max 9 guests      5 bedrooms      3.5 bathrooms
  • Dining_checkbox Attributes
    • Child's Highchair
  • Entertainment Attributes
    • Books
    • DVD Player
    • Foosball
    • Games
    • Satellite / Cable
    • Stereo
    • Television
    • Video Games
    • Cable TV
    • CD Player
    • DVD Player
    • Stereo System
    • Games
    • Wireless Internet
    • Books
    • XBox
    • Netflix
  • General Attributes
    • Air Conditioning
    • Clothes Dryer
    • Fireplace
    • Garage
    • Hair Dryer
    • Heating
    • Internet
    • Iron & Board
    • Linens Provided
    • Living Room
    • Parking
    • Towels Provided
    • Washing Machine
  • Kitchen Attributes
    • Coffee Maker
    • Dishes & Utensils
    • Dishwasher
    • Kitchen
    • Microwave
    • Oven
    • Refrigerator
    • Stove
    • Toaster
    • Full Kitchen
    • Refrigerator
    • Coffee Maker
    • Ice Maker
    • Microwave
    • Toaster
    • Cookware
    • Blender
    • Cooking Utensils
    • Pots / Pans
    • Dishwasher
    • Glassware
    • Stove / Oven
    • Silverware
    • Tea Kettle
    • Wine Fridge
    • Keurig Machine
  • Leisure_activities Attributes
    • antiquing
    • bird watching
    • horseback riding
    • photography
    • scenic drives
    • sight seeing
    • sledding
    • walking
  • Local_services_and_businesses Attributes
    • ATM/bank
    • fitness center
    • groceries
    • hospital
    • laundromat
    • massage therapist
    • medical services
  • Outside Attributes
    • Balcony
    • Deck / Patio
    • Golf
    • Outdoor Grill
  • Pool_spa Attributes
    • Hot Tub
  • Sports_and_adventure_activities Attributes
    • basketball court
    • cycling
    • golf
    • hiking
    • ice skating
    • mountain biking
    • mountain climbing
    • mountaineering
    • skiing
    • swimming
  • Suitability Attributes
    • children welcome
    • non smoking only
    • pets considered
  • Suitability_chkbox Attributes
    • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Safety Attributes
    • Carbon monoxide detector
  • Living Attributes
    • Ceiling Fans
    • Linens
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Ironing Board
    • High Speed Internet
    • Fireplace
    • Iron
    • Hair Dryer
    • Central Heat Only
    • Cable
    • DVD
    • Games
    • Novels
    • Clothes Hangers
  • Business Attributes
    • Nearby ATM
    • Nearby Post Office
    • Nearby Internet Cafe
    • Nearby FedEx
    • Nearby Bank
  • Convenience Attributes
    • Area FitnessCenter
    • Nearby Medical Services
    • Nearby Grocery
    • Movie Theatres
    • Golf Course
  • Culture Attributes
    • Caves
    • Museums
    • Recreation Center
    • Botanical Garden
    • Library
  • Outdoor Attributes
    • Patio
    • Balcony
    • Gas Grill
    • Hot Tub
    • Private Entrance
  • Geographic Attributes
    • Close to Town
    • Near Public Transportation
    • Near Lake
    • Near Ski Resort
  • Children's amenities Attributes
    • Pack N Play
    • High Chair
  • Attractions Attributes
    • Churches
    • Health/Beauty/Spa

Loading...

Terms

The Property Manager (hereafter referred to as "we", "us", or "our") provides rental management services on behalf of homeowners ("Owners") who rent their properties (including the associated fixtures and furnishings)(the “Home”) to guests (the "Guest" or "you") seeking accommodations on a short term or long term basis (collectively, the “Services”). We are the Owner's property manager and authorized agent, who will perform the Services related to your reservation. By using the Home and Services, you agree to comply with and be legally bound by the terms and conditions of this guest agreement (the "Agreement"). This Agreement only applies to short term rentals and not long term rentals, which will be governed by the specific terms of your lease agreement with us.

1. Policies: Please treat our Owner's Home with the care you would at your own home and abide by following policies:

*Behave as you would in any home in which you live, with respect for property and neighbors.
*Unless otherwise stated in the Home listing, you must be over the age of 25.
*You will be an occupant of the unit during the entire reserved period and other occupants of the Home during your stay will be family members, friends, responsible adults or children under direct adult supervision.
*Do not exceed the maximum occupancy of the Home.
*No parties, noise that can be heard beyond the home lot line or in adjacent units, or any illegal activity may occur at the Home.
*No pets are allowed unless otherwise noted for specific properties and where you have paid a pet fee in connection with your booking in advance of your reservation.
*No smoking is allowed in or around any Home.
*Check-in time is 3pm and check-out time is 10am - we will notify you via email in advance if early check-in or late check-out will be available.
*Please use common courtesy at the home by keeping it clean, reporting any problems or damages, washing dishes as used, taking garbage to the outside bins, leaving towels in the bathrooms and sheets in the bedrooms, and not re-arranging furniture.

2. Cleaning: Each home will be cleaned and inspected by third-party cleaning contractors after your departure. We ask you to help us enable the cleaning crews as much as possible. They will appreciate simple things like leaving the home tidy, running the dishwasher, starting to wash the towels, and taking out the trash.

3. Swimming Pools, Hot Tubs, or Beach: If the home that you have reserved includes a pool or hot tub, or is on a beach, these can all be obviously dangerous. Guests should observe and adhere to all rules and policies as posted at the home and supervise all children at all times. Lifeguards are not provided. Decks and patios can be slippery when wet and can result in injury to anyone who is not careful. Guest accept and assumes all risks involved in or related to the use of a pool, hot tub, beach and deck/patio areas.

4. Home Damage Waiver: Each guest will be offered an optional Damage Waiver that protects you against unintended damage done to the Property. This is not insurance, and the Damage Waiver does not apply to intentional damage done by the Guest or your guests, or excessive wear and tear due to parties, smoking, pets or otherwise, or additional cleaning charges due to stains or spills, or fines incurred by the police or HOA due to noise, excessive trash or parking, or damage over the purchased amounts of either $3,000 or $5,000. If Tenant does not wish to purchase this Damage Waiver, a security deposit of $3,000, $5,000, or greater depending on Property will be required at the time of booking. If a Home requires an additional security deposit, we will explain this to you before confirming a reservation. Guest acknowledges that any damage or fines not covered by the Damage Waiver or above the amount of any security deposit can be charged to Guest (and Guest’s card on file). The Damage Waiver can be purchased up to the day prior to your reservation but not after it has started. You do not have to purchase this Damage Waiver. Please contact the Property Manager directly at if you do not wish to purchase the Damage Waiver.

5. Excessive Wear and Tear, Noise and Occupancy: If excessive wear and tear is found for the Home, or additional cleaning is necessary due to spills, trash left on site, stains to furniture, carpeting, linens, paint, wallpaper, or flooring, Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest for additional fees. Tenant will be provided with a receipt for any additional fees incurred upon request or as required by local laws or regulations. If at any time the maximum number of the Home’s occupants is exceeded or if we receive information about excessive noise, the Property Manager has the right to evict Guest and all occupants immediately and to charge Guest a minimum service fee of $250 with no refund for the balance of the remaining reservation. If any sign of smoking is discovered Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. Unless the reservation for the Home specifically allows a pet, if any sign of a pet is discovered, then Guest authorizes the Property Manager to charge Guest an additional minimum $500 cleaning fee. The Property Manager will return any balance of a security deposit to Guest, less any charges or amounts owed by Guest, within fourteen (14) days after the end of the reservation or as otherwise required by local laws or regulations. Any charges owed by Guest may be charged by the Property Manager to Guest’s card on file in addition to seeking any relief provided by law.

6. Maintenance and Access: We have the right to enter the home at any time during guest stay and we will diligently attempt to address maintenance issues as they occur. This is an associated risk of renting a single family residence or condo. If a maintenance issue occurs that cannot be fixed in a reasonable amount of time, and significantly affects your stay; we reserve the right to refund at our discretion or offer to relocate you to another home.

7. Phone and Internet: Unless otherwise specified, all homes are equipped with a high-speed Wi-Fi connection where service is available and we will provide you with any required Wi-Fi passwords. We do not provide a land line phones for all homes and suggest that you please use your mobile phone or Wi-Fi enabled phone for calls.

8. Furnished Rental and Supplies: The Property Manager's properties are fully furnished properties that will include bedspreads, linens, blankets, pillows, towels, a fully equipped kitchen, TV, furnishings unless otherwise specified. A limited starter supply of paper products, bath and dish soap are provided, but will not be replaced if consumed during your stay so we recommend bringing additional personal items with you. Staples (salt, pepper, foils, wraps, etc) are generally stocked by the owner of the home, however the Property Manager cannot commit these supplies being present. Guest is responsible for replacing stocked items as they are consumed. If there is a special type of item you are accustomed to using please provide for those items by bringing them with you. Extra towels are always recommended for homes on the beach, or with a pool or hot tub.

9. Weather and Other Unforeseen Events: The Property Manager does not accept liability for any inconveniences arising from any temporary defects or stoppage in supply of water, gas, electricity or plumbing, damage caused by weather/road conditions, natural disasters, acts of God or other reasons beyond its control. No refunds will be given for any delays or cancellations due to such conditions. Travel Insurance is highly recommended for any stay.

10. Homeowners Association: The Property Manager cannot warrant the usability or condition of amenities provided through homeowner associations, including, but not limited to pools, hot tubs, club houses, tennis courts, golf facilities, and picnic & beach facilities.

11. Indemnity: Neither Owner nor the Property Manager assumes any liability for loss, theft, damage or injury to Guest, his/her guests or other occupants in the Home. The Guest, for himself/herself, his/her heirs, assignors, executors and administrators, fully releases and discharges Owner and the Property Manager from any and all claims, demands and causes of action by reason of any injury or whatever nature which has or have occurred, or may occur to the Guest, his/her guests or other occupants of the Home as a result of, or in connection with the occupancy of the Home and agrees to hold Owner and the Property Manager free and harmless of any claim or suit arising therefrom. In any action concerning the rights, duties or liabilities of the parties to this Agreement, or their principals, agents, successors or assignees the prevailing party shall be entitled to recover reasonable attorney fees and costs.

12. Sale Contingency: In the rare event the Home that that you have reserved is for sale, and/or is under a contract to sell, the Property Manager reserves the right to provide Guest with a comparable home at no additional cost to the Guest. Showings during occupancy are by appointment only at your prior approval.

13. Payment and Cancellations: We accept all major credit cards. For reservations made more than 30 days in advance, we only charge a deposit of 10% of the total reservation upon booking, with full payment due 30 days prior to check-in. For all reservations made within 30 days of check-in, we collect payment in full at the time of booking. All reservations which are made more than 10 days in advance are fully refundable if the guest cancels the reservation within 72 hours after the time of booking. After this cancellation period expires, all guest payments are non-refundable.

14. Other Terms and Conditions: Your booking is subject to the the Property Manager 's Terms, Privacy Policy and this Guest Agreement which can be found at /terms. Additionally, where specifically required by the terms of any applicable laws, regulations or Homeowner's Association rules (as determined by the Property Manager), then this Rental Agreement shall constitute a lease of the premises. If you would like to extend your reservation for additional dates, please call us for availability and pricing.

Payment Methods
Most major credit cards - Cash

Payment Balance
Balance and schedule of payments can be discussed the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Booking Cancellation Conditions
Cancellation policies can be discussed with the property manager or will be detailed under policies tab.

Security or Damage Deposit
A refundable security/damage deposit will be required by the property manager.

Availability

Nightly rates shown do not include taxes, conditional rate adjustments or any applicable fees - request property or use rate calculator to obtain an accurate quote.

Nightly

2019

Rate Period Nightly
Dec 1 to Dec 19 Min Stay 2 nights 244 - 286 USD
Dec 20 to Dec 25 Min Stay 6 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Fri, Sat, Sun) 427 - 473 USD
Dec 26, 2019 to Jan 1, 2020 Min Stay 6 nights 585 - 658 USD

2020

Rate Period Nightly
Jan 2 to Jan 16 Min Stay 2 nights 286 - 497 USD
Jan 17 to Jan 19 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 569 - 712 USD
Jan 20 to Feb 13 Min Stay 2 nights 386 - 534 USD
Feb 14 to Feb 17 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 569 - 712 USD
Feb 18 to Mar 5 Min Stay 2 nights 386 - 534 USD
Mar 6 to Mar 22 Min Stay 2 nights 659 - 668 USD
Mar 23 to Mar 31 Min Stay 2 nights 505 - 534 USD
Apr 1 to May 21 Min Stay 2 nights 286 USD
May 22 to May 24 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 574 - 602 USD
May 25 to Jun 18 Min Stay 2 nights 286 USD
Jun 19 to Jun 30 Min Stay 2 nights 378 - 389 USD
Jul 1 to Jul 5 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun) 498 - 510 USD
Jul 6 to Jul 16 Min Stay 2 nights 378 - 389 USD
Jul 17 to Jul 18 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat) 498 - 504 USD
Jul 19 to Sep 3 Min Stay 2 nights 378 - 389 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 6 Min Stay 3 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 491 - 510 USD
Sep 7 to Nov 24 Min Stay 2 nights 286 USD
Nov 25 to Nov 29 Min Stay 4 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu) 602 USD

Weekly

2019

Rate Period Weekly
Dec 1 to Dec 19 Min Stay 7 nights 1,732 - 1,972 USD
Dec 20 to Dec 25 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Fri, Sat, Sun) 3,051 - 3,326 USD
Dec 26, 2019 to Jan 1, 2020 Min Stay 7 nights 4,085 - 4,587 USD

2020

Rate Period Weekly
Jan 2 to Jan 16 Min Stay 7 nights 2,161 - 2,912 USD
Jan 17 to Jan 19 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 3,991 - 4,826 USD
Jan 20 to Feb 13 Min Stay 7 nights 2,939 - 3,534 USD
Feb 14 to Feb 17 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 3,991 - 4,660 USD
Feb 18 to Mar 5 Min Stay 7 nights 2,939 - 3,534 USD
Mar 6 to Mar 22 Min Stay 7 nights 4,619 USD
Mar 23 to Mar 31 Min Stay 7 nights 3,365 - 3,534 USD
Apr 1 to May 21 Min Stay 7 nights 1,946 USD
May 22 to May 24 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 3,975 - 4,058 USD
May 25 to Jun 18 Min Stay 7 nights 1,946 USD
Jun 19 to Jun 30 Min Stay 7 nights 2,649 - 2,676 USD
Jul 1 to Jul 5 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun) 3,481 - 3,545 USD
Jul 6 to Jul 16 Min Stay 7 nights 2,623 - 2,649 USD
Jul 17 to Jul 18 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat) 3,477 - 3,491 USD
Jul 19 to Sep 3 Min Stay 7 nights 2,649 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 6 Min Stay 7 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 3,404 - 3,463 USD
Sep 7 to Nov 24 Min Stay 7 nights 1,946 USD

Long Term Stays

2019

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Dec 1 to Dec 19 Min Stay 30 nights 30 8,111 - 8,147 USD
Dec 20 to Dec 25 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Tue, Wed, Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 15,199 - 15,357 USD
Dec 26, 2019 to Jan 1, 2020 Min Stay 30 nights 30 19,137 - 21,069 USD

2020

Rate Period # Nights Long Term Stays
Jan 2 to Jan 16 Min Stay 30 nights 30 9,219 - 12,164 USD
Jan 17 to Jan 19 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 16,202 - 19,540 USD
Jan 20 to Feb 13 Min Stay 30 nights 30 11,494 - 13,269 USD
Feb 14 to Feb 17 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 16,422 - 18,920 USD
Feb 18 to Mar 5 Min Stay 30 nights 30 12,759 - 13,229 USD
Mar 6 to Mar 22 Min Stay 30 nights 30 18,179 - 18,389 USD
Mar 23 to Mar 31 Min Stay 30 nights 30 13,388 - 13,739 USD
Apr 1 to May 21 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,603 USD
May 22 to May 24 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 16,193 - 16,235 USD
May 25 to Jun 18 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,651 - 7,707 USD
Jun 19 to Jun 30 Min Stay 30 nights 30 10,520 - 10,634 USD
Jul 1 to Jul 5 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 14,032 - 14,078 USD
Jul 6 to Jul 16 Min Stay 30 nights 30 10,299 - 10,536 USD
Jul 17 to Jul 18 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat) 30 14,011 - 14,024 USD
Jul 19 to Sep 3 Min Stay 30 nights 30 10,494 - 10,554 USD
Sep 4 to Sep 6 Min Stay 30 nights (Arrival only on: Fri, Sat, Sun) 30 13,745 - 13,788 USD
Sep 7 to Nov 24 Min Stay 30 nights 30 7,603 USD

Verified vacation home reviews by real guests

All Owner Direct guest reviews posted are verified and confirmed individually by Owner Direct Vacation Rentals staff.

This property has no Owner Direct reviews yet.

Overall satisfaction (15 raters)
Property condition (15 raters)
Location (15 raters)
Cleanliness (15 raters)
Services from rental manager (15 raters)

The following review(s) were provided by the property manager.

Not as advertised Not as advertised, hot tub was not working and deck unusable Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Monday, August 12, 2019 Hi Nilay, Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and can also understand your frustration with the hot tub and deck being unavailable during your stay. We’re happy to report that everything has since been repaired and is available once again for guest use. If there is anything we can still do for you, reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 7/9/2019
Amazing Experience! We had such a great time in Fraser and Winter Park during our stay. The house had so many wonderful features that make it feel luxurious!<br/><br/>The view from the house was spectacular!<br/><br/>The kids loved the theater room but mom had to drink a bit more wine after spending time figuring out how all the different remotes worked. It would be nice if they had directions printed out about how they had everything configured. We've seen this at other properties we've rented and it helps a lot.<br/><br/>We extended our stay another day and had a bit of a communication issue with TurnKey...they kept changing the rate but we finally talked to someone and they gave us a rate that was acceptable. <br/><br/>We don't usually go back to the same place twice but this house had everything and more so if we're in the area again, we'd be happy to stay again. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, March 27, 2019 Hi Mande, Thank you so much for your review and helpful feedback! We're so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will be writing up a direction sheet for the use of the theater for future guests. Next time you stay with us, remember our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any questions that may come up. We want to make sure you're as comfortable as you can be during your stay. We can't wait to have you stay with us again! - The TurnKey VR Team
- Mande W.
Reviewed On: 3/26/2019
Fraser Valley View Over all we had an amazing experience. I would highly suggest staying here. I am a Chef and the kitchen had everything you could ever need. The house is spacious, warm and clean. The views are breath taking. We had a few issues. There should be some instructions concerning the use of the fire places. there seemed to be a remote but it did not work. There were remotes every where. Some had batteries, others did not. Same with the home theater. There were many remotes. We were able to watch cable. We could never get the DVD player to connect to the projector. We tried using the Play Station to watch movies but that didn't work either.<br/>There should be some step by step instructions on how to operate these things. Both the bathroom and outdoor hot tubs need minor repairs on buttons. The outdoor hot tub stopped working the day before we left. We also felt like there should be some sort of railing around the out door hot tub. one slip on the gravel and you are going down the cliff! Overall I would still suggest this property. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Sunday, November 11, 2018 Hi Kelsey, thank you so much for your review and helpful feedback! We’re so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will look into upgrading the instructions on the various remotes/amenities in the home and we will ensure the DVD player and PlayStation will work properly! Next time you stay with us, remember our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up. We want to make sure you’re as comfortable as you can be during your stay. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Kelsey K.
Reviewed On: 10/26/2018
Great vacation home! Beautiful views and a very comfortable home! We'd absolutely stay here again!
- Rob & Liza O.
Reviewed On: 3/12/2019
Overall Nice Home and a great view. Easy place to access and the home has a wonderful view. For the most part the home was nice. Initially it looked amazing but as we looked through the home we noticed the cleaning wasnt as thorough as it should, or could be. There were also a few minor issues with the home.<br/><br/> 1) Hot Tub valves were inoperable or broken.<br/><br/>2) Door to hot tub doesnt close or open with ease.<br/><br/>3) Foosball table half inoperative. One goal doesnt have a ball catch. <br/><br/>4) Xbox and games are not compatible. Game counsel is an XBox One, but games are XBox 360.<br/><br/>5) Theatre speakers have some distorted crackling at volumes low and high.<br/><br/>All in all the home was very comfortable, and we certainly enjoyed our stay. We all agreed that it was a fun place to stay and just needs some minor adjustments as previously noted. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Saturday, February 2, 2019 Hi Derrick, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so sorry to hear about the issues you faced while at our property but are very thankful for your feedback. We will bring these items you have listed to our team’s attention. Please remember next time you stay with us, we do offer a 24/7 Guest Experience team that is available at anytime to assist with any problems do arise. You were perfect guests, and we’re looking forward to your next stay! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Derrick S.
Reviewed On: 1/23/2019
Mold So the house was a great nice house had some very concerning problems black mold in master bathroom, downstairs bed room and bathroom. Also in the kitchen in the drawer there had cigarette ash and dip just in the drawer. Have pictures of all of the above. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, March 6, 2019 Hi Shannon, Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. We appreciate the kind words about our home but wish we had known about the cleanliness issues you encountered. Here at TurnKey, we strive to offer impeccable customer service before, during, and after your stay. Next time, please remember our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any problems or questions that may come up. Our local Field Operations Team has since visited the property and confirmed that there is no mold present throughout the home. We will also make sure the kitchen drawers are cleaned as needed and any tobacco products are removed. If there is anything else we can do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
- Shannon M.
Reviewed On: 2/17/2019
Awesome location, odd house The house itself is beautiful and the location is perfect. There were some oddities and downright disappointing things in the house however. There were little worms all of the floor in the lower level. The theater room was intensely confusing - we used it twice couldn't get it to work in different ways each time. There were 4 engineers in this room trying to get it working and the system seemed non-deterministic at best. Instructions are a must! Also, the hot water didn't always work. When we first arrived the hot water didn't work for 6 full hours. Even after we finally got hot water, it could take up to 20 minutes to get hot water in the shower. We also had to flip the breaker to get the hot tub working. A symptom of the location, but there is no cell signal up there - phone calls were almost impossible. There are also really odd and not well done patches all over the house. Not enough toilet paper was provided and there were burnt out bulbs here and there (with no replacements to be found). Overall I enjoyed my stay, but I don't think I could recommend this house in particular to friends because of all the issues we ran into. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, May 29, 2018 Hi Heather, Thank you for your review, and we’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our place. That being said, we do apologize for the issues you encountered and for any inconvenience this caused as well. We wish we had known during your stay so that we could have helped out -- our 24/7 guest hotline is always available if anything ever comes up while staying at one of our properties. Please be assured our local Field Operations Team is following up on everything you’ve mentioned and will make sure each of your concerns is addressed. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out any time and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 5/22/2018
Great property with a few setbacks We had a great time at this location with 9 people staying at the home. Plenty of room with a great view of the mountains. We had a few issues however. The xbox360 would not read disks, this disappointed the kids. The trash from the previous guest was left in the garage till mid week. Leaving us no where to put our trash. The fire places didn't work. The hot tub is out of level. If we put more than 1 adult in it it would overflow out 1 side and we had to add water. All this was manageable. The biggest problem was that the fridge didn't work. I called 4 straight days and after being assured each day that someone would come fix it no one ever came so I gave up. We had to throw out a lot of our food we brought from home and had to keep everything in coolers for the week. Not sure how many times we made runs down the mountain for ice but it was multiple times a day with it being warmer than expected. Overall we had a great week at this location. If these issues were resolved we wouldn't hesitate to return again. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Tuesday, October 2, 2018 Hi Mike, Thank you so much for leaving this review. We are so sorry to hear about the various issues that arose during your stay.. At TurnKey, it’s our highest priority to make sure our guests have the best experience possible, but if problems do arise, we try our very best to make things right in any way we can. It looks like we were able to send someone out to haul the trash away, and we are pleased to say that finally did get the refrigerator serviced and fully operable again. We are so glad you called our 24/7 guest hotline to let us know about these issues. Thanks again for your patience and for being absolutely perfect guests. We look forward to you staying with us again! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Mike F.
Reviewed On: 9/19/2018
Great views and accommodations Our family had great times at this luxury home. The beds and kitchen were great, and views outstanding. Everything was clean. Turnkey was easy to work with and very communicative.
- Jussi S.
Reviewed On: 7/24/2018
Wonderful Stay at a Wonderful Home Things we loved about our stay: On the edge of town, very cozy home, high-end kitchen equipment, nice linens, incredible views, flip-switch fireplaces, very clean with a few exceptions, use of large garage & snow sleds, entertainment room well equipped, fans and small heaters available to use around the house, sidewalk was shoveled after it snowed, management was only a text away <br/>Areas that needed attention: Master shower had a lot of mold, dishes where not clean later realized dishwasher was broken but managed to get it working for the most part, cob webs galore, oven & griddle in need of cleaning, hot tub jets only worked in 1 corner, last bedroom downstairs had no heat, tablet with home instructions only listed what was already on the web-site<br/> Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Wednesday, April 11, 2018 Hello Mary, Thank you so much for your review and helpful feedback! We’re so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please be assured we’re checking on everything you’ve mentioned, and we’ll make sure it all gets resolved. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
- Mary C.
Reviewed On: 4/10/2018
Great View and Room for All! The property had a beautiful view and there was plenty of room for everyone, however, there were a few things that were not as advertised and could have been improved upon but overall the property worked for what we needed.
- Kelli A.
Reviewed On: 6/22/2018
Large house in a beautiful location Great house to accommodate a big family or several families. All amenities worked well and the house had nice linens/towels.
- Michelle L.
Reviewed On: 4/1/2018
Awesome vacation home Incredable
- Bettrell M.
Reviewed On: 7/2/2018
Nice Home with a few issues This home is in a beautiful, central location which is why we chose it for our summer getaway. We loved the fact that the 3 bedrooms each had a bathroom. We were very disappointed to learn that the deck and hot tub were unusable because the deck is falling away from the foundation. We chose this house partly due to the deck and views. We did enjoy the home theatre and watched a movie one afternoon. <br/>The home does not have A/C, and it got rather warm in the evening, and about 2am it was cooler with the windows open. We cooked our meals in the home which made for a relaxing stay. We did travel North to Grand Lake one day and enjoyed the views on the way, and the relaxing atmosphere of the town. We purchased our groceries in Fraser, just a short drive down the road. We also hiked the Fraser Trail and found that it was perfect for our group, which included a baby in a stroller and a 6 month pregnant young lady. If the deck and hot tub were usable we would consider staying in this home again. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Friday, August 17, 2018 Hello Kelley, Thank you so much for leaving this review. We are sorry to hear about the issues you encountered and for any inconvenience this caused. At TurnKey, it’s our highest priority to make sure our guests have the best experience possible, but if problems do arise, we try our very best to make things right in any way we can. It looks like the owner is in process of making repairs to the deck and we do apologize it was not in use during your stay. We know it doesn’t change things, but thank you for accepting the compensation we were able to offer you. Thanks again for your patience and for being absolutely perfect guests. We look forward to you staying with us again! -The TurnKey VR Team
- Kelley B.
Reviewed On: 7/18/2018
Nice getaway in Fraser! This home was very good for our family of five adults and two little kids. There were lots of games and puzzles in a couple chests that kept the kids (and adults) occupied. We liked the automatic early check-in/late check-out option, but it would be nice to be able to confirm that earlier than 24 hours ahead so you could plan ahead better. Kitchen was well-stocked. Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals; Friday, March 30, 2018 Hello Barton, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Reviewed On: 3/28/2018

Listing History

  • This property owner/manager has been registered with Owner Direct since Jun 29, 2016.
  • This owner / manager has completed 263 successful bookings in total for all their properties through Owner Direct.com
  • The availability for this property was last updated on Dec 10, 2019
  • This owner's contact information has been verified by Owner Direct and past guests.

OwnerDirect.com - Superior Full Service

  • You're never alone with Owner Direct. Friendly service coast to coast available every day of the year.
  • You immediately know the price for your requested dates/occupants.
  • More photos (with descriptive captions) per property.
  • Extensive information is provided for every property, always in the same format, to save you time
  • We answer all of your questions quickly with our very comprehensive site and responsive customer service.
  • We offer a 24 hr grace period for both parties to communicate and confirm all details of a booking.

Web Directories - Our Competitors

  • A lot of your time is wasted filling out forms and waiting for replies from multiple vacation rental owners. Many busy owners never reply.
  • The price shown always changes, you have to calculate it yourself and often changes once you communicate with the owner.
  • Most owners do not take the time to provide complete information on listings, so you waste time having to ask questions and wait for responses.
  • In a nutshell, "Web Directories" are cumbersome and time consuming, and if you have a problem, you are on your own.

Escape to this 5br/3

ID 240129 - 5 beds (1 king, 2 queen, 1 single and 1 bunk). Base rent is for 9 occupants.
Winter Park Lodging
Escape to this 5BR/3.5BA mountain home offering 4,005 square feet of luxurious living space, majestic views, and a prime location with easy access to outdoor recreation. Special amenities include a home theater, hot tub, and radiant heat. Sleeps 9.. PROPERTY OVERVIEW

Escape to the mountains for ultimate relaxation in this two-story 5BR/3.5BA home offering 4,005 square feet of luxurious living space and majestic views of the snowcapped continental divide. Special features include a home theater with tiered seating, a game room, two stone gas fireplaces, a private hot tub, and toasty radiant heat throughout.

Just minutes from Fraser proper, this prime location provides easy access to local restaurants, bustling nightlife, and outdoor recreation.

LIVING AREAS

The grand living room boasts vaulted ceilings, exposed log beams, dramatic floor-to-ceiling windows, and an impressive stone wall with a gas fireplace and built-in bookcase. Sprawl out on the leather furniture and enjoy a show on the 46” flat screen TV with cable.

Convene in the game room downstairs for foosball or a private concert via electric piano and rock band. Cozy up to the gas fireplace before heading out for a soak in the hot tub.

KITCHEN & DINING

The chef of the group will appreciate a well-equipped kitchen sprinkled with fun red design elements and updated stainless steel appliances. Gather for home-cooked meals at the dining table set for eight.

Savor vacation snacks from the downstairs kitchenette that offers bar seating for three.

BEDROOMS & BATHROOMS

This home has five bedrooms that sleep nine total. Three and a half bathrooms are each stocked with a complimentary starter supply of toiletries.

Retreat to the master bedroom-- outfitted with a queen-size bed, and ceiling fan. The spa-like en-suite bathroom boasts a double vanity, oversized walk-in closet, jetted tub, and walk-in shower. Access the second bedroom, equipped with a twin-size bed, through the master suite-- the perfect kid’s quarters.

The third bedroom doubles as the home theater room and includes a twin-over-twin bunk bed. A fourth bedroom has a full-size bed and closet, while the fifth bedroom features a king-size bed and en-suite bathroom with a tub/shower combination and separate water closet.

OUTDOOR AREA

Sliding glass doors open to the second-story deck complete with an outdoor dining table and seven chairs. Fire up the gas grill and unwind while watching the sunset over the valley.

Soak in the seven-person hot tub offering expansive views of the continental divide.

EXTRA AMENITIES

Catch a movie screening in the home theater on the 108” projection screen that includes Blu-ray, Xbox 360, and cable.

Parking is available for two vehicles in the garage and one additional space in the driveway. A washer/dryer and complimentary Wi-Fi are provided.

LOCATION

This stunning home offers ultimate privacy and access to a plethora of outdoor activity.

Bundle up and head out for downhill or cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, or tubing at Winter Park-- less than 15 minutes from home. During warmer months, explore endless hiking trails, white water rafting, fly fishing, and boating.

Take a brew tour and explore local craft microbrews at The Peak and Hideaway Park. Try Asian-fusion favorite, Pepe Osaka’s for fish tacos or make reservations at Volarios for Spanish infused Italian fare.

Upon arrival, easily access your home with a keyless secure door code; no need for an in-person key exchange. Your rental will be professionally cleaned and ready for you to enjoy. You can expect all comforts of a fine hotel, including shampoo, soaps, paper products, towels, and linens. Your home will include a HomeDroid tablet (electronic guest directory) providing specific home details, local suggestions, Wi-Fi access, TV instructions, and more.

If you need anything at all before, during, or after your stay, our 24/7 local team is always ready to help!

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day

We save your time and spare you the headaches!

We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden

Nearby and Recently Viewed Vacation Rentals

Pricing & Availability

to
Adults
Children (0-17)
Please select dates and occupants to view
Availability and Pricing
Mandatory
Taxes
Included
Excluded
First Payment, Charged Now
Second Payment, due by
Total Rent
(Damage/Security deposits not included)
Cancellation Policy
Total Rent
You wont be charged yet
🕔 24-Hour Confirmation

Why Owner Direct?

With Owner Direct you're never alone - customer support every day
We work for you to save your time and spare you the headaches!
Total rent and fees up front, nothing is hidden
Timeout From:
Timeout To:

Experience the difference, no waiting
 
Toll Free USA, Canada
1.888.869.6377
Toll Free UK
0.800.249.4265
Toll Free Australia
1.800.150.197
International Rentals
1.250.469.9543