max 12 guests      4 + 1 bedrooms      3 bathrooms
  • Kitchen Attributes
    • Full Kitchen
    • Refrigerator
    • Coffee Maker
    • Microwave
    • Cookware
    • Cooking Utensils
    • Pots / Pans
    • Dishwasher
    • Glassware
    • Stove / Oven
    • Silverware
  • Living Attributes
    • Linens
    • Washer & Dryer
    • High Speed Internet
    • Fireplace
    • Central Heat Only
    • Cable
    • DVD
  • Business Attributes
    • Nearby ATM
    • Nearby Post Office
    • Nearby Internet Cafe
    • Nearby FedEx
    • Nearby Bank
  • Convenience Attributes
    • Area FitnessCenter
    • Nearby Medical Services
    • Nearby Grocery
    • Movie Theatres
    • Golf Course
  • Culture Attributes
    • Museums
    • Recreation Center
    • Library
  • Outdoor Attributes
    • Deck
    • Gas Grill
    • Hot Tub
  • Geographic Attributes
    • Near Beach
    • Close to Town
    • Near Public Transportation
    • Near Lake
    • Near Ski Resort
  • Entertainment Attributes
    • Cable TV
    • Wireless Internet
    • HBO
    • Pool Table
    • Netflix
    • Ping Pong Table

Loading...

Terms

The Property Manager (hereafter referred to as "we", "us", or "our") provides rental management services on behalf of homeowners ("Owners") who rent their properties (including the associated fixtures and furnishings)(the “Home”) to guests (the "Guest" or "you") seeking accommodations on a short term or long term basis (collectively, the “Services”). We are the Owner's property manager and authorized agent, who will perform the Services related to your reservation. By using the Home and Services, you agree to comply with and be legally bound by the terms and conditions of this guest agreement (the "Agreement"). This Agreement only applies to short term rentals and not long term rentals, which will be governed by the specific terms of your lease agreement with us.

1. Policies: Please treat our Owner's Home with the care you would at your own home and abide by following policies:

*Behave as you would in any home in which you live, with respect for property and neighbors.
*Unless otherwise stated in the Home listing, you must be over the age of 25.
*You will be an occupant of the unit during the entire reserved period and other occupants of the Home during your stay will be family members, friends, responsible adults or children under direct adult supervision.
*Do not exceed the maximum occupancy of the Home.
*No parties, noise that can be heard beyond the home lot line or in adjacent units, or any illegal activity may occur at the Home.
*No pets are allowed unless otherwise noted for specific properties and where you have paid a pet fee in connection with your booking in advance of your reservation.
*No smoking is allowed in or around any Home.
*Check-in time is 3pm and check-out time is 10am - we will notify you via email in advance if early check-in or late check-out will be available.
*Please use common courtesy at the home by keeping it clean, reporting any problems or damages, washing dishes as used, taking garbage to the outside bins, leaving towels in the bathrooms and sheets in the bedrooms, and not re-arranging furniture.

2. Cleaning: Each home will be cleaned and inspected by third-party cleaning contractors after your departure. We ask you to help us enable the cleaning crews as much as possible. They will appreciate simple things like leaving the home tidy, running the dishwasher, starting to wash the towels, and taking out the trash.

3. Swimming Pools, Hot Tubs, or Beach: If the home that you have reserved includes a pool or hot tub, or is on a beach, these can all be obviously dangerous. Guests should observe and adhere to all rules and policies as posted at the home and supervise all children at all times. Lifeguards are not provided. Decks and patios can be slippery when wet and can result in injury to anyone who is not careful. Guest accept and assumes all risks involved in or related to the use of a pool, hot tub, beach and deck/patio areas.

4. Home Damage Waiver: Each guest will be offered an optional Damage Waiver that protects you against unintended damage done to the Property. This is not insurance, and the Damage Waiver does not apply to intentional damage done by the Guest or your guests, or excessive wear and tear due to parties, smoking, pets or otherwise, or additional cleaning charges due to stains or spills, or fines incurred by the police or HOA due to noise, excessive trash or parking, or damage over the purchased amounts of either $3,000 or $5,000. If Tenant does not wish to purchase this Damage Waiver, a security deposit of $3,000, $5,000, or greater depending on Property will be required at the time of booking. If a Home requires an additional security deposit, we will explain this to you before confirming a reservation. Guest acknowledges that any damage or fines not covered by the Damage Waiver or above the amount of any security deposit can be charged to Guest (and Guest’s card on file). The Damage Waiver can be purchased up to the day prior to your reservation but not after it has started. You do not have to purchase this Damage Waiver. Please contact the Property Manager directly at if you do not wish to purchase the Damage Waiver.

5. Excessive Wear and Tear, Noise and Occupancy: If excessive wear and tear is found for the Home, or additional cleaning is necessary due to spills, trash left on site, stains to furniture, carpeting, linens, paint, wallpaper, or flooring, Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest for additional fees. Tenant will be provided with a receipt for any additional fees incurred upon request or as required by local laws or regulations. If at any time the maximum number of the Home’s occupants is exceeded or if we receive information about excessive noise, the Property Manager has the right to evict Guest and all occupants immediately and to charge Guest a minimum service fee of $250 with no refund for the balance of the remaining reservation. If any sign of smoking is discovered Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. Unless the reservation for the Home specifically allows a pet, if any sign of a pet is discovered, then Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. The Property Manager will return any balance of a security deposit to Guest, less any charges or amounts owed by Guest, within fourteen (14) days after the end of the reservation or as otherwise required by local laws or regulations. Any charges owed by Guest may be charged by the Property Manager to Guest’s card on file in addition to seeking any relief provided by law.

6. Maintenance and Access: We have the right to enter the home at any time during guest stay and we will diligently attempt to address maintenance issues as they occur. This is an associated risk of renting a single family residence or condo. If a maintenance issue occurs that cannot be fixed in a reasonable amount of time, and significantly affects your stay; we reserve the right to refund at our discretion or offer to relocate you to another home.

7. Phone and Internet: Unless otherwise specified, all homes are equipped with a high-speed Wi-Fi connection where service is available and we will provide you with any required Wi-Fi passwords. We do not provide a land line phones for all homes and suggest that you please use your mobile phone or Wi-Fi enabled phone for calls.

8. Furnished Rental and Supplies: The Property Manager's properties are fully furnished properties that will include bedspreads, linens, blankets, pillows, towels, a fully equipped kitchen, TV, furnishings unless otherwise specified. A limited starter supply of paper products, bath and dish soap are provided, but will not be replaced if consumed during your stay so we recommend bringing additional personal items with you. Staples (salt, pepper, foils, wraps, etc) are generally stocked by the owner of the home, however the Property Manager cannot commit these supplies being present. Guest is responsible for replacing stocked items as they are consumed. If there is a special type of item you are accustomed to using please provide for those items by bringing them with you. Extra towels are always recommended for homes on the beach, or with a pool or hot tub.

9. Weather and Other Unforeseen Events: The Property Manager does not accept liability for any inconveniences arising from any temporary defects or stoppage in supply of water, gas, electricity or plumbing, damage caused by weather/road conditions, natural disasters, acts of God or other reasons beyond its control. No refunds will be given for any delays or cancellations due to such conditions. Travel Insurance is highly recommended for any stay.

10. Homeowners Association: The Property Manager cannot warrant the usability or condition of amenities provided through homeowner associations, including, but not limited to pools, hot tubs, club houses, tennis courts, golf facilities, and picnic & beach facilities.

11. Indemnity: Neither Owner nor the Property Manager assumes any liability for loss, theft, damage or injury to Guest, his/her guests or other occupants in the Home. The Guest, for himself/herself, his/her heirs, assignors, executors and administrators, fully releases and discharges Owner and the Property Manager from any and all claims, demands and causes of action by reason of any injury or whatever nature which has or have occurred, or may occur to the Guest, his/her guests or other occupants of the Home as a result of, or in connection with the occupancy of the Home and agrees to hold Owner and the Property Manager free and harmless of any claim or suit arising therefrom. In any action concerning the rights, duties or liabilities of the parties to this Agreement, or their principals, agents, successors or assignees the prevailing party shall be entitled to recover reasonable attorney fees and costs.

12. Sale Contingency: In the rare event the Home that that you have reserved is for sale, and/or is under a contract to sell, the Property Manager reserves the right to provide Guest with a comparable home at no additional cost to the Guest. Showings during occupancy are by appointment only at your prior approval.

13. Payment and Cancellations: We accept all major credit cards. For reservations made more than 30 days in advance, we only charge a deposit of 10% of the total reservation upon booking, with full payment due 30 days prior to check-in. For all reservations made within 30 days of check-in, we collect payment in full at the time of booking. All reservations which are made more than 10 days in advance are fully refundable if the guest cancels the reservation within 72 hours after the time of booking. After this cancellation period expires, all guest payments are non-refundable.

14. Other Terms and Conditions: Your booking is subject to the the Property Manager 's Terms, Privacy Policy and this Guest Agreement which can be found at /terms. Additionally, where specifically required by the terms of any applicable laws, regulations or Homeowner's Association rules (as determined by the Property Manager), then this Rental Agreement shall constitute a lease of the premises. If you would like to extend your reservation for additional dates, please call us for availability and pricing.

Payment Methods
Most major credit cards - Cash

Payment Balance
Balance and schedule of payments can be discussed the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Booking Cancellation Conditions
Cancellation policies can be discussed with the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Security or Damage Deposit
A refundable security/damage deposit will be required by the property manager.

Availability

Nightly rates shown do not include taxes, conditional rate adjustments or any applicable fees - request property or use rate calculator to obtain an accurate quote.

Nightly

2019

Rate Period Nightly
Jul 7 to Aug 29 Min Stay 2 nights 163 - 204 USD
Aug 30 to Sep 1 Min Stay 2 nights 320 - 339 USD
Sep 2 to Nov 26 Min Stay 2 nights 195 - 295 USD
Nov 27 to Nov 30 Min Stay 4 nights 453 - 485 USD
Dec 1 to Dec 19 Min Stay 2 nights 218 - 333 USD
Dec 20 to Dec 25 Min Stay 4 nights 736 - 753 USD
Dec 26, 2019 to Jan 4, 2020 Min Stay 4 nights 867 - 868 USD

2020

Rate Period Nightly
Jan 5 to Jan 16 Min Stay 3 nights 302 - 378 USD
Jan 17 to Jan 19 Min Stay 4 nights 488 - 501 USD
Jan 20 to Feb 13 Min Stay 3 nights 302 - 378 USD
Feb 14 to Feb 16 Min Stay 4 nights 507 - 525 USD
Feb 17 to Mar 31 Min Stay 3 nights 302 - 399 USD
Apr 1 to May 21 Min Stay 2 nights 241 - 333 USD
May 22 to May 24 Min Stay 3 nights 365 - 370 USD
May 25 to Jun 18 Min Stay 2 nights 310 - 510 USD
Jun 19 to Jun 25 Min Stay 2 nights 367 - 641 USD
Jun 26 to Jul 5 Min Stay 4 nights 709 USD
Jul 6 to Jul 31 Min Stay 2 nights 367 - 641 USD

Weekly

2019

Rate Period Weekly
Jul 7 to Aug 29 Min Stay 7 nights 1,152 - 1,362 USD
Aug 30 to Sep 1 Min Stay 7 nights 2,218 - 2,243 USD
Sep 2 to Nov 26 Min Stay 7 nights 1,398 - 1,572 USD
Nov 27 to Nov 30 Min Stay 7 nights 3,152 - 3,262 USD
Dec 1 to Dec 19 Min Stay 7 nights 1,695 - 1,789 USD
Dec 20 to Dec 25 Min Stay 7 nights 5,168 - 5,233 USD
Dec 26, 2019 to Jan 4, 2020 Min Stay 7 nights 5,798 - 6,067 USD

2020

Rate Period Weekly
Jan 5 to Jan 16 Min Stay 7 nights 2,336 USD
Jan 17 to Jan 19 Min Stay 7 nights 3,422 - 3,446 USD
Jan 20 to Feb 13 Min Stay 7 nights 2,336 USD
Feb 14 to Feb 16 Min Stay 7 nights 3,553 - 3,584 USD
Feb 17 to Mar 31 Min Stay 7 nights 2,336 - 2,458 USD
Apr 1 to May 21 Min Stay 7 nights 1,810 USD
May 22 to May 24 Min Stay 7 nights 2,553 - 2,709 USD
May 25 to Jun 18 Min Stay 7 nights 2,578 - 2,704 USD
Jun 19 to Jun 25 Min Stay 7 nights 2,889 - 3,139 USD
Jun 26 to Jul 5 Min Stay 7 nights 4,762 - 4,945 USD
Jul 6 to Jul 31 Min Stay 7 nights 3,139 - 3,290 USD

Long Term Stays

2019

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Jul 7 to Aug 29 Min Stay 30 nights 30 9,226 - 11,051 USD
Aug 30 to Sep 1 Min Stay 30 nights 30 8,918 - 8,942 USD
Sep 2 to Nov 26 Min Stay 30 nights 30 5,683 - 6,007 USD
Nov 27 to Nov 30 Min Stay 30 nights 30 13,272 - 13,420 USD
Dec 1 to Dec 19 Min Stay 30 nights 30 6,921 - 7,446 USD
Dec 20 to Dec 25 Min Stay 30 nights 30 19,203 - 19,623 USD
Dec 26, 2019 to Jan 4, 2020 Min Stay 30 nights 30 22,386 - 22,694 USD

2020

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Jan 5 to Jan 16 Min Stay 30 nights 30 8,981 - 9,637 USD
Jan 17 to Jan 19 Min Stay 30 nights 30 13,900 - 13,919 USD
Jan 20 to Feb 13 Min Stay 30 nights 30 9,112 - 9,679 USD
Feb 14 to Feb 16 Min Stay 30 nights 30 14,313 - 14,369 USD
Feb 17 to Mar 31 Min Stay 30 nights 30 9,615 - 9,917 USD
Apr 1 to May 21 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,079 - 7,256 USD
May 22 to May 24 Min Stay 30 nights 30 10,327 - 10,329 USD
May 25 to Jun 18 Min Stay 30 nights 30 9,578 - 9,885 USD
Jun 19 to Jun 25 Min Stay 30 nights 30 10,369 - 12,213 USD
Jun 26 to Jul 5 Min Stay 30 nights 30 17,778 - 17,913 USD

All Owner Direct guest reviews posted are verified and confirmed individually by Owner Direct Vacation Rentals staff.

This property has no reviews yet.

Overall satisfaction (1 raters)
Property condition (1 raters)
Location (1 raters)
Cleanliness (1 raters)
Services from rental manager (1 raters)
Recommend to Others (1 raters)

The following review(s) were provided by the property manager.

Vacation stay Lovely place not far from the lake! Had a great time but my only downside Of the trip is that we kept getting noise complaints when at the air bnb and when we weren’t there. Other than that it was a good stay
Reviewed On: 7/2/2019
They took my $800 - didn't even stay there unjust enrichment I signed up for the room for two nights to make a memorable trip for my Grandmother in law from Kansas (81yo), Mother in Law from Nigeria (65 yo), and our three children (2, 10, 12), as I knew we most likely wouldn't be like this together again. I signed up online and we ended up going to Tahoe the second day due to big family circumstances. I never received my key code, so for two hours I am on the phone with them trying to get my key code. And when they finally get my key code, it doesn't work. During this process, we are in the snow, we have driven for over 3 hours. While I was trying to resolve the issue the phone disconnected four times, had to explain the situation over and over again. YOu could imagine how excited I was to actually get a key code only come to find out that the key code didn't work. My elders were so exhausted and tired and sore from the drive. I was mortified. My grandmother said, well at least we got to see the sign. I wanted to cry. So I pretty much gave the property manager over 800 and he didn't have to do anything but lock us out of the establishment. He didn't offer anything else, but for us to turn back around in the mountains. That was unrealistic and insulting. I understand no refunds, but that was not our fault... and the least he could have exchanged the hotel for another day. But nothing. We only saw the outside of the property.
Reviewed On: 6/18/2019
Family Getaway We had a good experience with the condo we rented. <br/>The location was convenient to the activities we were doing.<br/>We appreciated the owners providing baby gates as we had s new walking toddler with us and the stairs would have been a huge problem.<br/>We had a minor mishap with the master bed, but it was remedied the next day by a repairman. <br/>Overall we had a great experience and would rent from Turnkey again.<br/> Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Sunday, February 3, 2019 Hi Denise, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the convenience of the location of this beautiful home. We're glad we were able to quickly resolve your issue with the master bed after you called our 24/7 guest hotline. You were perfect guests, and we can't wait to have you stay with us again! - The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 2/2/2019
Good house It was a nice house and everything was clean
Reviewed On: 2/19/2019
Tahoe hockey getaway Though I love to get away to Tahoe, it has become where the guests are being harrassed constantly about any kind of noise. It makes one not want to come up there anymore. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, May 14, 2019 Hi Jillian, Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. With regards to the noise complaints you received, please understand that TurnKey follows up on all reported disturbances to ensure we are being good neighbors to those around us and prevent our guests and homeowners from receiving any kind of citation from the city of South Lake Tahoe. That being said, we do apologize if the notice you received was in error. If there is anything we can still do for you, reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 4/16/2019
Tahoe Review The house was adequate. Overall it was very clean and had a lot of amenities. The hot tub jets did not all work Only one side really worked. Seemed like an older hot tub though. When I got there the TV wasn;t working so I called and they had a technician call me and he wsa able to help me fix it over the phone. It was nice having a late checkout as well. Overall I would stay here again as well as recommend it to friends. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, April 3, 2019 Hi Mark, thank you so much for your review and kind words about our property! We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, our team has been notified on the hot tub jets and will be addressing this. You were the perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 4/1/2019
Awesome place This place was just perfect. Perfect location, very clean and spacious. They had towels, shampoo etc which most places do not. the unit was spotless clean. furniture was nice. we loved it and we would stay here again
Reviewed On: 2/27/2018
Great Place Great Place, I totally recomend it
Reviewed On: 4/2/2018
Awesome retreat Spacious kitchen, equipped with a Rice cooker, blender, toaster, coffee maker, gas stove, microwave, refrigerator with ice maker, huge dining table, smart TVs with Netflix, pool table, ping pong, air hockey, a few board games, Hot tub, BBq gas grill, terrace, plenty of beds, 3 spacious full bathrooms, washer & dryer, 2-car garage. Everything was in working order. Only thing to consider if traveling with small kids is 1 or 2 gates for the stairs, since it's a tri-level home. Great location, close walking distance to the Butcher shop, Grocery Outlet and some restaurats.<br/><br/>We were 4 families/couples, and we slept comfortably. Communications with management went smoothly. We stayed at this house in mid-april to enjoy the last days of snow play at Adventure Mountain, and we had a blast! We also visited Lake Tahoe AleWorX and had a great time, highly recommended to beer & hard cider fans; it's family-friendly and their patio is pet-friendly.
Reviewed On: 5/11/2018
50th Surprise The place was clean and accomodating. There was plenty of room and everyone had a good time. Will def. rent from them again.
Reviewed On: 6/27/2018
Modern and Clean Walked into a very clean rental, but I have stayed at this exact same condo when it actually was brand new, in 2012. This rental is showing some wear and tear and there are things like door knobs and a leaking garbage disposal that need repair. It was well stocked, except for extra toilet paper and extra paper towels. Parking is a huge issue if you have a large group that does not carpool together. So be very aware of the policies on parking. Otherwise, I would recommend this condo for a stay. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, May 9, 2018 Hi Jillian, Thank you for your review and helpful feedback! We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us assure you that our local Field Operations Team is checking on the door knobs and leaking garbage disposal and will make sure any issues are resolved as needed. Next time you stay with us, remember our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up. We want to make sure you’re as comfortable as you can be during your stay. With regards to extra toilet paper and paper towels, we stock each home with what is called a "starter supply" of basic items. It is not designed to be an unlimited supply but, rather, to get a typical reservation through a weekend or get folks started so that they can enjoy their arrival days, take inventory, and pick up whatever else is needed to get them through their trip as needed. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we appreciate you taking care of our place as if it were your own. Please come stay again any time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 5/8/2018
Awesome Setup The house was great. Having no AC in the house was bit an issue. It was to hot at night. The fans provided did cool things down. Need to have more than 3 fans in the house. Check out at 10AM was to early. My family was not happy with the time of check out. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, August 21, 2018 Hello Brijesh, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your feedback and are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 8/8/2018
Nice place bad customer service Property was nice, good location, equipped with a variety of games that our kids loved!<br/>The management and customer service still have a lot to learn and change before they can call them selves customer service!! I requested to have a baby crib in the condo and when I didn&#x2019;t see it upon arrival, I called customer service- few hours later a nice guy showed up, he fixed the internet problem we had, explained to us that the unit doesn&#x2019;t have air conditioning (we thought it was broken- but appearantly turnkey doesn&#x2019;t think it&#x2019;s important to mention that a unit doesn&#x2019;t have an AC in August..) and he told us that since it&#x2019;s a late go (6 pm) on a Sunday he cannot go to buy me a pack and play, but he will bring it on the next day. He didn&#x2019;t, furthermore when I called again the the customer service center I was told that they don&#x2019;t have any memo for my request, but they will open a new request and someone will get back to me shortly, the following day I was contacted by a rep that only cared to know the name of the person who promised me a pack and play, I didn&#x2019;t remember his name so he asked me to describe how he looks- instead of taking care of my needs he cared to find out who was the person who promised me! Make long story short; I slept with a baby in my hands for 4 nights (and I was sweating because there was no A/C in the middle of the summer-unbelievable! I will not forget this vacation.. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Thursday, September 6, 2018 Hi Oz, Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and can also understand your frustration that we were unable to deliver a baby crib to the home during your stay. Please be assured that your feedback has been reviewed with our team. Here at TurnKey, your feedback is highly valued, and we try our best to make things right in any way we can so that our guests know that our priority is their ultimate satisfaction. Although not a great excuse, our team did not effectively communicate internally which led to poor service on our end. Also, we have reviewed our listing and can confirm that it is 100% accurate in that it does not have A/C advertised. Thanks again for bringing these important issues to light, as it’s feedback like this that really makes a difference in how we move forward in offering the best service we possibly can to our guests and in keeping our properties in perfect shape. If there is anything else we can do for you, please reach out any time on our 24/7 guest hotline and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 8/4/2018
Great location, great condo, wish it were a bit cleaner.. This condo was the perfect amount of space for our party of 11 which included two elderly folks, two toddlers and an infant. Beds were comfy and plentiful. The open concept main floor was great, we were able to be all together when cooking meals and hanging out. Only downside for our group was that the place seemed to be surfaces cleaned before our arrival, the house looked fairly clean upon first glance. After getting settled we encountered a lot of dust underneath the couches and on the bathroom floors, etc. At the end of the first nights stay the toddlers feet were black on the bottom from walking around. We also found a few food particles underneath the couch as well that we&#x2019;re definitely not from our party. Some of the window blinds were broken and difficult to get down after pulling them up, which was a bit frustrating since we needed to open windows to get air flow since there is no AC available in the unit (we understood this upon booking). It would have also been nice to have a broom or swiffer stick in the unit so guests cold tidy up throughout their stay. There was a vacuum that looked like it was from the 1980&#x2019;s that blew more dust out then it actually picked up. Other then that we really enjoyed the location and proximity to Stateline (maybe a 7-10 minute drive.) I would recommend this condo to other big groups. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Saturday, September 1, 2018 Hi Judith, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish we would have known about the broken blind and lack of broom during your stay so we could have helped then. Please be assured our team will be revising that all cleanliness issues you’ve mentioned are addressed for future stays. Next time you stay with us, remember our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 8/2/2018
Eloise Condo in S. Lake Tahoe Review Overall the experience was great! The place was neat and clean. The house set up was excellent for multiple families. The kitchen was big and very functional. The bedrooms had different sized or multiple beds which was very accommodating. The location was great for our needs. The place had a bit of a musky odor as if a deep carpet cleaning was needed but overall the place was in great shape. The TVs are tube TVs which are greatly outdated. We would definitely recommend it and stay here again! Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Sunday, June 25, 2017 Paul, Thank you for the compliments, we love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We greatly appreciate your feedback and will be following up on the issues mentioned. You were perfect guests, and we appreciate you taking care of our place as if it were your own. Please come stay again anytime! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 6/22/2017
South Lake Tahoe Stay The cabin was lovely and equipped with all amenities. There were a few downfalls, no fans - but the team was great and sent fans over right away. That was greatly appreciated. Also no paper towels or toilet paper, but we went out and bought some. Also the hot tub was not working and when called for a technician, a technician did not show up until the end of the next day, unfortunately we were not able to use it. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Monday, August 28, 2017 Hi Saba, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are sorry to hear about the issues that came up and for any inconvenience they caused as well. Here at TurnKey, it is our highest priority to make sure our guests have the best experience possible, but if problems arise, we do try our very best to make things right in any way we can. It looks like we were able to send someone out to bring some fans, and we are so glad you called our 24/7 support line to let us know about it. Please know that the hot tub has since been repaired as well and is available for guest use. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 8/22/2017
Lake Tahoe Getaway The house was awesome. It was perfect for groups and very comfortable. This is the 2nd time I rented this house. It would be helpful if we could get a code to the garage as we had to go through the front door and open the garage each time we returned to the house. I highly recommend this house. It's also in a great location.
Reviewed On: 9/19/2017
A nice vacation at South lake Tahoe Great!
Reviewed On: 1/3/2018
Great cabin very clean we love it Very clean property the rooms very spacious the pool teable great , the restroom very clean only the beds alittle noice but all the properties good condition we have existing stay and l hope we will rent on the next trip thanks
Reviewed On: 12/5/2017
Amazing ! I was very impressed at the comfort of the beds. The couches need an upgrade, looks like the jetsons. Baby gate would have been nice because the stairs. Overall it was amazing!
Reviewed On: 11/28/2017
OK Stay Issues:<br/><br/>- carpets are dirty by too much ware (they were vacuumed though)<br/>- frying pans not of good quality<br/>- pool table and cues in bad shape <br/> Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Monday, February 26, 2018 Hi Silviu, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback, and we’re sorry to hear your experience with us was not as great as it should have been. Here at TurnKey, we strive to offer impeccable customer service before, during, and after your stay. We wish we had known about these issues during your stay so we could have tried to help out then. Our 24/7 guest hotline is always available -- never hesitate to reach out while you’re staying with us! Please be assured we value your feedback and your comments have been passed along to the homeowner. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 2/25/2018
The house was awesome. It was perfect for groups and very comfortable. This is the 2nd time I rented this house. It would be helpful if we could get a code to the garage as we had to go through the front door and open the garage each time we returned to the house. I highly recommend this house. It's also in a great location.
Reviewed On: 9/19/2017
The cabin was lovely and equipped with all amenities. There were a few downfalls, no fans - but the team was great and sent fans over right away. That was greatly appreciated. Also no paper towels or toilet paper, but we went out and bought some. Also the hot tub was not working and when called for a technician, a technician did not show up until the end of the next day, unfortunately we were not able to use it.
Reviewed On: 8/22/2017
Overall the experience was great! The place was neat and clean. The house set up was excellent for multiple families. The kitchen was big and very functional. The bedrooms had different sized or multiple beds which was very accommodating. The location was great for our needs. The place had a bit of a musky odor as if a deep carpet cleaning was needed but overall the place was in great shape. The TVs are tube TVs which are greatly outdated. We would definitely recommend it and stay here again!
Reviewed On: 6/22/2017

Listing History

  • This property owner/manager has been registered with Owner Direct since Jun 29, 2016.
  • This owner / manager has completed 239 successful bookings in total for all their properties through Owner Direct.com
  • The availability for this property was last updated on Aug 18, 2019
  • The rates for this property were last updated on Mar 02, 2017
  • This owner's contact information has been verified by Owner Direct and past guests.

OwnerDirect.com - Superior Full Service

  • You're never alone with Owner Direct. Friendly service coast to coast available every day of the year.
  • You immediately know the price for your requested dates/occupants.
  • More photos (with descriptive captions) per property.
  • Extensive information is provided for every property, always in the same format, to save you time
  • We answer all of your questions quickly with our very comprehensive site and responsive customer service.
  • We offer a 24 hr grace period for both parties to communicate and confirm all details of a booking.

Web Directories - Our Competitors

  • A lot of your time is wasted filling out forms and waiting for replies from multiple vacation rental owners. Many busy owners never reply.
  • The price shown always changes, you have to calculate it yourself and often changes once you communicate with the owner.
  • Most owners do not take the time to provide complete information on listings, so you waste time having to ask questions and wait for responses.
  • In a nutshell, "Web Directories" are cumbersome and time consuming, and if you have a problem, you are on your own.

Be among the First

ID 233019 - 8 beds (1 king, 1 queen, 4 single and 2 double). Base rent is for 12 occupants.
South Lake Tahoe Vacation Rentals
Be among the first to stay at this newly built 4BR/3BA duplex condo near Tahoe Keys Marina.
Great eateries like The Cold Water Brewery and My Thai are nearby, as is the bike path leading to the beautiful State Park beaches and Fallen Leaf Lake.. Be among the first to stay at this newly built 4BR/3BA duplex condo near Tahoe Keys Marina. Great eateries like The Cold Water Brewery and My Thai are nearby, as is the bike path leading to the beautiful State Park beaches and Fallen Leaf Lake. After a day of mountain adventures, slip into the private hot tub beneath the pines.

INSIDE THE CONDO

This spacious condo is perfect for a summer family vacation or a ski getaway with friends. The open-concept living area naturally lends itself to fun group camaraderie. Kick back on the plush leather sofas in front of the fire and watch a movie on the large flat screen. Or head up to the loft for a game of billiards.

Meal preparation is a breeze in the well-equipped kitchen which features gleaming granite countertops, all new stainless steel appliances, a pantry, and handsome knotty pine cabinets. In the warmer months, step out on the back deck to enjoy the propane grill. Meals can be served at the dining table for ten, or at the bar with seating for four.

The master bedroom has a king-size sleigh bed and a comfy leather club chair. Its en suite bathroom has a dual vanity sink, jetted tub, and walk-in shower, plus a separate toilet room.

The second bedroom has two full-size beds, a TV, and direct access to the fenced yard and hot tub. The adjacent bathroom has granite countertops a tub/shower combo. The third guestroom has queen bed and TV with DVD. The forth bedroom is perfect for kids with four twin beds (not bunk beds). An additional guest bath has a walk-in glass shower.

THE LOCATION

If you manage to venture away from all the amenities at the condo, check out the fun attractions around South Lake Tahoe. The condo is located along highway 50 within 2 miles of public beaches ad 4 miles to Heavenly Ski Resort and Casinos. Take in the breathtaking sites on a scenic helicopter ride from the nearby Tahoe Airport. Back on the ground, go hiking, fishing, or boating. In wintertime you’ll find skiing on a great variety of slopes at Heavenly, Kirkwood, and Sierra-at- Tahoe.


After a day of exploration, a gyro from Artemis Cafe will hit the spot. Or stop by the Fresh Ketch for delectable seafood dishes. Be sure to check out Sonney’s BBQ Shack for mouth-watering ribs.

THE FINE PRINT

In response to South Lake Tahoe County's ordinance on short term rentals, we are operating under STVR License #009316. As per the ordinance, this vacation rental cannot be used for any type of parties, including weddings and receptions. Maximum allowable City occupancy is 12 people and 4 cars; over occupancy will be subject to City citation/fine. Please note that we have a strict NO PARTY policy; failure to comply will result in eviction.

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

We save your time and spare you the headaches!

We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Nearby and Recently Viewed Vacation Rentals

Pricing & Availability

to
Adults
Children (0-17)
Please select dates and occupants to view
Availability and Pricing
Mandatory
Taxes
Included
Excluded
First Payment, Charged Now
Second Payment, due by
Total Rent
(Damage/Security deposits not included)
Cancellation Policy
Total Rent
You wont be charged yet
🕔 24-Hour Confirmation

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day
We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!
Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden
Timeout From:
Timeout To:

Experience the difference, no waiting
 
Experience the difference, no waiting
Toll Free USA, Canada
1.888.869.6377
Toll Free UK
0.800.249.4265
Toll Free Australia
1.800.150.197
International Rentals
1.250.469.9543