max 8 guests      2 bedrooms      2 bathrooms
  • Suitability Attributes
    • children welcome
  • Kitchen Attributes
    • Full Kitchen
    • Refrigerator
    • Coffee Maker
    • Ice Maker
    • Microwave
    • Toaster
    • Cookware
    • Blender
    • Cooking Utensils
    • Pots / Pans
    • Dishwasher
    • Stove / Oven
    • Silverware
    • Tea Kettle
  • Living Attributes
    • Central Air
    • Ceiling Fans
    • Linens
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Ironing Board
    • High Speed Internet
    • Elevator
    • Iron
    • Hair Dryer
    • Cable
    • Heat
  • Business Attributes
    • Nearby ATM
    • Nearby Post Office
    • Nearby Internet Cafe
    • Nearby FedEx
    • Nearby Bank
  • Convenience Attributes
    • Nearby Medical Services
    • Nearby Grocery
    • Movie Theatres
    • Golf Course
  • Culture Attributes
    • Museums
    • Library
  • Outdoor Attributes
    • Balcony
    • Hot Tub
    • Shared Pool
  • Geographic Attributes
    • On Beach
    • Near Beach
    • Close to Town
  • Entertainment Attributes
    • Cable TV
    • DVD Player
    • Wireless Internet

Loading...

Terms

The Property Manager (hereafter referred to as "we", "us", or "our") provides rental management services on behalf of homeowners ("Owners") who rent their properties (including the associated fixtures and furnishings)(the “Home”) to guests (the "Guest" or "you") seeking accommodations on a short term or long term basis (collectively, the “Services”). We are the Owner's property manager and authorized agent, who will perform the Services related to your reservation. By using the Home and Services, you agree to comply with and be legally bound by the terms and conditions of this guest agreement (the "Agreement"). This Agreement only applies to short term rentals and not long term rentals, which will be governed by the specific terms of your lease agreement with us.

1. Policies: Please treat our Owner's Home with the care you would at your own home and abide by following policies:

*Behave as you would in any home in which you live, with respect for property and neighbors.
*Unless otherwise stated in the Home listing, you must be over the age of 25.
*You will be an occupant of the unit during the entire reserved period and other occupants of the Home during your stay will be family members, friends, responsible adults or children under direct adult supervision.
*Do not exceed the maximum occupancy of the Home.
*No parties, noise that can be heard beyond the home lot line or in adjacent units, or any illegal activity may occur at the Home.
*No pets are allowed unless otherwise noted for specific properties and where you have paid a pet fee in connection with your booking in advance of your reservation.
*No smoking is allowed in or around any Home.
*Check-in time is 3pm and check-out time is 10am - we will notify you via email in advance if early check-in or late check-out will be available.
*Please use common courtesy at the home by keeping it clean, reporting any problems or damages, washing dishes as used, taking garbage to the outside bins, leaving towels in the bathrooms and sheets in the bedrooms, and not re-arranging furniture.

2. Cleaning: Each home will be cleaned and inspected by third-party cleaning contractors after your departure. We ask you to help us enable the cleaning crews as much as possible. They will appreciate simple things like leaving the home tidy, running the dishwasher, starting to wash the towels, and taking out the trash.

3. Swimming Pools, Hot Tubs, or Beach: If the home that you have reserved includes a pool or hot tub, or is on a beach, these can all be obviously dangerous. Guests should observe and adhere to all rules and policies as posted at the home and supervise all children at all times. Lifeguards are not provided. Decks and patios can be slippery when wet and can result in injury to anyone who is not careful. Guest accept and assumes all risks involved in or related to the use of a pool, hot tub, beach and deck/patio areas.

4. Home Damage Waiver: Each guest will be offered an optional Damage Waiver that protects you against unintended damage done to the Property. This is not insurance, and the Damage Waiver does not apply to intentional damage done by the Guest or your guests, or excessive wear and tear due to parties, smoking, pets or otherwise, or additional cleaning charges due to stains or spills, or fines incurred by the police or HOA due to noise, excessive trash or parking, or damage over the purchased amounts of either $3,000 or $5,000. If Tenant does not wish to purchase this Damage Waiver, a security deposit of $3,000, $5,000, or greater depending on Property will be required at the time of booking. If a Home requires an additional security deposit, we will explain this to you before confirming a reservation. Guest acknowledges that any damage or fines not covered by the Damage Waiver or above the amount of any security deposit can be charged to Guest (and Guest’s card on file). The Damage Waiver can be purchased up to the day prior to your reservation but not after it has started. You do not have to purchase this Damage Waiver. Please contact the Property Manager directly at if you do not wish to purchase the Damage Waiver.

5. Excessive Wear and Tear, Noise and Occupancy: If excessive wear and tear is found for the Home, or additional cleaning is necessary due to spills, trash left on site, stains to furniture, carpeting, linens, paint, wallpaper, or flooring, Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest for additional fees. Tenant will be provided with a receipt for any additional fees incurred upon request or as required by local laws or regulations. If at any time the maximum number of the Home’s occupants is exceeded or if we receive information about excessive noise, the Property Manager has the right to evict Guest and all occupants immediately and to charge Guest a minimum service fee of $250 with no refund for the balance of the remaining reservation. If any sign of smoking is discovered Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. Unless the reservation for the Home specifically allows a pet, if any sign of a pet is discovered, then Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. The Property Manager will return any balance of a security deposit to Guest, less any charges or amounts owed by Guest, within fourteen (14) days after the end of the reservation or as otherwise required by local laws or regulations. Any charges owed by Guest may be charged by the Property Manager to Guest’s card on file in addition to seeking any relief provided by law.

6. Maintenance and Access: We have the right to enter the home at any time during guest stay and we will diligently attempt to address maintenance issues as they occur. This is an associated risk of renting a single family residence or condo. If a maintenance issue occurs that cannot be fixed in a reasonable amount of time, and significantly affects your stay; we reserve the right to refund at our discretion or offer to relocate you to another home.

7. Phone and Internet: Unless otherwise specified, all homes are equipped with a high-speed Wi-Fi connection where service is available and we will provide you with any required Wi-Fi passwords. We do not provide a land line phones for all homes and suggest that you please use your mobile phone or Wi-Fi enabled phone for calls.

8. Furnished Rental and Supplies: The Property Manager's properties are fully furnished properties that will include bedspreads, linens, blankets, pillows, towels, a fully equipped kitchen, TV, furnishings unless otherwise specified. A limited starter supply of paper products, bath and dish soap are provided, but will not be replaced if consumed during your stay so we recommend bringing additional personal items with you. Staples (salt, pepper, foils, wraps, etc) are generally stocked by the owner of the home, however the Property Manager cannot commit these supplies being present. Guest is responsible for replacing stocked items as they are consumed. If there is a special type of item you are accustomed to using please provide for those items by bringing them with you. Extra towels are always recommended for homes on the beach, or with a pool or hot tub.

9. Weather and Other Unforeseen Events: The Property Manager does not accept liability for any inconveniences arising from any temporary defects or stoppage in supply of water, gas, electricity or plumbing, damage caused by weather/road conditions, natural disasters, acts of God or other reasons beyond its control. No refunds will be given for any delays or cancellations due to such conditions. Travel Insurance is highly recommended for any stay.

10. Homeowners Association: The Property Manager cannot warrant the usability or condition of amenities provided through homeowner associations, including, but not limited to pools, hot tubs, club houses, tennis courts, golf facilities, and picnic & beach facilities.

11. Indemnity: Neither Owner nor the Property Manager assumes any liability for loss, theft, damage or injury to Guest, his/her guests or other occupants in the Home. The Guest, for himself/herself, his/her heirs, assignors, executors and administrators, fully releases and discharges Owner and the Property Manager from any and all claims, demands and causes of action by reason of any injury or whatever nature which has or have occurred, or may occur to the Guest, his/her guests or other occupants of the Home as a result of, or in connection with the occupancy of the Home and agrees to hold Owner and the Property Manager free and harmless of any claim or suit arising therefrom. In any action concerning the rights, duties or liabilities of the parties to this Agreement, or their principals, agents, successors or assignees the prevailing party shall be entitled to recover reasonable attorney fees and costs.

12. Sale Contingency: In the rare event the Home that that you have reserved is for sale, and/or is under a contract to sell, the Property Manager reserves the right to provide Guest with a comparable home at no additional cost to the Guest. Showings during occupancy are by appointment only at your prior approval.

13. Payment and Cancellations: We accept all major credit cards. For reservations made more than 30 days in advance, we only charge a deposit of 10% of the total reservation upon booking, with full payment due 30 days prior to check-in. For all reservations made within 30 days of check-in, we collect payment in full at the time of booking. All reservations which are made more than 10 days in advance are fully refundable if the guest cancels the reservation within 72 hours after the time of booking. After this cancellation period expires, all guest payments are non-refundable.

14. Other Terms and Conditions: Your booking is subject to the the Property Manager 's Terms, Privacy Policy and this Guest Agreement which can be found at /terms. Additionally, where specifically required by the terms of any applicable laws, regulations or Homeowner's Association rules (as determined by the Property Manager), then this Rental Agreement shall constitute a lease of the premises. If you would like to extend your reservation for additional dates, please call us for availability and pricing.

Payment Methods
Most major credit cards - Cash

Payment Balance
Balance and schedule of payments can be discussed the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Booking Cancellation Conditions
Cancellation policies can be discussed with the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Security or Damage Deposit
A refundable security/damage deposit will be required by the property manager.

Availability

Nightly rates shown do not include taxes, conditional rate adjustments or any applicable fees - request property or use rate calculator to obtain an accurate quote.

Nightly

2020

Rate Period Nightly
Jan 2 to Mar 5 Min Stay 2 nights 70 - 96 USD
Mar 6 to Apr 12 Min Stay 3 nights 108 - 232 USD
Apr 13 to Apr 26 Min Stay 3 nights 178 - 200 USD
Apr 27 to May 21 Min Stay 2 nights 193 - 225 USD
May 22 to May 25 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 308 - 311 USD
May 26 to Jul 1 Min Stay 3 nights 270 - 299 USD
Jul 2 to Jul 5 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun) 351 - 357 USD
Jul 6 to Aug 2 Min Stay 3 nights 282 - 305 USD
Aug 3 to Aug 16 Min Stay 3 nights 259 - 282 USD
Aug 17 to Sep 3 Min Stay 2 nights 205 - 240 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 7 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 253 - 259 USD
Sep 8 to Oct 24 Min Stay 2 nights 194 - 228 USD
Oct 25 to Nov 24 Min Stay 2 nights 183 - 217 USD
Nov 25 to Nov 28 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 220 - 224 USD
Nov 29 to Dec 20 Min Stay 2 nights 171 - 211 USD
Dec 21 to Dec 26 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 229 - 230 USD
Dec 27, 2020 to Jan 1, 2021 Min Stay 2 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sun) 243 - 245 USD

2021

Rate Period Nightly
Jan 2 to Mar 5 Min Stay 2 nights 171 - 205 USD

Weekly

2020

Rate Period Weekly
Jan 2 to Mar 5 Min Stay 7 nights 514 - 620 USD
Mar 6 to Apr 12 Min Stay 7 nights 750 - 1,532 USD
Apr 13 to Apr 26 Min Stay 7 nights 1,307 - 1,307 USD
Apr 27 to May 21 Min Stay 7 nights 1,382 - 1,382 USD
May 22 to May 25 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 2,148 - 2,152 USD
May 26 to Jul 1 Min Stay 7 nights 1,956 - 1,993 USD
Jul 2 to Jul 5 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun) 2,444 - 2,464 USD
Jul 6 to Aug 2 Min Stay 7 nights 2,036 USD
Aug 3 to Aug 16 Min Stay 7 nights 1,875 USD
Aug 17 to Sep 3 Min Stay 7 nights 1,475 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 7 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 1,763 - 1,781 USD
Sep 8 to Oct 24 Min Stay 7 nights 1,394 USD
Oct 25 to Nov 24 Min Stay 7 nights 1,314 USD
Nov 25 to Nov 28 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 1,527 - 1,544 USD
Nov 29 to Dec 20 Min Stay 7 nights 1,234 - 1,259 USD
Dec 21 to Dec 26 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 1,598 - 1,606 USD
Dec 27, 2020 to Jan 1, 2021 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sun) 1,624 - 1,673 USD

2021

Rate Period Weekly
Jan 2 to Mar 5 Min Stay 7 nights 1,234 - 1,259 USD

Long Term Stays

2020

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Jan 2 to Mar 5 Min Stay 30 nights 30 1,907 - 2,708 USD
Mar 6 to Apr 12 Min Stay 30 nights 30 5,576 - 6,219 USD
Apr 13 to Apr 26 Min Stay 30 nights 30 5,234 - 5,364 USD
Apr 27 to May 21 Min Stay 30 nights 30 5,670 - 5,751 USD
May 22 to May 25 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 8,717 - 8,728 USD
May 26 to Jul 1 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,907 - 7,973 USD
Jul 2 to Jul 5 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 9,803 - 9,821 USD
Jul 6 to Aug 2 Min Stay 30 nights 30 8,227 - 8,292 USD
Aug 3 to Aug 16 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,460 - 7,601 USD
Aug 17 to Sep 3 Min Stay 30 nights 30 5,828 - 5,944 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 7 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 7,153 - 7,172 USD
Sep 8 to Oct 24 Min Stay 30 nights 30 5,587 - 5,653 USD
Oct 25 to Nov 24 Min Stay 30 nights 30 5,255 - 5,309 USD
Nov 25 to Nov 28 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 30 6,219 - 6,220 USD
Nov 29 to Dec 20 Min Stay 30 nights 30 4,967 - 5,067 USD
Dec 21 to Dec 26 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 30 6,223 - 6,243 USD
Dec 27, 2020 to Jan 1, 2021 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sun) 30 6,493 - 6,518 USD

2021

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Jan 2 to Mar 5 Min Stay 30 nights 30 4,924 - 4,990 USD

Verified vacation home reviews by real guests

All Owner Direct guest reviews posted are verified and confirmed individually by Owner Direct Vacation Rentals staff.

This property has no Owner Direct reviews yet.

Overall satisfaction (28 raters)
Property condition (28 raters)
Location (28 raters)
Cleanliness (28 raters)
Services from rental manager (27 raters)

The following review(s) were provided by the property manager.

Wife's Birthday Getaway The condo was clean, cozy, and perfect for the quick little getaway for my wife. She loves the beach and the view from 1704 was excellent. I think I scored BIG with this one! Thanks VRBO!
- William T.
Reviewed On: 1/15/2020
The start of a new family tradition! Went down to PCB for the Thanksgiving Holiday and to see some family. The condo we rented from Turnkey along with the entire experience was, well, perfect! So very easy to find and access from all the details provided beforehand. The condo itself was on the 17th fl and was breathtaking. It was exceptionally clean, furnished beautifully, everything we could possibly need and more. We truly had a wonderful trip and all decided- this is absolutely going to be a family Thanksgiving tradition from now on !!
Reviewed On: 12/1/2019
Very impressed The condo had everything we needed and more! There was an issue with the condo we originally booked and Turnkey was VERY attentive in finding us this new, better one! We will absolutely try to book here again. The beach was extremely clean and the water was sooooo clear. You have to rent the beach chairs and they're like $50 a day for a set of two - that was literally the only downfall of our entire stay. We walked 7 minutes to walmart and got 2 chairs for $17 so that was fixable. Lol
- Julia J.
Reviewed On: 9/12/2019
Clean, comfortable and spacious We found the condo in good condition, cleaned and spacious with most everything we needed for an excellent stay. A little higher up than we prefer, but wonderful, overall.
- Heath C.
Reviewed On: 10/2/2019
Worst Customer Service I couldn’t check in with the code provided. It took customer service another 45 min to get me a code that worked. The fridge would not work properly. I had to call everyday about it. It never got fixed. We lost $200 worth of groceries. The local rep for Turnkey was an *******!!! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, October 30, 2019 Hi Mike, Thank you for providing us this feedback. We sincerely apologize for the maintenance issues you experienced. Since your stay, our local team has confirmed the refrigerator is repaired and working properly. We know it doesn’t change things, but thank you for accepting the compensation we were able to offer you. We really appreciate your patience, and if there is anything else we can do to assist you, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our 24/7 guest hotline and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
- Mike H.
Reviewed On: 10/22/2019
Twin Palms Very nice condo. Our only issue is that we could not get the code to get into the hot tub, sauna, or restroom until our third day there. We had to go up to our room on the 17th floor if we were at the pool and needed to take a potty break. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Thursday, October 3, 2019 Hi Natalie, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our home. Thank you for calling our guest hotline to let us know of your needs and know that we are sorry this took so long to get to you. To prevent this issue in the future we have added this information to the guest access instructions located on the tablet and that are emailed out prior to your arrival. You were the perfect guests and we look forward to hearing from you again. – The TurnKey VR Team
- Beth G.
Reviewed On: 10/1/2019
Nice 4 day getaway The condo was decent just like the pictures shown. The room we stayed in the sliding doors for the balcony(1704) didn’t work. They had someone come out but it didn’t help any. The dishes were almost all cleaned, I did find a couple of cups far from being washed, but thats reasonable. The pool is great and super long so it doesn’t feel crowded. There is a spa room where the sauna doesn’t work but the steam room and hot tub still worked fine. Other than a few measley things, the stay was good.
- Mark J.
Reviewed On: 9/19/2018
Another great spring break! This is the 2nd spring break in a row we have booked this condo and I am sure it will not be the last! We love everything about it from the amazing view to the wonderful atmosphere. The condo is nice and clean and the kitchen has everything you need to cook up a good meal! The location is great. You can walk down the beach to Pineapple Willy's in just minutes. We did have an issue with the door code when we arrived but Turnkey was quick to resolve our issue. The hot water didnt last long enough for several people to shower so some of us had cold showers so I would definitely recommend checking into that water heater.Other than that everything was great! We will definitely miss waking up to that beautiful view every morning but I'm sure we will book again next year! Thank you to the owners for allowing us to stay in your beautiful place for the week! :) Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, April 9, 2019 Hi Sarah, thank you for the compliments, and we love hearing how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We absolutely love hearing that this was your second time staying with us and won't be your last! Thank you for the feedback in regards to water heater. We have alerted our team on this to take a further look. You were the perfect guests, and we appreciate you taking care of our place as if it were your own. We can not wait for next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Sarah K.
Reviewed On: 4/8/2019
Great location, very clean, would highly recommend Overall, we had a great stay at this property. Very clean, great location and view, and had all the amenities we needed. The company was very helpful in resolving the small issue we had with the door code, so I would highly recommend staying here. Very close to bars and the Walmart nearby, as well as within walking distance of multiple restaurants. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Monday, April 1, 2019 Hi Sam, Thank you so much for the review and kind words about our property! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We’re sorry for any inconvenience you encountered during stay but are glad that we were able to assist you after you contacted our 24/7 support line. You were fantastic guests and we would love the opportunity to host you again. –The TurnKey VR Team
- Sam S.
Reviewed On: 3/30/2019
First time to use this type of service They were very helpful if we had to reach out. And when my parking pass blew out of my car they made sure to get me a new one so my car would not be towed. Was nice, clean and everything worked as it should. We will definitely be back! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, July 17, 2019 Hi Mellisa, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great experience and recommend our property! We were happy to assist you when you contacted our 24/7 guest hotline regarding the parking pass. You were wonderful guests, and we would love to host you again! Please come back soon!! - The TurnKey VR Team
- Mellisa W.
Reviewed On: 7/13/2019
I'll just call it a vacation Other than the wifi working half tha time and our feet being black on tha bottoms from walking on the floor,condom wrappers under the bed along with rose pedals and front sliding door not working so everybody had to walk through the bedroom to enter the padio i would say it was alright! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, August 21, 2019 Hi Cheryl, Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback, and we’re so sorry to hear that your experience with us was not as great as it should have been. Here at TurnKey, we strive to offer impeccable customer service before, during, and after your stay. We wish we had known about these concerns during your stay so we could have tried to help out then. Our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call -- never hesitate to reach out while you’re staying with us! Please be assured we’re following up with our Housekeeping Team to address this incident and prevent similar cleanliness problems moving forward. We're also happy to report that the WiFi is working properly at this time. If there is anything we can still do for you, reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
- Cheryl I.
Reviewed On: 6/6/2019
WORST VACATION OF MY LIFE&#x2014; THE VACATION FROM **** Honest opinion. If I could give this vacation -5 stars I would.. This had to been the worst vacation of my life. Received very little instruction. Had no gate code to enter the condominiums, my code to she door didn&#x2019;t work&#x2014; I was constantly on the phone with customer service during my whole stay because everything that could go wrong did. AC DID NOT WORK the room was 95-100 degrees the whole time&#x2014; they had maintenance there for the first 2 days during my stay and he was YouTubing ways to fix the AC&#x2014; he had no idea what he was doing. I was upset my whole vacation&#x2014; They never could get the AC fixed and only offered me $65 refund! I was livid. I finally had enough and demanded for another place to stay. They finally ended up caving and giving me another room. Like I said, I did not get to enjoy my time with family and friends during my stay. So if you want to be consistently stressed and not enjoy yourself this is the place for you. <br/><br/>DO NOT STAY HERE!! This rental is truly are the worst. Wouldn&#x2019;t spend a penny here. I will also never ever stay here again, and will never recommend for anyone staying here. <br/><br/><br/>YOU WERE WARNED!! <br/> Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, June 4, 2019 Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Here at TurnKey, your feedback is highly valued, and although we do try our best to offer the most impeccable service possible, there are times we fall short of that. Please be assured that the AC has been fixed and will not be a problem for future stays. Thanks again for bringing these important issues to light, as it is feedback like this that really makes a difference in how we move forward in offering the best service we possibly can to our guests and in keeping our properties in perfect shape. If there is anything else we can do for you, reach out anytime on our 24/7 guest hotline to let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
- Amber S.
Reviewed On: 5/14/2019
Condo on the Beach We loved this place and will be back. The location was great just 50 feet from the beach, listing to waves at night and in the early morning was great. The place was great.
- Carlotta G.
Reviewed On: 8/7/2019
1704 The master bedroom door did not lock<br/>The towels had red stains<br/>The floor was coming up<br/>Sand was in the beds<br/> Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Thursday, October 3, 2019 Shunketa, Thank you so much for your review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our home. Please let us assure you that we have addressed the cleaning and maintenance and they should not be an issue moving forward. Next time you stay with us, remember our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up. We want to make sure you’re as comfortable as you can be during your stay. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Shunketa B.
Reviewed On: 8/13/2019
Wonderful view Convenient location great apartment and stunning view. Access to the beach very easy and comfortable. Fully equipped. I would recommend to provide further information about the parking access code and the rules for the pool and beach. Some furniture needs to be updated but the apartment is really nice Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, June 6, 2017 Hi Susanna, Thank you so much for the review and kind words about our property! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and will make sure to pass your comments along to the homeowner for their consideration. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 5/31/2017
Amazing! Check in and check out were a breeze. Lovely condo with fantastic view! Very clean, we'll equipped, can't beat the location and amenities! Highly recommend this condo...priced very reasonably..was shocked at how amazing this unit is and how low the price was compared with more expensive condos we've stayed in that were not nearly as nice...
- Rebecca H.
Reviewed On: 7/12/2017
Girls vacay! Very nice!
Reviewed On: 6/24/2017
Vacation 2017 It was a very great place to stay we enjoyed it . Will be returning...<br/> Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, June 14, 2017 Barbara, Thank you so much for the review and kind words about our property! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Robert P.
Reviewed On: 6/12/2017
Panama City family vacation Our rental experience was okay. There were issues with the combination to access the condo and it took sending us 4 access codes before it would work. Also the code for the gate arm was not included in the instructions for access. The condo looks nice. It could have been cleaned better before our arrival. In particular, the floors should have been cleaned as they were dirty. Also there was no hot water in the master bath. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Friday, June 9, 2017 Hi Jerry, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback, and we are so sorry to hear if your experience staying with us was not as great as it should have been. Here at TurnKey, we strive to offer impeccable customer service, and it is our hope that if anything at all comes up, guests are conveniently able to reach us 24 hours-a-day on our guest hotline. Unfortunately, we are only now learning of these problems, but wish we had known during your stay so we could have tried to help out then. Please be assured we are checking on everything you have mentioned and will make sure each issue is addressed and resolved. It is nice to hear that your overall experience was a positive one, though. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 6/6/2017
Awesome Had an awesome experience with this condo... very clean and organized. loved the atmosphere. The staff and Maintenance men we seen on the property were amazing and helped with directions and questions concerning our stay. These guys give us tips and helped with the preparation of our condo and belongings in the wake of hurricane Irma that came close to the end of our stay. We will definitely visit this condo again
- Alicia W.
Reviewed On: 10/26/2017
Amazing condo! Wow! I can not say enough about this beautiful condo! When we arrived we could not believe how clean (although the floors needed mopped) and beautiful this condo was. The view from the balcony was breathtaking! We stayed 6 nights and enjoyed every moment of it. We did have a problem with the door code on our last night. It just stopped working all of a sudden but turnkey was quick to take care of the issue. The beach was easy to access and the pool was so nice! The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you need to cook with. I am already looking into booking again for next spring break! Thanks for making our vacation so easy and memorable. The kids had a blast and can’t wait to come back. I see many more stays in our future! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Friday, April 13, 2018 Sarah, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We’re glad we were able to quickly resolve your issue after you called our 24/7 guest hotline. You were perfect guests, and we’re looking forward to hearing from you again! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Sarah K.
Reviewed On: 4/9/2018
What a View My wife, kids and I had such a great time here. The condo had everything we could need. It was clean and comfortable, and had an awesome balcony with an amazing view of the ocean. The pool was a big hit with the kids too! We cant wait to go back!
- Joe K.
Reviewed On: 4/12/2018
Excellent Excellent stay great location Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, August 28, 2018 Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Sandra B.
Reviewed On: 7/1/2018
Great place to stay We enjoyed our vacation at Twin Palms and would recommend this place to other friends and family
- Andrea T.
Reviewed On: 8/5/2018
Great getaway We had a good stay even though it rained half the time. The views were amazing and the amenities were nice. I would recommend this place
- Gary S.
Reviewed On: 8/6/2018
Nice enough for the price, but wouldn&#x2019;t stay again. The condo was cleaner than others we have stayed in. It&#x2019;s the beach so expect to have sand everywhere! I dropped an earring and noticed that they do not clean under the beds. There were several receipts from previous guests and the batteries to the remote that didn&#x2019;t have any. The description provided by turnkey says that the condo has hotel grade linens. I&#x2019;ve never stayed at a hotel with micro fiber sheets! You can tell that the duvet doesn&#x2019;t get washed between guests. We chose not to use it. The pillows were awful, I suggest to bring your own. Even tho this condo is advertised to sleep 8 with the pull out couch, there are no linens provided for it and the mattress is horrible. My son chose to just sleep on the couch itself. All of the beds could stand to be replaced! <br/><br/>Be prepared with everything you might need! There were only 2 washcloths for all of us, they want you to start a load of towels but do not provide laundry detergent for that load, bring plastic flatware if you don&#x2019;t want to wash after every meal, toilet paper, everything!! We&#x2019;ve stayed in several VRBO&#x2019;s and have never had to provide our own toilet paper!<br/><br/>Major negatives were: the blind on the sliding glass doors was broke. It flooded the condo with light and made it hard for my son to sleep past 6am. We also had to deal with them sending a repair man to fix it during our stay. He was very friendly and helpful, but just not something you want to have to deal with on vacation. There were not enough condo bracelets left for us. Again, not a big deal, but nothing you want to deal with on vacation. The over quality of the condo is on the low side. Most everything was clean, but could stand to be replaced. Like mattresses, pans for cooking were awful, sheets, etc... with that being said, it&#x2019;s a lower cost condo so you get what you pay for.<br/><br/>Major pros were: location! It&#x2019;s beautiful view right on the beach, the twin p Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Saturday, September 15, 2018 Hi Brianna, Thank you so much for leaving this review and we are glad you enjoyed the location. We are sorry to hear about the maintenance issues and for any inconvenience these caused. At TurnKey, it’s our highest priority to make sure our guests have the best experience possible, but if problems do arise, we try our very best to make things right in any way we can. We are so glad you called our 24/7 guest hotline to let us know about these issues and we were happy to address these for you. Your feedback on the supplies and sleeping arrangements has been passed along to our local team and owner. Thanks again for your patience and for being absolutely perfect guests. We are hopeful to have you stay with us again! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Brianna S.
Reviewed On: 8/12/2018
Great location, lots of space The condo was great, the view was even better! The floors were sandy when we got there and the full size beds in the 2nd room were sandy but everything else was great and the price was wonderful compared to most other condos that are 2 bedroom 2 bath! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, August 29, 2018 Hi Brandon, Thank you so much for your review and helpful feedback! We’re so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will be following up with housekeeping regarding the cleanliness of the floors and beds. Next time you stay with us, remember our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up. We want to make sure you’re as comfortable as you can be during your stay. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 8/14/2018
September Satu Overall the stay was nice but we did have some issues. When we got there there was only one parking pass. Also there were 4 towels and no wash cloths. I called and was told the cleaners did not have enough clean towels to bring and they would bring them the next morning. I ended up having to call late afternoon and remind them about the towels and parking pass. The sliding balcony door in the master bedroom had a sign saying it would not open. On our 2nd day, the balcony door in the living room wouldn&#x2019;t open either. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Saturday, September 15, 2018 Hi Amanda, Thank you so much for leaving this review. We are sorry to hear about the issues you encountered and for any inconvenience these caused. At TurnKey, it’s our highest priority to make sure our guests have the best experience possible, but if problems do arise, we try our very best to make things right in any way we can. It looks like we were able to send someone out to drop off clean and fresh towels and an additional parking pass for you, and we are so glad you called our 24/7 guest hotline to let us know about it. Please be assured our team is looking into the addressing the balcony doors with the help of a contractor. Thanks again for your patience and for being absolutely perfect guests. We look forward to you staying with us again! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Amanda C.
Reviewed On: 9/12/2018
Check in and check out were a breeze. Lovely condo with fantastic view! Very clean, we'll equipped, can't beat the location and amenities! Highly recommend this condo...priced very reasonably..was shocked at how amazing this unit is and how low the price was compared with more expensive condos we've stayed in that were not nearly as nice...
Reviewed On: 7/12/2017
Very nice!
Reviewed On: 6/24/2017
It was a very great place to stay we enjoyed it . Will be returning...<br/>
Reviewed On: 6/12/2017
Our rental experience was okay. There were issues with the combination to access the condo and it took sending us 4 access codes before it would work. Also the code for the gate arm was not included in the instructions for access. The condo looks nice. It could have been cleaned better before our arrival. In particular, the floors should have been cleaned as they were dirty. Also there was no hot water in the master bath.
Reviewed On: 6/6/2017
Convenient location great apartment and stunning view. Access to the beach very easy and comfortable. Fully equipped. I would recommend to provide further information about the parking access code and the rules for the pool and beach. Some furniture needs to be updated but the apartment is really nice
Reviewed On: 5/31/2017

Listing History

  • This property owner/manager has been registered with Owner Direct since Jun 29, 2016.
  • This owner / manager has completed 285 successful bookings in total for all their properties through Owner Direct.com
  • The availability for this property was last updated on Feb 14, 2020
  • The rates for this property were last updated on Apr 04, 2017
  • This owner's contact information has been verified by Owner Direct and past guests.

OwnerDirect.com - Superior Full Service

  • You're never alone with Owner Direct. Friendly service coast to coast available every day of the year.
  • You immediately know the price for your requested dates/occupants.
  • More photos (with descriptive captions) per property.
  • Extensive information is provided for every property, always in the same format, to save you time
  • We answer all of your questions quickly with our very comprehensive site and responsive customer service.
  • We offer a 24 hr grace period for both parties to communicate and confirm all details of a booking.

Web Directories - Our Competitors

  • A lot of your time is wasted filling out forms and waiting for replies from multiple vacation rental owners. Many busy owners never reply.
  • The price shown always changes, you have to calculate it yourself and often changes once you communicate with the owner.
  • Most owners do not take the time to provide complete information on listings, so you waste time having to ask questions and wait for responses.
  • In a nutshell, "Web Directories" are cumbersome and time consuming, and if you have a problem, you are on your own.

2BR/2BA Panama City Beach Condo on Beach – Remodeled, Captivating Views

ID 233541 - 4 beds (1 king, 1 queen, 1 other and 1 double). Base rent is for 8 occupants.
Panama City Beach Accommodations
Sipping on a cold drink and soaking in Gulf views—that’s the good life. Live it at this newly remodeled 2BR, 2BA (sleeps 8) Panama City Beach condo, just steps to a sugary sand beach. On-site pool and hot tubs.. Sipping on a cold drink and soaking in Gulf views—that’s the good life. Live it at this newly remodeled 2BR, 2BA (sleeps 8) Panama City Beach condo, just steps to a sugary sand beach. On-site pool and hot tubs.

INSIDE THE CONDO

After parking in the garage under the building, head up the elevators and take a left. The unit is the first on your right. As you enter the condo, the stacked washer and dryer are tucked behind the barn-style door to your left.

Spanish tiles enhance the route to the kitchen—beautiful and practical in design with plenty of cabinet space, granite counters, and full-size appliances. It’s open to the dining area, where 6 can dine comfortably around the glass-top table. Put 2 more guests at the kitchen bar.

No one needs to sleep on the floor thanks to 2 queen beds in the guest bedroom. It’s also outfitted with trendy black and yellow decor, 26” flat-screen TV, closet, and private door to the shared full bath.

With another door leading back into the kitchen area, the full bath comes with a large vanity with single sink and storage underneath and a tub/shower combo.

The floor transitions to hardwood as you enter the living room area, where you can lounge on the love seat and couch and take in the striking water views. Two arm chairs provide additional seating and the 47” flat-screen TV offers entertainment for quiet nights in. The couch also doubles as a queen sleeper sofa for the kids or extra guests.

Nothing beats a quiet evening on the private balcony, where you can experience panoramic views of the Emerald Coast. Dine al fresco at the 4-person patio table, enjoying the warm Gulf breezes.

Just off the living room sits the master bedroom, where you’re treated to a king bed, calming blue and green decor, 32” flat-screen TV and two closets. In the morning, throw open the curtains and take in the ocean views from the sliding doors leading out to the balcony.

An en suite bath features a large vanity with single sink and tub/shower combo behind the flowered curtain.

THE LOCATION

A stay in this condo means access to on-site amenities that include an exercise room with sauna, large outdoor pool, and 2 hot tubs—one indoor and one outdoor.

In just a few steps you are in the warm, sugary sands and waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Beach chairs and umbrellas are available for rent if you don’t feel like dragging along your own.

Just across the street, you’ll find several dining options for the when the cook takes the night off. You can also stock up on supplies or find just the right souvenir at the Party Shack Lifestyle and Gifts and Ship and Store Mercantile.

Take the afternoon and head to Pier Park (11 minutes on foot), where you can stroll along the pier and enjoy a variety of restaurants, snacks, and shopping. Grab a slice at Island Pizza Creations and follow it up with a scoop of ice cream from the Pink Pelican Ice Cream Bar.

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

We save your time and spare you the headaches!

We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Nearby and Recently Viewed Vacation Rentals

Pricing & Availability

to
Adults
Children (0-17)
Please select dates and occupants to view
Availability and Pricing
Mandatory
Taxes
Included
Excluded
First Payment, Charged Now
Second Payment, due by
Total Rent
(Damage/Security deposits not included)
Cancellation Policy
Total Rent

Rental Request & Questions

By requesting to book you agree to Owner Direct's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.
create an account?
  Help

Credit Card Details

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day
We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!
Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden
Timeout From:
Timeout To:

Experience the difference, no waiting
 
Toll Free USA, Canada
1.888.869.6377
Toll Free UK
0.800.249.4265
Toll Free Australia
1.800.150.197
International Rentals
1.250.469.9543