max 7 guests      3 bedrooms      2.5 bathrooms
  • Attractions Attributes
    • playground
  • Outside Attributes
    • Water Sports Gear
  • Kitchen Attributes
    • Full Kitchen
    • Refrigerator
    • Coffee Maker
    • Ice Maker
    • Microwave
    • Toaster
    • Cookware
    • Blender
    • Cooking Utensils
    • Dishwasher
    • Glassware
    • Stove / Oven
    • Silverware
    • Tea Kettle
    • gas burner
  • Living Attributes
    • Linens
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Ironing Board
    • High Speed Internet
    • Iron
    • Hair Dryer
    • Central Heat Only
    • Cable
    • DVD
  • Business Attributes
    • Nearby ATM
    • Nearby Internet Cafe
    • Nearby Bank
  • Convenience Attributes
    • Area FitnessCenter
    • Nearby Medical Services
    • Nearby Grocery
    • Movie Theatres
  • Culture Attributes
    • Recreation Center
    • Botanical Garden
  • Outdoor Attributes
    • Deck
    • Patio
    • Balcony
    • BBQ Grill
    • Gas Grill
    • Beach
    • Bicycles
    • Beach Toys
    • Beach Umbrella
  • Geographic Attributes
    • On Beach
    • Near Beach
    • On Bay or Sound
    • Close to Town
  • Entertainment Attributes
    • Cable TV
    • DVD Player
    • Wireless Internet
  • Children's amenities Attributes
    • Pack N Play
    • High Chair

Loading...

Terms

The Property Manager (hereafter referred to as "we", "us", or "our") provides rental management services on behalf of homeowners ("Owners") who rent their properties (including the associated fixtures and furnishings)(the “Home”) to guests (the "Guest" or "you") seeking accommodations on a short term or long term basis (collectively, the “Services”). We are the Owner's property manager and authorized agent, who will perform the Services related to your reservation. By using the Home and Services, you agree to comply with and be legally bound by the terms and conditions of this guest agreement (the "Agreement"). This Agreement only applies to short term rentals and not long term rentals, which will be governed by the specific terms of your lease agreement with us.

1. Policies: Please treat our Owner's Home with the care you would at your own home and abide by following policies:

*Behave as you would in any home in which you live, with respect for property and neighbors.
*Unless otherwise stated in the Home listing, you must be over the age of 25.
*You will be an occupant of the unit during the entire reserved period and other occupants of the Home during your stay will be family members, friends, responsible adults or children under direct adult supervision.
*Do not exceed the maximum occupancy of the Home.
*No parties, noise that can be heard beyond the home lot line or in adjacent units, or any illegal activity may occur at the Home.
*No pets are allowed unless otherwise noted for specific properties and where you have paid a pet fee in connection with your booking in advance of your reservation.
*No smoking is allowed in or around any Home.
*Check-in time is 3pm and check-out time is 10am - we will notify you via email in advance if early check-in or late check-out will be available.
*Please use common courtesy at the home by keeping it clean, reporting any problems or damages, washing dishes as used, taking garbage to the outside bins, leaving towels in the bathrooms and sheets in the bedrooms, and not re-arranging furniture.

2. Cleaning: Each home will be cleaned and inspected by third-party cleaning contractors after your departure. We ask you to help us enable the cleaning crews as much as possible. They will appreciate simple things like leaving the home tidy, running the dishwasher, starting to wash the towels, and taking out the trash.

3. Swimming Pools, Hot Tubs, or Beach: If the home that you have reserved includes a pool or hot tub, or is on a beach, these can all be obviously dangerous. Guests should observe and adhere to all rules and policies as posted at the home and supervise all children at all times. Lifeguards are not provided. Decks and patios can be slippery when wet and can result in injury to anyone who is not careful. Guest accept and assumes all risks involved in or related to the use of a pool, hot tub, beach and deck/patio areas.

4. Home Damage Waiver: Each guest will be offered an optional Damage Waiver that protects you against unintended damage done to the Property. This is not insurance, and the Damage Waiver does not apply to intentional damage done by the Guest or your guests, or excessive wear and tear due to parties, smoking, pets or otherwise, or additional cleaning charges due to stains or spills, or fines incurred by the police or HOA due to noise, excessive trash or parking, or damage over the purchased amounts of either $3,000 or $5,000. If Tenant does not wish to purchase this Damage Waiver, a security deposit of $3,000, $5,000, or greater depending on Property will be required at the time of booking. If a Home requires an additional security deposit, we will explain this to you before confirming a reservation. Guest acknowledges that any damage or fines not covered by the Damage Waiver or above the amount of any security deposit can be charged to Guest (and Guest’s card on file). The Damage Waiver can be purchased up to the day prior to your reservation but not after it has started. You do not have to purchase this Damage Waiver. Please contact the Property Manager directly at if you do not wish to purchase the Damage Waiver.

5. Excessive Wear and Tear, Noise and Occupancy: If excessive wear and tear is found for the Home, or additional cleaning is necessary due to spills, trash left on site, stains to furniture, carpeting, linens, paint, wallpaper, or flooring, Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest for additional fees. Tenant will be provided with a receipt for any additional fees incurred upon request or as required by local laws or regulations. If at any time the maximum number of the Home’s occupants is exceeded or if we receive information about excessive noise, the Property Manager has the right to evict Guest and all occupants immediately and to charge Guest a minimum service fee of $250 with no refund for the balance of the remaining reservation. If any sign of smoking is discovered Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. Unless the reservation for the Home specifically allows a pet, if any sign of a pet is discovered, then Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. The Property Manager will return any balance of a security deposit to Guest, less any charges or amounts owed by Guest, within fourteen (14) days after the end of the reservation or as otherwise required by local laws or regulations. Any charges owed by Guest may be charged by the Property Manager to Guest’s card on file in addition to seeking any relief provided by law.

6. Maintenance and Access: We have the right to enter the home at any time during guest stay and we will diligently attempt to address maintenance issues as they occur. This is an associated risk of renting a single family residence or condo. If a maintenance issue occurs that cannot be fixed in a reasonable amount of time, and significantly affects your stay; we reserve the right to refund at our discretion or offer to relocate you to another home.

7. Phone and Internet: Unless otherwise specified, all homes are equipped with a high-speed Wi-Fi connection where service is available and we will provide you with any required Wi-Fi passwords. We do not provide a land line phones for all homes and suggest that you please use your mobile phone or Wi-Fi enabled phone for calls.

8. Furnished Rental and Supplies: The Property Manager's properties are fully furnished properties that will include bedspreads, linens, blankets, pillows, towels, a fully equipped kitchen, TV, furnishings unless otherwise specified. A limited starter supply of paper products, bath and dish soap are provided, but will not be replaced if consumed during your stay so we recommend bringing additional personal items with you. Staples (salt, pepper, foils, wraps, etc) are generally stocked by the owner of the home, however the Property Manager cannot commit these supplies being present. Guest is responsible for replacing stocked items as they are consumed. If there is a special type of item you are accustomed to using please provide for those items by bringing them with you. Extra towels are always recommended for homes on the beach, or with a pool or hot tub.

9. Weather and Other Unforeseen Events: The Property Manager does not accept liability for any inconveniences arising from any temporary defects or stoppage in supply of water, gas, electricity or plumbing, damage caused by weather/road conditions, natural disasters, acts of God or other reasons beyond its control. No refunds will be given for any delays or cancellations due to such conditions. Travel Insurance is highly recommended for any stay.

10. Homeowners Association: The Property Manager cannot warrant the usability or condition of amenities provided through homeowner associations, including, but not limited to pools, hot tubs, club houses, tennis courts, golf facilities, and picnic & beach facilities.

11. Indemnity: Neither Owner nor the Property Manager assumes any liability for loss, theft, damage or injury to Guest, his/her guests or other occupants in the Home. The Guest, for himself/herself, his/her heirs, assignors, executors and administrators, fully releases and discharges Owner and the Property Manager from any and all claims, demands and causes of action by reason of any injury or whatever nature which has or have occurred, or may occur to the Guest, his/her guests or other occupants of the Home as a result of, or in connection with the occupancy of the Home and agrees to hold Owner and the Property Manager free and harmless of any claim or suit arising therefrom. In any action concerning the rights, duties or liabilities of the parties to this Agreement, or their principals, agents, successors or assignees the prevailing party shall be entitled to recover reasonable attorney fees and costs.

12. Sale Contingency: In the rare event the Home that that you have reserved is for sale, and/or is under a contract to sell, the Property Manager reserves the right to provide Guest with a comparable home at no additional cost to the Guest. Showings during occupancy are by appointment only at your prior approval.

13. Payment and Cancellations: We accept all major credit cards. For reservations made more than 30 days in advance, we only charge a deposit of 10% of the total reservation upon booking, with full payment due 30 days prior to check-in. For all reservations made within 30 days of check-in, we collect payment in full at the time of booking. All reservations which are made more than 10 days in advance are fully refundable if the guest cancels the reservation within 72 hours after the time of booking. After this cancellation period expires, all guest payments are non-refundable.

14. Other Terms and Conditions: Your booking is subject to the the Property Manager 's Terms, Privacy Policy and this Guest Agreement which can be found at /terms. Additionally, where specifically required by the terms of any applicable laws, regulations or Homeowner's Association rules (as determined by the Property Manager), then this Rental Agreement shall constitute a lease of the premises. If you would like to extend your reservation for additional dates, please call us for availability and pricing.

Payment Methods
Most major credit cards - Cash

Payment Balance
Balance and schedule of payments can be discussed the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Booking Cancellation Conditions
Cancellation policies can be discussed with the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Security or Damage Deposit
A refundable security/damage deposit will be required by the property manager.

Availability

Nightly rates shown do not include taxes, conditional rate adjustments or any applicable fees - request property or use rate calculator to obtain an accurate quote.

Nightly

2019

Rate Period Nightly
Oct 18 to Nov 26 Min Stay 2 nights 225 USD
Nov 27 to Nov 30 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 286 - 334 USD
Dec 1 to Dec 20 Min Stay 2 nights 276 - 330 USD
Dec 21 to Dec 31 Min Stay 3 nights 480 - 553 USD

2020

Rate Period Nightly
Jan 1 to Mar 6 Min Stay 2 nights 435 - 457 USD
Mar 7 to May 21 Min Stay 2 nights 447 - 481 USD
May 22 to May 24 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 588 - 599 USD
May 25 to Jun 11 Min Stay 7 nights 506 USD
Jun 12 to Jun 30 Min Stay 7 nights 529 USD
Jul 1 to Jul 5 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun) 580 - 584 USD
Jul 6 to Jul 26 Min Stay 7 nights 529 USD
Jul 27 to Sep 3 Min Stay 7 nights 529 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 6 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 585 - 599 USD
Sep 7 to Oct 15 Min Stay 2 nights 447 - 481 USD

Weekly

2019

Rate Period Weekly
Oct 18 to Nov 26 Min Stay 7 nights 1,590 - 1,882 USD
Nov 27 to Nov 30 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 2,044 - 2,309 USD
Dec 1 to Dec 20 Min Stay 7 nights 1,869 - 1,958 USD
Dec 21 to Dec 31 Min Stay 7 nights 3,549 - 3,784 USD

2020

Rate Period Weekly
Jan 1 to Mar 6 Min Stay 7 nights 3,006 - 3,064 USD
Mar 7 to May 21 Min Stay 7 nights 3,132 USD
May 22 to May 24 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 4,115 - 4,139 USD
May 25 to Jun 11 Min Stay 7 nights 3,544 USD
Jun 12 to Jun 30 Min Stay 7 nights 3,704 USD
Jul 1 to Jul 5 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun) 4,061 - 4,090 USD
Jul 6 to Jul 26 Min Stay 7 nights 3,704 USD
Jul 27 to Sep 3 Min Stay 7 nights 3,704 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 6 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 4,072 - 4,104 USD
Sep 7 to Oct 15 Min Stay 7 nights 3,132 USD

Long Term Stays

2019

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Oct 18 to Nov 26 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,499 - 7,957 USD
Nov 27 to Nov 30 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 30 9,430 - 11,354 USD
Dec 1 to Dec 20 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,779 - 7,939 USD
Dec 21 to Dec 31 Min Stay 30 nights 30 14,388 - 14,920 USD

2020

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Jan 1 to Mar 6 Min Stay 30 nights 30 12,101 - 12,123 USD
Mar 7 to May 21 Min Stay 30 nights 30 12,610 - 12,676 USD
May 22 to May 24 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 16,765 - 16,777 USD
May 25 to Jun 11 Min Stay 30 nights 30 14,359 - 14,371 USD
Jun 12 to Jun 30 Min Stay 30 nights 30 15,023 USD
Jul 1 to Jul 5 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 16,502 - 16,523 USD
Jul 6 to Jul 26 Min Stay 30 nights 30 14,996 USD
Jul 27 to Sep 3 Min Stay 30 nights 30 14,996 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 6 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 16,584 - 16,614 USD
Sep 7 to Oct 15 Min Stay 30 nights 30 12,610 - 12,676 USD

Verified vacation home reviews by real guests

All Owner Direct guest reviews posted are verified and confirmed individually by Owner Direct Vacation Rentals staff.

This property has no Owner Direct reviews yet.

Overall satisfaction (20 raters)
Property condition (20 raters)
Location (20 raters)
Cleanliness (20 raters)
Services from rental manager (20 raters)

The following review(s) were provided by the property manager.

Rooftop Deck was AMAZING We had a wonderful time in Mission Beach and enjoyed staying in the townhouse. It was well appointed and maintained well also. Easy check out and they allowed up to stay a little later, which was very kind. Easy to walk to all locations. We love Mission Beach and this weekend was no different. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, October 30, 2019 Hi Cherie, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience! We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the late check out that we were able to provide you all. You were the perfect guests, and we look forward to the next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Cherie T.
Reviewed On: 10/29/2019
Reunion We had a great stay. Fun roof top deck. Feedback would be that there was a pile of smoke detectors (not installed). Those should have been installed and fully functioning. Also our keypad did not work half-way through the stay. We called for support and they reset it but it also stopped working so had to use the garage for access. Otherwise great spot! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, October 23, 2019 Hi Jennifer, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we are glad to hear that you recommend our home! We were glad to help out when you contacted our 24/7 guest hotline regarding the access issues you experienced. We appreciate you taking care of our place. Our Field Operations Team will be following up to ensure the home receives the proper care and maintenance for future guests, including having all smoke detectors installed and functioning properly. Please do come back anytime! - The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 10/8/2019
Location Good House NOT The house was clean and maintained. It had the feel and the look of a motel 6. I would suggest you update and go through your kitchen. The Utensils were old and cheap. There was 6 spoons and 6 forks. The drawer was filthy and gross. There are 6 cups as well. It's a great place if you want something close to the beach and that's the most important thing and you don't care about anything else like bedspreads, condition of furniture or bed or dishes or anything in the house then this place is great. I don't think the pictures give an accurate reflection of the condition of the home. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, January 29, 2019 Hi Jeni, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed our home’s close proximity to the beach. That being said, we are sorry to hear about the issues you encountered and for any inconvenience this caused. At TurnKey, it's our highest priority to make sure our guests have the best experience possible, but if problems do arise, we try our very best to make things right in any way we can. It looks like we were able to send someone out to provide additional utensils, and we are so glad you called our 24/7 guest hotline to let us know about it. The homeowners have since updated the kitchen’s inventory with additional cooking items, and we will make sure your cleanliness concerns are addressed with Housekeeping. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
- Jeni B.
Reviewed On: 1/2/2019
We had a great vacation The house was clean, comfortable, and close to the beach. What else can one ask?
Reviewed On: 5/16/2019
SD Staycation We very much enjoyed the location of our rental unit and although not an extravagant place more than served our purpose. A big thumbs up to the Turnkey team for their promptness of service. Had a couple small issues/questions and they were right on top of things. Our out-of-town guests very satisfied with the experience. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, April 24, 2019 Hi Daniel, thank you so much for your review and kind words about our property! We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry to hear you faced some minor issues you faced but happy to hear that our team was able to assist. You were the perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Daniel E.
Reviewed On: 4/23/2019
Great Condo for a Family We enjoyed our stay. We had 5 family members from the age of 70-11 and everyone loved it. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed. The showers were great. The place did not have air conditioning, but all the windows opened to let in the beach breeze which made the unusually hot weather bearable. There was tons of beach items in the garage that we were able to use. The garage did not fit our large SUV, but there is a parking lot a very short walk from the condo. The only down sides were that several of the fans, vacuum, and toaster didn't work and the sink drains were very slow. Overall, a great place to stay. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, October 8, 2019 Hi Stephanie, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review! We’re so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We’re glad we were able to quickly resolve your issue after you called our 24/7 guest hotline. Please know that we’ve since addressed and resolved each issue you mentioned. You were the perfect guests, and we’re looking forward to hearing from you again! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Stephanie B.
Reviewed On: 8/13/2019
San Diego - Mission Bay Condo Great rental. Garage space was extremely tight (tiny alleys to drive down, took 3 of us to back a minivan into the garage space - one in front and one behind the minivan). They said that they have a high chair and pack n' play for our son. Both in good shape - pretty dirty, but we cleaned them off before using them. Overall, it was a good condo. Great location - only about a block away from the beach. I would recommend to anyone who wants to stay in San Diego. Great location. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Friday, October 20, 2017 Hi David, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
- David K.
Reviewed On: 10/19/2017
Location was great, Townhouse needs some help Ok, first overall our stay was really good. I can't say I would rent the unit again unless a few things were improved upon.<br/>1. Fix the fart fan in the master bathroom.<br/>2. Replace the futon/couch, presently that thing is miserable.<br/>3. Replace the living room table, I'm surprised that thing is still standing.<br/>4. Have Tech support go over the wiring and fix the internet and tv service. It was disconnected in multiple places when we arrived, taking a couple hours to investigate and get everything running. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, January 2, 2018 Hello Jerrad, Thank you so much for the review, and we are happy to hear that you had a good stay at our place. That being said, we do apologize if some inconveniences occurred and wish we had known during your stay so that we could have helped out. Here at TurnKey, it is our highest priority to make sure each guest has the best experience possible, and our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to help if anything comes up. Please know that we are looking into each issue you mentioned and will make repairs if needed. By the way, you were absolutely perfect guests, and we are hopeful to hear from you again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 12/31/2017
Nice home close to beach The home location was great. Just steps from the beach and strand walkway. Great restaurants and bars close by.<br/><br/>Our only negative comments would be the living room furniture. First there is not enough seating for 6. The futon and chair were incredibly uncomfortable. Although most time was spent outside at the end of the day one would expect a comfortable place to sit.<br/><br/>Still a nice home and great location <br/> Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, January 17, 2018 Hello Elizabeth, Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Here at TurnKey, your feedback is highly valued, and we try our best to make things right in any way we can so that our guests know that our priority is their ultimate satisfaction. Please be assured we are looking into the seating and will pass along this feedback to the homeowner. Thanks again for bringing these important issues to light, as it’s feedback like this that really makes a difference in how we move forward in offering the best service we possibly can to our guests and in keeping our properties in perfect shape. If there is anything else we can do for you, please reach out any time on our 24/7 guest hotline and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
- Elizabeth B.
Reviewed On: 1/15/2018
Nice townhome The house was very clean and the bed were all comfortable. Our only complaint was the living room furniture. It wasn’t comfortable at all so that was a bummer trying to watch tv while taking a break from being out doors. The sofa was the worst it was mostly a bed so my legs couldn’t reach the floor it was so long and weird. The coffee table was so flimsy barely touched it and it swayed . All the rooms had great furniture so it was weird that the living room had cheap furniture.<br/>The roof top was a great feature even if he had a small view of the beach mainly where ppl play volleyball. The location was okay it was all the way at the end of the beach so it was a little further walk to the water. <br/>We told the owner on our way out about how we didn’t like the sofa bed in the living room and she said they have new furniture so I guess we were unlucky with timing . I loved that it had a garage parking wish was perfect because it was so hard to find parking for other guest. This area is super packed with houses so cars are parked everywhere . Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Friday, February 16, 2018 Hi Katrina, Thank you for your review and helpful feedback! We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. That being said, we do apologize for any inconvenience caused by the living room furniture. Please know that the homeowner received your comments and has since purchased a new sofa and coffee table for the home. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we appreciate you taking care of our place as if it were your own. Please come stay again any time! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Katrina S.
Reviewed On: 2/13/2018
Great weekend spot steps from the beach! Great location! Place was spotless! Very responsive to questions. Garage was narrow but with some guidance, cars fit. Great rooftop view. Dryer squealed at first so air dry towels. Overall a great place and would recommend! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Friday, May 4, 2018 Hi Jacquelyn, Thank you for your review and helpful feedback! We’re so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that our local Field Operations Team is checking on the dryer and will make sure any issues are resolved if needed. Next time you stay with us, remember our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up. We want to make sure you’re as comfortable as you can be during your stay. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Jacquelyn B.
Reviewed On: 5/2/2018
Great Place for Family Getaway My family and I were able to really enjoy ourselves in this clean, accommodating and beautiful town home. We were looking for something just steps away from the beach and we certainly were not disappointed! We enjoyed our time and look forward to renting from TurnKey again. Thanks again for allowing us to stay with you!
Reviewed On: 6/5/2018
South Mission Beach We had a great time staying in this home. The rooftop deck was awesome for all of us. We loved the view and being able to see the sunset. Belmont Park was fun for the entire family, and an easy walk from this rental. Walking to the beach and playing in the surf was wonderful!
Reviewed On: 8/11/2018
Nice location The unit was very clean, decorated nicely, and was in a great location! And, the property management team was very responsive to requests.<br/><br/>The downside is the beds were not very comfortable, and, the kitchen utensils could use an upgrade. We were a family of 6, and there were barely enough to go around. Also, the dishwasher could use an upgrade as well! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, December 4, 2018 Hi James, thank you so much for the review and kind words about our property! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. While mattress preferences often vary greatly by person, we do apologize for any inconvenience this caused during your stay. Please let us assure you that we value your feedback, and your comment has been passed along to the homeowner as well as the recommendations of upgrading the kitchen utensils and dishwasher. You were perfect guests, and we appreciate you taking care of our place as if it were your own. Please come stay again any time! -The TurnKey VR Team
- James D.
Reviewed On: 11/26/2018
BEAUTIFUL!!! This was a fabulous place. We were here with our 2 kids and their spouses The view from the roof was amazing and the house itself was clean, neat and beautiful. We had a wonderful time and would consider this place again
- Brenda W.
Reviewed On: 8/2/2017
Perfect rental in a great location....but..... Not enough glasses<br/>air filter plugged. hasn't been changed in years<br/>Futon smelled like body sweat, accept pillows filthy.<br/> floors turned my families feet black<br/>kitchen cabinet knobs needed to be wiped clean with degreaser. sticky.<br/>non- stick bueno..get rid of the non stick.<br/>fans we filthy with other peoples hair and dirty<br/> Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, August 2, 2017 Hi Jeanette, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback, and we are so sorry to hear if your experience staying with us was not as great as it should have been. Here at TurnKey, we strive to offer impeccable customer service, and it is our hope that if anything at all comes up, guests are conveniently able to reach us 24 hours-a-day on our guest hotline. Unfortunately, we are only now learning of these problems, but wish we had known during your stay so we could have tried to help out then. Please be assured we are checking on everything you have mentioned and will make sure each issue is addressed. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
- Jeanette L.
Reviewed On: 7/30/2017
Great home The home was beautiful and was in a very convenient location. There were plenty of towels, linens, and kitchenware for guests to use. One thing that was not mentioned by other reviewers was that the home has no air conditioning. This was surprising to me because the internal temperature remained at a constant 80 degrees throughout the day even with all the windows open. I only found this out after calling the rental company to try to figure out how to adjust the thermostat. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, August 9, 2017 Cynthia, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your feedback and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 8/8/2017
Within Walking Dist. to Amazing Beach Cons:<br/>No A/C - stayed in July so it was very hot. Even with the windows open it was hard to get a breeze through the house. The commercial planes fly directly over this house from 6:30 am to 10:00 pm, so its a bit loud. There were floor fans move around, but not all of them worked, this place really needs ceiling fans. There were cracked tiles all over the floor and stairs. Parking in that garage is very difficult, I had rented a Dodge minivan and it barely fit. <br/>Pro:<br/>The location - w/100 feet of the most spacious part of Mission Beach, far less crowded than the beach near the boardwalk. The house was spacious, lots of room for all our guests. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Thursday, August 17, 2017 Hi Frenando, Thank you so much for the review and helpful feedback! We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will look into fans for the house and replacing the tiles that are cracked. Also, our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up, so please let us know next time if you need anything. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we look forward to having you stay again! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Fernando M.
Reviewed On: 8/14/2017
Would go again Being right on the beach is awesome. <br/> <br/>We ran into some problems with the fridge not working, which was a huge pain and one of the fans which is badly needed as the condo does not have AC did not work but was replaced. Obviously the refrigerator was not replaced and we had to put our food in a cooler so it wouldn't go bad...they were however accommodating in giving us a small discount. It is a little challenging to find and parking in the garage was a bit of a chore. We had a Toyota Highlander so a much smaller car would be more convenient. I enjoyed having towels, shampoo, detergent trash bags and toilet paper provided. They don't refill those things but we stayed for 3 full days and did not run out. We had two adults and three teenagers. They did not provide beach towels which would have been nice to know. We tried looking at Target but they were all sold out. We stayed first week of August. They did however have chairs, lots to choose from, a beach umbrella and boogie boards (about 4 of them). One bike which riding along the boardwalk would have been fun but didn't really want to ride by myself. The pillows were extremely out dated flat and old. To me that's pretty important as it can turn sleeping into a good or bad night. Overall we enjoyed our time and tried not to focus on the "issues" we were having. We love the beach and San Diego is a beautiful city. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Thursday, August 24, 2017 Hello Nicole, Thank you for this review! We're so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us but are sorry about that issue that came up. Hopefully the compensation we offered for the inconvenience helped. Since your stay, we have fixed that problem with the fridge and apologize again that we could not get to it while you were still at the property. By the way, we really appreciate your patience, and we hope to be able to host you again in the future! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 8/21/2017
Beach House Stay Great Location. One block over from the beach.
- Nancy H.
Reviewed On: 8/16/2017
Being right on the beach is awesome. <br/> <br/>We ran into some problems with the fridge not working, which was a huge pain and one of the fans which is badly needed as the condo does not have AC did not work but was replaced. Obviously the refrigerator was not replaced and we had to put our food in a cooler so it wouldn't go bad...they were however accommodating in giving us a small discount. It is a little challenging to find and parking in the garage was a bit of a chore. We had a Toyota Highlander so a much smaller car would be more convenient. I enjoyed having towels, shampoo, detergent trash bags and toilet paper provided. They don't refill those things but we stayed for 3 full days and did not run out. We had two adults and three teenagers. They did not provide beach towels which would have been nice to know. We tried looking at Target but they were all sold out. We stayed first week of August. They did however have chairs, lots to choose from, a beach umbrella and boogie boards (about 4 of them). On
Reviewed On: 8/21/2017
Great Location. One block over from the beach.
Reviewed On: 8/16/2017
Cons:<br/>No A/C - stayed in July so it was very hot. Even with the windows open it was hard to get a breeze through the house. The commercial planes fly directly over this house from 6:30 am to 10:00 pm, so its a bit loud. There were floor fans move around, but not all of them worked, this place really needs ceiling fans. There were cracked tiles all over the floor and stairs. Parking in that garage is very difficult, I had rented a Dodge minivan and it barely fit. <br/>Pro:<br/>The location - w/100 feet of the most spacious part of Mission Beach, far less crowded than the beach near the boardwalk. The house was spacious, lots of room for all our guests.
Reviewed On: 8/14/2017
The home was beautiful and was in a very convenient location. There were plenty of towels, linens, and kitchenware for guests to use. One thing that was not mentioned by other reviewers was that the home has no air conditioning. This was surprising to me because the internal temperature remained at a constant 80 degrees throughout the day even with all the windows open. I only found this out after calling the rental company to try to figure out how to adjust the thermostat.
Reviewed On: 8/8/2017
This was a fabulous place. We were here with our 2 kids and their spouses The view from the roof was amazing and the house itself was clean, neat and beautiful. We had a wonderful time and would consider this place again
Reviewed On: 8/2/2017
Not enough glasses<br/>air filter plugged. hasn't been changed in years<br/>Futon smelled like body sweat, accept pillows filthy.<br/> floors turned my families feet black<br/>kitchen cabinet knobs needed to be wiped clean with degreaser. sticky.<br/>non- stick bueno..get rid of the non stick.<br/>fans we filthy with other peoples hair and dirty<br/>
Reviewed On: 7/30/2017

Listing History

  • This property owner/manager has been registered with Owner Direct since Jun 29, 2016.
  • This owner / manager has completed 261 successful bookings in total for all their properties through Owner Direct.com
  • The availability for this property was last updated on Nov 08, 2019
  • The rates for this property were last updated on Nov 21, 2016
  • This owner's contact information has been verified by Owner Direct and past guests.

OwnerDirect.com - Superior Full Service

  • You're never alone with Owner Direct. Friendly service coast to coast available every day of the year.
  • You immediately know the price for your requested dates/occupants.
  • More photos (with descriptive captions) per property.
  • Extensive information is provided for every property, always in the same format, to save you time
  • We answer all of your questions quickly with our very comprehensive site and responsive customer service.
  • We offer a 24 hr grace period for both parties to communicate and confirm all details of a booking.

Web Directories - Our Competitors

  • A lot of your time is wasted filling out forms and waiting for replies from multiple vacation rental owners. Many busy owners never reply.
  • The price shown always changes, you have to calculate it yourself and often changes once you communicate with the owner.
  • Most owners do not take the time to provide complete information on listings, so you waste time having to ask questions and wait for responses.
  • In a nutshell, "Web Directories" are cumbersome and time consuming, and if you have a problem, you are on your own.

Unwind and Spread out

ID 231172 - 5 beds (2 queen, 2 single and 1 other). Base rent is for 7 occupants.
San Diego Vacation Rentals
Unwind and spread out in this roomy 3BR, 2.5BA (sleeps 7) San Diego townhouse, just one block to the sand and surf of Mission Beach. Claim your spot on the sundeck or unwind inside, surrounded by chic decor and large living spaces.. Unwind and spread out in this roomy 3BR, 2.5BA (sleeps 7) San Diego townhouse, just one block to the sand and surf of Mission Beach. Claim your spot on the sundeck or unwind inside, surrounded by chic decor and large living spaces.

INSIDE THE HOUSE

The townhome’s garage parking, a premium amenity in the area, is located around back off the main street. Extra guests can utilize the on-street parking in the area. Before you head down to the beach, grab a beach chair and umbrella from the garage. Boogie boards and other beach toys are also available to guests.

As you enter the front door into the foyer, head down to reach the garage or up to get to the main living area. The open floor plan allows the cook to be part of the action when in the kitchen. Prepping meals is easy thanks to a large L-shaped bar, full-size stainless steel appliances including a gas oven/stove and dishwasher, and granite counters.

Gather for meals and family time around the 4-person dining table. Extra guests can dine at the 4 barstools at the kitchen bar. The adjacent living room offers a 36” flat-screen TV for movie nights and a futon for both sitting and sleeping. A half bath is conveniently located right off the main living area.

On the main floor you’ll also find the 2nd bedroom featuring a queen bed, corner windows, large mirrored closet and extra dresser. Make your way up to the 3rd floor, where a washer and dryer save you from overpacking.

Ideal for kids, the 3rd bedroom has two twin beds and a large closet. Next door, the full bath features a single vanity, beach decor and walk-in shower with glass door.

Sleep tight in the master bedroom with queen bed, large closet and corner windows letting in lots of natural light. In the en-suite bath, guests enjoy a walk-in glass-door shower and single vanity with extra counter space over the toilet.

Your cup of coffee or glass of wine tastes even better outside on the 2nd floor balcony patio with bistro table and gas grill. Or, head up to the rooftop patio and take in the spectacular sunsets on the lounge chairs.

OUR LOCATION

Walk the block down to Mission Beach for swimming, sunbathing, fishing and picnicking. Mission Point Park (7 minutes on foot) offers a playground for the kids and great views of the water.

Great for the young and the young at heart, SeaWorld is a quick 11-minute drive across the Mission Bay channel. Take advantage of the incredible year-round weather in southern California and pay a visit to the Tecolote Canyon Park (15 minutes) for hiking.

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

We save your time and spare you the headaches!

We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Nearby and Recently Viewed Vacation Rentals

Pricing & Availability

to
Adults
Children (0-17)
Please select dates and occupants to view
Availability and Pricing
Mandatory
Taxes
Included
Excluded
First Payment, Charged Now
Second Payment, due by
Total Rent
(Damage/Security deposits not included)
Cancellation Policy
Total Rent
You wont be charged yet
🕔 24-Hour Confirmation

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day
We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!
Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden
Timeout From:
Timeout To:

Experience the difference, no waiting
 
Experience the difference, no waiting
Toll Free USA, Canada
1.888.869.6377
Toll Free UK
0.800.249.4265
Toll Free Australia
1.800.150.197
International Rentals
1.250.469.9543