×
max 8 guests      2 bedrooms      2 bathrooms
  • Attractions Attributes
    • festivals
    • playground
  • Entertainment Attributes
    • Satellite / Cable
    • Television
    • Cable TV
    • Satellite TV
    • Wireless Internet
    • TV
  • General Attributes
    • Air Conditioning
    • Clothes Dryer
    • Elevator
    • Fitness Room / Equipment
    • Heating
    • Internet
    • Linens Provided
    • Parking
    • Towels Provided
    • Washing Machine
  • Kitchen Attributes
    • Coffee Maker
    • Dishes & Utensils
    • Dishwasher
    • Kitchen
    • Microwave
    • Oven
    • Refrigerator
    • Stove
    • Toaster
    • Full Kitchen
    • Refrigerator
    • Coffee Maker
    • Ice Maker
    • Microwave
    • Toaster
    • Cookware
    • Cooking Utensils
    • Pots / Pans
    • Dishwasher
    • Glassware
    • Stove / Oven
    • Silverware
    • Keurig Machine
    • Stove
  • Leisure_activities Attributes
    • beachcombing
    • bird watching
    • eco tourism
    • photography
    • scenic drives
    • sight seeing
    • walking
  • Local_services_and_businesses Attributes
    • fitness center
  • Location_type Attributes
    • Beach View
    • Near The Ocean
    • Ocean View
    • Water View
  • Outside Attributes
    • Balcony
    • Deck / Patio
    • Golf
    • Tennis
  • Pool_spa Attributes
    • Communal Pool
    • Hot Tub
  • Sports_and_adventure_activities Attributes
    • cycling
    • fishing
    • golf
    • jet skiing
    • sailing
    • snorkeling
    • swimming
    • tennis
    • water skiing
    • water tubing
    • wind-surfing
  • Suitability Attributes
    • children welcome
    • non smoking only
  • Safety Attributes
    • Smoke detectors
  • Living Attributes
    • Central Air
    • Air Conditioning
    • Ceiling Fans
    • Linens
    • High Speed Internet
    • Elevator
    • Cable
    • Clothes Hangers
    • Heat
    • Dedicated Workspace
  • Convenience Attributes
    • Area FitnessCenter
    • Free Wifi
  • Outdoor Attributes
    • Deck
    • Balcony
    • Hot Tub
    • Shared Pool
    • Ocean View
    • Water View
  • Geographic Attributes
    • Near Beach

Loading...

Loading...

Payment Methods
Most major credit cards - Cash

Payment Balance
Balance and schedule of payments can be discussed the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Booking Cancellation Conditions
Cancellation policies can be discussed with the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Security or Damage Deposit
A refundable security/damage deposit will be required by the property manager.

Availability

Nightly rates shown do not include taxes, conditional rate adjustments or any applicable fees - request property or use rate calculator to obtain an accurate quote.

Nightly

2021

Rate Period Nightly
Apr 25 to May 27 Min Stay 2 nights 139 - 189 USD
May 28 to May 30 Min Stay 2 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat) 239 USD
Aug 16 to Sep 2 Min Stay 2 nights 248 - 274 USD
Sep 3 to Sep 5 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 161 - 239 USD
Sep 6 to Oct 23 Min Stay 2 nights 128 - 145 USD
Oct 24 to Nov 23 Min Stay 2 nights 116 - 140 USD
Nov 24 to Nov 27 Min Stay 2 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 137 - 163 USD
Nov 28 to Dec 19 Min Stay 2 nights 110 - 120 USD
Dec 20 to Dec 26 Min Stay 3 nights 128 - 144 USD
Dec 27, 2021 to Jan 1, 2022 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 120 - 151 USD

2022

Rate Period Nightly
Jan 2 to Mar 3 Min Stay 2 nights 110 - 148 USD
Mar 4 to Apr 9 Min Stay 2 nights 180 - 186 USD
Apr 10 to Apr 23 Min Stay 2 nights 172 - 198 USD
Apr 24 to May 26 Min Stay 2 nights 145 - 210 USD

Weekly

2021

Rate Period Weekly
Apr 25 to May 27 Min Stay 7 nights 988 - 1,554 USD
May 28 to May 30 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat) 1,665 - 1,676 USD
May 31 to Jul 2 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Sat) 1,784 USD
Jul 3 to Jul 9 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Sat) 1,947 USD
Jul 10 to Jul 30 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Sat) 1,865 USD
Jul 31 to Aug 15 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Sat) 1,702 - 1,819 USD
Aug 16 to Sep 2 Min Stay 7 nights 1,341 - 1,865 USD
Sep 3 to Sep 5 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 997 - 1,195 USD
Sep 6 to Oct 23 Min Stay 7 nights 799 - 881 USD
Oct 24 to Nov 23 Min Stay 7 nights 776 - 951 USD
Nov 24 to Nov 27 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 776 - 933 USD
Nov 28 to Dec 19 Min Stay 7 nights 724 - 863 USD
Dec 20 to Dec 26 Min Stay 7 nights 887 - 1,026 USD
Dec 27, 2021 to Jan 1, 2022 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 770 - 1,003 USD

2022

Rate Period Weekly
Jan 2 to Mar 3 Min Stay 7 nights 724 - 1,155 USD
Mar 4 to Apr 9 Min Stay 7 nights 1,224 - 1,236 USD
Apr 10 to Apr 23 Min Stay 7 nights 1,056 - 1,248 USD
Apr 24 to May 26 Min Stay 7 nights 1,038 - 1,283 USD

Long Term Stays

2021

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Apr 25 to May 27 Min Stay 30 nights 30 4,434 - 6,454 USD
May 28 to May 30 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat) 30 6,622 - 6,791 USD
Aug 16 to Sep 2 Min Stay 30 nights 30 2,072 - 5,042 USD
Sep 3 to Sep 5 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 2,065 - 2,070 USD
Sep 6 to Oct 23 Min Stay 30 nights 30 2,006 - 2,063 USD
Oct 24 to Nov 23 Min Stay 30 nights 30 2,024 - 2,075 USD
Nov 24 to Nov 27 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 30 2,015 - 2,022 USD
Nov 28 to Dec 19 Min Stay 30 nights 30 2,006 - 2,013 USD
Dec 20 to Dec 26 Min Stay 30 nights 30 2,006 USD
Dec 27, 2021 to Jan 1, 2022 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 30 2,006 USD

2022

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Jan 2 to Mar 3 Min Stay 30 nights 30 2,006 - 4,803 USD
Mar 4 to Apr 9 Min Stay 30 nights 30 2,750 - 4,806 USD
Apr 10 to Apr 23 Min Stay 30 nights 30 2,429 - 2,727 USD
Apr 24 to May 26 Min Stay 30 nights 30 2,246 - 2,407 USD

Verified vacation home reviews by real guests

All Owner Direct guest reviews posted are verified and confirmed individually by Owner Direct Vacation Rentals staff.

This property has no Owner Direct reviews yet.

Overall satisfaction (6 raters)
Property condition (6 raters)
Location (6 raters)
Cleanliness (6 raters)
Services from rental manager (6 raters)

The following review(s) were provided by the property manager.

Springbreak 2021 Everything was great and the check-in experience was super easy. I would recommend changes to the wifi by adding a password this would help with the slowness and security Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, May 4, 2021 Hey Andrea Thank you so much for your review and kind words about our property! We’re so happy to hear that the checkin in process with us was easy for you. We would like to inform you know that we have since added a wifi password and fixed this issue. You were the perfect guests, and we look forward to the next time! -The TurnKey Team
- Andrea D.
Reviewed On: 4/14/2021
spring trip We booked through Marriott and did not capture the reservation number as<br/>It is usually saved in my account. That was a mistake. As our check on was on a Sunday we were unable to get in touch with anyone at Homes and Villas as they were not open on the weekends. We had received no check in information and it turned out that the email address was wrong in the Marriott app. Because Marriott deals with many rental companies they could not tell us anything about the reservation. We ended up staying anoght in a hotel until we could get to homes and villa people. When we finally made it into the unit it was as advertised. It was clean and comfortable. The location and view was wonderful. So to sum things up the unit was wonderful the booking was less than desirable. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Thursday, April 1, 2021 Hi Donald, Thank you so much for your review and lovely words about the home! With that being said, we are sorry to hear you had a less-than-perfect experience, staying with us. Here at TurnKey, it’s our highest priority to make sure our guests have the best experience possible, but if problems do arise, we try our very best to make things right in any way we can. We wish we had known about the issues during your stay so we could have tried to help out then. Our 24/7 guest hotline is always available via phone/text -- to assist with issues or answer questions so never hesitate to reach out while you’re staying with us! You were the perfect guests, and we appreciate you taking care of our place as if it were your own. If there is anything else we can do for you, reach out anytime on our 24/7 guest hotline to let us know. ~The TurnKey Team
- DONALD W.
Reviewed On: 3/23/2021
Worst place I have ever stayed at and turnkey is a joke! TurnKey Vacation Rentals Do not book with turnkey! My condo at Laketown Wharf in Panama City Beach was so unsanitary and gross I literally had to come in clean and sanitize prior to letting my family in, even tho I paid TURNKEY TO DO IT! I told turnkey I had a daughter with an autoimmune disease and specifically asked if the condo would be sanitary and they responded with &#x201C;absolutely that is our protocol now with COVID19&#x201D; However they did not even clean it! Then I found out the front door lock is broke, the sliding glass door lock is broke, the king bed in the master is broke, the stove handle is broke, the microwave is broke, I had to wait two days to get my parking pass and wrist bands so we couldn&#x2019;t even go to the pool without being asked about our bracelets, The man that brought them to me said the &#x201C;cleaning people&#x201D; that didn&#x2019;t clean must have stolen them because they were left in the condo. They left 4 towels and 3 wash clothes for a family of 6 people, and let&#x2019;s not forget about the situation of the fatal shooting that happened this morning right under where I&#x2019;m staying! That was just icing on the cake for me! I will never in my life book with turn key EVER AGAIN PERIOD, it&#x2019;s not because of the shooting it&#x2019;s because of the response I received after I voiced my concern for my family&#x2019;s safety. I have paid almost $8000.00 just for the rental fee for 1 month and this is what I have to deal with and it&#x2019;s unacceptable! There are threats being made to the Laketown Wharf I do not feel safe here and I&#x2019;m concerned for my children&#x2019;s safety to say the least! I called and the only response I received was sorry for the unfortunate circumstances but we cannot do anything for you!!!!!! It&#x2019;s all ******** I didn&#x2019;t ask for my money back I asked to simply be moved to a different location, THATS IT! Instead I get to spend my vacation in a apartment/condo feeling concerne Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Friday, August 14, 2020 Hi Matthew, Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Here at TurnKey, your feedback is highly valued, and although we do try our best to offer the most impeccable service possible, there are times we fall short of that. Please be assured we’re looking into everything you reported, and do see that we offered to have the cleaning company come back to address the issues that you were concerned with; however you stated that you would take care of this yourself, we also show that they did bring out the extra towels and such that you needed. While we know it did not help, we do appreciate you accepting the refund of your cleaning fee for this issue. Our records also indicate that we did send out a vendor to the home to address the other issues that you mentioned, but that you turned them away so we have been working on these repairs since your departure. Regarding the unfortunate incident that occurred during your stay please know that we were not able to move you to another property as there were none available and we did work to make sure that the complex security would be in attendance at all times as well as making sure that the police department had plans in place to prevent any type of further issues at the building. We cannot control the world around us, but we hope that you can see we do take guest safety very seriously and worked to make sure that any guests we had in the building were safe, that there were prevention measures in place and that there would be no further incidents, as you are aware, there were none and we hope that your concerns were alleviated by our work. Thanks again for bringing these important issues to light, as it is feedback like this that really makes a difference in how we move forward in offering the best service we possibly can to our guests and in keeping our properties in perfect shape. If there is anything else, we can do for you, reach
- Matthew B.
Reviewed On: 8/1/2020
Panama city Worst vacation ever. Psses werent in room when i got there. Missed 2 full days of vacation and from going to pool or gym. No iron or iron board in the room. Took 3 days to get that. And 2 days 1/2 for the passes. I was very very unsatisfied! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Thursday, October 29, 2020 Hi Arnold, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback, and we’re so sorry about the confusion with the parking passes and wristbands. Here at TurnKey, we strive to offer impeccable customer service before, during, and after your stay. We see that a TurnKey agent was able to bring you out the iron and ironing board for your use and for future guests. Although it doesn’t change things, we appreciate you accepting the compensation we were able to offer. Thank you for your patience, If there is anything else we can do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
- Arnold P.
Reviewed On: 10/3/2020
Condo was a mess. The only good thing I can say is this condo has good bones. When we checked in it had an immediate sewage smell that lasted the whole trip. The dishes werenot clean. The oven handle was broken off and put on top.of the fridge so no one even tried to fix it because my mother fixed so we could use the oven without being burned. We waited 2 days to get our parking passes and was almost kicked out by security because we didn't have them, along with our wrist bands. Im glad we were across the street from the beach and pineapple Willys because the condo was a wreck. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Saturday, October 31, 2020 Hi Casey, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We’re sorry to hear about the issues you mentioned here during your stay. We wish we would have known about these during your stay so we could have helped out then. Please know we will have our Field Operations Team look into these issues and make sure everything gets addressed. We’re sorry it took so long to get the parking passes and wristbands to you. Please know we have steps in place to prevent these issues moving forward. If there is anything we can still do for you, please don't hesitate to reach out and let us know at our 24/7 guest hotline. ~The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 10/8/2020
Turnkey experience The location was good. The condo could have been cleaner.<br/>Turnkey less than desirable. First their instruction for arrival were not correct at all. I was instructed that parking passes and wrist bands would be picked up at the security hut at the entrance. Guard instructed they had NO parking passes and did not handle any parking passes. Get to the room and no parking passes or wrist band which we were instructed to wear for our entire visit. I tried to call but only received a recording. I text to have someone call me but never received a call! I replied to the text to inform turnkey of this and after they have to investigate finally text me back to tell me someone will deliver the next morning. It was sometime after lunch before they were delivered. At this point we left the condo and did not wait. But no wrist bands were ever delivered. <br/>There were only about 5 towels and NO hand towels for the bathrooms for a condo that accommodated 8 guest for a 2 night stay! <br/>The kitchen was poorly equipped. The pots and pans were in poor shape.<br/>I will try never to use this rental company again. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Saturday, February 20, 2021 Hi Vanessa Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed this home's location However, we are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Nevertheless, we thank you for providing us with feedback as we are working to make improvements to provide an exceptional experience to our guests. We're glad we were able to get the passes delivered to you. We wish you had let us know about the lack of linens and kitchen wares so that we could have corrected that. You were wonderful guests and we do hope for the opportunity to welcome you back again for an improved experience. -The TurnKey Team
Reviewed On: 2/16/2021

Listing History

  • This property owner/manager has been registered with Owner Direct since Jun 29, 2016.
  • This owner / manager has completed 361 successful bookings in total for all their properties through Owner Direct.com
  • The availability for this property was last updated on May 15, 2021
  • This owner's contact information has been verified by Owner Direct and past guests.

OwnerDirect.com - Superior Full Service

  • You're never alone with Owner Direct. Friendly service coast to coast available every day of the year.
  • You immediately know the price for your requested dates/occupants.
  • More photos (with descriptive captions) per property.
  • Extensive information is provided for every property, always in the same format, to save you time
  • We answer all of your questions quickly with our very comprehensive site and responsive customer service.
  • We offer a 24 hr grace period for both parties to communicate and confirm all details of a booking.

Web Directories - Our Competitors

  • A lot of your time is wasted filling out forms and waiting for replies from multiple vacation rental owners. Many busy owners never reply.
  • The price shown always changes, you have to calculate it yourself and often changes once you communicate with the owner.
  • Most owners do not take the time to provide complete information on listings, so you waste time having to ask questions and wait for responses.
  • In a nutshell, "Web Directories" are cumbersome and time consuming, and if you have a problem, you are on your own.

Gulf-View Condo w/ Private Balcony - Enjoy 5 Pools & Private Beach Access!

ID 252671 - 4 beds (2 king, 1 other and 1 bunk). Base rent is for 8 occupants.
Panama City Vacation Rentals
This resort-style 2BR (plus bunkroom) condo is located in the heart of Panama City Beach. Enjoy five on-site pools or follow the private access to stunning white-sand beaches. Dine alfresco on the balcony and take in sweeping Gulf views. Sleeps 8..

Set in the heart of Panama City Beach, this 2BR/2BA (plus bunkroom) condo in gated Laketown Wharf Resort offers a prime Gulf-side location and luxe amenities. Swim in five heated pools (open year-round), stroll the boardwalk around the sparkling lake, or walk to pristine white-sand beaches just steps away.

Visit the famous M.B. Miller and Russell-Fields Piers or drive to Pier Park to shop, dine, and explore.

LIVING AREA

The stylish living area features comfy seating, a 44” flat-screen TV, and access to a private balcony with Gulf views. A sleeper sofa offers additional sleeping space.

KITCHEN & DINING

Whip up favorite meals in the well-equipped kitchen, featuring a full suite of appliances.

When you’re ready to eat, gather at the three-person dining table. Additional seating for three is available at the kitchen bar.

BEDROOMS & BATHS

This 16th-floor condo sleeps up to eight guests between the two bedrooms, a bunk alcove, and a queen-size sleeper sofa in the living area.

The master bedroom features a king-size bed, 32” flat-screen TV, and balcony access. The en-suite master bathroom provides a jetted tub, walk-in shower, and a double vanity.

Open to the hallway, the snug bunk alcove has a twin-over-twin bunk bed.

The guest bedroom includes a king-size bed and a 32” flat-screen TV. An adjacent guest bathroom has a tub/shower combination.

OUTDOOR AREAS

A private balcony showcases expansive Gulf views and has a six-person dining table (with two additional chairs).

Five heated community swimming pools (6’ deep) are open year-round and outfitted with loungers. Two shared hot tubs are also available.

The lake is dotted with outdoor gazebos and features a 52,000 square-foot boardwalk.

Additional on-site amenities include a fully-equipped fitness center, putting green, grill areas, and on-site dining.

EXTRA AMENITIES & MORE DETAILS

In-unit amenities include complimentary Wi-Fi, cable TV, and a private washer/dryer.

Unassigned garage parking is available for up to two cars (an additional one-time fee of $25 is paid on-site for both parking passes and amenity wristbands).

THE LOCATION

Your condo is a 2-minute walk to private beach access and spectacular white-sand beaches.

Visit the famous M.B. Miller Pier (2 miles) and the Russell-Fields Pier (6 miles), the longest twin fishing piers on the Gulf of Mexico. Both extend 1,500 feet into the Gulf and offer unparalleled views and fishing.

A short drive away, Pier Park (6 miles) offers upscale shopping, fine dining, an IMAX movie theater, and a full calendar of events.

In the evening, watch the large-scale lighted fountain show, playing nightly.

License Number: HSR19-005908

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

We save your time and spare you the headaches!

We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Nearby and Recently Viewed Vacation Rentals

Pricing & Availability

to
Adults
Children (0-17)
Please select dates and occupants to view
Availability and Pricing
Mandatory
Taxes
Included
Excluded
First Payment, Charged Now
Second Payment, due by
Total Rent
(Damage/Security deposits not included)
Cancellation Policy
Total Rent

Rental Request & Questions

Subscribe to our newsletter
By requesting to book you agree to Owner Direct's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.
create an account?
  Help

Credit Card Details

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day
We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!
Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden
Timeout From:
Timeout To:

Experience the difference, no waiting
 
Toll Free USA, Canada
1.888.869.6377
Toll Free UK
0.800.249.4265
Toll Free Australia
1.800.150.197
International Rentals
1.250.469.9543