×
max 10 guests      6 bedrooms      4 bathrooms
  • Kitchen Attributes
    • Full Kitchen
    • Refrigerator
    • Coffee Maker
    • Ice Maker
    • Microwave
    • Toaster
    • Cookware
    • Blender
    • Cooking Utensils
    • Pots / Pans
    • Dishwasher
    • Glassware
    • Stove / Oven
    • Silverware
    • Tea Kettle
    • Wine Fridge
  • Living Attributes
    • Ceiling Fans
    • Linens
    • Washer & Dryer
    • High Speed Internet
    • Fireplace
    • Wood Stove
    • Hair Dryer
    • Cable
    • Games
  • Business Attributes
    • Nearby ATM
    • Nearby Post Office
    • Nearby Internet Cafe
    • Nearby Bank
  • Convenience Attributes
    • Area FitnessCenter
    • Nearby Medical Services
    • Nearby Grocery
    • Golf Course
  • Culture Attributes
    • Museums
    • Recreation Center
  • Outdoor Attributes
    • Deck
    • Balcony
    • Hot Tub
  • Geographic Attributes
    • Close to Town
    • Near Lake
    • Near Ski Resort
  • Entertainment Attributes
    • Cable TV
    • Games
    • Wireless Internet
    • Books
  • Children's amenities Attributes
    • Children's Toys

Loading...

Terms

The Property Manager (hereafter referred to as "we", "us", or "our") provides rental management services on behalf of homeowners ("Owners") who rent their properties (including the associated fixtures and furnishings)(the “Home”) to guests (the "Guest" or "you") seeking accommodations on a short term or long term basis (collectively, the “Services”). We are the Owner's property manager and authorized agent, who will perform the Services related to your reservation. By using the Home and Services, you agree to comply with and be legally bound by the terms and conditions of this guest agreement (the "Agreement"). This Agreement only applies to short term rentals and not long term rentals, which will be governed by the specific terms of your lease agreement with us.

1. Policies: Please treat our Owner's Home with the care you would at your own home and abide by following policies:

*Behave as you would in any home in which you live, with respect for property and neighbors.
*Unless otherwise stated in the Home listing, you must be over the age of 25.
*You will be an occupant of the unit during the entire reserved period and other occupants of the Home during your stay will be family members, friends, responsible adults or children under direct adult supervision.
*Do not exceed the maximum occupancy of the Home.
*No parties, noise that can be heard beyond the home lot line or in adjacent units, or any illegal activity may occur at the Home.
*No pets are allowed unless otherwise noted for specific properties and where you have paid a pet fee in connection with your booking in advance of your reservation.
*No smoking is allowed in or around any Home.
*Check-in time is 3pm and check-out time is 10am - we will notify you via email in advance if early check-in or late check-out will be available.
*Please use common courtesy at the home by keeping it clean, reporting any problems or damages, washing dishes as used, taking garbage to the outside bins, leaving towels in the bathrooms and sheets in the bedrooms, and not re-arranging furniture.

2. Cleaning: Each home will be cleaned and inspected by third-party cleaning contractors after your departure. We ask you to help us enable the cleaning crews as much as possible. They will appreciate simple things like leaving the home tidy, running the dishwasher, starting to wash the towels, and taking out the trash.

3. Swimming Pools, Hot Tubs, or Beach: If the home that you have reserved includes a pool or hot tub, or is on a beach, these can all be obviously dangerous. Guests should observe and adhere to all rules and policies as posted at the home and supervise all children at all times. Lifeguards are not provided. Decks and patios can be slippery when wet and can result in injury to anyone who is not careful. Guest accept and assumes all risks involved in or related to the use of a pool, hot tub, beach and deck/patio areas.

4. Home Damage Waiver: Each guest will be offered an optional Damage Waiver that protects you against unintended damage done to the Property. This is not insurance, and the Damage Waiver does not apply to intentional damage done by the Guest or your guests, or excessive wear and tear due to parties, smoking, pets or otherwise, or additional cleaning charges due to stains or spills, or fines incurred by the police or HOA due to noise, excessive trash or parking, or damage over the purchased amounts of either $3,000 or $5,000. If Tenant does not wish to purchase this Damage Waiver, a security deposit of $3,000, $5,000, or greater depending on Property will be required at the time of booking. If a Home requires an additional security deposit, we will explain this to you before confirming a reservation. Guest acknowledges that any damage or fines not covered by the Damage Waiver or above the amount of any security deposit can be charged to Guest (and Guest’s card on file). The Damage Waiver can be purchased up to the day prior to your reservation but not after it has started. You do not have to purchase this Damage Waiver. Please contact the Property Manager directly at if you do not wish to purchase the Damage Waiver.

5. Excessive Wear and Tear, Noise and Occupancy: If excessive wear and tear is found for the Home, or additional cleaning is necessary due to spills, trash left on site, stains to furniture, carpeting, linens, paint, wallpaper, or flooring, Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest for additional fees. Tenant will be provided with a receipt for any additional fees incurred upon request or as required by local laws or regulations. If at any time the maximum number of the Home’s occupants is exceeded or if we receive information about excessive noise, the Property Manager has the right to evict Guest and all occupants immediately and to charge Guest a minimum service fee of $250 with no refund for the balance of the remaining reservation. If any sign of smoking is discovered Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. Unless the reservation for the Home specifically allows a pet, if any sign of a pet is discovered, then Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. The Property Manager will return any balance of a security deposit to Guest, less any charges or amounts owed by Guest, within fourteen (14) days after the end of the reservation or as otherwise required by local laws or regulations. Any charges owed by Guest may be charged by the Property Manager to Guest’s card on file in addition to seeking any relief provided by law.

6. Maintenance and Access: We have the right to enter the home at any time during guest stay and we will diligently attempt to address maintenance issues as they occur. This is an associated risk of renting a single family residence or condo. If a maintenance issue occurs that cannot be fixed in a reasonable amount of time, and significantly affects your stay; we reserve the right to refund at our discretion or offer to relocate you to another home.

7. Phone and Internet: Unless otherwise specified, all homes are equipped with a high-speed Wi-Fi connection where service is available and we will provide you with any required Wi-Fi passwords. We do not provide a land line phones for all homes and suggest that you please use your mobile phone or Wi-Fi enabled phone for calls.

8. Furnished Rental and Supplies: The Property Manager's properties are fully furnished properties that will include bedspreads, linens, blankets, pillows, towels, a fully equipped kitchen, TV, furnishings unless otherwise specified. A limited starter supply of paper products, bath and dish soap are provided, but will not be replaced if consumed during your stay so we recommend bringing additional personal items with you. Staples (salt, pepper, foils, wraps, etc) are generally stocked by the owner of the home, however the Property Manager cannot commit these supplies being present. Guest is responsible for replacing stocked items as they are consumed. If there is a special type of item you are accustomed to using please provide for those items by bringing them with you. Extra towels are always recommended for homes on the beach, or with a pool or hot tub.

9. Weather and Other Unforeseen Events: The Property Manager does not accept liability for any inconveniences arising from any temporary defects or stoppage in supply of water, gas, electricity or plumbing, damage caused by weather/road conditions, natural disasters, acts of God or other reasons beyond its control. No refunds will be given for any delays or cancellations due to such conditions. Travel Insurance is highly recommended for any stay.

10. Homeowners Association: The Property Manager cannot warrant the usability or condition of amenities provided through homeowner associations, including, but not limited to pools, hot tubs, club houses, tennis courts, golf facilities, and picnic & beach facilities.

11. Indemnity: Neither Owner nor the Property Manager assumes any liability for loss, theft, damage or injury to Guest, his/her guests or other occupants in the Home. The Guest, for himself/herself, his/her heirs, assignors, executors and administrators, fully releases and discharges Owner and the Property Manager from any and all claims, demands and causes of action by reason of any injury or whatever nature which has or have occurred, or may occur to the Guest, his/her guests or other occupants of the Home as a result of, or in connection with the occupancy of the Home and agrees to hold Owner and the Property Manager free and harmless of any claim or suit arising therefrom. In any action concerning the rights, duties or liabilities of the parties to this Agreement, or their principals, agents, successors or assignees the prevailing party shall be entitled to recover reasonable attorney fees and costs.

12. Sale Contingency: In the rare event the Home that that you have reserved is for sale, and/or is under a contract to sell, the Property Manager reserves the right to provide Guest with a comparable home at no additional cost to the Guest. Showings during occupancy are by appointment only at your prior approval.

13. Payment and Cancellations: We accept all major credit cards. For reservations made more than 30 days in advance, we only charge a deposit of 10% of the total reservation upon booking, with full payment due 30 days prior to check-in. For all reservations made within 30 days of check-in, we collect payment in full at the time of booking. All reservations which are made more than 10 days in advance are fully refundable if the guest cancels the reservation within 72 hours after the time of booking. After this cancellation period expires, all guest payments are non-refundable.

14. Other Terms and Conditions: Your booking is subject to the the Property Manager 's Terms, Privacy Policy and this Guest Agreement which can be found at /terms. Additionally, where specifically required by the terms of any applicable laws, regulations or Homeowner's Association rules (as determined by the Property Manager), then this Rental Agreement shall constitute a lease of the premises. If you would like to extend your reservation for additional dates, please call us for availability and pricing.

Payment Methods
Most major credit cards - Cash

Payment Balance
Balance and schedule of payments can be discussed the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Booking Cancellation Conditions
Cancellation policies can be discussed with the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Security or Damage Deposit
A refundable security/damage deposit will be required by the property manager.

Availability

Nightly rates shown do not include taxes, conditional rate adjustments or any applicable fees - request property or use rate calculator to obtain an accurate quote.

Nightly

2020

Rate Period Nightly
Jul 6 to Aug 27 Min Stay 2 nights 231 - 602 USD
Aug 28 to Sep 3 Min Stay 2 nights 441 - 567 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 7 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 598 - 660 USD
Sep 8 to Oct 1 Min Stay 2 nights 349 - 627 USD
Oct 2 to Nov 24 Min Stay 2 nights 256 - 968 USD
Nov 25 to Nov 28 Min Stay 4 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 636 - 660 USD
Nov 29 to Nov 30 Min Stay 2 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Sun) 281 - 307 USD
Dec 1 to Dec 17 Min Stay 2 nights 384 - 693 USD
Dec 18 to Dec 26 Min Stay 4 nights 1,095 - 1,099 USD
Dec 27, 2020 to Jan 2, 2021 Min Stay 5 nights 1,087 - 1,164 USD

2021

Rate Period Nightly
Jan 3 to Jan 14 Min Stay 2 nights 407 - 511 USD
Jan 15 to Jan 17 Min Stay 4 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 646 - 663 USD
Jan 18 to Feb 11 Min Stay 2 nights 407 - 511 USD
Feb 12 to Feb 14 Min Stay 4 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 656 - 667 USD
Feb 15 to Feb 20 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 511 - 638 USD
Feb 21 to Mar 31 Min Stay 2 nights 407 - 511 USD
Apr 1 to May 27 Min Stay 2 nights 281 - 968 USD
May 28 to May 30 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 660 - 662 USD
May 31 to Jun 3 Min Stay 2 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu) 685 - 693 USD
Jun 4 to Jun 17 Min Stay 2 nights 476 - 567 USD
Jun 18 to Jun 30 Min Stay 3 nights 438 - 556 USD
Jul 1 to Jul 5 Min Stay 4 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun) 639 - 660 USD
Jul 6 to Aug 26 Min Stay 3 nights 438 - 556 USD

Weekly

2020

Rate Period Weekly
Jul 6 to Aug 27 Min Stay 7 nights 1,614 - 3,493 USD
Aug 28 to Sep 3 Min Stay 7 nights 3,116 - 3,449 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 7 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 4,125 - 4,505 USD
Sep 8 to Oct 1 Min Stay 7 nights 3,768 USD
Oct 2 to Nov 24 Min Stay 7 nights 2,964 - 3,277 USD
Nov 25 to Nov 28 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 4,502 - 4,538 USD
Nov 29 to Nov 30 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Sun) 2,085 - 2,138 USD
Dec 1 to Dec 17 Min Stay 7 nights 4,170 USD
Dec 18 to Dec 26 Min Stay 7 nights 7,674 - 7,708 USD
Dec 27, 2020 to Jan 2, 2021 Min Stay 7 nights 7,593 - 8,154 USD

2021

Rate Period Weekly
Jan 3 to Jan 14 Min Stay 7 nights 3,016 - 3,128 USD
Jan 15 to Jan 17 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 4,543 - 4,569 USD
Jan 18 to Feb 11 Min Stay 7 nights 3,128 USD
Feb 12 to Feb 14 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 4,621 - 4,627 USD
Feb 15 to Feb 20 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 3,886 - 4,388 USD
Feb 21 to Mar 31 Min Stay 7 nights 3,128 USD
Apr 1 to May 27 Min Stay 7 nights 3,277 USD
May 28 to May 30 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 4,613 - 4,639 USD
May 31 to Jun 3 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu) 4,646 - 4,729 USD
Jun 4 to Jun 17 Min Stay 7 nights 3,449 USD
Jun 18 to Jun 30 Min Stay 7 nights 3,424 USD
Jul 1 to Jul 5 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun) 4,504 - 4,572 USD
Jul 6 to Aug 26 Min Stay 7 nights 3,424 USD

Long Term Stays

2020

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Jul 6 to Aug 27 Min Stay 30 nights 30 11,433 - 14,839 USD
Aug 28 to Sep 3 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,548 - 8,003 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 7 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 7,545 - 7,547 USD
Sep 8 to Oct 1 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,446 - 7,494 USD
Oct 2 to Nov 24 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,311 - 7,502 USD
Nov 25 to Nov 28 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 30 8,597 - 8,747 USD

2021

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Jan 3 to Jan 14 Min Stay 30 nights 30 11,973 - 12,540 USD
Jan 15 to Jan 17 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 18,458 - 18,473 USD
Jan 18 to Feb 11 Min Stay 30 nights 30 12,227 - 12,597 USD
Feb 12 to Feb 14 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 18,461 - 18,511 USD
Feb 15 to Feb 20 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat) 30 15,435 - 17,825 USD
Feb 21 to Mar 31 Min Stay 30 nights 30 12,379 - 12,710 USD
Apr 1 to May 27 Min Stay 30 nights 30 12,710 - 14,036 USD
May 28 to May 30 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 18,357 - 18,384 USD
May 31 to Jun 3 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu) 30 18,928 - 18,943 USD
Jul 6 to Aug 26 Min Stay 30 nights 30 15,163 - 15,362 USD

Verified vacation home reviews by real guests

All Owner Direct guest reviews posted are verified and confirmed individually by Owner Direct Vacation Rentals staff.

This property has no Owner Direct reviews yet.

Overall satisfaction (18 raters)
Property condition (18 raters)
Location (18 raters)
Cleanliness (18 raters)
Services from rental manager (18 raters)

The following review(s) were provided by the property manager.

Awesome House Was a great place for multiple families, the kids and adults had a blast.
Reviewed On: 8/23/2019
Great house with a great scenery The house was very spacious and very clean. the location was great as well. Would definitely recommend
Reviewed On: 8/7/2019
Great Cabin with beautiful views Upon arrival one of the toilets was broken as well as the toilet paper holder.<br/>One of the rooms smelled like mildew. We found the pool table was cooked. Worse yet was the condition of the ping pong table. It was held up by 4 saw broken saw horses and a stool with cushions on top. We deemed those two rooms unsafe for the children and closed the doors.<br/>The rest of the cabin was lovely though. Even without those two spaces to use it was plenty of room for the 10 of us to roam around.<br/>The path around the lake was beautiful. But be warned there are LOTS of dogs and they are all walked off leash. Also, the owners are not good about picking up after them. However, the walk is lovely and there is a fantastic sledding hill about 4 houses down the street, which the kids loved!<br/>The windows in the cabin are not quite tall enough to truly enjoy the views from inside.<br/>But well stocked kitchen. Adequate sleeping areas.<br/>This would be a great locations summer or snow.<br/>The views off the deck are from a postcard. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Monday, March 18, 2019 Hi Nita, Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Here at TurnKey, your feedback is highly valued, and although we do try our best to offer the most impeccable service possible, there are times we fall short of that. Please be assured we’re looking into everything you reported. Thanks again for bringing these important issues to light, as it is feedback like this that really makes a difference in how we move forward in offering the best service we possibly can to our guests and in keeping our properties in perfect shape. We do wish that we had known about these problems during your stay so that we could address them. Our guest experience team is just a call away and always happy to help. If there is anything else we can do for you, reach out anytime on our 24/7 guest hotline to let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
- Nita B.
Reviewed On: 3/1/2019
You're going to love this place! We had a family only wedding renewal in this tremendous house: it was absolutely perfect. It was spacious enough for all 11 of us, and we couldn't have asked for anything more. The scenery is breathtaking, and the house is 10 minutes from town, so while you definitely feel far from the city, it's located conveniently nearby. The home was very clean and you wouldn't believe how crazy stocked the kitchen was! They had EVERYTHING you can imagine in there, neatly stored away! They have more than enough dishes, pots/pans, and stemware. I couldn't recommend this home more if I tried!!
- Jessica D.
Reviewed On: 7/17/2019
Winter wonderland getaway With multiple families there was abundant space for various activities. Home was very clean, had beautiful winter white views, had a short walk to sledding. We took kids to ski/snowboarding lessons at boreal which was ~30 minutes away and went sledding multiple times. <br/>If you plan on using the BBQ grill be sure to check the propane tanks in advance. All 3 were empty but we called customer support who got them replaced. <br/>Make sure to bring your own laundry and dishwasher detergent as the house may not be stocked with those items. One of the toilets was not working properly so we just turned the water off for it. If you have any issues just text customer service. <br/>Overall, wonderful stay. Would love to come back many years to come. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, March 5, 2019 Hello Ginny, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We’re glad we were able to quickly assist with the propane after you called our 24/7 guest hotline. Please let us also assure you that we have stcked the home withlaundry and dish soap and we are following up on the toilet issue you reported. You were perfect guests, and we’re looking forward to hearing from you again! -The TurnKey VR Team
- GINNY H.
Reviewed On: 2/22/2019
Senior Golf Trip Overall a good experience. Some items not up to par. The house was not stocked with enough toilet paper and the out door grill was a greasy mess. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, October 2, 2019 Hi Gary, Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. We’re so glad to hear that you had a good experience and recommend our property! Here at TurnKey, we strive to offer impeccable customer service before, during, and after your stay. Please be assured that our Field Operations team has followed up to ensure the grill was addressed and the home is properly appointed for future guests. You were wonderful guests and we hope to have you back again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 7/29/2019
Lake Tahoe Ski trip Nice large house with plenty of room for everybody. Enjoyed the pool table, ping pong table and the hot tub.<br/>Bring wood for the fireplace and trash bags.
- Philip B.
Reviewed On: 2/19/2018
MY FAVORITE RENTAL This is by far the best home I have ever rented. This is my third time, and it still amazes me. The home is clean, the view is breath taking, and when it snows, its AMAZING! You can not ask for a better home!
- Jee L.
Reviewed On: 2/5/2018
Senior Golf Trip Great house. Kitchen was very well equipped.
Reviewed On: 7/23/2018
Wonderful Snowy Weekend We were there with 5 families all with children under 2. There was plenty of room for everybody to spread out and the bedrooms downstairs were very quiet for naps. All of the bedrooms were big enough to set up a pack and play. The home was very clean and the view was AMAZING. Hot tub was warm and in great working order. We were snowed in most of the weekend but we didn't even care. Short walk to the store and the sledding area.<br/>Only downside-we only had 1 trash bad and 2 rolls of paper towels so make sure you pack those. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, March 21, 2018 Jessica, Thank you so much for your review and kind words about our property! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Jessica B.
Reviewed On: 3/20/2018
Great House This was an excellent house for a group of moms and daughters. We had a blast playing ping pong, enjoying the lake outside, and eating together in the large kitchen dinning area.
- Katherine C.
Reviewed On: 4/26/2018
Mouse. Cockroaches. No power. Not hot water. DO NOT BOOK. Your group deserves better. Disgusting. I have photos to prove all of it. There was a mouse on the third floor so we closed access to the entire story. We killed two cockroaches on the first night. Four more for the rest of our stay. And to make matters worse we could use no amenities we paid for due to many bouts with NO POWER. While they say it's not their fault because there were rolling blackouts, (not due to the conditions btw) we have photos of the hot water heater that showed an error code 10 -which is a valve error -not electricty. This was unrelated to the power outage. Excuses and lack of care is all we've gotten. Turnkey has taken no responsibility for how disgusting and uncomfortable our stay was. I was routed from Nancy in Texas customer service to a Kirsten or something, a local Tahoe contact, with no resolve beginning on Saturday. Not only were we unable to use the hot tub b/c of no electricity, no ping pong table or play area because of the rodent problem on the third floor that one our kids found, and very little of the whole house, we could not shower, we could not cook/eat, play, or relax. We had no hot water. No power. Our cars were stuck since garage doors did not open. Turnkey admitted the rodent issue and offered us a general copy and paste apology and $150. An arbitrary number without fully grasping that their company needs to stand behind the quality, safety, and cleanliness of their homes. Contact has been dismal. I STRONGLY DO NOT recommend if you want a good experience. We paid $1700 for the worse vacation ever. Book at your own risk. You've been warned. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Thursday, March 22, 2018 Hi Lori, Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and can also understand your frustration with the pest issues and power outage that occurred during your stay. Please know that our local Field Operations Team has since visited the home and confirmed that all features and amenities are functioning properly. We are also working closely with professional pest control to resolve all rodent and cockroach issues. Here at TurnKey, your feedback is highly valued, and we try our best to make things right in any way we can so that our guests know that our priority is their ultimate satisfaction. Thanks again for bringing these important issues to light, as it’s feedback like this that really makes a difference in how we move forward in offering the best service we possibly can to our guests and in keeping our properties in perfect shape. If there is anything else we can do for you, please reach out any time on our 24/7 guest hotline and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
- Loretta L.
Reviewed On: 3/14/2018
Truckee rental This house was perfect for our getaway. We had a large group and this home could not have been any better. There were many bedrooms, and beds to comfortably fit everyone. It was extremely spacious with all the amenities one would need for a getaway. If you are looking for a nice large rental in the Truckee area don't think twice about this one. The only negative thing I could say was that the 8 ball was missing from the pool table. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, September 12, 2018 Hi Kyle, Thank you so much for your review and helpful feedback! We’re so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will follow-up on the 8 ball. Next time you stay with us, remember our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up. We want to make sure you’re as comfortable as you can be during your stay. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Kyle G.
Reviewed On: 9/11/2018
Beautiful Home in Scenic Location This home is HUGE and incredibly kid friendly (if they are good with stairs otherwise bring a baby gate!). Tons of room to spread out. The pond in the back of the house is gorgeous to look at and the paved trail around is great to walk on. Cute playground within 5 min walk
- Breauna D.
Reviewed On: 10/17/2018
Wedding at Donner Pass Very good. This is a great place to visit during the summer (I know that the typical rental is winter)Comfortable walk around the pond. Nothing better than having your morning coffee on the upper deck and watching the activity below at the pond: people out for a morning stroll, dog walkers, horse riders, ducks & geese in the pond, dogs chasing ducks and geese - and the mountains in the distance. Our last day, we all lingered on the deck just soaking in the peace and variety of the view. This is quite a house - 3 levels with lots to do. Well located bathrooms to serve everyone. Comfortable working kitchen open to the whole living/dining area so no one is isolated. This was a family reunion for a wedding, and I am sure any one of us would come back to this house in a New York minute.
- Michael T.
Reviewed On: 6/28/2017
Nice house, with some problems The house size was nice for a family get together - there was room, ping pong, close to the Legacy Trail... so that was all positive. <br/><br/>Unfortunately there were some negatives that overshadowed that. First, we were never emailed the code to enter the home - this was confirmed that it was not sent - when we called Turnkey. Not a great way to start. <br/><br/>Then there were small things like no ironing board (that we could find). That's not great when you're in town for a wedding. We were able to iron on sheets and thankfully brought our own steamer. There was also a shortage of towels - but more were dropped off. <br/><br/>But there were 3 big issues: <br/><br/>First, the heat kept coming on. You could smell it. We had someone comeover and look at it. But we had days of discomfort. <br/><br/>Next: the price listed on airBnb with dates included went up significantly once we purchased. That seems really unethical and sneaky. <br/><br/>Finally: My 77 year old father stayed in the large bedroom facing he pond downstairs. In the middle of the night he had to go to the bathroom. He came out and opened what he thought was the bathroom door, only to catapult, in total darkness, down the entire flight of stairs to the basement bashing his head at he bottom of the stairs. You are so lucky he was fine, thanks to being in tremendous shape. Had he broken a hip or leg... this would be a messy battle. My brother in law is in construction and looked at the stairs and felt they were very likely not up to code. My strong advice is that a bolt be put on the door so it can be locked and opened from the inside. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Monday, September 18, 2017 Hi Jud, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are sorry to hear about the issues that came up and for any inconvenience they caused as well. Here at TurnKey, it is our highest priority to make sure our guests have the best experience possible, but if problems arise, we do try our very best to make things right in any way we can. It looks like we were able to send someone out to bring more towels and fix the thermostat issue, and we are so glad you called our 24/7 support line to let us know about it. With regards to the price listing on Airbnb, please note that this may fluctuate due to factors such as time of the year or day of the week for your reservation, but the final cost is disclosed prior to confirming your booking. Lastly, we are so sorry to hear of your father’s accident and are relieved that he is okay. Please know that we are following up with the homeowner to ensure measures are put in place to prevent anything similar from occurring again. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
- Jud T.
Reviewed On: 9/15/2017
Great place! Very clean and the company was very responsive.
Reviewed On: 10/10/2017
Better than we expected We thoroughly enjoyed the home. They truly did have what a family would need to cook and prepare meals. I had brought some things that were not needed. Also, there was a wonderful assortment of games appropriate for all ages. Both the pool and ping pong table were in good condition and we enjoyed using them. The house is close to both Northstar and Boreal. Lessons were cheaper at Boreal so we used them the first part of the trip. However, the skiing was more fun at Northstar, which was closer. People were skating on the pond just below the house. If you like to ice skate, you should bring your skates. It is an easy walk. There was enough hot water, but we did stagger our showers. They restricted the cars to 4. That was smart as the driveway is short and does not accommodate more than two cars and the street is on a curve which would make street parking dangerous. We could have used a sand/salt reserve to put on the driveway for safer walking. All in all a wonderful experience and we would do it again.
Reviewed On: 12/29/2017
Very clean and the company was very responsive.
Reviewed On: 10/10/2017
The house size was nice for a family get together - there was room, ping pong, close to the Legacy Trail... so that was all positive. <br/><br/>Unfortunately there were some negatives that overshadowed that. First, we were never emailed the code to enter the home - this was confirmed that it was not sent - when we called Turnkey. Not a great way to start. <br/><br/>Then there were small things like no ironing board (that we could find). That's not great when you're in town for a wedding. We were able to iron on sheets and thankfully brought our own steamer. There was also a shortage of towels - but more were dropped off. <br/><br/>But there were 3 big issues: <br/><br/>First, the heat kept coming on. You could smell it. We had someone comeover and look at it. But we had days of discomfort. <br/><br/>Next: the price listed on airBnb with dates included went up significantly once we purchased. That seems really unethical and sneaky. <br/><br/>Finally: My 77 year old father stayed in the large bedroom facing he
Reviewed On: 9/15/2017
Very good. This is a great place to visit during the summer (I know that the typical rental is winter)Comfortable walk around the pond. Nothing better than having your morning coffee on the upper deck and watching the activity below at the pond: people out for a morning stroll, dog walkers, horse riders, ducks & geese in the pond, dogs chasing ducks and geese - and the mountains in the distance. Our last day, we all lingered on the deck just soaking in the peace and variety of the view. This is quite a house - 3 levels with lots to do. Well located bathrooms to serve everyone. Comfortable working kitchen open to the whole living/dining area so no one is isolated. This was a family reunion for a wedding, and I am sure any one of us would come back to this house in a New York minute.
Reviewed On: 6/28/2017

Listing History

  • This property owner/manager has been registered with Owner Direct since Jun 29, 2016.
  • This owner / manager has completed 312 successful bookings in total for all their properties through Owner Direct.com
  • The availability for this property was last updated on Jul 05, 2020
  • The rates for this property were last updated on Jun 29, 2016
  • This owner's contact information has been verified by Owner Direct and past guests.

OwnerDirect.com - Superior Full Service

  • You're never alone with Owner Direct. Friendly service coast to coast available every day of the year.
  • You immediately know the price for your requested dates/occupants.
  • More photos (with descriptive captions) per property.
  • Extensive information is provided for every property, always in the same format, to save you time
  • We answer all of your questions quickly with our very comprehensive site and responsive customer service.
  • We offer a 24 hr grace period for both parties to communicate and confirm all details of a booking.

Web Directories - Our Competitors

  • A lot of your time is wasted filling out forms and waiting for replies from multiple vacation rental owners. Many busy owners never reply.
  • The price shown always changes, you have to calculate it yourself and often changes once you communicate with the owner.
  • Most owners do not take the time to provide complete information on listings, so you waste time having to ask questions and wait for responses.
  • In a nutshell, "Web Directories" are cumbersome and time consuming, and if you have a problem, you are on your own.

Massive 6BR Truckee Home on Glenshire Pond

ID 229202 - 10 beds (2 queen, 4 single, 2 bunk and 2 double). Base rent is for 10 occupants.
Truckee Vacation Rentals
Our sizeable 6BR, 4BA home has scenic Glenshire Pond right in your backyard. Travel 5-miles to downtown Truckee, 12-miles to skiing and 20-miles to the shores of Lake Tahoe.. Tucked away in the timbers, our sizeable 6BD, 4BA home is perfect for group vacations. Our location offers scenic Glenshire Pond right in your backyard. Travel 5-miles to downtown Truckee, 12-miles to skiing and 20-miles to the shores of Lake Tahoe.

Ready to explore the natural beauty of Truckee Watch migrating birds while walking on the dog track at Glenshire Pond, only 30 feet behind your vacation rental.

In the winter, ice-skate with loved ones on the pond, or head to Northstar Ski Resort to hit the slopes, just 20 minutes away. If you’re bringing your bike, check out 6-miles of gorgeous terrain along the river on the Truckee Legacy Trail, 10 minutes away.
Finish the day in your private hot tub overlooking the pond.

INSIDE THE HOUSE

Experience the comfort of the master bedroom, which features a queen-size bed, flat screen TV and en-suite bathroom with decadent walk-in tiled shower.

Check your email in the 2nd bedroom, which doubles as an office with a desk, computer, closet and twin-size bed. Bringing the kids They will love the twin-over-full bunk beds in both the 3rd and 4th bedrooms.

Two more guests can stretch out in the upstairs 5th bedroom, which includes 2 twin-size beds, or in the private downstairs 6th bedroom with queen-size bed. There is room for everyone in the 3 additional full bathrooms throughout the home—each featuring a shower/tub combo.

The rustic main living room overlooks the picturesque backyard, and is an inviting space for your group to watch the flat screen TV around the wood-burning fireplace. Head downstairs to the bonus room to turn on the gas fireplace, mix a drink from the bar, play a game of pool or ping pong and enjoy access to the hot tub. Want to watch a movie The additional downstairs living room has a large flat screen TV, DVD player, Xbox and ample seating.

Make dinner together in the farmhouse-style kitchen, which is open with modern appliances, wood accents and a wine fridge. Have a snack at the bar, or take your dinner to the adjacent and bright dining area with seating for 10. Want to grill out There’s a gas grill in the garage.

THE LOCATION

Located on Glenshire Pond, your group is close to skiing, and the Truckee Tahoe Airport - both within 20 minutes, and you can visit the shops and eateries of downtown, just 10 minutes away.

Want to take your group out to eat Try Cottonwood Restaurant for eclectic dishes served in a historic lodge, or head to Squeeze In Truckee Restaurant for American fare and cocktails, both 10 minutes from your rental.;

License Number: HSR19-005908

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

We save your time and spare you the headaches!

We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Nearby and Recently Viewed Vacation Rentals

Pricing & Availability

to
Adults
Children (0-17)
Please select dates and occupants to view
Availability and Pricing
Mandatory
Taxes
Included
Excluded
First Payment, Charged Now
Second Payment, due by
Total Rent
(Damage/Security deposits not included)
Cancellation Policy
Total Rent

Rental Request & Questions

Subscribe to our newsletter
By requesting to book you agree to Owner Direct's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.
create an account?
  Help

Credit Card Details

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day
We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!
Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden
Timeout From:
Timeout To:

Experience the difference, no waiting
 
Toll Free USA, Canada
1.888.869.6377
Toll Free UK
0.800.249.4265
Toll Free Australia
1.800.150.197
International Rentals
1.250.469.9543