenient .
Reviewed On: 7/5/2019
Very nice ocean front condo
Pros: The condo was very nice, with a fantastic sunset Maui view. The king bed was comfortable, as were the livingroom sofas. The kitchen was nicely stocked with cookware. The big pool is very nice, although there are often a lot of children there. It was great to have a washer/dryer during our weeklong stay. <br/>Cons: The beds in the second bedroom were very firm. There is not a big stretch of beach right out front, but nearby. We had some trouble with drains clogging in the kitchen and master shower. The bathroom rug in the master needs to be replaced, as it has stains. There are also small stains on the carpet in the master. The hairdryer on the wall is broken, and has a sticker on it that says broken. It wasn't until our 4th day that I found a separate hairdryer in one of the bathroom drawers.
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Tuesday, May 21, 2019
We are so happy you had a wonderful stay on the island! Thank you for letting us know about the issues we will get that looked at and repaired or replaced.
We greatly appreciate your review as well.
Reviewed On: 5/17/2019
THE place to stay in Kaanapali!
Awesome rental, clean, offered many beach toys/chairs, PRIME location, simply amazing, and perfect for my family of 4! Only negative- we were told we had a free concierge to help us out with anything, called twice and left messages but never heard back. Not a big deal, we resolved our question through google, Yelp, and TripAdvisor, but it would've been nice to have a local's opinion. Didn't alter our trip at all though. Overall - we will definitely be staying in #161 again!!
Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers; Sunday, July 28, 2019
We are happy you had a great stay.
You can always reach our concierge by email that is provided to all of guests we greatly apologize you didn't get a call back.
- Renda M.
Reviewed On: 7/27/2019