Featuring Floor-to-Ceiling Views of

- ID 228992 - 4 beds (1 king, 2 queen and 1 other). Base rent is for 8 occupants.
max 8 guests      2 bedrooms      2 bathrooms
  • Kitchen Attributes
    • Full Kitchen
    • Refrigerator
    • Coffee Maker
    • Ice Maker
    • Microwave
    • Toaster
    • Cookware
    • Blender
    • Cooking Utensils
    • Pots / Pans
    • Dishwasher
    • Glassware
    • Silverware
  • Living Attributes
    • Central Air
    • Air Conditioning
    • Ceiling Fans
    • Linens
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Ironing Board
    • High Speed Internet
    • Iron
    • Hair Dryer
    • Cable
  • Business Attributes
    • Nearby ATM
    • Nearby Post Office
    • Nearby Internet Cafe
    • Nearby FedEx
    • Nearby Bank
  • Convenience Attributes
    • Area FitnessCenter
    • Nearby Medical Services
    • Nearby Grocery
    • Movie Theatres
    • Golf Course
  • Culture Attributes
    • Museums
    • Library
  • Outdoor Attributes
    • Balcony
    • BBQ Grill
    • Hot Tub
    • Shared Pool
    • Tennis
    • Beach
  • Geographic Attributes
    • Near Beach
    • Close to Town
    • Near Public Transportation
    • Near Lake
  • Entertainment Attributes
    • Cable TV
    • Wireless Internet
  • Children's amenities Attributes
    • Pack N Play

Loading...

Terms

The Property Manager (hereafter referred to as "we", "us", or "our") provides rental management services on behalf of homeowners ("Owners") who rent their properties (including the associated fixtures and furnishings)(the “Home”) to guests (the "Guest" or "you") seeking accommodations on a short term or long term basis (collectively, the “Services”). We are the Owner's property manager and authorized agent, who will perform the Services related to your reservation. By using the Home and Services, you agree to comply with and be legally bound by the terms and conditions of this guest agreement (the "Agreement"). This Agreement only applies to short term rentals and not long term rentals, which will be governed by the specific terms of your lease agreement with us.

1. Policies: Please treat our Owner's Home with the care you would at your own home and abide by following policies:

*Behave as you would in any home in which you live, with respect for property and neighbors.
*Unless otherwise stated in the Home listing, you must be over the age of 25.
*You will be an occupant of the unit during the entire reserved period and other occupants of the Home during your stay will be family members, friends, responsible adults or children under direct adult supervision.
*Do not exceed the maximum occupancy of the Home.
*No parties, noise that can be heard beyond the home lot line or in adjacent units, or any illegal activity may occur at the Home.
*No pets are allowed unless otherwise noted for specific properties and where you have paid a pet fee in connection with your booking in advance of your reservation.
*No smoking is allowed in or around any Home.
*Check-in time is 3pm and check-out time is 10am - we will notify you via email in advance if early check-in or late check-out will be available.
*Please use common courtesy at the home by keeping it clean, reporting any problems or damages, washing dishes as used, taking garbage to the outside bins, leaving towels in the bathrooms and sheets in the bedrooms, and not re-arranging furniture.

2. Cleaning: Each home will be cleaned and inspected by third-party cleaning contractors after your departure. We ask you to help us enable the cleaning crews as much as possible. They will appreciate simple things like leaving the home tidy, running the dishwasher, starting to wash the towels, and taking out the trash.

3. Swimming Pools, Hot Tubs, or Beach: If the home that you have reserved includes a pool or hot tub, or is on a beach, these can all be obviously dangerous. Guests should observe and adhere to all rules and policies as posted at the home and supervise all children at all times. Lifeguards are not provided. Decks and patios can be slippery when wet and can result in injury to anyone who is not careful. Guest accept and assumes all risks involved in or related to the use of a pool, hot tub, beach and deck/patio areas.

4. Home Damage Waiver: Each guest will be offered an optional Damage Waiver that protects you against unintended damage done to the Property. This is not insurance, and the Damage Waiver does not apply to intentional damage done by the Guest or your guests, or excessive wear and tear due to parties, smoking, pets or otherwise, or additional cleaning charges due to stains or spills, or fines incurred by the police or HOA due to noise, excessive trash or parking, or damage over the purchased amounts of either $3,000 or $5,000. If Tenant does not wish to purchase this Damage Waiver, a security deposit of $3,000, $5,000, or greater depending on Property will be required at the time of booking. If a Home requires an additional security deposit, we will explain this to you before confirming a reservation. Guest acknowledges that any damage or fines not covered by the Damage Waiver or above the amount of any security deposit can be charged to Guest (and Guest’s card on file). The Damage Waiver can be purchased up to the day prior to your reservation but not after it has started. You do not have to purchase this Damage Waiver. Please contact the Property Manager directly at if you do not wish to purchase the Damage Waiver.

5. Excessive Wear and Tear, Noise and Occupancy: If excessive wear and tear is found for the Home, or additional cleaning is necessary due to spills, trash left on site, stains to furniture, carpeting, linens, paint, wallpaper, or flooring, Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest for additional fees. Tenant will be provided with a receipt for any additional fees incurred upon request or as required by local laws or regulations. If at any time the maximum number of the Home’s occupants is exceeded or if we receive information about excessive noise, the Property Manager has the right to evict Guest and all occupants immediately and to charge Guest a minimum service fee of $250 with no refund for the balance of the remaining reservation. If any sign of smoking is discovered Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. Unless the reservation for the Home specifically allows a pet, if any sign of a pet is discovered, then Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. The Property Manager will return any balance of a security deposit to Guest, less any charges or amounts owed by Guest, within fourteen (14) days after the end of the reservation or as otherwise required by local laws or regulations. Any charges owed by Guest may be charged by the Property Manager to Guest’s card on file in addition to seeking any relief provided by law.

6. Maintenance and Access: We have the right to enter the home at any time during guest stay and we will diligently attempt to address maintenance issues as they occur. This is an associated risk of renting a single family residence or condo. If a maintenance issue occurs that cannot be fixed in a reasonable amount of time, and significantly affects your stay; we reserve the right to refund at our discretion or offer to relocate you to another home.

7. Phone and Internet: Unless otherwise specified, all homes are equipped with a high-speed Wi-Fi connection where service is available and we will provide you with any required Wi-Fi passwords. We do not provide a land line phones for all homes and suggest that you please use your mobile phone or Wi-Fi enabled phone for calls.

8. Furnished Rental and Supplies: The Property Manager's properties are fully furnished properties that will include bedspreads, linens, blankets, pillows, towels, a fully equipped kitchen, TV, furnishings unless otherwise specified. A limited starter supply of paper products, bath and dish soap are provided, but will not be replaced if consumed during your stay so we recommend bringing additional personal items with you. Staples (salt, pepper, foils, wraps, etc) are generally stocked by the owner of the home, however the Property Manager cannot commit these supplies being present. Guest is responsible for replacing stocked items as they are consumed. If there is a special type of item you are accustomed to using please provide for those items by bringing them with you. Extra towels are always recommended for homes on the beach, or with a pool or hot tub.

9. Weather and Other Unforeseen Events: The Property Manager does not accept liability for any inconveniences arising from any temporary defects or stoppage in supply of water, gas, electricity or plumbing, damage caused by weather/road conditions, natural disasters, acts of God or other reasons beyond its control. No refunds will be given for any delays or cancellations due to such conditions. Travel Insurance is highly recommended for any stay.

10. Homeowners Association: The Property Manager cannot warrant the usability or condition of amenities provided through homeowner associations, including, but not limited to pools, hot tubs, club houses, tennis courts, golf facilities, and picnic & beach facilities.

11. Indemnity: Neither Owner nor the Property Manager assumes any liability for loss, theft, damage or injury to Guest, his/her guests or other occupants in the Home. The Guest, for himself/herself, his/her heirs, assignors, executors and administrators, fully releases and discharges Owner and the Property Manager from any and all claims, demands and causes of action by reason of any injury or whatever nature which has or have occurred, or may occur to the Guest, his/her guests or other occupants of the Home as a result of, or in connection with the occupancy of the Home and agrees to hold Owner and the Property Manager free and harmless of any claim or suit arising therefrom. In any action concerning the rights, duties or liabilities of the parties to this Agreement, or their principals, agents, successors or assignees the prevailing party shall be entitled to recover reasonable attorney fees and costs.

12. Sale Contingency: In the rare event the Home that that you have reserved is for sale, and/or is under a contract to sell, the Property Manager reserves the right to provide Guest with a comparable home at no additional cost to the Guest. Showings during occupancy are by appointment only at your prior approval.

13. Payment and Cancellations: We accept all major credit cards. For reservations made more than 30 days in advance, we only charge a deposit of 10% of the total reservation upon booking, with full payment due 30 days prior to check-in. For all reservations made within 30 days of check-in, we collect payment in full at the time of booking. All reservations which are made more than 10 days in advance are fully refundable if the guest cancels the reservation within 72 hours after the time of booking. After this cancellation period expires, all guest payments are non-refundable.

14. Other Terms and Conditions: Your booking is subject to the the Property Manager 's Terms, Privacy Policy and this Guest Agreement which can be found at /terms. Additionally, where specifically required by the terms of any applicable laws, regulations or Homeowner's Association rules (as determined by the Property Manager), then this Rental Agreement shall constitute a lease of the premises. If you would like to extend your reservation for additional dates, please call us for availability and pricing.

Payment Methods
Most major credit cards - Cash

Payment Balance
Balance and schedule of payments can be discussed the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Booking Cancellation Conditions
Cancellation policies can be discussed with the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Security or Damage Deposit
A refundable security/damage deposit will be required by the property manager.

Availability

Nightly rates shown do not include taxes, conditional rate adjustments or any applicable fees - request property or use rate calculator to obtain an accurate quote.

Nightly

2019

Rate Period Nightly
Jul 8 to Aug 3 Min Stay 7 nights 290 USD
Aug 4 to Aug 10 Min Stay 7 nights 239 USD
Aug 11 to Aug 29 Min Stay 3 nights 267 USD
Aug 30 to Sep 2 Min Stay 3 nights 377 USD
Sep 3 to Oct 26 Min Stay 2 nights 387 USD
Oct 27 to Nov 27 Min Stay 2 nights 278 USD
Nov 28 to Nov 30 Min Stay 2 nights 246 USD
Dec 1 to Dec 21 Min Stay 2 nights 161 USD
Dec 22 to Dec 26 Min Stay 3 nights 240 USD
Dec 27, 2019 to Jan 1, 2020 Min Stay 3 nights 240 USD

2020

Rate Period Nightly
Jan 2 to Mar 5 Min Stay 2 nights 183 USD
Mar 6 to Apr 5 Min Stay 4 nights 426 USD
Apr 6 to Apr 26 Min Stay 2 nights 359 USD
Apr 27 to May 21 Min Stay 2 nights 359 USD
May 22 to May 25 Min Stay 7 nights 495 USD
May 26 to Jul 1 Min Stay 7 nights 495 USD
Jul 2 to Jul 5 Min Stay 7 nights 617 USD
Jul 6 to Aug 2 Min Stay 7 nights 531 USD

Weekly

2019

Rate Period Weekly
Jul 8 to Aug 3 Min Stay 7 nights 2,027 USD
Aug 4 to Aug 10 Min Stay 7 nights 1,673 USD
Aug 11 to Aug 29 Min Stay 7 nights 1,814 USD
Aug 30 to Sep 2 Min Stay 7 nights 2,624 USD
Sep 3 to Oct 26 Min Stay 7 nights 2,296 USD
Oct 27 to Nov 27 Min Stay 7 nights 1,850 USD
Nov 28 to Nov 30 Min Stay 7 nights 1,623 USD
Dec 1 to Dec 21 Min Stay 7 nights 1,073 USD
Dec 22 to Dec 26 Min Stay 7 nights 1,666 USD
Dec 27, 2019 to Jan 1, 2020 Min Stay 7 nights 1,655 USD

2020

Rate Period Weekly
Jan 2 to Mar 5 Min Stay 7 nights 1,223 USD
Mar 6 to Apr 5 Min Stay 7 nights 2,975 USD
Apr 6 to Apr 26 Min Stay 7 nights 2,399 USD
Apr 27 to May 21 Min Stay 7 nights 2,399 USD
May 22 to May 25 Min Stay 7 nights 3,468 USD
May 26 to Jul 1 Min Stay 7 nights 3,468 USD
Jul 2 to Jul 5 Min Stay 7 nights 4,317 USD
Jul 6 to Aug 2 Min Stay 7 nights 3,719 USD

Long Term Stays

2019

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Aug 11 to Aug 29 Min Stay 30 nights 30 6,980 USD
Aug 30 to Sep 2 Min Stay 30 nights 30 10,106 USD
Sep 3 to Oct 26 Min Stay 30 nights 30 8,974 USD
Oct 27 to Nov 27 Min Stay 30 nights 30 3,989 USD
Nov 28 to Nov 30 Min Stay 30 nights 30 3,392 USD
Dec 1 to Dec 21 Min Stay 30 nights 30 3,392 USD
Dec 22 to Dec 26 Min Stay 30 nights 30 3,392 USD
Dec 27, 2019 to Jan 1, 2020 Min Stay 30 nights 30 3,392 USD

2020

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Jan 2 to Mar 5 Min Stay 30 nights 30 3,598 USD
Mar 6 to Apr 5 Min Stay 30 nights 30 11,574 USD
Apr 6 to Apr 26 Min Stay 30 nights 30 9,291 USD

All Owner Direct guest reviews posted are verified and confirmed individually by Owner Direct Vacation Rentals staff.

This property has no reviews yet.

Overall satisfaction (1 raters)
Property condition (1 raters)
Location (1 raters)
Cleanliness (1 raters)
Services from rental manager (1 raters)
Recommend to Others (1 raters)

The following review(s) were provided by the property manager.

Turnkey Vac Rental recent stay feedback We were surprised upon entering the unit it only appeared to be partially cleaned. The main bathroom didn't have a shower door. One was in the bedroom closet the other in the kitchen pantry. Overall appearance was dated and well used. No toiletries were in any bathroom. Turnkey was unresponsive to multiple calls & requests until late the following day.
Reviewed On: 6/18/2019
Very Nice Very nice condo. Instructions were very well payed out step by step how to check in. Communication was very good as any questions would be answered within minutes. 7 days a week. Definitely would go back.
Reviewed On: 6/2/2019
Nice location Recently spent Six nights in unit 434 at High Pointe. Bakery’s enjoy sting at this property as it is convenient to other properties in the area and has a great potol and beach. I was very pleased with Turnkey. Communication was thorough and left nothing to be surprised about. Unit is in need of refreshing. Many dated features in both kitchen and bathrooms. Unit was not very clean. Lots of dust in corners and behind commode of call bath. Nail clippings were found under the coffee table in living room. No soap in condo but Turnenkwy got some delivered by early afternoon on the day after arrival. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Monday, March 11, 2019 Hi Janice, Thank you so much for your review and helpful feedback! We’re so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will follow up with housekeeping in regards to the starter supplies not being left out for you and the overall cleanliness of the rental. We wish we had known of the dust and missed areas so that we could have addressed this when dropping off the soap. You were perfect guests, and we would love to host you again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 2/21/2019
Wonderful Getaway We had a great few days at High Pointe. Perfect condo for our family of 4. The resort is nice and there are plenty of restaurants and shopping in walking distance. The condo was clean and had everything we needed. Beach was gorgeous and we even had beach chair service in March. Would definitely stay again! Crabby Steve’s was good too.
Reviewed On: 3/24/2019
Great location and view We had a wonderful time at High Pointe. The property is great, and the restaurant is so convenient. The pool area is really nice! The ramps in addition to the stairs were great for my grandmother. The unit was very clean, but it could use new sheets for the beds. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, June 25, 2019 Hi Laura, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are really glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Always remember that our guest hotline is available 24/7 to assist during your stay. We appreciate you taking care of our place, and we hope to host you again! - The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 5/29/2019
Great Location! Super convenient location and fabulous pool. The condo was clean and the perfect spot to get away for a few days. Will definitely consider staying there again!
Reviewed On: 5/27/2019
Review for Poolside Rental with Beach Access in Seacreat It was fine. The late check-in and early check out made the nearly $500 per night rental charge a bit high, as we spent less than 48 hours in the rental. The unit was well decorated and clean. Had a wonderful view of the ocean. Could have had better towels for showering and the water pressure in the shower was not ideal. But you can't beat the location. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Friday, May 18, 2018 Hi Claire, Thank you for your review and helpful feedback! We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us assure you that our local Field Operations Team is checking on the bath towels and water pressure in the shower and will make sure any issues are resolved as needed. Next time you stay with us, remember our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up. We want to make sure you’re as comfortable as you can be during your stay. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 5/15/2018
Unhappy The pre-vacation email sent by Turnkey was less than thorough and I noticed the main gate code given expired 2 weeks before our vacation. The only information about parking was parked anywhere on the property. And it appeared no beach chairs were included. 2 days before we left for our Florida vacation I texted the phone number that was listed to text if you have any questions. I had to do this multiple times and an updated main gate code was never sent. It appeared the text service did not understand my request and repeatedly sent the unit door code. 2 hours prior to our arrival while we were on the road with two small children I called the 1-800 number to get an updated main gate code so we could get access to the property. I was told but no updated main gate code was on file however that the expired code should work. I had serious doubts about this but. Okay I will try it. We arrived at the property 1 hour prior to check in time. I attempted the code it did not work. Then a line of cars begin to form behind us and we had two small children crying. A maintenance man was at the gate when we told him the code we had he said that is not the correct code. I once again texted and called the 1-800 number and was told they did not have an updated code. We left the property and went and got lunch. We came back 15 minutes prior to our check-in time and still no code and the code that we received did not work. And maintenance man felt sorry for us as our children were melting down and gave us access. 10 minutes prior to our check-in time I went to our room to see if we could access it. Housekeeping was still preparing it so I went back and sat in our car until our actual check-in time. We went up to the room. We come to this area every year and although we paid more for this unit it was less updated and had fewer amenities than years past. We have never used this management company before. We still did not have a main gate code. 45 minutes after our check-in time I received Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, August 29, 2018 Hi Elizabeth, Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and can also understand your frustration that we were unable to address it in a timely matter. Please be assured that we have corrected our information and confirmed the gate codes for future guests are accurate. Here at TurnKey, your feedback is highly valued, and we try our best to make things right in any way we can so that our guests know that our priority is their ultimate satisfaction. Please know that measures have also been put in place to ensure guest issues are being responded to in a more timely manner moving forward. Thanks again for bringing these important issues to light, as it’s feedback like this that really makes a difference in how we move forward in offering the best service we possibly can to our guests and in keeping our properties in perfect shape. If there is anything else we can do for you, please reach out any time on our 24/7 guest hotline and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 7/2/2018
Fabulous Location for a Vacation This condo sits in a beautiful location on Seacrest Beach. The poolside condo includes a gorgeous view of The Gulf. The condo was clean and had everything we needed. The property management company was incredible. They kept us informed and up to date on everything we needed to know. We loved being within walking distance to restaurants and shops. We will definitely be coming back to this location
Reviewed On: 7/23/2018
Perfect location This condo is in the perfect location. Right next to Rosemary Beach with all its amenities (restaurants, shops, etc.) without the really high costs of Rosemary. The unit faces the fantastic lagoon pool and with a beautiful view of the ocean. It is a bit dated, some of it was a little updated, but a lot of it still looked like 80's condo. A few suggestions that are renter friendly: Rugs, they help with sandy feet and are easily vacuumed. Hooks for towels in the bathrooms. Not a single place to hang a towel or swimsuit in the entire unit. The over the door hooks that hang down are such a simple, yet very useful thing. The tv in the bedroom didn't work. You could turn it on, but the remotes didn't work (I even changed the batteries!) Tupperware, or plastic containers in the kitchen would also help with food storage since we cooked a lot. None of the previous are deal breakers, again, the location is the draw for this unit. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, May 22, 2018 Hello Holly, Thank you so much for your review and helpful feedback! We’re so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will follow-up to ensure the TV is working properly. Next time you stay with us, remember our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up. We want to make sure you’re as comfortable as you can be during your stay. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 5/21/2018
Fall Break Great location! Nice unit. No kitchen sponges or dishcloth. Needs updating but ,overall, nice.<br/>Note in washer/dryer area referred to free beach set-up and friends staying in same resort had set-ups included - I was told this one did not. Will rent unit with bikes/beach set-up included next time. If all included, I would consider this unit again. Kitchen counters old and hard to keep clean. Master bedroom nice, though and mattress very comfortable. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, October 23, 2018 Hi Valerie, Thank you so much for your review, and we’re happy to hear you had a great stay at our place! That being said, we apologize that we did not have the kitchen stocked with a sponge or dishcloth. We wish we had known during your stay so that we could have helped out -- our 24/7 guest hotline is always available if anything ever comes up while staying at one of our properties. Please know that our local team will be addressing this issue for future guest stays and we appreciate your feedback. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again!! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 10/10/2018
Great Location! The unit was nice with a beautiful view of the beach from the balcony and overlooking the pool ..... in a great location near Rosemary Beach. We will definitely go back! Loved it!
Reviewed On: 8/21/2018
Great location, Dirty Rental The positives of this rental were the location, High Pointe community pool and the beach. The unit itself was not clean, smelled like someone had been sick on the master bed and was misrepresented in the description by stating it was newly renovated. It took over 24 hours to have the master bed situation 'resolved' and we were denied the request to relocate to a different unit. Turnkey Mgmt was friendly when communicating with them, but they did not resolve our concerns to our satisfaction or in a timely enough manner. We would definitely never stay in this unit again nor recommend it to anyone. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, September 26, 2018 Hi Brooke, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are sorry to hear about the issues you encountered and for any inconvenience this caused as well. At TurnKey, it’s our highest priority to make sure our guests have the best experience possible, but if problems do arise, we try our very best to make things right in any way we can. It looks like we were able to send someone out to deliver new linens, and we are so glad you called our 24/7 guest hotline to let us know about it. We know it doesn’t change things, but thank you for accepting the compensation we were able to offer you. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out any time and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 8/30/2018
Great Stay Great property with excellent amenities. Enjoyed our stay and will book again.
Reviewed On: 10/5/2018
As advertised My wife and I flew down for a short weekend in March and needed a place to stay for two nights. We found this unit and we were very happy with it. The location, if you want the Rosemary Beach area, is terrific. The complex is nice, and the room was updated and comfortable. The view from the balcony was great. We weren't right on the beach, but you have a clear view of the ocean. This uniting on the top floor.<br/><br/>We would definitely book this room again. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Friday, March 25, 2016 Thanks George! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hearing from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 3/22/2016
Family Vacation We come to Seacrest every summer and decided to try High Point this year to be closer to the beach. The location was awesome! The condo was nice. The pictures make it seem like it is a lot more updated than it really is. The kitchen was not good for a family of four who likes to cook. The stove was extremely old and they didn't have enough basic supplies to cook with (pots, pans etc) The management company (Turn Key)was horrible. The condo didn't have cable until the last day of our trip. We had to call them every day and hound them to get it fixed. Their customer service was terrible. They also didn't know the gate code to get on the property and we had to wait over an hour to get the code. Very unprofessional. I would not recommend staying at one of their properties. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Friday, June 9, 2017 Hi Patrick, Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and can also understand your frustration that we were unable to address these issues in a timely manner during your stay. Please be assured that the cable has since been fixed, and the gate code information has been updated in our system as well. Here at TurnKey, your feedback is highly valued, and we try our best to make things right in any way we can so that our guests know that our priority is their ultimate satisfaction. Hopefully the compensation we offered for the inconvenience helped. Regarding the lack of pots and pans, please know that our local Field Operations Team will investigate further and determine whether there are any additional cooking supplies that need to be added. Thanks again for bringing these important issues to light, as it is feedback like this that really makes a difference in how we move forward in offering the best service we possibly can to our guests and in keeping our properties in perfect shape. If there is anything else we can do for you, please reach out anytime on our 24/7 guest hotline and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 5/31/2017
Overall Nice but... Overall we had a nice vacation. There were some bumps along the way. No cable!! Work was attempted while we resided in the rental. Pretty unprofessional. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Monday, June 5, 2017 Hi Martha, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback, and we are so sorry to hear if your experience staying with us was not as great as it should have been. Unfortunately, the cable provider for this home is performing area-wide upgrades to their service which results in temporary outages at times. Please be assured that cable has since been restored to the home and is working properly. It is nice to hear that your overall experience was a positive one, though. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 5/25/2017
Super location great unit, great views of pool and ocean. location is perfect
Reviewed On: 10/6/2017
Seactest holiday We had a wonderful holiday beachside. Amazing access to the beach, pools, and hot tub.
Reviewed On: 1/5/2018
Good Rental Place was clean. Kitchen and bathrooms aren't updated but location is awesome. If you're just looking for a base this place is great. Unit is a bit older and dated (floors in living area and bedrooms are nicely finised) but clean and comfortable. Thank you!
Reviewed On: 3/19/2018
We come to Seacrest every summer and decided to try High Point this year to be closer to the beach. The location was awesome! The condo was nice. The pictures make it seem like it is a lot more updated than it really is. The kitchen was not good for a family of four who likes to cook. The stove was extremely old and they didn't have enough basic supplies to cook with (pots, pans etc) The management company (Turn Key)was horrible. The condo didn't have cable until the last day of our trip. We had to call them every day and hound them to get it fixed. Their customer service was terrible. They also didn't know the gate code to get on the property and we had to wait over an hour to get the code. Very unprofessional. I would not recommend staying at one of their properties.
Reviewed On: 5/31/2017
Overall we had a nice vacation. There were some bumps along the way. No cable!! Work was attempted while we resided in the rental. Pretty unprofessional.
Reviewed On: 5/25/2017
My wife and I flew down for a short weekend in March and needed a place to stay for two nights. We found this unit and we were very happy with it. The location, if you want the Rosemary Beach area, is terrific. The complex is nice, and the room was updated and comfortable. The view from the balcony was great. We weren't right on the beach, but you have a clear view of the ocean. This uniting on the top floor.<br/><br/>We would definitely book this room again.
Reviewed On: 3/22/2016

Listing History

  • This property owner/manager has been registered with Owner Direct since Jun 29, 2016.
  • This owner / manager has completed 223 successful bookings in total for all their properties through Owner Direct.com
  • The availability for this property was last updated on Jul 17, 2019
  • The rates for this property were last updated on Jun 29, 2016
  • This owner's contact information has been verified by Owner Direct and past guests.

OwnerDirect.com - Superior Full Service

  • You're never alone with Owner Direct. Friendly service coast to coast available every day of the year.
  • You immediately know the price for your requested dates/occupants.
  • More photos (with descriptive captions) per property.
  • Extensive information is provided for every property, always in the same format, to save you time
  • We answer all of your questions quickly with our very comprehensive site and responsive customer service.
  • We offer a 24 hr grace period for both parties to communicate and confirm all details of a booking.

Web Directories - Our Competitors

  • A lot of your time is wasted filling out forms and waiting for replies from multiple vacation rental owners. Many busy owners never reply.
  • The price shown always changes, you have to calculate it yourself and often changes once you communicate with the owner.
  • Most owners do not take the time to provide complete information on listings, so you waste time having to ask questions and wait for responses.
  • In a nutshell, "Web Directories" are cumbersome and time consuming, and if you have a problem, you are on your own.
Panama City Beach Accommodations
Featuring floor-to-ceiling views of the community grounds and the Gulf of Mexico, this newly renovated 2BR, 2BA vacation rental is steps from a resort-style pool and spa…and beach access is just 100 yards away!. Featuring floor-to-ceiling views of the community grounds and the Gulf of Mexico, this newly renovated 2BR, 2BA vacation rental is steps from a resort-style pool and spa…and beach access is just 100 yards away.

Updated throughout with new flooring, decor, and the latest in tech and entertainment, this comfortable beach rental sleeps 8 in two bedrooms, plus a queen sleeper sofa.

A glass wall in the master bedroom overlooks the pool. Or step out to the private balcony and enjoy sea breezes year-round. With tennis, a children’s playground and plenty of eateries within easy walking distance, this is a property that makes it easy to kick back and relax.

INSIDE THE HOUSE

All new decor and top entertainment feature at this 2-bed, 2-bath rental. The home sleeps 8 with a king bed in the master suite, two queens in the second bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living area.

Both bedrooms have private access to their own bath, with double sinks and a walk-in stone shower in the master.

In the living room, enjoy a huge 55” Vizio TV, HD DVD player and iPod docking system. A queen sleeper sofa joins a love seat and armchair to accommodate 7 people comfortably.

The open plan design means the chef isn’t excluded, either - an L-shaped kitchen overlooks the dining and lounge to keep the group together. New drapes, artwork, and flooring add to the ambiance.

Outside, the balcony has a table and 4 chairs to sit and enjoy views over the Gulf of Mexico and the huge swimming pool below. Too comfortable inside The glass wall in the master suite shares the same view, so you can lie back, relax, and revel in the scenery.

OUR LOCATION

Set on Seacrest Beach, you’ll enjoy access to the fantastic pool, which features waterfalls, a spa and a wading pool. Private beach access is a mere 100 yards away along a boardwalk, and the High Pointe Resort also offers tennis and a children’s playground.

There’s plenty of places to eat within a few minutes’ walk, from casual dining at Crabby Steve’s on the beach to upscale-cantina Mexican fare at La Cocina.

A 10-minute walk takes you to Sea Contemporary Art Space for some culture before wandering back to the miles and miles of golden Florida beach.

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

We save your time and spare you the headaches!

We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Nearby and Recently Viewed Vacation Rentals

Pricing & Availability

to
Adults
Children (0-17)
Please select dates and occupants to view
Availability and Pricing
Mandatory
Taxes
Included
Excluded
First Payment, Charged Now
Second Payment, due by
Total Rent
(Damage/Security deposits not included)
Cancellation Policy
Total Rent
You wont be charged yet
🕔 24-Hour Confirmation

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day
We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!
Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden
Timeout From:
Timeout To:

Experience the difference, no waiting
 
Experience the difference, no waiting
Toll Free USA, Canada
1.888.869.6377
Toll Free UK
0.800.249.4265
Toll Free Australia
1.800.150.197
International Rentals
1.250.469.9543