max 10 guests      4 bedrooms      2 bathrooms
  • Kitchen Attributes
    • Full Kitchen
    • Refrigerator
    • Coffee Maker
    • Ice Maker
    • Microwave
    • Toaster
    • Cookware
    • Blender
    • Cooking Utensils
    • Pots / Pans
    • Dishwasher
    • Glassware
    • Stove / Oven
    • Silverware
    • Tea Kettle
    • gas burner
  • Living Attributes
    • Linens
    • Washer & Dryer
    • High Speed Internet
    • Fireplace
    • Hair Dryer
    • Central Heat Only
    • DVD
    • Games
  • Business Attributes
    • Nearby ATM
    • Nearby Post Office
    • Nearby Bank
  • Convenience Attributes
    • Area FitnessCenter
    • Nearby Medical Services
    • Nearby Grocery
    • Golf Course
  • Culture Attributes
    • Museums
    • Recreation Center
  • Outdoor Attributes
    • Deck
    • Balcony
    • Gas Grill
  • Geographic Attributes
    • Close to Town
    • Near Lake
    • Near Ski Resort
  • Entertainment Attributes
    • CD Player
    • DVD Player
    • Games
    • Wireless Internet
    • Books
    • Netflix
  • Children's amenities Attributes
    • Children's Toys
    • Children's Books

Loading...

Terms

The Property Manager (hereafter referred to as "we", "us", or "our") provides rental management services on behalf of homeowners ("Owners") who rent their properties (including the associated fixtures and furnishings)(the “Home”) to guests (the "Guest" or "you") seeking accommodations on a short term or long term basis (collectively, the “Services”). We are the Owner's property manager and authorized agent, who will perform the Services related to your reservation. By using the Home and Services, you agree to comply with and be legally bound by the terms and conditions of this guest agreement (the "Agreement"). This Agreement only applies to short term rentals and not long term rentals, which will be governed by the specific terms of your lease agreement with us.

1. Policies: Please treat our Owner's Home with the care you would at your own home and abide by following policies:

*Behave as you would in any home in which you live, with respect for property and neighbors.
*Unless otherwise stated in the Home listing, you must be over the age of 25.
*You will be an occupant of the unit during the entire reserved period and other occupants of the Home during your stay will be family members, friends, responsible adults or children under direct adult supervision.
*Do not exceed the maximum occupancy of the Home.
*No parties, noise that can be heard beyond the home lot line or in adjacent units, or any illegal activity may occur at the Home.
*No pets are allowed unless otherwise noted for specific properties and where you have paid a pet fee in connection with your booking in advance of your reservation.
*No smoking is allowed in or around any Home.
*Check-in time is 3pm and check-out time is 10am - we will notify you via email in advance if early check-in or late check-out will be available.
*Please use common courtesy at the home by keeping it clean, reporting any problems or damages, washing dishes as used, taking garbage to the outside bins, leaving towels in the bathrooms and sheets in the bedrooms, and not re-arranging furniture.

2. Cleaning: Each home will be cleaned and inspected by third-party cleaning contractors after your departure. We ask you to help us enable the cleaning crews as much as possible. They will appreciate simple things like leaving the home tidy, running the dishwasher, starting to wash the towels, and taking out the trash.

3. Swimming Pools, Hot Tubs, or Beach: If the home that you have reserved includes a pool or hot tub, or is on a beach, these can all be obviously dangerous. Guests should observe and adhere to all rules and policies as posted at the home and supervise all children at all times. Lifeguards are not provided. Decks and patios can be slippery when wet and can result in injury to anyone who is not careful. Guest accept and assumes all risks involved in or related to the use of a pool, hot tub, beach and deck/patio areas.

4. Home Damage Waiver: Each guest will be offered an optional Damage Waiver that protects you against unintended damage done to the Property. This is not insurance, and the Damage Waiver does not apply to intentional damage done by the Guest or your guests, or excessive wear and tear due to parties, smoking, pets or otherwise, or additional cleaning charges due to stains or spills, or fines incurred by the police or HOA due to noise, excessive trash or parking, or damage over the purchased amounts of either $3,000 or $5,000. If Tenant does not wish to purchase this Damage Waiver, a security deposit of $3,000, $5,000, or greater depending on Property will be required at the time of booking. If a Home requires an additional security deposit, we will explain this to you before confirming a reservation. Guest acknowledges that any damage or fines not covered by the Damage Waiver or above the amount of any security deposit can be charged to Guest (and Guest’s card on file). The Damage Waiver can be purchased up to the day prior to your reservation but not after it has started. You do not have to purchase this Damage Waiver. Please contact the Property Manager directly at if you do not wish to purchase the Damage Waiver.

5. Excessive Wear and Tear, Noise and Occupancy: If excessive wear and tear is found for the Home, or additional cleaning is necessary due to spills, trash left on site, stains to furniture, carpeting, linens, paint, wallpaper, or flooring, Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest for additional fees. Tenant will be provided with a receipt for any additional fees incurred upon request or as required by local laws or regulations. If at any time the maximum number of the Home’s occupants is exceeded or if we receive information about excessive noise, the Property Manager has the right to evict Guest and all occupants immediately and to charge Guest a minimum service fee of $250 with no refund for the balance of the remaining reservation. If any sign of smoking is discovered Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. Unless the reservation for the Home specifically allows a pet, if any sign of a pet is discovered, then Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. The Property Manager will return any balance of a security deposit to Guest, less any charges or amounts owed by Guest, within fourteen (14) days after the end of the reservation or as otherwise required by local laws or regulations. Any charges owed by Guest may be charged by the Property Manager to Guest’s card on file in addition to seeking any relief provided by law.

6. Maintenance and Access: We have the right to enter the home at any time during guest stay and we will diligently attempt to address maintenance issues as they occur. This is an associated risk of renting a single family residence or condo. If a maintenance issue occurs that cannot be fixed in a reasonable amount of time, and significantly affects your stay; we reserve the right to refund at our discretion or offer to relocate you to another home.

7. Phone and Internet: Unless otherwise specified, all homes are equipped with a high-speed Wi-Fi connection where service is available and we will provide you with any required Wi-Fi passwords. We do not provide a land line phones for all homes and suggest that you please use your mobile phone or Wi-Fi enabled phone for calls.

8. Furnished Rental and Supplies: The Property Manager's properties are fully furnished properties that will include bedspreads, linens, blankets, pillows, towels, a fully equipped kitchen, TV, furnishings unless otherwise specified. A limited starter supply of paper products, bath and dish soap are provided, but will not be replaced if consumed during your stay so we recommend bringing additional personal items with you. Staples (salt, pepper, foils, wraps, etc) are generally stocked by the owner of the home, however the Property Manager cannot commit these supplies being present. Guest is responsible for replacing stocked items as they are consumed. If there is a special type of item you are accustomed to using please provide for those items by bringing them with you. Extra towels are always recommended for homes on the beach, or with a pool or hot tub.

9. Weather and Other Unforeseen Events: The Property Manager does not accept liability for any inconveniences arising from any temporary defects or stoppage in supply of water, gas, electricity or plumbing, damage caused by weather/road conditions, natural disasters, acts of God or other reasons beyond its control. No refunds will be given for any delays or cancellations due to such conditions. Travel Insurance is highly recommended for any stay.

10. Homeowners Association: The Property Manager cannot warrant the usability or condition of amenities provided through homeowner associations, including, but not limited to pools, hot tubs, club houses, tennis courts, golf facilities, and picnic & beach facilities.

11. Indemnity: Neither Owner nor the Property Manager assumes any liability for loss, theft, damage or injury to Guest, his/her guests or other occupants in the Home. The Guest, for himself/herself, his/her heirs, assignors, executors and administrators, fully releases and discharges Owner and the Property Manager from any and all claims, demands and causes of action by reason of any injury or whatever nature which has or have occurred, or may occur to the Guest, his/her guests or other occupants of the Home as a result of, or in connection with the occupancy of the Home and agrees to hold Owner and the Property Manager free and harmless of any claim or suit arising therefrom. In any action concerning the rights, duties or liabilities of the parties to this Agreement, or their principals, agents, successors or assignees the prevailing party shall be entitled to recover reasonable attorney fees and costs.

12. Sale Contingency: In the rare event the Home that that you have reserved is for sale, and/or is under a contract to sell, the Property Manager reserves the right to provide Guest with a comparable home at no additional cost to the Guest. Showings during occupancy are by appointment only at your prior approval.

13. Payment and Cancellations: We accept all major credit cards. For reservations made more than 30 days in advance, we only charge a deposit of 10% of the total reservation upon booking, with full payment due 30 days prior to check-in. For all reservations made within 30 days of check-in, we collect payment in full at the time of booking. All reservations which are made more than 10 days in advance are fully refundable if the guest cancels the reservation within 72 hours after the time of booking. After this cancellation period expires, all guest payments are non-refundable.

14. Other Terms and Conditions: Your booking is subject to the the Property Manager 's Terms, Privacy Policy and this Guest Agreement which can be found at /terms. Additionally, where specifically required by the terms of any applicable laws, regulations or Homeowner's Association rules (as determined by the Property Manager), then this Rental Agreement shall constitute a lease of the premises. If you would like to extend your reservation for additional dates, please call us for availability and pricing.

Payment Methods
Most major credit cards - Cash

Payment Balance
Balance and schedule of payments can be discussed the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Booking Cancellation Conditions
Cancellation policies can be discussed with the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Security or Damage Deposit
A refundable security/damage deposit will be required by the property manager.

Availability

Nightly rates shown do not include taxes, conditional rate adjustments or any applicable fees - request property or use rate calculator to obtain an accurate quote.

Nightly

2019

Rate Period Nightly
Jul 7 to Aug 29 Min Stay 2 nights 216 USD
Aug 30 to Sep 1 Min Stay 2 nights 251 USD
Sep 2 to Nov 26 Min Stay 2 nights 251 USD
Nov 27 to Nov 30 Min Stay 4 nights 267 - 268 USD
Dec 1 to Dec 19 Min Stay 2 nights 251 - 284 USD
Dec 20 to Dec 26 Min Stay 4 nights 746 - 761 USD
Dec 27, 2019 to Jan 4, 2020 Min Stay 4 nights 841 - 866 USD

2020

Rate Period Nightly
Jan 5 to Jan 16 Min Stay 3 nights 244 - 312 USD
Jan 17 to Jan 19 Min Stay 4 nights 346 - 353 USD
Jan 20 to Feb 13 Min Stay 3 nights 244 - 312 USD
Feb 14 to Feb 16 Min Stay 4 nights 361 - 371 USD
Feb 17 to Mar 31 Min Stay 3 nights 244 - 330 USD
Apr 1 to May 21 Min Stay 2 nights 251 USD
May 22 to May 24 Min Stay 3 nights 274 - 277 USD
May 25 to Jun 18 Min Stay 2 nights 251 - 327 USD
Jun 19 to Jun 25 Min Stay 2 nights 364 - 423 USD
Jun 26 to Jul 5 Min Stay 4 nights 532 USD
Jul 6 to Jul 31 Min Stay 2 nights 364 - 423 USD

Weekly

2019

Rate Period Weekly
Jul 7 to Aug 29 Min Stay 7 nights 1,523 - 1,706 USD
Aug 30 to Sep 1 Min Stay 7 nights 1,706 USD
Sep 2 to Nov 26 Min Stay 7 nights 1,706 USD
Nov 27 to Nov 30 Min Stay 7 nights 1,865 - 1,869 USD
Dec 1 to Dec 19 Min Stay 7 nights 1,773 - 1,868 USD
Dec 20 to Dec 26 Min Stay 7 nights 5,220 - 5,337 USD
Dec 27, 2019 to Jan 4, 2020 Min Stay 7 nights 5,659 - 6,056 USD

2020

Rate Period Weekly
Jan 5 to Jan 16 Min Stay 7 nights 1,910 USD
Jan 17 to Jan 19 Min Stay 7 nights 2,440 - 2,442 USD
Jan 20 to Feb 13 Min Stay 7 nights 1,910 USD
Feb 14 to Feb 16 Min Stay 7 nights 2,545 - 2,549 USD
Feb 17 to Mar 31 Min Stay 7 nights 1,910 - 2,011 USD
Apr 1 to May 21 Min Stay 7 nights 1,706 USD
May 22 to May 24 Min Stay 7 nights 1,922 - 2,026 USD
May 25 to Jun 18 Min Stay 7 nights 1,915 - 2,012 USD
Jun 19 to Jun 25 Min Stay 7 nights 2,689 - 2,915 USD
Jun 26 to Jul 5 Min Stay 7 nights 3,631 - 3,712 USD
Jul 6 to Jul 31 Min Stay 7 nights 2,698 - 2,828 USD

Long Term Stays

2019

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Jul 7 to Aug 29 Min Stay 30 nights 30 9,282 - 9,568 USD
Aug 30 to Sep 1 Min Stay 30 nights 30 6,734 USD
Sep 2 to Nov 26 Min Stay 30 nights 30 6,734 USD
Nov 27 to Nov 30 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,797 - 8,030 USD
Dec 1 to Dec 19 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,307 - 7,815 USD
Dec 20 to Dec 26 Min Stay 30 nights 30 19,292 - 19,825 USD
Dec 27, 2019 to Jan 4, 2020 Min Stay 30 nights 30 22,119 - 22,554 USD

2020

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Jan 5 to Jan 16 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,266 - 7,805 USD
Jan 17 to Jan 19 Min Stay 30 nights 30 9,802 - 9,812 USD
Jan 20 to Feb 13 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,383 - 7,856 USD
Feb 14 to Feb 16 Min Stay 30 nights 30 10,156 - 10,186 USD
Feb 17 to Mar 31 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,612 - 8,088 USD
Apr 1 to May 21 Min Stay 30 nights 30 6,734 USD
May 22 to May 24 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,671 - 7,686 USD
May 25 to Jun 18 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,176 - 7,308 USD
Jun 19 to Jun 25 Min Stay 30 nights 30 10,144 - 10,407 USD
Jun 26 to Jul 5 Min Stay 30 nights 30 13,384 - 13,450 USD

All Owner Direct guest reviews posted are verified and confirmed individually by Owner Direct Vacation Rentals staff.

This property has no reviews yet.

Overall satisfaction (1 raters)
Property condition (1 raters)
Location (1 raters)
Cleanliness (1 raters)
Recommend to Others (1 raters)

The following review(s) were provided by the property manager.

Cute cabin happy we found it! The snow was amazing, this cute cabin had everything we needed. The heater works amazing and with all that snow it definitely kept me and my family toasty. The team is really helpful with any questions I had while we stayed. It is really conveniently located and would definitely rent it again as I have a large family and we all had more than enough space.
Reviewed On: 3/13/2019
Great house, great location My family and I enjoyed our comfortable stay here. Had some internet issues that were resolved within 3 hours. Turnkey was very responsive to the issue. I would stay here again.
Reviewed On: 6/19/2018
Some good, some bad. When we arrived the heat was off and the temperature inside the house was 40 degrees. Even after a whole day of the heat running, the temperature only got to 55. Eventually, after several days, it got to about 65 which at least was livable. It sucks that no one thought to turn on the heat to 60 before we got there. <br/><br/>There were also a lot of good things. The location was nice, close to the casinos and restaurants. The kitchen had a lot of appliances and very many utensils, so we made quite a few meals there. <br/> Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, January 23, 2018 Hi Michael, Thank you so much for your review, and we’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our place! That being said, we do apologize for the low temperature in the home upon arrival and for any inconvenience this caused as well. At TurnKey, it’s our highest priority to make sure our guests have the best experience possible, but if problems do arise, we try our very best to make things right in any way we can. It looks like we were able to send someone out to deliver some portable heaters, and we are so glad you called our 24/7 guest hotline to let us know about it. Please be assured we are also following up with our local Field Operations Team to make sure the home is at a more comfortable temperature upon arrival. Thanks again for your patience and for being absolutely perfect guests. We look forward to you staying with us again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 1/21/2018
Mice issues House location is perfect, size is perfect, decoration is nice and furniture is adequate. our stay was going perfect the first night, until the second night we found out that there were mice in the house. We originally thought it was one but saw at least 2. We found droppings by our grocery shopping and one of the people in our people saw one of the mice munching into an unopened bag of peanuts he had next to her backpack. <br/>Pretty gross experience. We asked for a refund and only got the cost of the nights back. We were still charged for the cleaning fees, etc. I honestly think we should have been refunded for the entire duration of our trip. Anyways until they can control their pest problem, stay out of this property. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, August 16, 2017 Hi Alex, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback, and we are so sorry to hear if your experience staying with us was not as great as it should have been. Please be assured we have routine pest control scheduled and are working closely with them to ensure all mice are removed from the home. Here at TurnKey, your feedback is highly valued, and we try our best to make things right in any way we can so that our guests know that our priority is their ultimate satisfaction. Hopefully the compensation we offered for the inconvenience helped. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 8/11/2017
Great place to stay! When we arrived, it was a little difficult getting into the lock box since the number they provided was incorrect. Once inside, it was very clean and homey looking. The house is a part of a residential area but had a cabin feel. I was very pleased with the house and would recommend to any family vacationing. It was a bit far to the lake and to the casinos, but overall it was a pleasant place to stay for the weekend. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, September 6, 2017 Hello Kayla, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your feedback and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 9/5/2017
Memorial Day without a BBQ The house was clean; however, it had it's issues. The first issue was the bbq. Bbq was not clean and didn't work. Can you imagine a holiday weekend without a bbq. Next was the remotes for the tv's without batteries for 2 days. The next issue was the fireplace that didn't work. Having brought these issues to the attention of turnkey; it took 2 days to address all but the bbq. The bbq still wasn't addressed. Overall I would rate this trip a 2 out of 5. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, June 5, 2018 Hi Dwayne, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are sorry to hear about the issues you encountered and for any inconvenience this caused. At TurnKey, it’s our highest priority to make sure our guests have the best experience possible, but if problems do arise, we try our very best to make things right in any way we can. It looks like we were able to send someone out to deliver new batteries for the TV remotes and fix the fireplace, and we are so glad you called our 24/7 guest hotline to let us know about it. While it appears that we were able to help you manually light each of the burners, please know that the homeowner has since purchased a new BBQ for the home. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out any time and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 5/31/2018
Hank Monk house review Location of the house was close to amenities and easily accessible. Size of the home easily accommodated our family. Upon arrival the fireplace had been left on and the house was very hot. We found black ants and mouse droppings on the kitchen counter. Needed to buy a citronella candle for mosquitoes in the house due to holes in screens. A mouse shared the house with us the last night of our stay. We saw it run downstairs. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Friday, August 4, 2017 Debbie, Thank you so much for the review, and we are happy to hear that you had a great stay at our place. That being said, we do apologize if some inconveniences occurred and wish we had known during your stay so that we could have helped out. Here at TurnKey, it is our highest priority to make sure each guest has the best experience possible, and our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to help if anything comes up. We again sincerely apologize and want to assure you that this issue is being addressed by a professional exterminator. By the way, you were absolutely perfect guests, and we are hopeful to hear from you again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 8/1/2017
Cute house, with some flaws The house was cute and pretty comfortable. I don't think we'd stay there again, though. We couldn't turn on the fireplace, the grill was filthy and one of the bedrooms was actually in one of the bathrooms, which was really awkward and uncomfortable for some of our guests. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Thursday, June 29, 2017 Hi Tracey, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience. Please let us assure you that we will check on the fireplace to make sure it is working properly and have the grill cleaned, as well. Also, our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up, so please let us know next time if you need anything. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 6/27/2017
Good stay Good experience. House met our needs. Nice kitchen, well equipped. Gas BBQ did not work, was a disappointment. Screens in poor condition which let bugs in, and it was hot so we had windows open. A mouse was running around the house and jumped into our lap.. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Thursday, July 20, 2017 Hi Claudia, Thank you so much for the review, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our place. That being said, we do apologize if some inconveniences occurred and wish we had known during your stay so that we could have helped out. Here at TurnKey, it is our highest priority to make sure each guest has the best experience possible, and our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to help if anything comes up. Please be assured we are checking on everything you have mentioned and will make sure each issue is addressed. By the way, you were absolutely perfect guests, and we are hopeful to hear from you again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 7/17/2017
When we arrived, it was a little difficult getting into the lock box since the number they provided was incorrect. Once inside, it was very clean and homey looking. The house is a part of a residential area but had a cabin feel. I was very pleased with the house and would recommend to any family vacationing. It was a bit far to the lake and to the casinos, but overall it was a pleasant place to stay for the weekend.
Reviewed On: 9/5/2017
House location is perfect, size is perfect, decoration is nice and furniture is adequate. our stay was going perfect the first night, until the second night we found out that there were mice in the house. We originally thought it was one but saw at least 2. We found droppings by our grocery shopping and one of the people in our people saw one of the mice munching into an unopened bag of peanuts he had next to her backpack. <br/>Pretty gross experience. We asked for a refund and only got the cost of the nights back. We were still charged for the cleaning fees, etc. I honestly think we should have been refunded for the entire duration of our trip. Anyways until they can control their pest problem, stay out of this property.
Reviewed On: 8/11/2017
Location of the house was close to amenities and easily accessible. Size of the home easily accommodated our family. Upon arrival the fireplace had been left on and the house was very hot. We found black ants and mouse droppings on the kitchen counter. Needed to buy a citronella candle for mosquitoes in the house due to holes in screens. A mouse shared the house with us the last night of our stay. We saw it run downstairs.
Reviewed On: 8/1/2017
Good experience. House met our needs. Nice kitchen, well equipped. Gas BBQ did not work, was a disappointment. Screens in poor condition which let bugs in, and it was hot so we had windows open. A mouse was running around the house and jumped into our lap..
Reviewed On: 7/17/2017
The house was cute and pretty comfortable. I don't think we'd stay there again, though. We couldn't turn on the fireplace, the grill was filthy and one of the bedrooms was actually in one of the bathrooms, which was really awkward and uncomfortable for some of our guests.
Reviewed On: 6/27/2017

Listing History

  • This property owner/manager has been registered with Owner Direct since Jun 29, 2016.
  • This owner / manager has completed 239 successful bookings in total for all their properties through Owner Direct.com
  • The availability for this property was last updated on Aug 08, 2019
  • The rates for this property were last updated on Nov 30, 2016
  • This owner's contact information has been verified by Owner Direct and past guests.

OwnerDirect.com - Superior Full Service

  • You're never alone with Owner Direct. Friendly service coast to coast available every day of the year.
  • You immediately know the price for your requested dates/occupants.
  • More photos (with descriptive captions) per property.
  • Extensive information is provided for every property, always in the same format, to save you time
  • We answer all of your questions quickly with our very comprehensive site and responsive customer service.
  • We offer a 24 hr grace period for both parties to communicate and confirm all details of a booking.

Web Directories - Our Competitors

  • A lot of your time is wasted filling out forms and waiting for replies from multiple vacation rental owners. Many busy owners never reply.
  • The price shown always changes, you have to calculate it yourself and often changes once you communicate with the owner.
  • Most owners do not take the time to provide complete information on listings, so you waste time having to ask questions and wait for responses.
  • In a nutshell, "Web Directories" are cumbersome and time consuming, and if you have a problem, you are on your own.

Get Outside & Play

ID 231423 - 6 beds (2 king, 1 queen, 2 single and 1 double). Base rent is for 10 occupants.
South Lake Tahoe Vacation Rentals
Get outside & play at this 4BR, 2BA (sleeps 10) South Lake Tahoe home in a quiet neighborhood near Heavenly. A large enclosed yard is ideal for kids & pets. Lots of space inside, too, with a roomy kitchen and cozy living room. Great for multiple families.. Get outside and play at this 4BR, 2BA (sleeps 10) South Lake Tahoe home in a quiet neighborhood near Heavenly. A large enclosed yard is ideal for kids and pets. Lots of space inside, too, with a roomy kitchen and cozy living room.

INSIDE THE HOUSE

From the tree-lined road, turn into the driveway offering plenty of parking. Both the front and back yards are full enclosed, so you can feel comfortable letting your little ones or furry friends have their run of the entire place at this pet-friendly rental.

Push through the front gate and make your way onto the front porch with rustic wood railings and in through the front door. You’ll enter into the dining area, offering a table for 6 to gather for meals or game nights.

Cold evenings call for a cozy fire in the living room’s gas fireplace as you gather on the comfy couch and love seat. Claim one of the leather recliners and curl up with a good book or watch TV on the 37” flat-screen TV. This room seats 7 in total.

Flex those cooking muscles and feed your hungry crowd in the spacious kitchen, open to the dining area. Full-size appliances including stove/oven, fridge and dishwasher, plus ample counter space and extras like a coffee maker, toaster and blender make cooking a breeze.

Keep your outfits fresh during your stay thanks to the laundry room with washer and dryer just off the kitchen.

On the main floor, the 1st bedroom offers a queen bed, mountain bear motif and closet. The main floor bathroom has two sinks, plenty of counter space for primping and a tiled shower and tub combination.

Through the downstairs bathroom, you’ll find the 2nd bedroom, a great spot for kids to crash in the twin bed and twin-over-full bunk bed, both decked out with bear-themed linens.

Upstairs, guests in the 3rd bedroom are treated to a king bed, skylight window and access to a private balcony overlooking the backyard. The 4th bedroom has another king bed, closet and dresser for extra storage. Both rooms share a full bath with single vanity, tub and shower combination and skylight for natural light.

OUR LOCATION

When the slopes call your name, answer them on the incredible ski runs at Heavenly Mountain Resort (8 minutes). From skiing to snowboarding, Heavenly is great for beginners to advanced skiers and everyone in between.

If you’re feeling lucky, cross the state line and check out Harrah’s Lake Tahoe, Mont Bleu Casino or Hard Rock Casino, all just 10 minutes away.

In the summer, Timber Cove Marina (9 minutes) offers jet ski, boat and sail boat rentals for some fun in the sun. You can also test your bravery and try your hand parasailing or go on a high-speed boat adventure.

Amazing views await on any one of South Lake Tahoe’s hiking trails, many starting just out your back door. Washoe Meadows State Park (15 minutes) is a great place to begin your nature adventure.
Strict ordinances govern Lake Tahoe vacation rentals and cannot be used for any parties/weddings/receptions. Maximum allowable occupancy 10 people and 2 cars , enforced/patrolled 24 hours/day. Excessive noise or over-occupancy at any time of day will result in guest fine up to $2,000 (as well as any fines assessed against the homeowner). Failure to observe the NO PARTY policy will result in eviction. Sound-sensitive neighborhood. License#1513

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

We save your time and spare you the headaches!

We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Nearby and Recently Viewed Vacation Rentals

Pricing & Availability

to
Adults
Children (0-17)
Please select dates and occupants to view
Availability and Pricing
Mandatory
Taxes
Included
Excluded
First Payment, Charged Now
Second Payment, due by
Total Rent
(Damage/Security deposits not included)
Cancellation Policy
Total Rent
You wont be charged yet
🕔 24-Hour Confirmation

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day
We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!
Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden
Timeout From:
Timeout To:

Experience the difference, no waiting
 
Experience the difference, no waiting
Toll Free USA, Canada
1.888.869.6377
Toll Free UK
0.800.249.4265
Toll Free Australia
1.800.150.197
International Rentals
1.250.469.9543