max 6 guests      2 bedrooms      2 bathrooms
  • General Attributes
    • Air Conditioning
  • Leisure_activities Attributes
    • outlet shopping
    • scenic drives
  • Sports_and_adventure_activities Attributes
    • cycling
    • fly fishing
    • golf
    • hiking
    • mountain biking
    • mountain climbing
  • Kitchen Attributes
    • Full Kitchen
    • Refrigerator
    • Coffee Maker
    • Ice Maker
    • Microwave
    • Toaster
    • Cookware
    • Blender
    • Cooking Utensils
    • Pots / Pans
    • Dishwasher
    • Glassware
    • Stove / Oven
    • Silverware
    • Tea Kettle
    • gas burner
  • Living Attributes
    • Linens
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Ironing Board
    • High Speed Internet
    • Fireplace
    • Iron
    • Hair Dryer
    • Central Heat Only
  • Business Attributes
    • Nearby ATM
    • Nearby Post Office
    • Nearby Internet Cafe
    • Nearby FedEx
    • Nearby Bank
  • Convenience Attributes
    • Area FitnessCenter
    • Nearby Medical Services
    • Nearby Grocery
    • Movie Theatres
    • Golf Course
  • Outdoor Attributes
    • Balcony
    • Hot Tub
    • Shared Pool
  • Geographic Attributes
    • Close to Town
    • Near Ski Resort
  • Entertainment Attributes
    • Satellite TV
    • Wireless Internet

Loading...

Terms

The Property Manager (hereafter referred to as "we", "us", or "our") provides rental management services on behalf of homeowners ("Owners") who rent their properties (including the associated fixtures and furnishings)(the “Home”) to guests (the "Guest" or "you") seeking accommodations on a short term or long term basis (collectively, the “Services”). We are the Owner's property manager and authorized agent, who will perform the Services related to your reservation. By using the Home and Services, you agree to comply with and be legally bound by the terms and conditions of this guest agreement (the "Agreement"). This Agreement only applies to short term rentals and not long term rentals, which will be governed by the specific terms of your lease agreement with us.

1. Policies: Please treat our Owner's Home with the care you would at your own home and abide by following policies:

*Behave as you would in any home in which you live, with respect for property and neighbors.
*Unless otherwise stated in the Home listing, you must be over the age of 25.
*You will be an occupant of the unit during the entire reserved period and other occupants of the Home during your stay will be family members, friends, responsible adults or children under direct adult supervision.
*Do not exceed the maximum occupancy of the Home.
*No parties, noise that can be heard beyond the home lot line or in adjacent units, or any illegal activity may occur at the Home.
*No pets are allowed unless otherwise noted for specific properties and where you have paid a pet fee in connection with your booking in advance of your reservation.
*No smoking is allowed in or around any Home.
*Check-in time is 3pm and check-out time is 10am - we will notify you via email in advance if early check-in or late check-out will be available.
*Please use common courtesy at the home by keeping it clean, reporting any problems or damages, washing dishes as used, taking garbage to the outside bins, leaving towels in the bathrooms and sheets in the bedrooms, and not re-arranging furniture.

2. Cleaning: Each home will be cleaned and inspected by third-party cleaning contractors after your departure. We ask you to help us enable the cleaning crews as much as possible. They will appreciate simple things like leaving the home tidy, running the dishwasher, starting to wash the towels, and taking out the trash.

3. Swimming Pools, Hot Tubs, or Beach: If the home that you have reserved includes a pool or hot tub, or is on a beach, these can all be obviously dangerous. Guests should observe and adhere to all rules and policies as posted at the home and supervise all children at all times. Lifeguards are not provided. Decks and patios can be slippery when wet and can result in injury to anyone who is not careful. Guest accept and assumes all risks involved in or related to the use of a pool, hot tub, beach and deck/patio areas.

4. Home Damage Waiver: Each guest will be offered an optional Damage Waiver that protects you against unintended damage done to the Property. This is not insurance, and the Damage Waiver does not apply to intentional damage done by the Guest or your guests, or excessive wear and tear due to parties, smoking, pets or otherwise, or additional cleaning charges due to stains or spills, or fines incurred by the police or HOA due to noise, excessive trash or parking, or damage over the purchased amounts of either $3,000 or $5,000. If Tenant does not wish to purchase this Damage Waiver, a security deposit of $3,000, $5,000, or greater depending on Property will be required at the time of booking. If a Home requires an additional security deposit, we will explain this to you before confirming a reservation. Guest acknowledges that any damage or fines not covered by the Damage Waiver or above the amount of any security deposit can be charged to Guest (and Guest’s card on file). The Damage Waiver can be purchased up to the day prior to your reservation but not after it has started. You do not have to purchase this Damage Waiver. Please contact the Property Manager directly at if you do not wish to purchase the Damage Waiver.

5. Excessive Wear and Tear, Noise and Occupancy: If excessive wear and tear is found for the Home, or additional cleaning is necessary due to spills, trash left on site, stains to furniture, carpeting, linens, paint, wallpaper, or flooring, Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest for additional fees. Tenant will be provided with a receipt for any additional fees incurred upon request or as required by local laws or regulations. If at any time the maximum number of the Home’s occupants is exceeded or if we receive information about excessive noise, the Property Manager has the right to evict Guest and all occupants immediately and to charge Guest a minimum service fee of $250 with no refund for the balance of the remaining reservation. If any sign of smoking is discovered Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. Unless the reservation for the Home specifically allows a pet, if any sign of a pet is discovered, then Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. The Property Manager will return any balance of a security deposit to Guest, less any charges or amounts owed by Guest, within fourteen (14) days after the end of the reservation or as otherwise required by local laws or regulations. Any charges owed by Guest may be charged by the Property Manager to Guest’s card on file in addition to seeking any relief provided by law.

6. Maintenance and Access: We have the right to enter the home at any time during guest stay and we will diligently attempt to address maintenance issues as they occur. This is an associated risk of renting a single family residence or condo. If a maintenance issue occurs that cannot be fixed in a reasonable amount of time, and significantly affects your stay; we reserve the right to refund at our discretion or offer to relocate you to another home.

7. Phone and Internet: Unless otherwise specified, all homes are equipped with a high-speed Wi-Fi connection where service is available and we will provide you with any required Wi-Fi passwords. We do not provide a land line phones for all homes and suggest that you please use your mobile phone or Wi-Fi enabled phone for calls.

8. Furnished Rental and Supplies: The Property Manager's properties are fully furnished properties that will include bedspreads, linens, blankets, pillows, towels, a fully equipped kitchen, TV, furnishings unless otherwise specified. A limited starter supply of paper products, bath and dish soap are provided, but will not be replaced if consumed during your stay so we recommend bringing additional personal items with you. Staples (salt, pepper, foils, wraps, etc) are generally stocked by the owner of the home, however the Property Manager cannot commit these supplies being present. Guest is responsible for replacing stocked items as they are consumed. If there is a special type of item you are accustomed to using please provide for those items by bringing them with you. Extra towels are always recommended for homes on the beach, or with a pool or hot tub.

9. Weather and Other Unforeseen Events: The Property Manager does not accept liability for any inconveniences arising from any temporary defects or stoppage in supply of water, gas, electricity or plumbing, damage caused by weather/road conditions, natural disasters, acts of God or other reasons beyond its control. No refunds will be given for any delays or cancellations due to such conditions. Travel Insurance is highly recommended for any stay.

10. Homeowners Association: The Property Manager cannot warrant the usability or condition of amenities provided through homeowner associations, including, but not limited to pools, hot tubs, club houses, tennis courts, golf facilities, and picnic & beach facilities.

11. Indemnity: Neither Owner nor the Property Manager assumes any liability for loss, theft, damage or injury to Guest, his/her guests or other occupants in the Home. The Guest, for himself/herself, his/her heirs, assignors, executors and administrators, fully releases and discharges Owner and the Property Manager from any and all claims, demands and causes of action by reason of any injury or whatever nature which has or have occurred, or may occur to the Guest, his/her guests or other occupants of the Home as a result of, or in connection with the occupancy of the Home and agrees to hold Owner and the Property Manager free and harmless of any claim or suit arising therefrom. In any action concerning the rights, duties or liabilities of the parties to this Agreement, or their principals, agents, successors or assignees the prevailing party shall be entitled to recover reasonable attorney fees and costs.

12. Sale Contingency: In the rare event the Home that that you have reserved is for sale, and/or is under a contract to sell, the Property Manager reserves the right to provide Guest with a comparable home at no additional cost to the Guest. Showings during occupancy are by appointment only at your prior approval.

13. Payment and Cancellations: We accept all major credit cards. For reservations made more than 30 days in advance, we only charge a deposit of 10% of the total reservation upon booking, with full payment due 30 days prior to check-in. For all reservations made within 30 days of check-in, we collect payment in full at the time of booking. All reservations which are made more than 10 days in advance are fully refundable if the guest cancels the reservation within 72 hours after the time of booking. After this cancellation period expires, all guest payments are non-refundable.

14. Other Terms and Conditions: Your booking is subject to the the Property Manager 's Terms, Privacy Policy and this Guest Agreement which can be found at /terms. Additionally, where specifically required by the terms of any applicable laws, regulations or Homeowner's Association rules (as determined by the Property Manager), then this Rental Agreement shall constitute a lease of the premises. If you would like to extend your reservation for additional dates, please call us for availability and pricing.

Payment Methods
Most major credit cards - Cash

Payment Balance
Balance and schedule of payments can be discussed the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Booking Cancellation Conditions
Cancellation policies can be discussed with the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Security or Damage Deposit
A refundable security/damage deposit will be required by the property manager.

Availability

Nightly rates shown do not include taxes, conditional rate adjustments or any applicable fees - request property or use rate calculator to obtain an accurate quote.

Nightly

2020

Rate Period Nightly
Feb 17 to Feb 29 Min Stay 2 nights 275 USD
Mar 1 to Mar 14 Min Stay 2 nights 275 - 331 USD
Mar 15 to Apr 7 Min Stay 3 nights 224 - 326 USD
Apr 8 to Jun 18 Min Stay 2 nights 137 - 171 USD
Jun 19 to Jul 2 Min Stay 2 nights 164 - 286 USD
Jul 3 to Jul 4 Min Stay 2 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat) 239 - 244 USD
Jul 5 to Aug 15 Min Stay 2 nights 164 - 286 USD
Aug 16 to Sep 3 Min Stay 2 nights 164 - 286 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 6 Min Stay 2 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 276 - 286 USD
Sep 7 to Nov 24 Min Stay 2 nights 137 - 171 USD
Nov 25 to Nov 28 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 249 - 257 USD
Nov 29 to Dec 17 Min Stay 2 nights 164 - 286 USD
Dec 18 to Dec 25 Min Stay 3 nights 476 - 478 USD
Dec 26, 2020 to Jan 2, 2021 Min Stay 4 nights 488 - 500 USD

2021

Rate Period Nightly
Jan 3 to Jan 14 Min Stay 2 nights 326 - 336 USD
Jan 15 to Jan 17 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 414 - 422 USD
Jan 18 to Jan 20 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed) 326 - 334 USD
Jan 21 to Jan 25 Min Stay 4 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun) 419 - 421 USD
Jan 26 to Jan 31 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun) 393 - 399 USD
Feb 1 to Feb 11 Min Stay 3 nights 326 - 329 USD
Feb 12 to Feb 14 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 435 - 445 USD
Feb 15 to Feb 28 Min Stay 3 nights 326 - 329 USD

Weekly

2020

Rate Period Weekly
Feb 17 to Feb 29 Min Stay 7 nights 1,949 USD
Mar 1 to Mar 14 Min Stay 7 nights 2,272 USD
Mar 15 to Apr 7 Min Stay 7 nights 1,612 - 2,272 USD
Apr 8 to Jun 18 Min Stay 7 nights 910 - 979 USD
Jun 19 to Jul 2 Min Stay 7 nights 1,345 USD
Jul 3 to Jul 4 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat) 1,613 - 1,618 USD
Jul 5 to Aug 15 Min Stay 7 nights 1,345 USD
Aug 16 to Sep 3 Min Stay 7 nights 1,345 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 6 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 1,847 - 1,876 USD
Sep 7 to Nov 24 Min Stay 7 nights 979 USD
Nov 25 to Nov 28 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 1,729 - 1,754 USD
Nov 29 to Dec 17 Min Stay 7 nights 1,345 USD
Dec 18 to Dec 25 Min Stay 7 nights 3,328 - 3,345 USD
Dec 26, 2020 to Jan 2, 2021 Min Stay 7 nights 3,373 - 3,491 USD

2021

Rate Period Weekly
Jan 3 to Jan 14 Min Stay 7 nights 2,282 - 2,290 USD
Jan 15 to Jan 17 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 2,909 USD
Jan 18 to Jan 20 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed) 2,321 - 2,343 USD
Jan 21 to Jan 25 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun) 2,928 - 2,940 USD
Jan 26 to Jan 31 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun) 2,731 - 2,776 USD
Feb 1 to Feb 11 Min Stay 7 nights 2,282 - 2,303 USD
Feb 12 to Feb 14 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 3,017 - 3,046 USD
Feb 15 to Feb 28 Min Stay 7 nights 2,282 USD

Long Term Stays

2020

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Feb 17 to Feb 29 Min Stay 30 nights 30 9,186 USD
Mar 1 to Mar 14 Min Stay 30 nights 30 9,186 USD
Mar 15 to Apr 7 Min Stay 30 nights 30 9,186 USD
Apr 8 to Jun 18 Min Stay 30 nights 30 3,551 - 3,863 USD
Jun 19 to Jul 2 Min Stay 30 nights 30 4,958 - 5,359 USD
Jul 3 to Jul 4 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat) 30 6,543 - 6,550 USD
Jul 5 to Aug 15 Min Stay 30 nights 30 5,283 - 5,518 USD
Aug 16 to Sep 3 Min Stay 30 nights 30 5,080 - 5,313 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 6 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 7,490 - 7,517 USD
Sep 7 to Nov 24 Min Stay 30 nights 30 3,816 - 3,882 USD
Nov 25 to Nov 28 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 30 9,277 - 9,321 USD
Nov 29 to Dec 17 Min Stay 30 nights 30 9,336 - 9,411 USD
Dec 18 to Dec 25 Min Stay 30 nights 30 13,098 - 13,150 USD
Dec 26, 2020 to Jan 2, 2021 Min Stay 30 nights 30 13,641 - 13,690 USD

2021

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Jan 3 to Jan 14 Min Stay 30 nights 30 9,318 - 9,333 USD
Jan 15 to Jan 17 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 11,833 - 11,842 USD
Jan 18 to Jan 20 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed) 30 9,304 USD
Jan 21 to Jan 25 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 11,790 - 11,825 USD
Jan 26 to Jan 31 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 11,148 - 11,181 USD
Feb 1 to Feb 11 Min Stay 30 nights 30 9,221 - 9,257 USD
Feb 12 to Feb 14 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 12,320 - 12,342 USD
Feb 15 to Feb 28 Min Stay 30 nights 30 9,210 - 9,225 USD

Verified vacation home reviews by real guests

All Owner Direct guest reviews posted are verified and confirmed individually by Owner Direct Vacation Rentals staff.

This property has no Owner Direct reviews yet.

Overall satisfaction (22 raters)
Property condition (22 raters)
Location (22 raters)
Cleanliness (22 raters)
Services from rental manager (21 raters)

The following review(s) were provided by the property manager.

Bear Meadows Townhouse The accommodations were nice, however, there are a couple of small issues that need attending. First, the main living room carpet is curled up at the corner closest to the kitchen and is a tripping hazard. Second, the shade at the sliding door is missing several clips and is hanging precariously. Last, although it is pictured in the photos of the unit and its accommodations, there is not "key" to access the small hot tub nearest the condo. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Friday, October 11, 2019 Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured we have repaired the carpet, the shade at the sliding door, and added a new key fob to the home. You were perfect guests, and we’re looking forward to your next stay! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 8/19/2019
Exactly as advertised We stayed for 4 nights. It was much more spacious than other places we've stayed in Park City for a much more reasonable price. The communication from Turnkey was very prompt and descriptive. Everything we needed was supplied by the renter, including things like pizza cutters, colanders, and dish towels. We were very pleased.
Reviewed On: 7/30/2019
Location is everything This property was located directly over the parking garage for the entire complex...and every time someone opened the garage it was quite loud in the living room and master bedroom. So if you want to sleep past 5:30 am I don't recommend this property. Also there was very little insulation between this property and the one above it. The family renting the unit above us had many children running overhead. We could hear them and also could hear someone's cell phone repeatedly dinging at 4:00 am. So while it was clean and the rental property management company was great to work with, I still hesitate to recommend this property because of location and noise levels. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Friday, November 16, 2018 Hi Donna, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback on our property. We are sorry for any inconvenience you encountered while here. Thank you so much for staying with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time. The TurnKey VR Team
- Donna L L.
Reviewed On: 11/15/2018
BLACK MOLD/ NOXIOUS ODOR The house was clean and neat. However if you plan on showering or bathing during your stay....LOOK ELSEWHERE! It would appear that large chunks of grout is missing in the tile at the bottom of the shower. As soon as you turn the water on, HORRIBLE, noxious odors fill the house. Clearly water is getting underneath the tile floor and black mold is festering. We booked for 6 days but could only handle the odor (and not showering) for 3 days and we had to check out early. We notified the company via text and email but their response was “sorry for the inconvienece and they were sending a local team to check it out”. We asked that they refund us 2 nights because we had to pay for lodging elsewhere, again their response was “sorry for any inconvienece, and that they were sending a local team to look into it”. It’s now been almost two weeks since we left, they have not provided a refund or given us any type of validation to our complaint. Highly unsatisfied. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, February 20, 2019 Hi Deanna, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback, and we’re sorry to hear your experience with us was not as great as it should have been. Here at TurnKey, your feedback is highly valued, and we try our best to make things right in any way we can so that our guests know that our priority is their ultimate satisfaction. Our local Field Operations Team has thoroughly inspected and tested both showers in the home and confirmed that there is no noxious odors or mold present at this time. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
- Deanna B.
Reviewed On: 1/15/2019
Great Location Really nice condo right on the way to Canyons, Park City, or Deer Valley. It is right outside of Kimball Junction so the stores and restaurants are all really closed. Club house was right across the street and it had a very nice pool and hot tub.
- Erik F.
Reviewed On: 4/8/2019
Loved our stay! We loved the condo and plan to come back again! It was clean, had plenty of space for our family of six and everything we needed to enjoy our stay.
- Jill H.
Reviewed On: 7/25/2019
Return to Park City! Great condo! Clean and updated, nice furnishings, secure parking. Loved how close to clubhouse/amenities,nearby shopping and restaurants. Highly recommend unique dining experience at Shabu Shabu and wonderful ambience at High West (get your reservation early). Guided bike tour of area was a highlight.
- sally s.
Reviewed On: 10/9/2017
Great unit Everything was great. Even a semi-stocked kitchen! The only negative was the 10-digit code required for the front door; and, the fact that you need to use the code for both unlocking and locking. I finally had it memorized on the last day we were there, but then it wouldn't work to lock the door. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Friday, January 5, 2018 Gene, Thank you so much for your review and helpful feedback! We’re so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will follow-up to have the lock inspected. Next time you stay with us, remember our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up. We want to make sure you’re as comfortable as you can be during your stay. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Gene B.
Reviewed On: 1/3/2018
Definitely recommend!!! Wonderful location, great accommodations, amenities and the staff was extremely helpful. The property was very clean and well-maintained.
Reviewed On: 1/30/2018
Relaxation Awesome place, clean neat beautiful bathrooms great living space, as good a mattress as I have slept on and great kitchen ....tv was perfect too...only thing is there is no tv in the bedrooms which I actually liked but it definitely is something most people expect....location is fine too if you don’t mind no ski in ski out thanks Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Saturday, January 27, 2018 Raphael, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your feedback and are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 1/26/2018
Park City Experience was excellent. We came to ski and the unit is conducive to that experience. A few garment hooks in the closet and a dresser or chest in the 2nd bedroom would have been nicer than living out of the suitcase for nearly a week. A second TV would have also been a nice touch. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, February 21, 2018 John, Thank you so much for your review and kind words about our property! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback and have shared it with the owner for consideration. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
- JOHN L.
Reviewed On: 2/20/2018
Park City Business Trip Fantastic!
- David W.
Reviewed On: 4/28/2018
Beautiful condo with plenty of room This location was quiet and perfect! Condo was nicely laid out with lots of nice sitting areas, updated kitchen, 2 Master Ensuites, both with soaking tub and walk-in shower, washer/dryer, My only suggestion would be to turn both area carpets in dining room and living room around as corner of both carpets were dangerously curled up. Someone could trip easily & a TV needs to be installed in the King Bedroom Suite. There was a nice big one in twin suite. The Schlag lock was very hard to use and battery in lock needed to be replaced. Several light bulbs were out in kitchen. Maintenance company very responsive and timely! Loved our stay! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Thursday, July 19, 2018 Hi Rochelle, Thank you so much for your review, and we’re happy to hear you had a great stay at our place! That being said, we apologize for any issues you encountered during your stay with us. It looks like we were able to send someone out to replace the burnt out bulbs along with the door lock battery, and we are so glad you called our 24/7 guest hotline to let us know about it. Please be assured that our local Operations Team will be looking into the rugs at the home to ensure any issues are addressed, if needed. Here at TurnKey, we value your feedback and your suggestion regarding the television will be passed along to the homeowner for consideration. You were perfect guests, and we hope to be able to host you again in the future! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 7/9/2018
Nice place Enjoyable. Liked location and layout of place and photos describe place well. Would recommend this place for small family or couples. Super convenient location in condo complex. Pool right across the street. <br/><br/>Minus - Underground parking in stall was very tight (short) for a standard pickup truck. Felt bad that everyone exiting had to drive around our vehicle to get out of parkade. Couldn`t connect to Wifi on arrival. Turnkey helped out with one day turnaround. Their temporary workaround worked fine for our stay. The ipad for rental information never worked (needed password to reset - minor concern). <br/><br/>Commments - place was basic clean for use. Could use an occasional deeper cleaning e.g. flies on window sills, wipe down of washing machine. Also would be nice to have an electric kettle instead of stove top one. Shower off of master dripped a little. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Monday, September 10, 2018 Hello Chris, Thank you so much for your review and helpful feedback! We’re so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will follow-up on the tablet as well as with our housekeeping team regarding your suggestions. You were perfect guests, and we appreciate you taking care of our place as if it were your own. Please come and stay again any time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 8/20/2018
Awesome summer! We had an awesome summer up in Park City with our two boys. We loved the beautiful and clean furnished condo, pool access, and close proximity to trails and parks. It was also nice to get out of the hot weather in SLC for the summer! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, September 9, 2015 Hi Jessie, thanks for the kind words. We're glad you and your boys enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests and we can't wait to hear from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 9/7/2015
Park City Adventure We loved our stay and plan to stay here again next year! The condo was a perfect size for my family... we were just a hop, skip and a jump away from town. It had everything we needed to make our stay easy and enjoyable! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Sunday, January 31, 2016 Hi Kelly, thank you so much. We're glad you and your family had a good time with us in Park City and we look forward to hearing from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Kelly F.
Reviewed On: 1/27/2016
Great Unit; Disappointed with Management Company The condo was in great condition and perfectly met our needs. It is a short drive to the ski resorts, and the Newpark development is very close, with a grocery store and plenty of restaurants. Our only complaint with the rental is that we had some communication issues with the management company. One of the nights, we were up from about 3 am to 4 am due to an issue with a fire alarm that would not stop beeping. We informed the management company that we were unable to resolve the issue, and recommended that they include a manual and spare batteries in the condo, in case this issue arises again. Unfortunately, we received no response from the management company (we were at the condo in mid-February), and we did not have a working fire alarm in one of the bedrooms for the remainder of our stay. Secondly, we were provided an incorrect access code to the ski closet in the garage. The management company was able to provide the correct information after a couple phone calls, and was pleasant and helpful during this time, so this part is only a minor issue. In sum, everything about the condo was great, although we were disappointed about the management company's lack of response to the fire alarm issue. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Saturday, March 12, 2016 Hi Alex, thanks for the kind words and helpful feedback. We apologize for our communication breakdown. We pride ourselves on our availability and great response, so we're looking into it to find out where we went wrong. You were perfect guests and we look forward to hearing from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Alex K.
Reviewed On: 3/10/2016
Super Bowl Weekend rental The rental process was handled very well, and Turn Key was very responsive with our questions and concerns (minor) Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Saturday, March 5, 2016 Thanks Sharon! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hearing from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
- SHARON T.
Reviewed On: 2/25/2016
Great Trip Awesome! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, March 2, 2016 Thanks Roland! You were a great guest and we look forward to hearing from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Roland Q.
Reviewed On: 2/21/2016
Girls weekend getaway Great condo, best location! Right across from pool.
Reviewed On: 7/25/2017
Great place We had a great time. Loved the location. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, May 24, 2017 Jana, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 5/23/2017
Perfection! My family and I stayed for a week in July. I honestly could not have asked for a better place! Mountain atmosphere from the moment you arrive! EVERYTHING was high quality! We loved Olympic park, hiking, shopping and just relaxing.
Reviewed On: 8/2/2017
My family and I stayed for a week in July. I honestly could not have asked for a better place! Mountain atmosphere from the moment you arrive! EVERYTHING was high quality! We loved Olympic park, hiking, shopping and just relaxing.
Reviewed On: 8/2/2017
Great condo, best location! Right across from pool.
Reviewed On: 7/25/2017
We had a great time. Loved the location.
Reviewed On: 5/23/2017
The condo was in great condition and perfectly met our needs. It is a short drive to the ski resorts, and the Newpark development is very close, with a grocery store and plenty of restaurants. Our only complaint with the rental is that we had some communication issues with the management company. One of the nights, we were up from about 3 am to 4 am due to an issue with a fire alarm that would not stop beeping. We informed the management company that we were unable to resolve the issue, and recommended that they include a manual and spare batteries in the condo, in case this issue arises again. Unfortunately, we received no response from the management company (we were at the condo in mid-February), and we did not have a working fire alarm in one of the bedrooms for the remainder of our stay. Secondly, we were provided an incorrect access code to the ski closet in the garage. The management company was able to provide the correct information after a couple phone calls, and was pleasant and helpful duri
Reviewed On: 3/10/2016
The rental process was handled very well, and Turn Key was very responsive with our questions and concerns (minor)
Reviewed On: 2/25/2016
Awesome!
Reviewed On: 2/21/2016
We loved our stay and plan to stay here again next year! The condo was a perfect size for my family... we were just a hop, skip and a jump away from town. It had everything we needed to make our stay easy and enjoyable!
Reviewed On: 1/27/2016
We had an awesome summer up in Park City with our two boys. We loved the beautiful and clean furnished condo, pool access, and close proximity to trails and parks. It was also nice to get out of the hot weather in SLC for the summer!
Reviewed On: 9/7/2015

Listing History

  • This property owner/manager has been registered with Owner Direct since Jun 29, 2016.
  • This owner / manager has completed 285 successful bookings in total for all their properties through Owner Direct.com
  • The availability for this property was last updated on Feb 10, 2020
  • The rates for this property were last updated on Jun 29, 2016
  • This owner's contact information has been verified by Owner Direct and past guests.

OwnerDirect.com - Superior Full Service

  • You're never alone with Owner Direct. Friendly service coast to coast available every day of the year.
  • You immediately know the price for your requested dates/occupants.
  • More photos (with descriptive captions) per property.
  • Extensive information is provided for every property, always in the same format, to save you time
  • We answer all of your questions quickly with our very comprehensive site and responsive customer service.
  • We offer a 24 hr grace period for both parties to communicate and confirm all details of a booking.

Web Directories - Our Competitors

  • A lot of your time is wasted filling out forms and waiting for replies from multiple vacation rental owners. Many busy owners never reply.
  • The price shown always changes, you have to calculate it yourself and often changes once you communicate with the owner.
  • Most owners do not take the time to provide complete information on listings, so you waste time having to ask questions and wait for responses.
  • In a nutshell, "Web Directories" are cumbersome and time consuming, and if you have a problem, you are on your own.

2BR/2BA Spacious Park City Townhouse Steps from Pool & Hot Tub, Sleeps 6

ID 229422 - 4 beds (1 king, 2 queen and 1 other). Base rent is for 6 occupants.
Park City Lodging
Roomy, 2BR, 2BA Park City townhome located in the heart of Bear Hollow Village, with across-the-street access to the community pool and hot tub. Sleeps 8.. If a Park City getaway is calling your name this season, our 2-bedroom, 2-bath townhome, which sleeps up to 8 people, may be your ideal place to stay. We’re located in the heart of Bear Hollow Village, just across the street from the community Clubhouse. Come home after a day on the mountain and stroll across the street to the hot tub and pool.

To access the best of Park City, hop on the bus that stops right outside of Bear Hollow. Or take your car. You’re just a 10-minute drive from Park City Resort, 3 minutes from the Tanger Outlets, and 15 minutes from downtown Park City.

INSIDE THE TOWNHOUSE

Our townhome has 2 bedrooms, each on opposite sides of this spacious rental for enhanced privacy. Located through the main living area, the master bedroom has a dreamy king-sized bed and an attached bath with a shower and double vanity.

The 2nd bedroom, down the hall past the kitchen, has 2 queen-sized beds plus its own bathroom. And this bathroom is truly exceptional: you’ll find a jetted soaker tub and a separate walk-in amazing after the slopes or trails. This bathroom also has a double vanity so you don’t have to arm wrestle for sink space.

A third sleeping option is the fold-out sofa in the living area, which sleeps 2 more.

The living area is warmed by a gas fireplace and features plush furniture (including the sofa bed) for gathering around the flames. A mounted flat-screen TV means kids—and adults, for that matter!—won’t get bored in the evening. Access a balcony with seating for 5 through the sliding glass doors in the living area. From here, you can survey Bear Creek Village.

Adjacent to the living area is the high-top dining area for 6, right in view of the pines and mountains in the distance. Four more people can sit right next to the dining table at the kitchen bar.

The kitchen is also open to the rest of the space, and features top-of-the-line everything, like stainless steel appliances (including gas stove and dishwasher) and granite countertops. Whatever you need to cook and eat…utensils, small appliances, dishes, glasses…we likely have it.


THE LOCATION

If you like to be in the center of the action, this townhome is made for you. We’re located steps from the Clubhouse at Bear Hollow Village, so you have it easy when it comes to accessing the pool and hot tub. Or sit on your balcony and people watch.

Bear Hollow Village is also centrally located, just 10 minutes by car from Park City Mountain Resort and 15 minutes from the shops and dining downtown. Don’t feel like driving No problem—the free city bus stop is a 10 minute walk away.

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

We save your time and spare you the headaches!

We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Nearby and Recently Viewed Vacation Rentals

Pricing & Availability

to
Adults
Children (0-17)
Please select dates and occupants to view
Availability and Pricing
Mandatory
Taxes
Included
Excluded
First Payment, Charged Now
Second Payment, due by
Total Rent
(Damage/Security deposits not included)
Cancellation Policy
Total Rent

Rental Request & Questions

By requesting to book you agree to Owner Direct's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.
create an account?
  Help

Credit Card Details

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day
We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!
Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden
Timeout From:
Timeout To:

Experience the difference, no waiting
 
Toll Free USA, Canada
1.888.869.6377
Toll Free UK
0.800.249.4265
Toll Free Australia
1.800.150.197
International Rentals
1.250.469.9543